User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 799 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2014
    1
    This **** is just a joke. **** maps, **** players, **** weapons. Is the same **** time and time again and you just want to stop playing more than keep playing.
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    2
    Is 2014, and this game still sucks like sh**. Campaign? Good, I think, but short. Multiplayer? Terrible, lag, unbalanced weapons and the worst community. Zombies? Wants to be like L4D (with crappy stuff) and... fails. Graphics? Please rip off your eyes. Gameplay? Still being the same. Fun? If you are fanboy, buy it and have sex with it... but if you are a FPS fan... no... just, no. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    This franchise has gone pretty stale. The story mode is unengaging and the graphics are not extraordinary. Zombie mode is just alright. The multiplayer is this game's only slight redemption, however it doesn't really offer anything different from previous COD releases. There are much better FPS games on the market. If you are a person that doesn't expect the least bit of depth in your games, are satisfied with "just another COD", and want a mildly entertaining run-and-gun multiplayer experience... you might like this. I however do not. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    This game sucks. You get the dumbest deaths, people that use lmgs have like 1000% health, and the lag is HORRIBLE. Dont get the game unless your amazing at COD. This game can be fun if your good at it but for me i stink and die all the die so i dont have fun.
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    i'm changing my score from 9 to 6. i used to like this game. but damn. i realise that this call of duty isn't that different from the last. it lacks innovation. let me say that again LACKS INNOVATION!
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    3
    The typical, humdrum, repetitive game that people have somehow not come to expect over the almost ten years of the CoD franchise.

    The gameplay is exactly the same, and as many say: "If it isn't broken, don't fix it." However, the game has been broken for quite some time, and though it totes some fun to be had with a few friends, the sheer lack of support in terms of patching and the
    unbalanced nature of the game, make something that is apparently online focused seem like a joke.

    Each CoD is hyped with several exciting story trailers, and yet again, we are treated to a boring, Hollywood centric piece. And this is delivered in top class by the appalling writing of David S. Goyer, who's attempt at military propaganda is no better than someone who doesn't claim to be a writer.

    The fact that Trent Reznor has written the score, was something that got me half excited, but the material he has provided was nothing short of mediocre.

    Overall an appalling repetition of last years instalment. Steer clear of this one.
    Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    1
    Treyarch really could of done a better job with this game. After games like WaW and Black Ops (which were great) you would expect their sequels to be good as well.

    MW3 was a complete disappointment, so I had hopes that BO2 would make the COD series better again. The game was so hyped up I actually thought it would be the best COD yet. After playing it, it's definitely the worst one yet.
    The singleplayer story is boring and forgettable. They tried to add in new components, like choosing your own path, but it just didn't work out. Multiplayer is recycled elements from the previous CoD games; a variety of guns to use and only one or two of them are worth using because they are overpowered. No good maps, online is laggy because there are no dedicated servers, and the game freezes a lot. Zombies was my most anticipated part of the game, and turned out to be a failure like the rest of the game. Maps aren't enjoyable, it's basically just Black Ops 1 DLC maps with a few extra parts.

    This game is very much like MW3. Recycled elements, overpowered weapons, boring game modes. The only thing is that MW3's storyline was good. Black Ops 2 has nothing good about it.
    Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    2
    Where Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto series keeps improving and revolutionising the open-world genre with hot new releases, Activision's Call of Duty franchise has shunned and abandoned the shooter games by releasing mediocre after mediocre games that spawned from a once good series starting with Modern Warfare.

    Everything in the game feels lacklustre and I can't believe the critics giving
    the game a 9/10 or a 8/10, guess they just like the same crap every year with slightly better graphics. Shooting mechanics have improved and so has the story but that doesn't save 3 hours of boring campaign missions, terrible net code and lack of fidelity that makes everything feel disjointed. If you're gonna come back from Black Ops 1, you gotta bring your best. Not this unpolished, lazy mess of a game! Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2013
    3
    I have played all the cods since cod4. Cod4:Great! Codwaw:Good Mw2:OK CodBO:good zombies Codmw3:Ugh Codbo2:really? this game is not worth a review Buy it when its in the 10$ bin. Just like most of them, Boring campain, ruined zombies,Multiplayer is full of people swearing and using all the easy stuff and abusing glicthes. and in genaral It sould be called: Copy and paste Duty Bad ops 2. Also the graphics are so cartoonie Expand
  10. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's true, same thing since Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, same engine, several powerful guns, several useless guns, and the rest are just there. The story as normal is pointless to play unless if you want to perfect the game, at least this year you can
    influece said story and have a slightly different ending. Side-quest mode (AKA Zombies) is the same thing from Black Ops 1, only this time you can build stuff and that the characters are new, yet this time forgetable. I can say though that I enjoyed Mob of the Dead, finally providing a challenge to survive. Finally the thing that makes all of the cal of duty fans go crazy, the broken and useless multiplayer. I'm actually pretty good at it (2.27 Kills to Death Ratio and a 1.21 Win to Loss Ratio) and I still do not enjoy myself when I play it, it's a torture to play even when you are good, somehow though this game keeps a massive fan boy following. I've played both the console and PC editions and none of them are any different, and that's to be expected since Activision is too busy eiter working on another series of pointless and bad cash ins, or the next Call of Duty. My personal opinion, if you want a Call of Duty game, buy Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Call of Duty: World at War, together thay are half the price of Black Ops 2 and are both exceedingly better than this years rehash. And a Fun Fact, the graphics are actually worse than World at War somehow, go figure. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2013
    3
    This is a Call of Duty game. This game is MW1,MW2,MW2,WAW and BO1. There are only new maps and new guns. And some futuristic flying weapons or something like that. Don't expect anything new. And also there are many multiplayer craches and glitches.
  12. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    it was alright, i was moderately bored most of the time. I did like the arsenal that was available: http://www.airsplat.com/cod-black-ops.htm. i will say that It was pretty to look at
  13. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    Graphics amazing, but this just isn't my type of game. Hard to see who the enemy is, very chaotic while in play, no story in single play mode. Very hard for a person to me to get into. I may be minority, but just not my type of game
  14. Jun 18, 2013
    2
    As a trend, the modern call of duty games have always had a lightning strike sense of pacing, mixed with a general disinterest in player agency. Games are a fundamentally interactive medium, one where participation on the part of the player crafts the experience, and this is a point black ops 2 has missed. The main failing, as it goes, is its incessant handing the player tools or equipment before showing of a few set pieces and sending them to the next toy. It cant maintain focus long enough to engage on any level with the player. The review is a 2, however, because at least until the next call of duty hits shelves, the multiplayer is as well designed as is expected for these games. What changes they do make add quite a bit to the flow and customization options, where the map pathing is put together to create an incentive to move continuously, making the games as fast as intended. However, when the next call of duty comes out, the multiplayer will inevitably die out, and as such cannot weigh heavily on a purchase of a 60 USD game. what few advances this title makes are not enough to redeem the unfocused and unengaging series. Expand
  15. May 25, 2013
    4
    I'm not much of a CoD fan, but always had fun playing the franchise and was really excited for BO2 after BO1. Turns out, my expectations were wrong on this one. The single-player is bland and the story is confusing 'cause you're in the future, but you play in the past, which makes no sense at all! The MP is fun, but it's extremely lags here and there, then after a while, I stopped playing it. Then there's the Zombie mode, which is hard to consider as "FUN", its slow, boring, and a huge waste of time! Out of all the CoD's Iv'e payed, this is the worst. Expand
  16. May 14, 2013
    3
    Now, I'm not just a Call of duty hater. I think at times the series is entertaining and is a joy with actual friends. I mean that by friends you can talk to, without headphones. I guess the most positive thing I can say about this game is that it's real fun to play with other people, I recommend playing with others so you can at least try to socialize with people. The negative comments I have for this game is mainly my lack of care for this game. I just don't find anything interesting in this game, which I think sums up my opinion about this game. It's fun with friends, but quite boring without anyone to play with. By now you probably yelling about how I don't talk about the multiplayer, I just don't personally like it, in this game at least. My ending statement is: this game is fun with friends, but is really boring without others to play with. Expand
  17. lox
    Apr 29, 2013
    4
    I haven't even finished the campaign for Black Ops 2 due to the fact that it is god awfully boring and the multiplayer is fun for a few days but then it gets boring as hell as well. The hit detection is terrible, the spawn points aren't that great, and the maps are sub par, and full of head glitching and camping spots. In the end Black Ops 2 is fun for a little while but it gets boring and irritating very quickly. Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2013
    3
    It seems Activision is still trying to milk the COD franchise sending out another piece of poo in the form of Black Ops 2 which is again only slightly different from past games.

