Call of Duty: Black Ops II PlayStation 3

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 881 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    4
    At first, I gave this game a 7/10, but after spending a lot of time online this weekend, I can now say I was wrong. Sure the campaign is decent, and zombies is zombies, but right now multi-player is the most unbalanced in the series. The two major objective issues I have are lag compensation, and spawning

    As it stands, lag compensation favors players with poor internet, and also favor
    At first, I gave this game a 7/10, but after spending a lot of time online this weekend, I can now say I was wrong. Sure the campaign is decent, and zombies is zombies, but right now multi-player is the most unbalanced in the series. The two major objective issues I have are lag compensation, and spawning

    As it stands, lag compensation favors players with poor internet, and also favor guns with high rate of fire (i.e. SMGs) since the lag compensation will likely make 60% of bullets you think hit, actually miss.

    The new spawn system was designed to avoid getting spawn camped... however the problem is now players will randomly spawn around you. It doesn't matter if your team locks down a corridor, or section of the map, the enemy will just appear right behind you since the game actively avoid forward spawns.

    Aside from those two problems, I have a personal problem with the map layouts... They are way to cluttered with obstacles. Therefore, shotguns and SMGs rule king. I have no problem with these guns, I just wish the 90% of the maps didn't favor them as I do enjoy AR's.

    It's sad to say that MW2 is still the best in series, and I'm sure many would still play it if it wasn't for all the hackers.
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    BO2 is somewhere between famine and war as the worst things ever. I am a janitor, and was beyond excited to take a COD holiday from work - I clean pee and poop for a living and I don
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    Look at my review history. Am I someone who jumps on a bandwagon in any way? Look at my review of mw3, and by the way, BO1 was mt favorite COD. BO2 is a compete waste of my money and it makes me happy mw3 was so poorly recieved. Granted, I've only played it for 1 night. But, the campaign is as most basic as possible, and the multiplayer is so steriotyplical that I amost knew what was goingLook at my review history. Am I someone who jumps on a bandwagon in any way? Look at my review of mw3, and by the way, BO1 was mt favorite COD. BO2 is a compete waste of my money and it makes me happy mw3 was so poorly recieved. Granted, I've only played it for 1 night. But, the campaign is as most basic as possible, and the multiplayer is so steriotyplical that I amost knew what was going to happen next based on a game I played 5 years ago, and that game is blah blah blah. I let mw3 slide even though I knew it was the same as usual but I can't let this slide because now I have to sell this and accept a $30 dollar loss because I didn't listen to a !,000,000,000,000 other gamers. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    It's time for warmed up re-served leftovers again, it's Call of Duty time! With the same 14 years old id Tech 3 engine, and the same old dozen times rehashed gameplay, the "newest" CoD barely released already feels older than my grandma. Avoid like the plague or they will continue pumping out this crap twice a year with the same ancient engine until the end of times. Support devs with yourIt's time for warmed up re-served leftovers again, it's Call of Duty time! With the same 14 years old id Tech 3 engine, and the same old dozen times rehashed gameplay, the "newest" CoD barely released already feels older than my grandma. Avoid like the plague or they will continue pumping out this crap twice a year with the same ancient engine until the end of times. Support devs with your money that actually try to make new and interesting games instead of just re-warming the same old crap that lost all taste ages ago. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't improve on its predecessor at all, the singleplayer campaign is short and just casual friendly, the multpiplayer doesn't reward the players for their skill, instead it promotest a mindless frag race without any teamwork whatsoever. Just avoid this game and save your money for something better.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't improve on its previous game at all, singleplayer is short and just disappointing, the multpiplayer doesn't reward player skill at all, it's just a mindless frag chase and noob-tubing without any support for team work whatsoever. This game is a complete waste of money.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turnedThis game is just awful. I really wanted to get into it, but I just couldn't. It's the same tired formula they used in black ops, and it's even less enjoyable than mw3. The single player campaign is awful, the game gives you auto-aim, so you don't even have to try when playing, and it still uses the same engine it's been using for so many years now. Call of Duty has essentially been turned into a $100 per year subscription service. If you value the video game industry and are tired of being taken advantage of, stop giving in and play games that are actually GOOD for a change. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    i'm changing my score from 9 to 6. i used to like this game. but damn. i realise that this call of duty isn't that different from the last. it lacks innovation. let me say that again LACKS INNOVATION!
  9. Oct 15, 2013
    3
    The typical, humdrum, repetitive game that people have somehow not come to expect over the almost ten years of the CoD franchise.

