Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 834 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US militaryCall of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US military infrastructure to further his own agenda. Take control of the power of near-future technology and advanced robotics to pull the world back from the brink of annihilation. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    We're not sure if this is the best Call of Duty of this generation, but we're convinced Treyarch has produced the most complete one since the first Modern Warfare.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Black Ops II isn't a revelation; what you'll play here is largely what you've played before. There's simply so much to play, though, that it's impossible to deny that Treyarch has finally given us a Call on par with the best of 'em.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Black Ops 2's campaign is perhaps the weakest one since Modern Warfare came on the scene. However, the multiplayer accompanied by Zombies reinforces Black Ops 2 and turns this into one of the more desirable games.
  5. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Though zombies mode is stagnating and the novel new social features are a flop, the rest of Black Ops II is lively and entertaining, and it's great to see some shifting in the familiar structure.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    All in all, this is what a sequel should have been: a combination of the good from the old with a number of tweaks from the new.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy thisThis game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy this game. The campaign is amazing, the zombies is ridiculous and the multiplayer is the most balanced one yet. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    PPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer lastPPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer last night until i was level 18. The gameplay is the same as MW2, MW3, and Black ops mixed in. Blops 1 was my favorite and this is a nice refresh. Overall its the same gameplay as usual. I dont understand why people want to fix something that isnt broken, if you want something different buy battlefield 3. I also didnt try nuketown 2025 yet, but Ill assume if its the same map as before, I will spend countless hours on nuketown with new killstreaks and better graphics and faster gameplay as compared to blops1. On to review points:

    Similar to other MWs/blops: Fast Gameplay, similar graphics to MW3 though slightly more blurry to me, great framerate, You have to earn tokens at each level to unlock new stuff and also have to acheive a level to unlock certain equipment

    Differences: . You can only carry 10 total items on you, including perks and attachments to weapons. This makes things more strategic, do you want light weight and hardline, or do you want a concussion grenade or two. I really enjoyed this as you need to plan for maps and gameplay style. Perks also dont seem to be as dominating (cant see how to get unlimited running or hardline pro). When getting points in mulitplayer for killstreak rewards you get 100 for each direct kill, 10 for each time your teamates kill a guy when you have an AUV up, 25/50 or others based on assits, and killstreak reward kills give you points but not always a lot. This makes it more challanging that MW3 and getting 4 kills, then a missle strike, then a couple more and a gunship, requires much more careful play to get as many kills as in blops1/MW3. In Blops 1 I rule with ak74, rapid fire, unlimited sprinting, and everything else doesnt matter. In Blops 2 things are a bit different as the perks and load out stops you from making an all around domination character. If you want all around great character you will lose your grenades and flashbangs to use more perks to "run and gun more".

    There are also more attachments to guns, and around 22 killstreaks, which are similar and new at the same time. I was using the quadracopter, which I liked, airstrikes are standard but you can choose 3 locations, and I also got a grenade laucher that I took out about 5 guys with, also unllike blops 1 when you die you can reuse your deployed killstreak reward (like the minigun in blops1 which you would lose if you died), I also got some guided drone, throw it in the air and when it finds someone its an instant kill.

    Mics for the guy you killed send you what they say when they die, hahaha, I was having fun last night at the people wondering how they died. Most people last night were levels 1-20, and one guy who was 37...no idea how that happened.