    The single player is pure boredom. Spending hours on end shooting without anything to bring some flavour to this bland generic shoot is both repetitive and tedious, coupled with a narrative taken from a low
    budget action flick a half-arsed choice system and a main character who I would rather was mute makes a single player experience that should go in the bargain bin.

    The most celebrated part of this game is however the multiplayer. I will say the multiplayer is solid and balanced, but very boring and buggy. You would think after COD's expansive history of games there would be more weapons than the measly roster.

    Do not buy this game!!!!
    Expand
  19. Apr 8, 2013
    3
    I am not saying this is a bad game because I enjoyed it, but due to unknown reasons, this game has become unplayable. It freezes every time I load it up, the disc is fine, I even took apart my PlayStation to clean the Blu-Ray Lens. Quite pissed off really, considering how ridiculously overpriced these games are, they've produced a game that has just stopped working. I know I'm not the only one with this problem. Expand
  20. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    This game is a good mix between MW2 and Black Ops 1 as far as multiplayer is concerned. It has good guns, some great maps, and the pick 10 system is great. The only real downfalls of this game are the Zombies mode, which failed to deliver on its ambitious promises; its terrible Campaign, which is literally nothing to get excited about (it's only worth playing for trophies). Games like these are why the video game industry is becoming stagnant and this should be a cut off point for the series...for now. If a game has to rely on its multiplayer, it's obviously not good. We all need to think about that before we get suckered into buying another CoD game. Expand
  21. Mar 28, 2013
    0
    I am giving this game a zero because multiplayer is unplayable due to lag comp and matchmaking issues at least 80% of the time. People with decent internet are penalized by their horrible lag comp coding. Most of the time what you see in the killcam is not what you saw on your screen. In this game you shoot first and die first. The players are not in sync. Almost every game there is someone running around with one or two bar connection who is indestructible and posting a ridiculous score. Map design is horrible and there are serious flaws in the spawn system. Most maps are tailor made for spawn killing and other cheap tactics. The dlc maps weren't any better. I don't know why I keep giving Activision my money. Every game since MW2 has gotten progressively worse. This one is definitely the worst with lag and hit detection. The community on this game is equally horrible and consists mainly of foul mouthed 8-12 year olds. I don't know what kind of stupid parent would buy their preteen this game and a mic. Treyarch has been nonresponsive when it comes to complaints about the game and has done nothing to fix the issues. Since release this game has caused the ps3 to freeze periodically during gameplay and there is an annoying sound glitch. We continue to have these problems (among others) after several patches. There is also the issue of probation. If you quit too many matches you get a five minute timeout before you can join a game and I think these can add/stack up. After a game session were this shoddy game caused my system to freeze 3 times I received a probation. I don't quit games, but Treyarch wants to take punitive action against me because their lousy game decides to take a dump.
    I made the mistake of buying the first dlc pack, but I won't be buying any more for this game. If you haven't purchased this game do yourself a favor and stay away.
    Expand
  22. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This is a horrible game. This is the same as Black Ops 1, same engine, same guns. Lame DLC, Lame Servers. This was just a money maker for them, a rushed game in which should have been a 3 or 4 year project. Every COD, should take at least 4 years to make NOT 1 every year.

    COD mainly is for Little Kids ask there Mom's to buy it and in so they can play with their friends and spend money
    on DLC.

    Big Companys that host Competitive games with not good MLG players and spend Millions but cant fixed the servers? Smh
    Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2013
    4
    Wow, I love MW2 and 3, never played MW1 or BO1, and this game is the suck. The maps never open up, they could have called this Corridor Shooter if the name wasn't already taken. Every map is 3 to 5 paths by 3 crosspaths with a round about in the middle. When it does open up they just pile up stuff to make it tighter and there are lots of dead zones on the maps you could go to and never see another player. If you don't get what I'm trying to convey it is this, there is no flow or joy to be had with these maps, only shooting someone that walks in front of you. MW3 maps seem brilliant in comparison, not counting the DC. Even the least liked map Downturn, would seem like an upgrade to this game. You also get to play every half decent map in BO2 twice in a row since the alternatives are garbage in comparison, so you are nonstop playing standoff, the one with the fountain, the boat and carrier. The weapons and mods are crap, no long range high damage pistols like the magnum, instead you get a short range shotgun pistol!?! The flash and concussion grenades are useless, they feel like the original Call of Duty. No portable radar just some lame radar grenades that don't do squat and last 10 seconds. All the good skills are in the third skill slot, so you have to waste your perk on it to have the necessary skills to dominate. The target finder ruins your skills in other games. The killstreaks are impossible to use unless you are amazing, even to use something like a UAV. It is hard to have a purpose in the game such as Assault, Recon, Defense, Sniper etc... Everybody is just a run and gunner.

    The Zombie game is incredibly stupid, this is a full game yet feels like a first person top down gun game you would download on your phone, minus the fun. The single player game is what all these games are 2 good moments surrounded by linear combat.

    All in all a complete disappointment for a modern FPS.
    Expand
  24. Feb 19, 2013
    2
    Lag Compensation kills Multiplayer. If you havent heard of it its the framerate/timeframe when your shooting enemies it gives them a chance to kill you even if you have already been shooting them.
  25. Feb 13, 2013
    4
    Campaign is alright but nothing special. Multiplayer is complete garbage, often leaving me in disbelief of how I had just died. Hunter killers? Really? How the hell are we supposed to see that garbage coming? BO1 was good, but this game is complete garbage. Don't waste your time, money, or your longevity of your life (it will raise your blood pressure through the roof).
  26. Feb 5, 2013
    4
    Black Ops 2 is a total disaster. The multiplayer is unbalanced and not addictive. The "zombies" is a mess, a complicated addition that used to be incredibly fun in the previous BO. And the single-player, while it has some worth additions, It's boring. And the graphics are outdated. Shortly, lets just say that It's the same game as the previous CODs. Unimpressed.
  27. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    Since COD4 I have been complaining about all the COD's I have bought. However, no matter how much I complained, these games were all still playable. This is the first COD that I can't enjoy. The only fun part for me was Tranzit. Yet, once you figure it out and have to kill yourself to end the game it is rather boring. I thought maybe setting a goal like getting to the final prestige or getting diamond weapons would make it more fun. Unfortunately, a bunch of little kids hacked the game to get all these and Treyarch did nothing about it. So....waste of 60 bucks Expand
  28. Jan 29, 2013
    4
    BLACK OPS 2 ZOMBIES ONLY REVIEW. Having played World at War and Black Ops 1, I can say that the zombies mode in this game has definitely lost its touch. Sure, it's improved in the sense that there are now more modes: TranZit - where you travel between the different maps via a bus - and Grief - a competitive game mode where two teams compete for score, but still killing zombies. The maps aren't great either. Sure, they're designed around the TranZit mode but that is mainly, from my perspective, for little kids that want to over-complicate a simple mini-game. The classic style zombies is still present though. The three areas for the survival mode each have different resources. The first area, for example, just has a mystery box and 4 wall weapons, like the original Nacht der Untoten. It should also be noted that one can now change the starting round, whether there are dogs and whether it's headshots only, as well as the option to turn down the difficulty. Despite these additions, the actual fun has declined. You kill over 200 zombies before you even get to double figures on the round counter, yet there is little satisfaction. The weapons aren't satisfying to use due to the lack of recoil perhaps. Or maybe the zombies don't die as quickly. Whatever it is, something is definitely missing. In my opinion, Shi No Numa, Der Riese and Kino der Toten had the perfect balance between complexity of the map and complexity of progression. Everything was simple. You didn't have to go through a million different rituals and easter eggs just to upgrade a gun or even access the mystery box. Yet, they weren't too simple where there was no scope for strategy or variation. In Black Ops II, the problem is that it's gone too far yet again, just like the DLC maps for Black ops 1.
    //TLDR; if you're buying Black Ops 2 for the zombies, be aware that it's nowhere near as fun as World at War and the focus has been shifted away from zombies being a mini-game towards it being a more complete horde mode; which falls short of even Modern Warfare 3 or Gears of War 3's survival modes.
    Expand
  29. Jan 28, 2013
    3
    First of all, i must say that i had all the call of duty's so far, and i never gave a damn about single player, i always play the multiplayer for the online experience!!! i bought this game since day one but i couldn't play it for 2 days because it couldn't CONNECT to the online services! Great work treyarch, thank you! Only chuck norris was online those days! When the miracle happend and i connected thankfully i noticed some things that i didn't like! The knife didn't work properly like the other call of duty's, a lot of lagging, a GLINCH that give noobs access to master all the prestiges, which is inacceptable and the guns especially the smg's are super weapons, they can hit you from miles away! Ok i said, its a new game these problems will be fixed in a future update and it will work properly! There were a lots of updates since then but nothing was fixed, it getting even worst and worst! Not to mention that i have see the famous message ''call of duty : black ops 2 server is not available at this time'' every time there is double xp! So imagine how many times i couldn't play the game since its release! Just imagine! Don't fix treyarch any problem of the game, don't fix the servers, don't fix anything,just release a dlc and make it worst! Great idea! i'm wondering though, the new gun in dlc, the smg, who's smg is gonna be? Kratos smg? John Rambo's smg? Treyarch, this was the last time i bought a game with your name on, i would never gonna buy again! And i know that you don;t care about one customer, but please, don't dissolve the series! You are losing the average players! FIX THE SERVERS! Expand
  30. Jan 28, 2013
    2
    Being one of a dozen people who play the singleplayer, I was shocked at how much they mucked up the whole Black Ops storyline. The only time I actually enjoyed this game was playing one on one gun game with my friend(on splitscreen). Turn to multiplayer and you're just asking for a profanity laced speech from a 10 year-old anti-Semite.
  31. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    Don't get me wrong it's playable, but this game just is not worth 89 dollars. The campaign still has the same problems as the last games, full of action movie cliches, boring set pieces and forgettable characters. The only real reason to buy this game would be if you had friends that play it online, even though the fanbase is full of mic spamming underage kidss. But that reason alone does not make it worth 89 dollars, or 160 if you get the season pass. Do not buy this game if you do not have friends that play it or you do not have a good online connection. Expand
  32. Jan 9, 2013
    2
    200 bland minigames tied together with good graphics and an incomprehensible plot. Enemy (and friendly) AI is the worst I can remember since... hmmm... nope, worst I can remember.

