User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1034 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Honestly this is the biggest disappointment for call of duty fans. The multi player maps are massive and lack any creative elements. They provide a perfect ground for campers and snipers so forget it if you're planing on using ar's. The graphics are glitchy and poor and it's hard to decipher the environment to players at times. bo2 is a much better game overall. Try bf4 if you wantHonestly this is the biggest disappointment for call of duty fans. The multi player maps are massive and lack any creative elements. They provide a perfect ground for campers and snipers so forget it if you're planing on using ar's. The graphics are glitchy and poor and it's hard to decipher the environment to players at times. bo2 is a much better game overall. Try bf4 if you want something new but this is just pure crap. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2014
    2
    Yeah, I could play it for maybe an hour and then I just want to throw it into the burning pit of worthless games that should not have existed. As far as I can see, this is the worst COD ever (Since this review was written). If you still want to play COD, go pick up MW or actually... any COD is better than Ghosts. 2/10 since it's not a complete pile of crap... unless you play it for moreYeah, I could play it for maybe an hour and then I just want to throw it into the burning pit of worthless games that should not have existed. As far as I can see, this is the worst COD ever (Since this review was written). If you still want to play COD, go pick up MW or actually... any COD is better than Ghosts. 2/10 since it's not a complete pile of crap... unless you play it for more than an hour. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    Not trolling the series, but every single COD seems to remain the exact same with no direction.
    The campaign on this is a winner, probably one of the best.
    Multiplayer is one of the worst, which is a mode that just keeps going downhill since Modern Warfare 2. The lag is unbearable, the spawning system is and the campers and immaturity online has just been increasing in so much ignorance
    Not trolling the series, but every single COD seems to remain the exact same with no direction.
    The campaign on this is a winner, probably one of the best.
    Multiplayer is one of the worst, which is a mode that just keeps going downhill since Modern Warfare 2. The lag is unbearable, the spawning system is and the campers and immaturity online has just been increasing in so much ignorance that I'm not sure the game will ever be good again.
    Extinction is actually a pretty fun mode (similar to zombies), but still doesn't do much after thirty of forty games of it.
    I wouldn't really recommend COD's to anyone, probably since the first Black OPs.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    4
    Worst COD from Infinity Ward ever!
    Most of the maps way too big for 12 players, you quickly get tired of running and running, seeing almost no one. Some just found the trick... camping!
    Level-design is horrendous. I didn't get any fun playing the game.
    Why this game is still selling so much?! Definitely switching to Killzone and Battlefield 4!
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    4
    I played Ghosts for 4 days after buying it and have come back to playing COD Black Ops 2 all weekend. Ghosts maps are way too big and a campers dream. Way too many places to cut through, hide, camp, backdoor, etc. I walked around a map for 2 minutes without even seeing anyone. I was all hyped up for the release and what a disappointment. It was an overkill to have such big maps and bigI played Ghosts for 4 days after buying it and have come back to playing COD Black Ops 2 all weekend. Ghosts maps are way too big and a campers dream. Way too many places to cut through, hide, camp, backdoor, etc. I walked around a map for 2 minutes without even seeing anyone. I was all hyped up for the release and what a disappointment. It was an overkill to have such big maps and big buildings (2-3 story accessible) throughout. The graphics are better than BO2 but does not make me want to play it due to everything else taking away from the game. Just my 2 cents. I'm ready to trade in GHOSTS and try some other game or stick with good ole reliable BO2. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    a major step-down from the previous infinity ward game and i hated mw3 so really in my opinion the game kinda sucks except for extinction mode it was awesome