    The gameplay is exactly the same, and as many say: "If it isn't broken, don't fix it." However, the game has been broken for quite some time, and though it totes some fun to be had with a few friends, the sheer lack of support in terms of patching and the
    The typical, humdrum, repetitive game that people have somehow not come to expect over the almost ten years of the CoD franchise.

    The gameplay is exactly the same, and as many say: "If it isn't broken, don't fix it." However, the game has been broken for quite some time, and though it totes some fun to be had with a few friends, the sheer lack of support in terms of patching and the unbalanced nature of the game, make something that is apparently online focused seem like a joke.

    Each CoD is hyped with several exciting story trailers, and yet again, we are treated to a boring, Hollywood centric piece. And this is delivered in top class by the appalling writing of David S. Goyer, who's attempt at military propaganda is no better than someone who doesn't claim to be a writer.

    The fact that Trent Reznor has written the score, was something that got me half excited, but the material he has provided was nothing short of mediocre.

    Overall an appalling repetition of last years instalment. Steer clear of this one.
    Expand
  10. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    it was alright, i was moderately bored most of the time. I did like the arsenal that was available: http://www.airsplat.com/cod-black-ops.htm. i will say that It was pretty to look at
  11. Jul 25, 2013
    3
    This is a Call of Duty game. This game is MW1,MW2,MW2,WAW and BO1. There are only new maps and new guns. And some futuristic flying weapons or something like that. Don't expect anything new. And also there are many multiplayer craches and glitches.
  12. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    This franchise has gone pretty stale. The story mode is unengaging and the graphics are not extraordinary. Zombie mode is just alright. The multiplayer is this game's only slight redemption, however it doesn't really offer anything different from previous COD releases. There are much better FPS games on the market. If you are a person that doesn't expect the least bit of depth in yourThis franchise has gone pretty stale. The story mode is unengaging and the graphics are not extraordinary. Zombie mode is just alright. The multiplayer is this game's only slight redemption, however it doesn't really offer anything different from previous COD releases. There are much better FPS games on the market. If you are a person that doesn't expect the least bit of depth in your games, are satisfied with "just another COD", and want a mildly entertaining run-and-gun multiplayer experience... you might like this. I however do not. Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    3
    Total disappointment. First of all, way to test guys. You can't even connect half the time and the multiplayer is a mess. Takes me several attempts to even log in to get online with it and then several more to get a game going. More to the point however - I was a big fan of Black Ops I and COD in general. I appreciate the variations and the distinctions that have come along with the MWTotal disappointment. First of all, way to test guys. You can't even connect half the time and the multiplayer is a mess. Takes me several attempts to even log in to get online with it and then several more to get a game going. More to the point however - I was a big fan of Black Ops I and COD in general. I appreciate the variations and the distinctions that have come along with the MW versions and thought the Black Ops twist in BOI was great. This game however, BO2, is junk. Total junk. The inescapable streak rewards are ridiculous. Missiles just raining down from everywhere, bots and drones everywhere. Total junk. It's totally weak. My friends (who all have played mostly to top level prestige so they've logged serious hours on the past games) all think the same. This game scuks. Totally. We are going back to MW3 and BO1. Big thumbs down Treyarch and Activision. This thing is garbage. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Must I even write a review? Call of Duty is the most absolute piece of bullocks I have ever seen in my years of gaming. Have fun wasting $50-$70 more on a new game that is pretty much the same as the one before. Viva la Cod