    ... to be fair, the number 200 was pulled out of a hat. I only got through maybe 30 of em before calling it a duty.
  33. Jan 8, 2013
    1
    I buy it the day of the release and let me tell you, this game is garbage! Call of duty Black ops 2 is the worst game ever to release. The Campaign is half-good and half-bad but nobody care about the Campaign in recent COD games anyway. The choice in the Campaign you make is nothing new. Picking weapons to bring with you on the mission is nothing new, but the first COD game to feature it. Why would they put the strategy levels in the game that is so boring, pointless, & impossible?! The multiplayer is so broken& Cluster that is reach you to point that your ready to break the disc in half. Spawn campers, Campers, small map, overused smg, Team mate that suck at teamwork, unbalanced weapons, bouncing Betty, Shock charger, Quickscopers (no respect for sniper in COD), Lag, Lag comp, host advantage, dropshoters, hit marker inaccurate, Favor people with poor connection, League play (not a game for competitive), Hacker,spawn system terrible, freezes people PS3s including mine, & scoresteak (taking from MW3 support steak, before MW3, Homefront has it & Medal of Honor 2010 has it before even infintiy ward had the idea). Zombles get boring real fast and no form of reward for solving easter egg or for defeating zombles. Not a fan of COD zombles, but if i want a real zomble games, our go & play Dead Island or Left 4 dead or even early Resident Evil games. Overall stay away from this game and get a better game other than call of duty. Treyarch & Activision, your the abomination to gaming industry. You don't care about your customers that complain about your game & not fixing the game that your customers demanding, you all about money. Don't listen to other major reviewers like IGN because they are lier and pay by activision to give this game a high score. Have a great day! Expand
  34. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    I'm going to be honest, do not buy this game unless you pay £10, its good for a tenner but other than that it
  35. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    0/10, the Call of Duty is dead. It was a very good shooter, I enjoy Call of Duty 2 and Modern Warfare 1, and I just like Zombie Mode. In Black Ops II I just like campaign- it's awesome, everything else- fail. I expected more...
  36. Jan 4, 2013
    4
    There are a lot of things to like about this game, but the negatives outweigh the positives. Let's start with the positives: the score-streak setup they implement in this game is awesome. In addition to getting kills, you are rewarded for playing the objective and being a team player. I am also glad to see that the support strike package from MW3 and death-streaks are NOT in this game, so no more free stealth bombers and EMPs, and no more last/final stand, second chance, or dead man's hand. The way they have divided up the perks is superb as well, with no single perk being overpowered. Similar to the perks in this game, you will find that the guns are well-balanced also.

    Unfortunately, even with these great features, the online multiplayer experience can be horrible at times. The lag compensation and hit detection in this game are worse than any of the three previous Call of Duty games (MW2, Black Ops 1, and MW3). It can be extremely frustrating to lose a gunfight to someone when, on your screen, you clearly should have come out on top. They have also taken away the ability to tie score-streaks to your custom classes, so if you find yourself struggling to win a gunfight due to lag or any other reason, you are stuck with the 3 score-streaks you chose and cannot switch to lower ones during a match. In addition to having horrible lag compensation and hit detection, the developers have implemented skill-based matchmaking, so even though the game has connection issues, players are not always placed in lobbies with the best ping. Often, players will be placed in games with worse connections in order to go up against players of similar skill level.