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    2
    COD is pretty much the only game I play, as all my buddies play it. This will be the 2nd COD game I invest no time in(MW3 being the other). Health is too low, maps are wayyyy too big, the spawning is absolute nonsense. These maps are a campers wet dream, and 80% of the time death matches run out of time because everyone's sitting in a corner. Most definitely the most unpleasant CODCOD is pretty much the only game I play, as all my buddies play it. This will be the 2nd COD game I invest no time in(MW3 being the other). Health is too low, maps are wayyyy too big, the spawning is absolute nonsense. These maps are a campers wet dream, and 80% of the time death matches run out of time because everyone's sitting in a corner. Most definitely the most unpleasant COD experience I've ever had. I absolutely hate it. Don't waste your money. Collapse
  8. Nov 16, 2013
    1
    Okay so I've been a huge cod fan for years now up until tonight when I just turned my ps3 off a couple of seconds ago. I loved cod 4 mw2 and mw4 I never really played bo and bo2 wasn't for me. I had so much hope for this game. BUT after defending cod for years from haters and bf fanboys. I can honestly say that I hate call of duty now!!! For me this game was ruined by hackers, campers andOkay so I've been a huge cod fan for years now up until tonight when I just turned my ps3 off a couple of seconds ago. I loved cod 4 mw2 and mw4 I never really played bo and bo2 wasn't for me. I had so much hope for this game. BUT after defending cod for years from haters and bf fanboys. I can honestly say that I hate call of duty now!!! For me this game was ruined by hackers, campers and 12 year olds. On day one of ghost I ran into hackers! Wtf?? Fix your infinity ward. For the last week I've seen 2or 3 players camping in the same spot or room together. And then the most annoying and frustrating thing of all ..a 12 year old boy telling me that he my mum and all these when he doesn't even know what a vagina looks like! You guys might as well take the restriction off the game because clearly you don't give a who buys your game as long as you make money! Ghost will be the last call of duty that I will ever buy. And I gave my ps3 ghost disc to my gf to break in half. Good night and you infinity ward Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2013
    1
    call of duty should die now. IT looks obvious that they are out of ideas now they are just copying others with squad. And extinction mode is so bad its not playable along with same type of campaign we have been seeing since modern warfare 1. Not only the worst COD or the worst game of the year.but this game is the worst game in a whole decade.
  10. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    Multiplayer mode: The worst Call of Duty game, horrible multiplayer, just lag, you die with 2 shots, maps for campers, confused respawn, ridiculous system prestige and anything novelty.
    Campaign mode: history for child!
  11. Nov 27, 2013
    2
    It's been said a lot about this just being another Call of Duty, and the simple truth it is, that it is. If you want the exact same experience you could go back to any other edition since Modern Warfare and you'd have this game. The story isn't particularly gripping, most of the cool additions that seemed really promising pop up for a mission and are gone. The story just isn't gripping orIt's been said a lot about this just being another Call of Duty, and the simple truth it is, that it is. If you want the exact same experience you could go back to any other edition since Modern Warfare and you'd have this game. The story isn't particularly gripping, most of the cool additions that seemed really promising pop up for a mission and are gone. The story just isn't gripping or interesting, and constantly feels like more of a task to get through then something you're happy to be doing. I personally don't feel a game's excitement level can be compared to doing the dishes.