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    I loved World at War, I was addicted to Modern Warfare, I LIVED on MW2, I liked Black Ops, I raised an eyebrow at Modern Warfare 3.....and now I've hit rock-bottom with Black Ops II. Worst of all, I'm ashamed of myself for buying into it. Anyone who says otherwise is in denial; too stubborn to take liability for their stupidity and admit that this game was - in fact -I loved World at War, I was addicted to Modern Warfare, I LIVED on MW2, I liked Black Ops, I raised an eyebrow at Modern Warfare 3.....and now I've hit rock-bottom with Black Ops II. Worst of all, I'm ashamed of myself for buying into it. Anyone who says otherwise is in denial; too stubborn to take liability for their stupidity and admit that this game was - in fact - a...complete....waste...of...money! Be that as it may, it'll be the best selling game of next year too, no doubt...and the year after...and so on. All 'coz the people encourage the COD franchise to not lift a finger when, in reality, it could be so much more! Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    One of the worst launches of all the CODS. Server lag is horrendous, That is, if you can even join a game, many reporting connection issues, freezes, and lock-ups. PS3 version not on-par w/ the Xbox version, and it seems that many issues in-game are due to trey-arc's preference to the microsoft console over PS3, once again. Graphics, even though touted as 1080p (once again) barely pass asOne of the worst launches of all the CODS. Server lag is horrendous, That is, if you can even join a game, many reporting connection issues, freezes, and lock-ups. PS3 version not on-par w/ the Xbox version, and it seems that many issues in-game are due to trey-arc's preference to the microsoft console over PS3, once again. Graphics, even though touted as 1080p (once again) barely pass as up-scaled 720 from the xbox. Expand
  17. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Game released for PS3 crashes locally or online after 2 rounds of zombies or multiplayer. The patches have not fixed the issues for me (as of 1.03). This will be the last COD I buy, and I'm looking to return/sell my copy now.
  18. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Well, I guess most people buy this game are for the multiplayer not the campaign, so I will review this by my multiplayer experience. There is only one word to describe it: HORRIBLE. First of all, the numbers of maps are limited. Secondly, the map layouts are simple and repetitive. Once you get familiar with it, you can expect what is coming at you. This leads to the biggest disappointmentWell, I guess most people buy this game are for the multiplayer not the campaign, so I will review this by my multiplayer experience. There is only one word to describe it: HORRIBLE. First of all, the numbers of maps are limited. Secondly, the map layouts are simple and repetitive. Once you get familiar with it, you can expect what is coming at you. This leads to the biggest disappointment of this game--way to camper friendly. As i mentioned earlier, once you get familiar with the maps, you know where people come from because the simple and predictable layout of the maps. And then, people camp all the time. And also, the guns do not have much recoil, you do not have to adjust your shooting style with different guns which makes the game very noob friendly too. The kill streak system is worse than MW3, and some are overpowered. So if you are looking for a fast paced and competitive multiplayer gaming experience which requires some skill levels, then this is not your game. BO2 is for noobs and campers. Hiding in the corner, waiting for some powerful kill streak rewards are what you gonna see most of the time in this game. BTW, once Amazon accepts BO2 trade in, i will send it back without any hesitation. Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    2
    Coming this winter, from the folks who just can't take a hint, it's Call of Duty: Black Ops II! The multiplayer is exactly the same as before, yet somehow been made worse than before! The morons over at Activision and Treyarch have somehow taken the laziest kind of FPS on the market, and become the Beavis and Butthead of it. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of being handed the exact same thingComing this winter, from the folks who just can't take a hint, it's Call of Duty: Black Ops II! The multiplayer is exactly the same as before, yet somehow been made worse than before! The morons over at Activision and Treyarch have somehow taken the laziest kind of FPS on the market, and become the Beavis and Butthead of it. I'm sorry, but I'm tired of being handed the exact same thing every year that's somehow progressively worse each time. With Ghost only unlockable at the last level, it's frontline-on-frontline, with little or no chance of flanking or stealth. This is what happens when a game company caters to whiny little kids and those with an IQ lower than 40 who know nothing except the traditional Ulysses S. Grant cavalry charge that's been failing AI enemies since the 90's. But now it's somehow mandated. Run and gun, or die trying. There is no