    TL;DR: the connection issues in this game have absolutely ruined it. Though they have implemented some nice new features, the online multiplayer experience can be utterly frustrating.
    Expand
  37. Jan 2, 2013
    2
    This game gets a 2/10 because is unplayable, why you ask? well 1 simple answer for 1 simple question... LAG! horrible, game breaking LAG! I jump to the COD wagon (MP wise) with MW2, had some fun so decided to buy BO1, because hey the first one was really entertaining so why not this one, so BO1 still a fun game, some LAG issues here and there but my friends were playing it so what the hell, MW3 I wited until the honeymoon ended to see that hooker's real face and it was ugly as hell, so awful I jumped to BF3 and didn't look back, now we had this so called "NEW GAME" and F*CK is as awful as the other ones. You can think anything you want, but truth be told I gave that abomination a chance, and had the worst day playing of my life, I started to scream at the TV so loud the neighbors thought I was killing someone. finally that same day I played Zombies for a change and got disconnected 2 times just a couple of minutes after entering into the lobby, the third time I finally got a party to play with and played for about 20 mins, you know why I didn't continue playing after that? because it disconnected me again, because the HOST LEFT! that's right NO DEDICATED SERVERS! So no COD for me EVER AGAIN! I'm glad I borrowed from a friend and not bought it like the rest. No SP review here just played like 40 min of it and decided that doing anything else was more worthwhile, like taking a nap or cutting my toe nails. Expand
  38. Jan 2, 2013
    2
    at first i gave this game a 5/ 10 but now it's a 2/10, the campaign is short and dissapointing, you can finish it in a day, the graphics are practically the same with some minor changes, if you see a comparative video oin youtube about mw3 and bo2 you will not notice the difference, the zombies was 1000000 better in bo1, it was funnier and way more hardcore, tranzit is good, but grief and survival were pretty dissapointing, especially because the maps are so small, the multiplayer is so damn unbalanced, lag compensation will make 60% of the bullets you thought you hit to not hit and it just favors players with smg's and shotguns, it is also a camper paradise, the spawn system is crap too, most of the time you will spawn directly into bullets, the maps are so stupid too, they are as small as treyarch's brain, please save your money and don't buy this piece of **** game Expand
  39. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    do not get this game they keep going on about how they will improve online play but it is just as bad as mw3 in short the people that made this game do not care about what the people think if you want a good fps online shooter go for a game other than black ops two or any other than call of duty
  40. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Unbalanced multiplayer, mediocre campaign, and overall terrible community. Activision really should've spent more time creating this, especially when it's such a "high-profile AAA" game.
  41. Dec 29, 2012
    2
    It's a Treyarch game so I kind of know what to expect. No subtlety whatsoever, just bigger guns and more enemies to shoot. You end up not caring about the single player mission because you haven't a clue most of the time where you're being shot from. The story isn't ever that interesting tbh, just the normal bad guy blah blah blah. Accuracy is not there, you unload a load bullets to find you're not even taking anyone down. The multiplayer isn't much better. As already been said you can unload an entire clip into someone to find they turn around and just blast you, with a pistol, with 2 bullets. The lobby system when trying to join people is horrendous. It says you can join only to be told its either full or an error for 90% of the time. When you do get a party together it's pot luck if they all make it into a game or not. Until they balance the weapons and sort the lobby system out then its flawed in a massive way. But then again I shouldn't have expected more from Treyarch. Infinity ward games have class, subtlety and a mission you get genuinely engrossed in. This has none of that. Period. Expand
  42. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    I haven't played this game. I wont play this game. Does not mean i cannot have an opinion on it. 5 hours worth of game...Are you freakin serious?! I'm a fair reviewer, but these guys are taking the right piss out of any fan of the series. They're playing on your fondness of the game....and you guys jus bend over and take it.. Come on guys (No joke there intentionally). At least MOH Warfighter has the decency to use a modern engine to zazz up the graphics. Shocking how reputable gaming sites and magazines rate this so highly. Recycled poop. Expand
  43. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    The only reason this game gets a 1 is for the campaign. I bought BLOPS2 for the multiplayer. Its horrible. You will unload a clip into someone and not kill them. You will get hit with 2 bullets and drop. The maps funnel everyone together, which is fine accept you spawn in front of enemies. Enemies spawn behind you. Simply put, this is a terrible game. They have had 6 times to get this correct and it is no where close. Expand
  44. Dec 26, 2012
    3
    I bought this game after some work friends I was playing multiplayer with decided they´d jump into the next COD title. To put it clearly: This game is as bad as it gets. The single player campaign is awful, with an graphics engine as old as time itself, an even more stupid AI (I started the game in Hardened and could dance around the scenario before someone cared to shoot at me) and stupid objectives, that basically were WAY too easy to complete even in Hardened. I couldnt play it for longer than 15 minutes. The multiplayer part of the game is a little better, with a system that "kind of" works, but it is even more based on player reflexes than the previous COD titles. Not to mention the deaths coming from nowhere, thanks some issues still present on the game. The multiplayer part is a solid 5, and the single player a solid zero, hence my score of 3. Expand
  45. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    If I reviewed this game alot earlier when I got it the score will be alot higher. Sadly the game dispointed me completely. How does a game like this get released for PS3 when all it does for me is freeze up my system at the loading movies everytime making me have to hard reset my PS3. I'm guess I count myself lucky that it haven't killed my Slim PS3 yet. From what I was able to play of it before all these problems came up I loved expect MP cause of the lag from heck. Story was somewhat believable with everything that was going on it. Little hard to follow if you don't under politics or anything like that. Love the zombie mode huge maps, greif everything. But stay the hell away cause they is a good chance if you play this your PS3 will do nothing but freeze and crash damaging it. Even if you baby your system like I do. I'm out 110 dollars for this crap. I loved MW2, Loved black ops 1, Hate MW3 to death, and this I can't even form a words for how mess up this is. Are they going to refund my money to me if I demand it doubtful ? Best thing for ppl to do is to stop buying these games all togather. Let Activison die. Expand
  46. Dec 19, 2012
    4
    The maps are all garbage. The perks are all garbage. Gameplay is the same. Weapons and equipment are the same. Killstreaks are the same. Permanent lag. Keeps freezing, requiring me to restart my PS3 This game isn't as bad as MW3 but it's close. Black Ops 1 is still the best game in the series.
  47. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    Honestly the last call of duty MW3 was pulled down the graphic quality and the new that has come to me the only thing that has been gained in sales zombie mode because the single player is very short and the multiplayer is the same **** always
  48. Dec 10, 2012
    3
    First CoD game i've ever played, it's really fun. awesome design and gunplay/modes. having lots of fun...unfortunately it only lasted for about a week. I started to understand the game more and more, and became more frustrated at how bad the latency is ruining this game for everyone. no killcam is ever accurate to what is actually done on my side of the screen. a PDW looks like it kills me in 2 bullets, but on their killcam they already pumped me with 4 bullets around a corner they were already around before it showed on my screen. there's so many youtube videos expressing this with video footage examples! it's infuriating that a game that emphasizes so much on multiplayer and that they can't even get the online portion correct. they implemented a patch (1.04) to fix weapon balances and such, but everyone still uses the SMG's because they dominate close range and mid-range and sometimes kill long range, where's the shotguns ranges? oh sure 1-5 feet but how can i be successful with so much latency problems? it's killing the game for me and i won't be returning to the game until it is fixed, and I may re-write a better review to what it actually deserves... Collapse
  49. Dec 9, 2012
    3
    More of the same, now with a futuristic skin. Im done with COD, ive been playing since COD1 and after 6 years of Activision Milking my pocket releasing the exact same game over and over again, i decided to give the franchise a last chance with blackops 2 and i ended up selling my copy. Whats really sad is that i'm not even disappointed, because i wasn't expecting much anyway. I was gonna give it a 2, gave it a 3 because at least is better than **** warfare 3 Expand
  50. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    While this game has a admittedly good story for it' s single player campaign I'm very hesitant to call the multiplayer of this game anything short of terrible. I absolutely felt let down with this title after having played several previous titles in the series and while there is a slight fun factor the problems weigh it down severally! Some of the most common issues are things like Lag compensation,head glitching, and weapon imbalance issues that for some reason Activision refuses to fix. Had these issues been resolved or at the very least lessened the game may have been more enjoyable for me but sadly they were not. If Activision is going to insist on releasing the same sort of game every year they should at least address some of the major problems that plague the series which as of now they still refuse to do. I would recommend doing as i did and rent this game if your unsure of it's quality or if you insist on buying it get it used at a later date. While the single player has a good story and may justify a purchase for some for me this game is far from being worth the full price of $60 Expand
  51. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I was expecting some improvement in the multiplayer. Nope. After playing Halo I, thought MW2's multiplayer was bad because of lag. Now I see that MW2 handles the best of the entire COD series. Treyarch/Black Ops has always been worse...from World at War, Black Ops and now Black Ops 2. They've done nothing to improve the way their system handles network lag and hit detection. The game is an exercise in frustration. Time to sell the game and buy a cinder block for me to beat my head against, I'll get a similar level of enjoyment and have $50. Expand
  52. Dec 6, 2012
    0
    The campaign is 6.5/10. The Multiplayer is - 6.5/10. Spawn killing, lag switching, team killing, boosting, aimbots (yes, there are, deniers), lag so horrendous that even the best connection runs 1-2 seconds behind everyone else. You'd think that a company that just made ONE BILLION DOLLARS in 15 days off of this, PLUS the BILLIONS off of the last several, that they'd care enough to fix it: NOPE, they already have your money.

