Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 870 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    100
    Congrats Treyarch, you passed the test. Black Ops still has some technical flaws (some erratic scripts), but it doesn't lack ambition, variety, nor freshness. Its solo campaign boasts a good scenario, and its multiplayer is as comprehensive and solid as ever, while changing some basic systems for the better and introducing soon-to-be-cult new modes, as well as community features one could only find in the latest Halo iterations before. There may be ways to improve it yet again, but the 2010 CoD delivers on its promise - we can't say anymore that Treyarch's Call of Dutys don't measure up.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    93
    After years following in Infinity Ward's footsteps, Treyarch has a chance to show its qualities, and it delivers. Black Ops has everything the community is looking for: a compelling, spectacular and interesting story mode and an impressive multiplayer will keep the players busy for a long time. Add a beautiful design and a great direction in the mix, and what you get is simply a masterpiece in the first person shooter genre.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Black Ops doesn't quite live up to the hype in all aspects, but that's only because it was so ridiculously overhyped. It certainly lives up to the promise of a greatly improved and enhanced sequel to World at War.
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    As if you ever doubted it, Call of Duty is still the best military shooter out there and by quite some margin. It seems its competitors can only watch from a distance and take notes as this juggernaut of FPS gaming ploughs a wide path towards the genre's future.
  5. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    Black Ops is another addition to the Call of Duty franchise but shows the same flaws as its predecessor. The multiplayer has improved, but a franchise of this stature should know how to get rid of the mistakes from the past.
  7. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    It feels more like a yearly update than a sequel, a new campaign with old multiplayer. The game isn't distinct from its predecessors in any important way, and fatigue sets in quicker than before. [Jan 2011, p.94]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Black Ops is cool. It's cool to own it. It's a COD game. It's good. Nuff said. Treyarch did well his time. It has awesome theater mode, better online multiplayer, better everything. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I now have gotten around to my feelings on this game, after a year and a third of playing it. At first, I thought this game was crap, with a very inconsistent hitmark system and very ridiculous kills. Now, however, after playing MW3, I think that both myself and a lot of other players are Back In Black. The is confusing at first, as it is a series of flashbacks. After playing it a few times, though, I get the gist of it, although it still sucks. Zombies is not my cup of tea unless I'm with friends, as it requires a lot of communication and understanding of how to survive in the maps to actually get far and have fun, until you eventually start just talking 'bout random stuff because you're just hoarding zombies until they overwhelm you. However, Treyarch took the biggest risk in Multiplayer, with a complete overhaul of the overall system. You can buy all perks after level 4, using money you get as a tenth of your xp each game. You also use this money to buy guns you have unlocked, and like perks, all equipment, lethals, and tacticals are unlocked once you create a class. The maps give you more variety than MW2 or MW3, with an Array of different maps that have been tailored to one gun type or another. The killstreaks are much harder to get, which I love, so that you're not bombed by YET ANOTHER PREDATOR! The guns also take ever so slightly longer to kill with than the other games, which increases you're chances of living. Also, the perks are much more balanced, and Tomahawks are amazing. Overall, a great game for the money. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Game is pretty fun. The story is pretty engaging big over the top action scenes. The multiplayer is really fun and has a lot of stuff that you can unlock or not if you don't want to spend your COD points on it. the last kill cam and theater mode was pretty neat features. the Killstreaks and weapon attachments are as good as ever and they added the Galil which is a great gun. Split screen Multiplayer is a plus too. The zombie mode is pretty fun if you have 4 players because it can get difficult. If you're a fan of FPS or the Call of Duty Series I recommend getting this game because its more of the same Call of Duty shootin Fun Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    7
    After playing this game since release, I know feel I am ready to voice my opinions on this release. As is my standard way with any COD release, I play the campaign first just to get it out of the way. This is not why we buy this series its the online we want. However the offline campaign tends to give you an general overview of the production. The first thing that struck me was the drop in graphical quality from MW2, which I finally put down to a poor selection for the colour palette used in the majority of stages. The campaign for me dragged in the first half and just took to long for what play and content there was, the final half was completed easily in an hour which gave the feeling of the final production being rushed. But any Call Of Duty game will always be judged on its online game play. First impressions were good, but it soon starts to feel like MW2 with new maps and the levels with the still very poor colours are still there which lets it down. A good feature is that you can vote to replay or play the next map or random selection, this has meant I have been able to avoid the levels which are graphical unimpressive. The major down side of the online, connection problems, host problems, servers not being available or going down which is extremely annoying when you want to get a good evening of gaming in. Now, for the what I think is the pure genius revolution of this game over MW2 - Combat Training. This option is absolutely fantastic and redeems this game! Server problems, host problems, connection issues when playing online? No problem, fire up Combat Training and play bots on your favourite map. I actually enjoy this more than real online play, its so satisfying and more addictive than the real thing. To sum up, its overall a good game let down by a rushed and confusing campaign mode, and poor hosting online. Combat Training saves the day but once I reach the top rank once I will have had enough. I will then be back to Medal of Honor and COD4, with a cheeky visit for Combat Training every now and again. Expand
  5. May 12, 2011
    6
    Well... I find this game hard to rate... on one hand, there is the undeniably amazing multiplayer, which has pretty much everything you could ever want from a first person shooter, satisfying co-operative online, the ability to play split screen with a mate AND be online at the same time (which might make it harder to actually kill people, but makes it ten times more satisfying when you can both celebrate actually doing well! or mock each other for being rubbish) as well as a truly great zombie mode that you can try and fight your way through together (although why there isn't any 4 player split screen on zombie mode I don't know). On the other hand... there's the single player campaign, which is one of the most dull and tedious story lines I've ever attempted to play, it seems they couldn't be bothered to actually hire anyone to write a decent story, so chose some famous historical figure that was pretty undeniably a bad guy and everyone hates, and then stuck some generic 'flash back of what happened' storyline over the top of a bland game... so... my current view may be skewed slightly by the lack of playstation network at the moment, but I'm going to have to give this game a 6/10... multiplayer gets a solid 9.5/10 but the single player is just appalling. And if you can have co-op online, why not co-op campaign?!?! Maybe that would save some credit, but sadly only a 3.5/10 for the dull drab single player experience. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    4
    Dissapointing to say the least, this game does not feel any different from MW2, I actually still enjoy MW2 much better. The zombies are lacking and do not stand up to the fun of the W@W zombies. Have not played campaing but i expect it to be pretty good as most COD campaigns are. DO NOT GET THIS GAME, rent it first it is not worth 60$.. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    0
    As far as I am concerned there hasn't been 10/10 COD since the very first game, the first MW was good but the maps and online gameplay were very weak and has only grown weaker with each game pushed out as fast as possible to make as much money as possible. Sound effects are weak and the game is buggy as hell. If you want to play a really good FPS, get into Battlefield BC, that game is truely amazing and craps all over COD anyday. MW is for those people who like to spray and pray and run around like a chicken with its head cut off. All up this game and its earlier versions are the worst FPS games I have every played. Expand

See all 363 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.