other option now. These are the same people who complain about campers, in a series that already has a wide array of tools for weeding out campers. Flashbangs, grenades, launchers of both kinds, and -- god forbid -- actually CHECKING your corners. I do it all the time. But now, those of us who genuinely want to use flanking and stealth just get left in the dust. The game also feels like it was geared only towards people who've been around long enough, so I can't see how anyone new to the FPS genre would enjoy this game. To its credit, the campaign is somewhat passable, as you can actually pick your loadout before each mission. But once again, the campaign was too short, and I beat it in under a day. This is a series where multiplayer is the main focus. Here's one player who's selling the game back for a full refund before the receipt expires, probably the last chance I'm giving Call of Duty. Whether they keep recycling the same crap every year is dependent on whether you guys finally stop falling for it. If you played this game, you've been had, badly. Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2012
    3
    Complete and utter garbage. Graphics have improved minimally, but it still feels like that colorless 2x2 box with a bunch of 6 years olds with ADHD screaming at each other that everyone knows and loves. The story has all the same plot twists, mechanics are still horrible (not changed from the last games) and they still do not have dedicated servers. This game lacks any modern features.
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Where to start....first of all I have played all the CoD games including the MW series. I still own all of them as I tend to keep "memorabilia". Have not played BO1 as a friend gave me his review and I decided not to try it out. This time though, coming from the disappointed experience (for me) of the latest Medal of Honor I was in desperate need of a new FPS also considering that less andWhere to start....first of all I have played all the CoD games including the MW series. I still own all of them as I tend to keep "memorabilia". Have not played BO1 as a friend gave me his review and I decided not to try it out. This time though, coming from the disappointed experience (for me) of the latest Medal of Honor I was in desperate need of a new FPS also considering that less and less people are playing MW3 online.
    Anyway I went and bought BO2 and this is what I think:
    1) Single: personally I don't mind the jumping back and forth in time as I don't know the characters hence for me it is all new. I can understand people who have played the first BO not liking it. Difficulties are not too high and I would have liked a little less "help" witht he aiming, lots of time I found myself missing a shot on purpose just to see my enemy drop dead.
    2) Multiplayer: well for my taste not good as it goes against everything I like in a FPS game, meaning "think before you act". This game is a sheer quick run and shoot. Maps are pretty small and it gives also lots of (too many) opportunities for people to just camp (that is what most annoyed me in MoH).
    3) Overall Game: a) Graphics: personally they do look bad and dated. I mean after playing Battlefield 3 the bar has been set really high (another reason why I dislike MoH which even though uses the same engine as BF3 it been tuned down multiple notches). b) Sound: simple awful. I mean the "puff" the guns make when shooting is to my ears light year away from the sound of guns. And what about the comments you hear your character make when for instance you kill someone? Really? Who talks like that and why would you do that? Just a way to boost the ego of the player.
    c) Approach: in 2012 almost 2013 I would like to see more logic applied behind how things work. Starting from how guns respond when firing (e.g. sway). This is where MoH has done a good job even though they manage to mess it up in the single player going a bit too extreme. Also how the environment responds to bullets and explosion could be done better. Besides the usual vehicle blow up, windows smashing and plywood cracking there is little else.
    Final Comments: for me this game is ok to play if you can miss the 60 Euros (live in a Euro country) otherwise if you are torn between 2 games and you only got 60 euros I would say don't buy BO2.
    If the both franchises behind the COD title don't come up with serious changes in the game I don't think I will buy the next chapter. It's been a nice game but now the frustration I get out of it is greater than the pleasure.
    Whishes: my next FPS should be something like BF3 in terms of graphics and "logics" but without all those vehicles. Just keep it to a "foot" game and you will make me really really happy.
    Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2012