    Multi-player is also the same as ever, literally the same, same lag, same graphics, same usual game modes with a couple gimmicks to try and give you the illusion that this game is "fresh". They did include this year a create a character feature, which can basically be summed up with the rest of the game. It's barren, shows 0 creative insight, and in the end really just feels hollow. You pick between a tiny handful of heads which you can't edit even slightly, a hat, and your outfit. In contrast Tony Hawks Pro Skater II on the PS1 was more in depth with their creation features then this game.

    If you're looking for progression, a clear show off creative effort, or something new and hooking. You won't find it here, it's just another rung in the ladder where Activison isn't even trying anymore.
    Expand
  12. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    Another year, another disappointing CoD game. Instead of fixing things, they made several worse. The main campaign was slightly interesting, but only due to controlling a dog and space combat (both being far too short). A lot of parts just felt re-hashed from previous games. The multiplayer was a HUGE letdown. For starters, the graphics are extremely unsettling and almost remind ofAnother year, another disappointing CoD game. Instead of fixing things, they made several worse. The main campaign was slightly interesting, but only due to controlling a dog and space combat (both being far too short). A lot of parts just felt re-hashed from previous games. The multiplayer was a HUGE letdown. For starters, the graphics are extremely unsettling and almost remind of Modern Warfare 2. At times, the pixelation of the environments got so bad that I couldn't even make people out over a distance. A few maps are far too Sniper Friendly, forcing you to lie in wait for the entire match, or simply run out to face the long distance execution squad. Rocket launchers have had their lock-on mechanisms completely removed, so at times you are completely at the mercy of an enemies chopper while your inaccurate rocket goes whizzing by them. Its only redeeming quality is Extinction mode. However, it requires more maps for in order to show its true potential. Don't pay $60 for this game! Expand
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    1
    really dissapointed,,,the game starts o.k. ,,,rather interesting storyline,,,,good visuals,,,,,but then it just takes a crap dive!!,,,,,,I played through the story in just under 4 hrs,,,,,,on regular setting,,,,,,,not cool,,for a 65.00 game,,,,,remember back when you could spend months playing a game??,,,whether it be scarface or Grand theft or whatever??,,,,this game is clearly designedreally dissapointed,,,the game starts o.k. ,,,rather interesting storyline,,,,good visuals,,,,,but then it just takes a crap dive!!,,,,,,I played through the story in just under 4 hrs,,,,,,on regular setting,,,,,,,not cool,,for a 65.00 game,,,,,remember back when you could spend months playing a game??,,,whether it be scarface or Grand theft or whatever??,,,,this game is clearly designed for online play,,,,and that is it's other problem,,,,,the games are just ,,,well,,,stupid!!!,,,,,,,,,on the plus side ,,,and the only plus ,,is amazing maps and landscapes,,,freakin huge and awesome,,,but that's it ,,,,end of story,,,,,let's go back to the poor game play ,,and I'll give ya my take on things,,,,,the games offered are weak,, un-challenging and pointless......All you can do is run around and shoot stuff with no plan ,no strategy,no goal,,(except the killing) even on recruit level,,you can drop half a clip of bullits on the bad guy and they will kill you with one shot,,,,,,some of the games you get to pick up dog tags and take them to a spot ,,,,,,well woopty freaking doo!!!!,,,,,,,on the survival style game ,,where you survive by any means,,,,,the bad guy glows yellow,,,,,,,only place in the game ,,,WTF???,,,,,,Playing online,,,,,again you just run around stupid,,,,shooting whatever,,,with no plan,, no reward,,,,and just when your'e gettin warmed up the game ends,,,,and when it restarts ,,,it's a different game,,,,,,what?,,,,,,,,So my point is ,,,what happened to a challenging platform?,,,,why can't we have missions,,,and goals,,and a defined game,,,,what about survival mode like the one in MW3,,which I thought was endlessly entertaining,,,,,,got harder and harder,,,you had to plan,,save your credits,,,spend them wisely,,,untill it got just absolutely insane,,,,that was some good stuff,,,,And what about the millions of kids of all ages that do not have internet??that's a real pisser,,,cause the solo play in this issue is just plain useless,,,,,5 minutes tops!,,,I feel ripped off,,cheated,,,,gaming rules37 left a post here and I agree,,,,why do they produce a crappy game?,,,,they could have added a dozen maps and such to MW3,,,,and I would be happy,,,,,,another issue for me is that the controls havent changed at all,,,,,,except for the slide thing and "contextual lean"which I could never get to work when under fire,,,,,,,,any of you play the old rainbow six?,,they had a great cover firing position,,,,,,,I just don't get it,,,,,,,,it's crap!!!,,,expensive Crap!!,,,,my favorite call of duty was the beach at Normandy one,,,,little corny and primitive,,,but man ,,,you landed on the beach and it was gnarly from the first minute to the last,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Expand
  14. May 6, 2014
    3
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is just the same old Call of Duty with a few new features. Black Ops 2, from what I've seen, still has more players than Ghosts and i'm not surprised. A waste of money if you ask me!
  15. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    1 step forward, 3 steps back is the mantra that perfectly sums up this atrociously broken game. Sticking with the step forward/backward theme:

    Maps are bigger which is was a step forward given the traditionally smaller maps, but on PS3/360 its only a max of 12 players how the heck does that make sense? Even worse, the spawn system is awful which is especially bad because bigger maps
    1 step forward, 3 steps back is the mantra that perfectly sums up this atrociously broken game. Sticking with the step forward/backward theme:

    Maps are bigger which is was a step forward given the traditionally smaller maps, but on PS3/360 its only a max of 12 players how the heck does that make sense? Even worse, the spawn system is awful which is especially bad because bigger maps are suppose to prevent you from literally spawning in front of enemies.