    "HA HA" - Nelson
    Expand
  53. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    While no game deserves a 0 as a score this game definitely does not deserve a 10. Single player basically comes down to more of the same old formula Activision has forced these development companies to work with. The AI is laughable at best, but every one knows the Call of Duty franchise has never had the best coding for AI. The story line in general is 5 hours long and is really bland, unimaginative, and well, more of the same. They try to deviate from becoming a linear corridor shooter by supposedly providing player with options but they don't truly affects the game. The ending on the other hand might. Which is suppose to add re playability to the first person campaign, but there's really no reason to play over the same campaign for just a different ending. Multiplayer, this is the are where this game should shine but it seems the MP portion of this game feels a lot similar to that of MW3 and of course Black Ops. Small scaled maps with tons of areas to camp. Basically comes down to which ever team can camp the middle ground the best wins the game. The rest is just protecting the same corner through out the game with occasionally moving 3-6 feet away from your old camp spot to corner camp in a different spot. There are no need to watch your back as certain equipment and streaks do that for your. The game is slow paced and also suffers from the same old bad hit detection. While it does some what fix old issues like knifing people from miles away, it does at times glitch and can cause your character to launch at another player. Kill streaks seem re-hashed but with an added "futuristic" approach. There's always lag and horrible host selection, the spawn points are mediocre at best, but what can one expect from such small maps that are crammed with buildings to make them seem "big." The leveling system online has been set to keep players from playing. While it gives players who have been playing the game longest the upper hand with over powered weaponry and the best perks. The new set up is suppose to force players into playing the objective, that is not the case. The way the maps are set up actually encourage players to whore kill streaks and never actually go for any objective. Word of advice, try to level as fast as you can to get ghost perk, it's a uav whore type of game. Zombies: This is where this game shines. It's somewhat new but refreshing at the same time reminds me a bit of Left for Dead. Which is great fun to be honest. If this game was just a zombie installment I would definitely recommend this game. Other wise, save yourself some money and just rent this game or save up for MW5 or BLOPS 4; Skip a generation or two just like any one in their right mind would with Fifa games. Expand
  54. Nov 30, 2012
    2
    WARNING! SAME OLE GARBAGE! I bought black ops 2 hardened edition, damn did I waste my money. Returned within a week and picked up Far Cry 3 which is exceptionally AMAZING!!! Yes there are new weapons, so what? that doesn't make up for the lack of creativity. Most of the time, it felt like the game was playing itself. It's ok when CoD uses quicktime events but Medal of Honor can't. Clearly the reviews were biased toward CoD. The graphics on zombies for PS3, are terrible! to say the least. The campaign looks better, the story is interesting but the game play has no imagination. It linear in every way possible. You'll have options in 2 to 3 missions but the rest just plays out how the developer planned it. Expand
  55. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    No effort at all was put into this game. Its just another generic soulless over rated shooter which critic's been bribed to give it a good score.

    No one in its right mind should even try such balant example of laziness
  56. Nov 25, 2012
    2
    This game just plain sucks... Has a bunch of freezing problems and people of course yelling at each other every game I go into or else it would be a background mic. I first played the campaign I thought that was ok but when I was almost done with the campaign my screen just turned black so guess what I had to do...RESTART MY PS3. So I booted it back up and I HAD TO RESTART THE WHOLE MISSION AGAIN!!!!!! The multiplayer of course has a bunch of kids, people yelling at each other or background mics for everygame I go into. Multiplayer gameplay is really the same I had a bunch of freezing problems at the loading screen so more restarting the PS3.....Multiplayer just plain sucks now. The multiplayer also has a bunch of lag compensation so i would put it on best. You would still find it on best connection...Zombies is terrible it has more freezing problems then the multiplayer. But the zombies is ok so thats why I gave my score a 2 for good campaign and zombies gameplay. This series needs to die so bad. COD 4 is still the best with good campaign and multiplayer and never wants me to rage on that game. Treyarch you failed on a very popular game series. Expand
  57. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    This game is meh. With the addition of an zombie campaign, it adds to a more in depth experience. But that is about it. Campaign is unbearably dumbed down. Multiplayer is just the normal stuff. What would have really made this game good is a new graphics engine. But i guess if people keep buying it, activision will keep spooning this crap into our mouths. Thanks for the better zombie mode. Maybe i won't trade this one in , in just 2 weeks like i did MW3. Expand
  58. Nov 22, 2012
    3
    The only reason I am giving Black Ops II a 3 out of 10 is because I really enjoyed Campaign Mode AKA The Story. Everything else though seems to be a mess. The online multiplayer seems broken the extent that someone could tell me that it wasn't finished being developed and I would believe them. If you play online multiplayer be warned, you will not see things play out the same way your enemies do. The lag compensation system in this game will cause a slight delay for players with a fast internet connection to supposedly make things more even, IT DOES NOT. This system will allow an enemy that rounds a corner right in front of you to kill you before you can even pull the trigger. There are also times when you will empty most of your clip into the enemy only to have them turn around and put you down with one or two bullets. I've had matches where I have put 4 buckshot rounds into the enemy's face at point blank range only to get killed by their shotgun in 1 shot. If your internet connection is good don't be surprised if on kill confirmed you go 10K-30D+ because of this atrocious lag compensator that rewards players for having horrible internet connections. Most if not all of the people giving good reviews of this game have DSL or lower quality of internet connection guaranteed. I have been playing Call of Duty since World at War came out in 2008 and did well (2.0+ Kill death Ratio) at them until Modern Warfare 3 and this new creature that they have released. With this game I currently have a 0.88 KDR which I must say is horrible to say the least. I have decided that I will no longer buy any Activision/Blizzard/Treyarch/InfinityWard games as I have lost confidence in their ability to create a fair and unbiased product. Next November hit them where it really hurts. Their pocketbooks. Expand
  59. Nov 21, 2012
    4
    This is not a good game. Its the same graphics has Black Ops 1 which was outdated back at its release. The single player game is ok and the multiplayer is ok gameplay wise. Graphics its not a patch on MW3 and these games should be getting better. Only for the Zombies does this get a 4 in my eyes and im still undecided on that. Its big when you look at the different maps but then when you get to the locations there very small and this makes it a hard game when you add the fire. Still not sure about it but I expected much much better Expand
  60. Nov 20, 2012
    1
    Ok... As a long time fan of all the COD games I am in a position to judge this as good as any. I spent most of the last week playing this game in the hope it might grow on me. Sadly it hasn't. In my opinion the worst COD to date.
    This game has 2 modes... Sub machine gun and charge. Or quick scope. I had a KD ratio around 2:1 which is decent and almost on prestige 2 so I put enough time
    into it. It's a huge disappointment with the variety of gameplay reduced to that of Quake. Hardcore has only a few options. Team based gameplay has been whacked with the 'new ghost' making a tense slow game impossible, forcing a run and gun even in HC modes.
    That's just the gameplay, I haven't even mentioned the lag, bugs or freezes it causes.

    Tomorrow I will take it back for a refund. Betrayarch you can kiss my A**
    Expand
  61. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Please donate £1 per month to poor michael, unfortunately he spent all of his christmas allowance on a video game, this game in question has made his life miserable, it has bullied him, tormented him and even asaulted him, no child should have to put up with this, so for as little as £1 per month you can help eliminate retail copies of call of duty black ops 2, children who have been freed from the grasp of COD say they feel like they have been given a new life and can live in peace, make this dream a reality for many children this christmas and give £1 to our specialist activision assassination squad, or if you cant afford that, just simply go into your local retail store and go all bruce lee on their stocked copies od COD:black ops 2. Expand
  62. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    I'm not impressed at all with this game and maybe I'm expecting too much out of Activision/Treyarch these days but this game is another nail in the coffin that was once a strong franchise. Stale graphics, A moderately entertaining campaign, unimpressive multiplayer, and a worn out zombies concept is primarily the downfall of this game; and yet the critics give it rave reviews... I call it bias. Stating facts only if you're someone looking for a new thrill or a cool concept for a game then this isn't it and hence it is the reason for my rating of a "0". I hope I help you guys out there that are considering this game. Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn.Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. God Bless America. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Video game propaganda. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. DiShoot. Kill. Die. Respawn.e. Respawn. Zombies. Americans are all consuming zombies. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Terrible. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Shoot. Kill. Die. Respawn. Expand
  64. Nov 19, 2012
    1
    Black Ops sucked ass. Black Ops 2 also sucks ass. Every time that Treyarch gets a game they screw it up. Infinity Ward don't get it perfect by any means, but COD4 is still the best of the bunch. This game will always sell well but for the next game I.W. really need to pull their socks up and give us something new and different.
  65. Nov 19, 2012
    2
    Coming this winter, from the folks who just can't take a hint, it's Call of Duty: Black Ops II! The multiplayer is exactly the same as before, yet somehow been made worse than before! The morons over at Activision and Treyarch have somehow taken the laziest kind of FPS on the market, and become the Beavis and Butthead of it. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of being handed the exact same thing every year that's somehow progressively worse each time. With Ghost only unlockable at the last level, it's frontline-on-frontline, with little or no chance of flanking or stealth. This is what happens when a game company caters to whiny little kids and those with an IQ lower than 40 who know nothing except the traditional Ulysses S. Grant cavalry charge that's been failing AI enemies since the 90's. But now it's somehow mandated. Run and gun, or die trying. There is no other option now. These are the same people who complain about campers, in a series that already has a wide array of tools for weeding out campers. Flashbangs, grenades, launchers of both kinds, and -- god forbid -- actually CHECKING your corners. I do it all the time. But now, those of us who genuinely want to use flanking and stealth just get left in the dust. The game also feels like it was geared only towards people who've been around long enough, so I can't see how anyone new to the FPS genre would enjoy this game. To its credit, the campaign is somewhat passable, as you can actually pick your loadout before each mission. But once again, the campaign was too short, and I beat it in under a day. This is a series where multiplayer is the main focus. Here's one player who's selling the game back for a full refund before the receipt expires, probably the last chance I'm giving Call of Duty. Whether they keep recycling the same crap every year is dependent on whether you guys finally stop falling for it. If you played this game, you've been had, badly. Expand
  66. Nov 19, 2012
    3
    First of all I used to be a COD fan (Bought prestige/Hardened editions)Got to prestige 10, etc. But Treyarch and activision ruined COD. Terrible 2005 graphics, they didn't even rey to improve on the contrary COD 4 looks better than this turd, laggy and mediocre online, smallest maps ever, auto aim, retarded AI, and worst of all tons of technicall flaws including the infamous Yelow Light inducing game frezzing on PS3. I didn't finish campaign mode out of fear of Killing my PS3. Treyarch should be fired because all the games they have developed aré Stinkers since Spiderman, even a "Noob" studio like Sledgehammer did a better job. Please bring Back Infinity Ward they had respect and love for the COD franchise. Expand
  67. Nov 18, 2012
    4
    At first, I gave this game a 7/10, but after spending a lot of time online this weekend, I can now say I was wrong. Sure the campaign is decent, and zombies is zombies, but right now multi-player is the most unbalanced in the series. The two major objective issues I have are lag compensation, and spawning