    3
    First of all I used to be a COD fan (Bought prestige/Hardened editions)Got to prestige 10, etc. But Treyarch and activision ruined COD. Terrible 2005 graphics, they didn't even rey to improve on the contrary COD 4 looks better than this turd, laggy and mediocre online, smallest maps ever, auto aim, retarded AI, and worst of all tons of technicall flaws including the infamous Yelow LightFirst of all I used to be a COD fan (Bought prestige/Hardened editions)Got to prestige 10, etc. But Treyarch and activision ruined COD. Terrible 2005 graphics, they didn't even rey to improve on the contrary COD 4 looks better than this turd, laggy and mediocre online, smallest maps ever, auto aim, retarded AI, and worst of all tons of technicall flaws including the infamous Yelow Light inducing game frezzing on PS3. I didn't finish campaign mode out of fear of Killing my PS3. Treyarch should be fired because all the games they have developed aré Stinkers since Spiderman, even a "Noob" studio like Sledgehammer did a better job. Please bring Back Infinity Ward they had respect and love for the COD franchise. Expand
  23. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    How did this game above 0? Again, Activision making millions on glitchy game. Everyone who owns a fat ps3 or slim has random freezes or auto shut down. Several of those received the ylod because of it. Activision is ruining the gaming industry. It is no longer about fun. It's about keeping people addicted through skinner box/dopamine and annually making millions.
  24. Nov 17, 2012
    1
    I am terribly disapointed in Trearch, Activision, and Sony for allowing a game that is this broken to be released on the PS3. There are numerous problems with textures, match making, and lag. However, the crowning achievement is the fact that many players can't even play any game mode for more than ten minutes without their system crashing. The fact that this game was certified for sale isI am terribly disapointed in Trearch, Activision, and Sony for allowing a game that is this broken to be released on the PS3. There are numerous problems with textures, match making, and lag. However, the crowning achievement is the fact that many players can't even play any game mode for more than ten minutes without their system crashing. The fact that this game was certified for sale is absurd and borderline criminal. I can only hope that the FTC does something to stop companies like Activision and Bethesda from releasing unfinished games in the future. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    One of the biggest draws for Black Ops 2, zombies, has been completely and utterly ruined. Tranzit is horrible... If you're only going to buy Black Ops 2 for zombies, then don't because you will be sorely disappointed.
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    Look, i'm not a troll, this game is simply, bad, there is no getting around to that, smallest maps in video games history, weapons have no recoil at all, every map is camper-friendly, the campaign is 4 hours long, zombie mode is worse than it was in the first one, there is nothing good about this one, stop lying to yourselft and wake up, i was a fan but MW3 & BO2 ruined this series for me,Look, i'm not a troll, this game is simply, bad, there is no getting around to that, smallest maps in video games history, weapons have no recoil at all, every map is camper-friendly, the campaign is 4 hours long, zombie mode is worse than it was in the first one, there is nothing good about this one, stop lying to yourselft and wake up, i was a fan but MW3 & BO2 ruined this series for me, stop playing this crap and go buy a real game. Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    There is absolutely nothing new or innovative about this game, if you've played MW2. Then you've pretty much played Black Ops, MW3 and Black Ops 2. It is absolutely mind boggling to be how this game with the exact same engine, graphics, guns, perks still manages to sell mass copies. Its sad they charge 60$ NOT EVEN INCLUDING THE FUTURE DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT(an extra 15 dollars, by the wayThere is absolutely nothing new or innovative about this game, if you've played MW2. Then you've pretty much played Black Ops, MW3 and Black Ops 2. It is absolutely mind boggling to be how this game with the exact same engine, graphics, guns, perks still manages to sell mass copies. Its sad they charge 60$ NOT EVEN INCLUDING THE FUTURE DOWNLOADABLE CONTENT(an extra 15 dollars, by the way all these maps are already in the game once it comes out, the developers just choose to release it later to maximize profits). This game and all previous CoDs are just a glorified map pack and it is disgusting how they pass it off as a new game each year.