    Anyway all in all I rate it a 9 for not fixing something that isnt broken, while adding a few new features to an existing great game style.
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Another Year, another call of duty and another boat load of whiney people. When you play call of duty, you should know what your getting into.Another Year, another call of duty and another boat load of whiney people. When you play call of duty, you should know what your getting into. Yes the game plays just like previous versions but there are tons of small improvements that make the game better than previous versions such as color, sounds, lobby connections and even custom classes. People who judge the game for using the same engine obviously are not real gamers. Gamers do not care about grapgics, yes its a nice touch but overall its not that important, I still see people playing NES games in this day of age, and we all know how terrible 8 bit games look, give your head a shake people, graphics is not the importance of all games. The fact that this series gets trolled because of repeation, I am sorry but there are very few games that stand out . There is always a game that you can compare to another game for rip offs. Besides, mario games and zelda games tend to be the same almost every time a new one is released but those continue to recieve 9 or 10 from critics and fans. if you enjoy a series, enjoy it. Dont bash them because you "Feel" That its the same game, trust me, I have eyes and can clearly see the amount of changes this game has to offer. This cod is already better then any other cods I have played, mostly because of the lack of online issues and overall smoothness of the menus. There in all honesty would have been nothing that could have been done to make these Trollers happy. Black ops 2 is a big step from the crap that was mw3. If anyone who was actually a cod fan, they knew what they were getting into. Giving this game a 0 is basically riding the troll train to loser ville. Stop bashing a game that is actually a decent time to play, dont like it? Give valid reasons instead of repeating the same thing over the last 4 games. No one seems to complain that there is a new NFL, NHL or FIFA game. Talk about using the same engine in a game yet no one bashes it. The verdict is that cod is the cool thing to troll so whatever. If you want a honest opinion from someone who has been gaming since 3 years of age . This game is good and doesnt deserve the amount of **** it gets on this site. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    6
    There is a lot of haters out there and to be honest I am half a hater myself, for how bad the graphics are when compared to games by EA, SCEThere is a lot of haters out there and to be honest I am half a hater myself, for how bad the graphics are when compared to games by EA, SCE etc., for how they never have any innovation on anything, but there is no deny that CoD is a pretty solid franchise. It might be repetitive, but it is always functional and definitely playable.
    bo2 is a mediocre shooter, but it definitely isnt a 0 out of 10. It did earn infinity ward more than it deserves, but cmon we cant expect them to come out and be like "we know our game sucks so we are asking our fans to please stop buying them" right? So let's just give them a break and hope CoD gets better in the future.
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    Graphics amazing, but this just isn't my type of game. Hard to see who the enemy is, very chaotic while in play, no story in single playGraphics amazing, but this just isn't my type of game. Hard to see who the enemy is, very chaotic while in play, no story in single play mode. Very hard for a person to me to get into. I may be minority, but just not my type of game Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    While this game has a admittedly good story for it' s single player campaign I'm very hesitant to call the multiplayer of this game anythingWhile this game has a admittedly good story for it' s single player campaign I'm very hesitant to call the multiplayer of this game anything short of terrible. I absolutely felt let down with this title after having played several previous titles in the series and while there is a slight fun factor the problems weigh it down severally! Some of the most common issues are things like Lag compensation,head glitching, and weapon imbalance issues that for some reason Activision refuses to fix. Had these issues been resolved or at the very least lessened the game may have been more enjoyable for me but sadly they were not. If Activision is going to insist on releasing the same sort of game every year they should at least address some of the major problems that plague the series which as of now they still refuse to do. I would recommend doing as i did and rent this game if your unsure of it's quality or if you insist on buying it get it used at a later date. While the single player has a good story and may justify a purchase for some for me this game is far from being worth the full price of $60 Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's true, same thing since Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, same engine, several powerful guns, several useless guns, and the rest are just there. The story as normal is pointless to play unless if you want to perfect the game, at least this year you can influece said story and have a slightly different ending. Side-quest mode (AKA Zombies) is the same thing from Black Ops 1, only this time you can build stuff and that the characters are new, yet this time forgetable. I can say though that I enjoyed Mob of the Dead, finally providing a challenge to survive. Finally the thing that makes all of the cal of duty fans go crazy, the broken and useless multiplayer. I'm actually pretty good at it (2.27 Kills to Death Ratio and a 1.21 Win to Loss Ratio) and I still do not enjoy myself when I play it, it's a torture to play even when you are good, somehow though this game keeps a massive fan boy following. I've played both the console and PC editions and none of them are any different, and that's to be expected since Activision is too busy eiter working on another series of pointless and bad cash ins, or the next Call of Duty. My personal opinion, if you want a Call of Duty game, buy Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Call of Duty: World at War, together thay are half the price of Black Ops 2 and are both exceedingly better than this years rehash. And a Fun Fact, the graphics are actually worse than World at War somehow, go figure.
    Expand

See all 282 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.