    As it stands, lag compensation favors players with poor internet, and also favor
    guns with high rate of fire (i.e. SMGs) since the lag compensation will likely make 60% of bullets you think hit, actually miss.

    The new spawn system was designed to avoid getting spawn camped... however the problem is now players will randomly spawn around you. It doesn't matter if your team locks down a corridor, or section of the map, the enemy will just appear right behind you since the game actively avoid forward spawns.

    Aside from those two problems, I have a personal problem with the map layouts... They are way to cluttered with obstacles. Therefore, shotguns and SMGs rule king. I have no problem with these guns, I just wish the 90% of the maps didn't favor them as I do enjoy AR's.

    It's sad to say that MW2 is still the best in series, and I'm sure many would still play it if it wasn't for all the hackers.
    Expand
  68. Nov 18, 2012
    2
    I bought this game hoping it would impress me but I had a other feeling that I new it was going to be like the first one. The zombies is OK but i don't get the storyline. Also they jumped the gun all the way to 2025.
    Thats a little far fetched to me. What im trying to say is it is the same thing every year. I will be honest I don't think call of duty is going to last much longer. I'm
    not impressed by this game and I got caught in there scam of the same thing every year. Expand
  69. Nov 18, 2012
    3
    Complete and utter garbage. Graphics have improved minimally, but it still feels like that colorless 2x2 box with a bunch of 6 years olds with ADHD screaming at each other that everyone knows and loves. The story has all the same plot twists, mechanics are still horrible (not changed from the last games) and they still do not have dedicated servers. This game lacks any modern features.
  70. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Must I even write a review? Call of Duty is the most absolute piece of bullocks I have ever seen in my years of gaming. Have fun wasting $50-$70 more on a new game that is pretty much the same as the one before. Viva la Cod
  71. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Game released for PS3 crashes locally or online after 2 rounds of zombies or multiplayer. The patches have not fixed the issues for me (as of 1.03). This will be the last COD I buy, and I'm looking to return/sell my copy now.
  72. Nov 18, 2012
    1
    They cut out all the gore from the SP-campaign, the german sync is the worst I experienced for a long time (without being able to switch it to original in the AT-Version) and the graphics are incredibly poor for todays standards (Shadows are sometimes shown in big squares, grass looks poor, animations look strange etc). Story is boring as hell and in the end its just a playable multiplayer left with nothing more than a good class-editor. Damn, treyarch really messed up the sequel of the more atmospheric Black Ops 1. Update: I'm more ****** than before. Treyarch reset my online-stats with the latest patch, THX ALOT! Next thing is, that I finally ended the campaign-mode, started a new one and now I am not allowed to replay the all missions to get the missed trophies. This really makes me sick, I am going to resell it the next days. Has treyarch ever tested this game and thought: Oh no, this won't **** anyone off? Expand
  73. Nov 17, 2012
    1
    I am terribly disapointed in Trearch, Activision, and Sony for allowing a game that is this broken to be released on the PS3. There are numerous problems with textures, match making, and lag. However, the crowning achievement is the fact that many players can't even play any game mode for more than ten minutes without their system crashing. The fact that this game was certified for sale is absurd and borderline criminal. I can only hope that the FTC does something to stop companies like Activision and Bethesda from releasing unfinished games in the future. Expand
  74. Nov 17, 2012
    3
    First, I'm going to review the single player campaign. The story is, well, it's a Call of Duty game. So without spoiling anything, the story is your generic bad guy out there, US forces must go stop him, blah. The better things this time around is that you can customize your loadout for each mission. The introduction of "Strike Force" Missions is a feeble attempt at spicing up the single player campaign. You basically control a few turrets, one robot mech, and two squads of "SEALS". I put "SEALS" in quotation marks because these SEALs are worse in combat than a bunch of preteens playing paintball. Unless you're manually controlling a unit, they will do nothing but die. On Veteran mode, it is literally impossible to win a strike force mission. Having the unit you control die in less than 5 seconds becomes frustrating after it's happened for the 50th time, just so you can lose the mission.

    Onto multiplayer, for the PS3 version, four things may happen. One, you can't play because you get an error message saying can't connect to servers or something along those lines. Two, you can't play because two minutes or so into the game, you get "Connection Interrupted" and get kicked out of the lobby. Three, you can't play because despite having high speed Internet, for some reason you always get a red 1-bar lag-tastic connection. Four, you play perfectly fine, but still you lose one on one gun fights, despite the fact that you're aiming down sight, get the first few bullets on target, behind high cover, and having every single possible tactical advantage, but this far into the Call of Duty series I think we've all come to know this game as being 40% luck, 59% connection, and 1% skill.

    I gave this game one point for having a mediocre campaign (with a few near pointless gimmicks thrown in there), for having zombies mode, and for letting me play for about two minutes of every multiplayer match before kicking me out due to "Connection Interrupted". And yes I do have my search preferences set to "best".
    Expand
  75. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    How did this game above 0? Again, Activision making millions on glitchy game. Everyone who owns a fat ps3 or slim has random freezes or auto shut down. Several of those received the ylod because of it. Activision is ruining the gaming industry. It is no longer about fun. It's about keeping people addicted through skinner box/dopamine and annually making millions.
  76. Nov 17, 2012
    2
    I borrowed this game from my cousin, after he got sick of it. The campaign is typical, what you would expect from these games, one thing that bothered me is that the game looked rough, considering it runs on an old engine, I know graphics doesnt make the game but its 2012, the ps3 is capable of over 200flops, and i want a game to look the part. I really lucked out on not buying this game. I just want cutting edge experience from my games and all we got this year was hype, gimmicks and bad endings. Where did the heart go? Expand
  77. Nov 17, 2012
    1
    Tired of it ! This game is not even an update ! Nor a downgrade, it is just the same as all the call of duty's since COD 4 !! Time to change guys ! This million business must stop !! This is starting to be like FIFA !! Graphics same, gameplay same, new guns are camo's of old guns .. luckily the maps are a bit different and futuristic (they have too, I think they squeezed every single spot on the planet, let's go alien style ! ) What's next ? Call Of Duty: Alien Warfare Expand
  78. Nov 16, 2012
    3
    This review is based on Multiplayer. In my experience, I played League, Core, Hardcore, and the Nuketown playlist along with one of the party games. I noticed that the more I try to think and deliberate with decision making in the game, my success rate goes down in a match. I had more success when I was paying attention to videos on my laptop and habitually moving the analog sticks and pulling trigger buttons lazily. In my opinion, this the equivalent to what's known as a "button-masher" in the fighting or beat-em-up genre (sometimes even 3rd person action adventure). It's fun with friends, but it is not very challenging to a someone who wants to approach a game with an independent mind. The guns might as well shoot out laser beams or magic spells because their is virtually no recoil. I mostly used the Skorpion EVO, m7, MTA, SCAR H, and Chicom CQB. In my opinion, the gunplay lacks the personality that MW3 had, but I did not put as many hours in BO2 as MW3. It is just my impressions. Last night I found myself playing the game I really felt disgusted and disappointed with the experience I was having. It did not provide any sense of accomplishment in gaining kills. I didn't feel as if I had earned success because of any ability that I possessed. The series seems to have changed from a game of survival (COD4 & WOW) to an arcade party (MW2) to, now, a digital playground of chaos and disruption. I mean, when you look at the game screen sometimes, you must ask yourself, "what is this really that is taking place place in front of me?" Is it entertainment or amusement or simply an unorganized mess?" That is referring to what appears on screen, not necessarily mechanics. The graphics have been polished and look a little more high-def compared to last year's MW3, but honestly, the characters and bright colors on the map are not very pleasing to the eye. I had a problem with some of BF3's dry-looking, stale, gray maps for console, but this is not the remedy. It's no wonder why they do live-action commercials with actors. I just want to suggest to people who play the game or are interested in playing it, what is it that you actually value in your gaming experience? Do you really find those values in this game? I think the direction that treyarch took was to streamline, and organize the arcade madness that took place in previous titles in the series and squeeze it into a mechanical series of outrageous battles, but it backfired on them, making this an all out boring, sequence of fast-paced animations and magical guns. I'm sorry if I offended any gamers on here, but I don't consider myself a gamer. I'm just looking for a good experience on a console and I did not find it here. Expand
  79. Nov 16, 2012
    2
    Poor linear offering, with nothing new to offer and tired format, what new additions there are only detract from the experience, going to trade fro Farcry 3, never again
  80. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    Multiplayer is amusing at best. It has brought some new perk selection that offers at least the flexibility to do what you like (to an extent).