    It also disgusts me how this game runs on player to player connection and not actual server. This is the type of game where timing and good connection is the difference between dying or living. A person with 3 bar connection opposed to 4, is at a HUGE disadvantage. And it is all to save costs on the game. They put as little money into the game as possible(because all the pretenses are there from the previous CoD, just o maximize absolute profit). This is the definition of milking it dry. By the way this is the same company that owns World of Warcraft, which has been milking the game to the max, and as well as Diablo 3, that butchered that game thanks to REAL MONEY AUCTION HOUSE, which also sucks the money dry out of their players(its a pretty much pay to win type of game, with no real objectives).

    So all and all Black Ops 2 is just a MW3 glorified map pack with different menus, and this is the reason why each year their sales have been going down. People are catching on and tired of paying 3-4 times to play the same game.

    It is just gross what they are doing.
    Expand
  28. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving aI feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving a trophy does not make a game fun. Playing the game should be all the fun needed. COD is not fun. I started up the single player campaign to be blown away by the complete lack of 3D during cinematics. To clarify i have just finished AC3 in 3D and the 3D was awesome, the game, so so. Then the game finally started, thought id get my kill on. Instead i was left feeling sick by the poorly programmed 3D in the game. OK, i'll play without 3D then (dissapointing since 3D games are few and far between). I thought maybe i would stop feeling sick now. I was wrong. The urge to bring up breakfast, lunch and possibly dinner from the night before was simply to great. You see i am a sympathetic vomiter, i see vomit, i vomit. What was being served up on my beautiful 1080P 63" 3D TV was indeed vomit. The graphics are worse than bad. I can hear all you braindead fanboys now, "it runs at 60fps...how can it be bad when so many people buy it?..." Well first of all, in case you hadnt noticed, nobody cares about 60fps, as long as it can hold a steady frame rate of say 30fps and not stutter it is perfectly acceptable even imperceptible, ie BF3 which incidentally craps all over CODBO1 & 2. "Why do so many people buy it?" Easy. People are idiots! One need only walk down the street and witness a slew of teenage boys wearing their little sisters jeans with hair that must having taken all morning to style to understand this. More evidence you ask. Look at those that sit atop society in any region of the world, they are always a minority, why you ask again. Because people are overwhelmingly idiots. Back to COD. I am not a hater, honestly i want all games to be fun. I've been gaming for like 25 years, i do not discriminate. So where did my CODBO2 story end?? I was so disillusioned with gaming after just 10 mins of CODBO2 ( I know your thinking, "well you didn't even play it, you missed the options and story line blah blah blah zombies blah blah") I didn't and wont miss anything. If i want to be bored and have options that lead to different endings i'll read one of my old chose your own adventure novels. If i want zombies I'll watch The Walking Dead (which is awesome BTW). So... I digress. After attempting to play and ending up heaving in the toilet i was depressed. I thought to myself i cant wait until the end of the month for Far Cry 3 or more importantly the end of the year for more expansions for BF3. I need to have my new found hatred of games quashed. Now i must tell you that i have never owned an XBOX always PC games and Playstations. I did the only thing i could. I bought a XBOX and Halo 4 and whilst is very far from the greatest game ive played, it has all but erased the sour taste left by CODBO2. Shame on you Treyarch for dishing up such a pile of steaming hot turd when you have the resources and fan base to do something truly revolutionary. Shame on you, you masses of idiots out there who will buy and love this game for no apparent reason other than you liked the one before it and before that and so on. Shame on you professional critics for giving this game such a high score. I have never posted anything online before, not a blog, not a tweet nothing. This game has brought out the entitled **** in me that so many of you had embraced so long ago. I feel that what i have to say is important enough that the world need access it. Shame on you CODBO2 for making me an internet posting geek who thinks that people care what i have to say. Please stop buying this dribble. Please start thinking for yourselves. I gave it a zero because im sure i played this already...in the '80's. Collapse
  29. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Another mindless abomination of a 'game' that makes no improvements in gameplay over any other FPS game. I don't understand how people still put up with having to buy the next iteration of CoD to be able to have a large playerbase each and every year for the same premium price. I've played through the single player as well as multiplayer and there is nothing noticeably different at all asAnother mindless abomination of a 'game' that makes no improvements in gameplay over any other FPS game. I don't understand how people still put up with having to buy the next iteration of CoD to be able to have a large playerbase each and every year for the same premium price. I've played through the single player as well as multiplayer and there is nothing noticeably different at all as well as the most cliched storyline that could possibly be produced. Don't buy this game. Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2012
    3