    Not played zombies or singlplayer. The engine feels very very dated. MW3 is ok but this is just Meh...

    Avoid
  81. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    One of the biggest draws for Black Ops 2, zombies, has been completely and utterly ruined. Tranzit is horrible... If you're only going to buy Black Ops 2 for zombies, then don't because you will be sorely disappointed.
  82. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Where to start....first of all I have played all the CoD games including the MW series. I still own all of them as I tend to keep "memorabilia". Have not played BO1 as a friend gave me his review and I decided not to try it out. This time though, coming from the disappointed experience (for me) of the latest Medal of Honor I was in desperate need of a new FPS also considering that less and less people are playing MW3 online.
    Anyway I went and bought BO2 and this is what I think:
    1) Single: personally I don't mind the jumping back and forth in time as I don't know the characters hence for me it is all new. I can understand people who have played the first BO not liking it. Difficulties are not too high and I would have liked a little less "help" witht he aiming, lots of time I found myself missing a shot on purpose just to see my enemy drop dead.
    2) Multiplayer: well for my taste not good as it goes against everything I like in a FPS game, meaning "think before you act". This game is a sheer quick run and shoot. Maps are pretty small and it gives also lots of (too many) opportunities for people to just camp (that is what most annoyed me in MoH).
    3) Overall Game: a) Graphics: personally they do look bad and dated. I mean after playing Battlefield 3 the bar has been set really high (another reason why I dislike MoH which even though uses the same engine as BF3 it been tuned down multiple notches). b) Sound: simple awful. I mean the "puff" the guns make when shooting is to my ears light year away from the sound of guns. And what about the comments you hear your character make when for instance you kill someone? Really? Who talks like that and why would you do that? Just a way to boost the ego of the player.
    c) Approach: in 2012 almost 2013 I would like to see more logic applied behind how things work. Starting from how guns respond when firing (e.g. sway). This is where MoH has done a good job even though they manage to mess it up in the single player going a bit too extreme. Also how the environment responds to bullets and explosion could be done better. Besides the usual vehicle blow up, windows smashing and plywood cracking there is little else.
    Final Comments: for me this game is ok to play if you can miss the 60 Euros (live in a Euro country) otherwise if you are torn between 2 games and you only got 60 euros I would say don't buy BO2.
    If the both franchises behind the COD title don't come up with serious changes in the game I don't think I will buy the next chapter. It's been a nice game but now the frustration I get out of it is greater than the pleasure.
    Whishes: my next FPS should be something like BF3 in terms of graphics and "logics" but without all those vehicles. Just keep it to a "foot" game and you will make me really really happy.
    Expand
  83. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    I loved World at War, I was addicted to Modern Warfare, I LIVED on MW2, I liked Black Ops, I raised an eyebrow at Modern Warfare 3.....and now I've hit rock-bottom with Black Ops II. Worst of all, I'm ashamed of myself for buying into it. Anyone who says otherwise is in denial; too stubborn to take liability for their stupidity and admit that this game was - in fact - a...complete....waste...of...money! Be that as it may, it'll be the best selling game of next year too, no doubt...and the year after...and so on. All 'coz the people encourage the COD franchise to not lift a finger when, in reality, it could be so much more! Expand
  84. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    Total disappointment. First of all, way to test guys. You can't even connect half the time and the multiplayer is a mess. Takes me several attempts to even log in to get online with it and then several more to get a game going. More to the point however - I was a big fan of Black Ops I and COD in general. I appreciate the variations and the distinctions that have come along with the MW versions and thought the Black Ops twist in BOI was great. This game however, BO2, is junk. Total junk. The inescapable streak rewards are ridiculous. Missiles just raining down from everywhere, bots and drones everywhere. Total junk. It's totally weak. My friends (who all have played mostly to top level prestige so they've logged serious hours on the past games) all think the same. This game scuks. Totally. We are going back to MW3 and BO1. Big thumbs down Treyarch and Activision. This thing is garbage. Expand
  85. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    Jesus Christ. How did they managed to make this game look worth than MW2? I can't believe it is 2012 looking at this game graphics. I love how Critics said about MOH:WF that it was so scripted and you telling me Black OPS 2 is not? Really? Makes me feel like an idiot when I play single player. I knew that multiplayer is going to be pretty much the same and I bought this game to play with my kids via split screen. And I am so disappointed in that regard. When u play split screen graphics look even more worth. Come on. Make a freaking new engine greedy f......! I feel that I just trow away 60 bucks for no good reason. Go to hell Activision. U will not see any money from me coming ur way!!!! Expand
  86. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    One of the worst launches of all the CODS. Server lag is horrendous, That is, if you can even join a game, many reporting connection issues, freezes, and lock-ups. PS3 version not on-par w/ the Xbox version, and it seems that many issues in-game are due to trey-arc's preference to the microsoft console over PS3, once again. Graphics, even though touted as 1080p (once again) barely pass as up-scaled 720 from the xbox. Expand
  87. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    Can't believe I fell for it again... I really thought treyarch would put out a new game with up to date graphics but apparently they're not interested. I think this is a game I would have loved 5 years ago, but not today, not with other fps games that are 10x more graphically advanced.
  88. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving a trophy does not make a game fun. Playing the game should be all the fun needed. COD is not fun. I started up the single player campaign to be blown away by the complete lack of 3D during cinematics. To clarify i have just finished AC3 in 3D and the 3D was awesome, the game, so so. Then the game finally started, thought id get my kill on. Instead i was left feeling sick by the poorly programmed 3D in the game. OK, i'll play without 3D then (dissapointing since 3D games are few and far between). I thought maybe i would stop feeling sick now. I was wrong. The urge to bring up breakfast, lunch and possibly dinner from the night before was simply to great. You see i am a sympathetic vomiter, i see vomit, i vomit. What was being served up on my beautiful 1080P 63" 3D TV was indeed vomit. The graphics are worse than bad. I can hear all you braindead fanboys now, "it runs at 60fps...how can it be bad when so many people buy it?..." Well first of all, in case you hadnt noticed, nobody cares about 60fps, as long as it can hold a steady frame rate of say 30fps and not stutter it is perfectly acceptable even imperceptible, ie BF3 which incidentally craps all over CODBO1 & 2. "Why do so many people buy it?" Easy. People are idiots! One need only walk down the street and witness a slew of teenage boys wearing their little sisters jeans with hair that must having taken all morning to style to understand this. More evidence you ask. Look at those that sit atop society in any region of the world, they are always a minority, why you ask again. Because people are overwhelmingly idiots. Back to COD. I am not a hater, honestly i want all games to be fun. I've been gaming for like 25 years, i do not discriminate. So where did my CODBO2 story end?? I was so disillusioned with gaming after just 10 mins of CODBO2 ( I know your thinking, "well you didn't even play it, you missed the options and story line blah blah blah zombies blah blah") I didn't and wont miss anything. If i want to be bored and have options that lead to different endings i'll read one of my old chose your own adventure novels. If i want zombies I'll watch The Walking Dead (which is awesome BTW). So... I digress. After attempting to play and ending up heaving in the toilet i was depressed. I thought to myself i cant wait until the end of the month for Far Cry 3 or more importantly the end of the year for more expansions for BF3. I need to have my new found hatred of games quashed. Now i must tell you that i have never owned an XBOX always PC games and Playstations. I did the only thing i could. I bought a XBOX and Halo 4 and whilst is very far from the greatest game ive played, it has all but erased the sour taste left by CODBO2. Shame on you Treyarch for dishing up such a pile of steaming hot turd when you have the resources and fan base to do something truly revolutionary. Shame on you, you masses of idiots out there who will buy and love this game for no apparent reason other than you liked the one before it and before that and so on. Shame on you professional critics for giving this game such a high score. I have never posted anything online before, not a blog, not a tweet nothing. This game has brought out the entitled **** in me that so many of you had embraced so long ago. I feel that what i have to say is important enough that the world need access it. Shame on you CODBO2 for making me an internet posting geek who thinks that people care what i have to say. Please stop buying this dribble. Please start thinking for yourselves. I gave it a zero because im sure i played this already...in the '80's. Expand
  89. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I will give this a 0 just because i cant put it in minus figures biggest pile of rubbish ive ever played and i didnt think things could get any worse than mw3
  90. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    The game is annoying for me. Every time I start a game I keep getting asked to confirm the settings for brightness, volume and screen resolution. I keep getting kicked from the match due to connection and then Im given a 5 mins probation time out. Right now I get a server error when i try to search for a public match. I really hate these BO games and I cant wait for MW4 now.
  91. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    There is absolutely nothing new or innovative about this game, if you've played MW2. Then you've pretty much played Black Ops, MW3 and Black Ops 2. It is absolutely mind boggling to be how this game with the exact same engine, graphics, guns, perks still manages to sell mass copies. Its sad they charge 60$ NOT EVEN INCLUDING THE FUTURE DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT(an extra 15 dollars, by the way all these maps are already in the game once it comes out, the developers just choose to release it later to maximize profits). This game and all previous CoDs are just a glorified map pack and it is disgusting how they pass it off as a new game each year.

    It also disgusts me how this game runs on player to player connection and not actual server. This is the type of game where timing and good connection is the difference between dying or living. A person with 3 bar connection opposed to 4, is at a HUGE disadvantage. And it is all to save costs on the game. They put as little money into the game as possible(because all the pretenses are there from the previous CoD, just o maximize absolute profit). This is the definition of milking it dry. By the way this is the same company that owns World of Warcraft, which has been milking the game to the max, and as well as Diablo 3, that butchered that game thanks to REAL MONEY AUCTION HOUSE, which also sucks the money dry out of their players(its a pretty much pay to win type of game, with no real objectives).

    So all and all Black Ops 2 is just a MW3 glorified map pack with different menus, and this is the reason why each year their sales have been going down. People are catching on and tired of paying 3-4 times to play the same game.

    It is just gross what they are doing.
    Expand
  92. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Another mindless abomination of a 'game' that makes no improvements in gameplay over any other FPS game. I don't understand how people still put up with having to buy the next iteration of CoD to be able to have a large playerbase each and every year for the same premium price. I've played through the single player as well as multiplayer and there is nothing noticeably different at all as well as the most cliched storyline that could possibly be produced. Don't buy this game. Expand
  93. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Well, I guess most people buy this game are for the multiplayer not the campaign, so I will review this by my multiplayer experience. There is only one word to describe it: HORRIBLE. First of all, the numbers of maps are limited. Secondly, the map layouts are simple and repetitive. Once you get familiar with it, you can expect what is coming at you. This leads to the biggest disappointment of this game--way to camper friendly. As i mentioned earlier, once you get familiar with the maps, you know where people come from because the simple and predictable layout of the maps. And then, people camp all the time. And also, the guns do not have much recoil, you do not have to adjust your shooting style with different guns which makes the game very noob friendly too. The kill streak system is worse than MW3, and some are overpowered. So if you are looking for a fast paced and competitive multiplayer gaming experience which requires some skill levels, then this is not your game. BO2 is for noobs and campers. Hiding in the corner, waiting for some powerful kill streak rewards are what you gonna see most of the time in this game. BTW, once Amazon accepts BO2 trade in, i will send it back without any hesitation. Expand
  94. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    this game is not fun. i personally don't care i am not buying any more call of duty games. this is the final straw MW3 then this. this is absolute horse crap. the graphics are so bad that i feel like it is the same as the original modern warfare. i loved the original black ops too. the gameplay is about as bad as MW3's with no good new features. and the multiplayer is buggy laggy and just impossible to deal with. being randomly disconnected is a pain. then if you try and play in a group it doesn't work because you can't join lobbies for some reason. i don't think this game should have the privilege of being released. it's not fun to play and is just plain bad. im going to return this tomorrow. this is where i draw the line. Expand
  95. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This time COD has shipped with an insurmountable number of bugs in both singleplayer and multiplayer. I have had to restart my playstation numerous times due to freezes and have had to deal with disconnects/lag with common occurrence. All the "new additions" are overhyped and do not even impact gameplay greatly along with the "futuristic" setting. To be honest we need to stop buying this yearly cash grab it's not getting better that's for sure Expand
  96. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You knew it, we all knew it, even they knew it!! Haha finally even the fanboys admit it, COD is dead. Those of us who have had the games from the very first , who can remember the pc cod 2 and its glorious entrance and even MW before that got horribly messed up in Mw2- the glory days are over. COD I salute you- but like that old warhorse you loved it's time to lead it down the path to the barn and put your gun to your shoulder, say your last goodbye, and with something like sorrow out the barrel to its head and put it out of its misery. Thanks for everything cod, it's a shame you didn't go out in style. This game is the cenotaph, the ugly reminder of what should never have been, surpassed by so many and now consigned to mediocrity. For those of you who bought it, for shame- you surely saw Bo and realised that unless you were 12 with ADHD this game was nothing like its predecessor? Surely you saw the signs. Thank god I didn't pay for it, what a fitting reminder of how the mighty can fall. Sleep well now cod, and god bless. Xx Expand
  97. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turned into a medicore cash cow over the years, shame. Expand
  98. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This is the worst game i have ever played, why did they ruin this series!!!!!!! I used to like it, MW3 was bad so i though this will be bettter but it wasn't, i'm sad, i i used to like this game series but now i hate, i really hate it with a passion, this game is bad, stop lying to yourselfs and go buy a real game.
  99. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Look, i'm not a troll, this game is simply, bad, there is no getting around to that, smallest maps in video games history, weapons have no recoil at all, every map is camper-friendly, the campaign is 4 hours long, zombie mode is worse than it was in the first one, there is nothing good about this one, stop lying to yourselft and wake up, i was a fan but MW3 & BO2 ruined this series for me, stop playing this crap and go buy a real game. Expand
  100. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Once again, we have been fed the same repetitive, outdated, low-tech rubbish Activision feed us every year. During gameplay, we're introduced to a few characters of whom I couldn't care less about as well as the now boring COD:MP. Let this franchise did already Acti.
  101. Dec 10, 2012
    0
    First CoD game i've ever played, it's really fun. awesome design and gunplay/modes. having lots of fun...unfortunately it only lasted for about a week. I started to understand the game more and more, and became more frustrated at how bad the latency is ruining this game for everyone. no killcam is ever accurate to what is actually done on my side of the screen. a PDW looks like it kills me in 2 bullets, but on their killcam they already pumped me with 4 bullets around a corner they were already around before it showed on my screen. there's so many youtube videos expressing this with video footage examples! it's infuriating that a game that emphasizes so much on multiplayer and that they can't even get the online portion correct. they implemented a patch (1.04) to fix weapon balances and such, but everyone still uses the SMG's because they dominate close range and mid-range and sometimes kill long range, where's the shotguns ranges? oh sure 1-5 feet but how can i be successful with so much latency problems? it's killing the game for me and i won't be returning to the game until it is fixed, and I may re-write a better review to what it actually deserves... Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]