    This review is based on Multiplayer. In my experience, I played League, Core, Hardcore, and the Nuketown playlist along with one of the party games. I noticed that the more I try to think and deliberate with decision making in the game, my success rate goes down in a match. I had more success when I was paying attention to videos on my laptop and habitually moving the analog sticks andThis review is based on Multiplayer. In my experience, I played League, Core, Hardcore, and the Nuketown playlist along with one of the party games. I noticed that the more I try to think and deliberate with decision making in the game, my success rate goes down in a match. I had more success when I was paying attention to videos on my laptop and habitually moving the analog sticks and pulling trigger buttons lazily. In my opinion, this the equivalent to what's known as a "button-masher" in the fighting or beat-em-up genre (sometimes even 3rd person action adventure). It's fun with friends, but it is not very challenging to a someone who wants to approach a game with an independent mind. The guns might as well shoot out laser beams or magic spells because their is virtually no recoil. I mostly used the Skorpion EVO, m7, MTA, SCAR H, and Chicom CQB. In my opinion, the gunplay lacks the personality that MW3 had, but I did not put as many hours in BO2 as MW3. It is just my impressions. Last night I found myself playing the game I really felt disgusted and disappointed with the experience I was having. It did not provide any sense of accomplishment in gaining kills. I didn't feel as if I had earned success because of any ability that I possessed. The series seems to have changed from a game of survival (COD4 & WOW) to an arcade party (MW2) to, now, a digital playground of chaos and disruption. I mean, when you look at the game screen sometimes, you must ask yourself, "what is this really that is taking place place in front of me?" Is it entertainment or amusement or simply an unorganized mess?" That is referring to what appears on screen, not necessarily mechanics. The graphics have been polished and look a little more high-def compared to last year's MW3, but honestly, the characters and bright colors on the map are not very pleasing to the eye. I had a problem with some of BF3's dry-looking, stale, gray maps for console, but this is not the remedy. It's no wonder why they do live-action commercials with actors. I just want to suggest to people who play the game or are interested in playing it, what is it that you actually value in your gaming experience? Do you really find those values in this game? I think the direction that treyarch took was to streamline, and organize the arcade madness that took place in previous titles in the series and squeeze it into a mechanical series of outrageous battles, but it backfired on them, making this an all out boring, sequence of fast-paced animations and magical guns. I'm sorry if I offended any gamers on here, but I don't consider myself a gamer. I'm just looking for a good experience on a console and I did not find it here. Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    I feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving aI feel it important to say first and foremost that i have never enjoyed the multiplayer of COD. The spawning is stupid, the fighting erratic and importantly the variety non existent. What mildly intelligent person actually cares about the relentless barrage of trophies and medals which remain as completely useless mementos locked away in the dark quarters of your console. Receiving a trophy does not make a game fun. Playing the game should be all the fun needed. COD is not fun. I started up the single player campaign to be blown away by the complete lack of 3D during cinematics. To clarify i have just finished AC3 in 3D and the 3D was awesome, the game, so so. Then the game finally started, thought id get my kill on. Instead i was left feeling sick by the poorly programmed 3D in the game. OK, i'll play without 3D then (dissapointing since 3D games are few and far between). I thought maybe i would stop feeling sick now. I was wrong. The urge to bring up breakfast, lunch and possibly dinner from the night before was simply to great. You see i am a sympathetic vomiter, i see vomit, i vomit. What was being served up on my beautiful 1080P 63" 3D TV was indeed vomit. The graphics are worse than bad. I can hear all you braindead fanboys now, "it runs at 60fps...how can it be bad when so many people buy it?..." Well first of all, in case you hadnt noticed, nobody cares about 60fps, as long as it can hold a steady frame rate of say 30fps and not stutter it is perfectly acceptable even imperceptible, ie BF3 which incidentally craps all over CODBO1 & 2. "Why do so many people buy it?" Easy. People are idiots! One need only walk down the street and witness a slew of teenage boys wearing their little sisters jeans with hair that must having taken all morning to style to understand this. More evidence you ask. Look at those that sit atop society in any region of the world, they are always a minority, why you ask again. Because people are overwhelmingly idiots. Back to COD. I am not a hater, honestly i want all games to be fun. I've been gaming for like 25 years, i do not discriminate. So where did my CODBO2 story end?? I was so disillusioned with gaming after just 10 mins of CODBO2 ( I know your thinking, "well you didn't even play it, you missed the options and story line blah blah blah zombies blah blah") I didn't and wont miss anything. If i want to be bored and have options that lead to different endings i'll read one of my old chose your own adventure novels. If i want zombies I'll watch The Walking Dead (which is awesome BTW). So... I digress. After attempting to play and ending up heaving in the toilet i was depressed. I thought to myself i cant wait until the end of the month for Far Cry 3 or more importantly the end of the year for more expansions for BF3. I need to have my new found hatred of games quashed. Now i must tell you that i have never owned an XBOX always PC games and Playstations. I did the only thing i could. I bought a XBOX and Halo 4 and whilst is very far from the greatest game ive played, it has all but erased the sour taste left by CODBO2. Shame on you Treyarch for dishing up such a pile of steaming hot turd when you have the resources and fan base to do something truly revolutionary. Shame on you, you masses of idiots out there who will buy and love this game for no apparent reason other than you liked the one before it and before that and so on. Shame on you professional critics for giving this game such a high score. I have never posted anything online before, not a blog, not a tweet nothing. This game has brought out the entitled **** in me that so many of you had embraced so long ago. I feel that what i have to say is important enough that the world need access it. Shame on you CODBO2 for making me an internet posting geek who thinks that people care what i have to say. Please stop buying this dribble. Please start thinking for yourselves. I gave it a zero because im sure i played this already...in the '80's. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Play UK
    Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]