    The menu and class setup system is convoluted and confusing. Squad points are misleading because they only unlock items for each individual classes.

    The graphics are disgraceful even with older gen hardware, the effort to improve the look of the game was not there. If anything, the game looks even worse than MW3 and Black Ops 2. There simply is no excuse for this. However, the frame rate does stay consistent in multiplayer.

    The shooting mechanics of this game is probably the most broken part of this game. I have never played a game which has given me a FALSE SENSE OF SKILL. Example: I switched from using a assault rifle class (which I sucked at using) to a all out rushing class and my kill/death ratio improved drastically. This game is predicated on rushing with no emphasis on precision play. It's just running and gunning.

    Some perks like Stalker and Quickdraw cater to this fast style of play and anyone who can exploit these overpowered perks can gain a significant advantage. There is no point even using a LMG and in some cases, a assault rifle.

    On the bright side, sniping was greatly improved. You no longer have huge reductions in damage loss if you add a suppressors (in real life, suppressors do not reduce range or damage of a sniper rifle). Quick scoping is still a nagging issue though.

    Strike packages are as ho-hum as ever and its a relief that annoying and persistent air strike killstreaks have been eliminated from the game.

    Overall, this game is antiquated, broken and incompetent. There is a reason why so many kids will play this game because there is no skill involved. Most kills are based on a few things: dumb luck, awful spawning system, overpowered perks and rushing. It's an incredibly frustrating experience because the game defies all logic and reason. COD Ghost at its core, is the epitome of dumb fun, with a strong emphasis on the word DUMB. Save yourself some brain cells and 60 dollars and just forget you ever knew about this game.
    Expand
  16. Dec 22, 2013
    1
    It was a waste of $60. I bought it on day one and beat it in under an hour, I've never beaten a COD game before, this was the first one and I think it was a complete rip off, I played multiplayer a bit, when you play local the graphics are like playing a PS2 Game, I look at the ground, its just low textures. I played online a bit too, I have great internet, yet I still kept gettingIt was a waste of $60. I bought it on day one and beat it in under an hour, I've never beaten a COD game before, this was the first one and I think it was a complete rip off, I played multiplayer a bit, when you play local the graphics are like playing a PS2 Game, I look at the ground, its just low textures. I played online a bit too, I have great internet, yet I still kept getting disconnected from COD Servers, I finally gave up on trying to play it and its still sitting in its packaging. Expand
  17. Dec 22, 2013
    4
    This is a game that feels more like a patch then a full price game. I like the COD games but it is getting to the point of the series needs an overhaul instead of the same rinse and repeat formula. In fact I feel bad for anyone who bought this game at $60 when this game is clearly a $30 game.
  18. Dec 24, 2013
    1
    Wow what a flop!!! Should have saved my 39.99.. and I have to use 150 characters oh give me a break this game is not worth my time or energy.. I don't even know how to explain how horrible this game is
  19. Feb 9, 2014
    2
    Infinity Ward, do you know what this incredibly low user score means? It means, you need to make a better game, you can't just half-ass everything and expect everyone to buy it. I hope to god Sledgehammer and Treyarch doesn't make a **** game like this. Call of Duty is going to die if you don't work harder to compete with your competition (Battlefield, Titanfall, Destiny). If SH makes aInfinity Ward, do you know what this incredibly low user score means? It means, you need to make a better game, you can't just half-ass everything and expect everyone to buy it. I hope to god Sledgehammer and Treyarch doesn't make a **** game like this. Call of Duty is going to die if you don't work harder to compete with your competition (Battlefield, Titanfall, Destiny). If SH makes a bad Call of Duty this year, CoD and the huge community is going to die, slowly. You say this game didn't sell nearly as good as BO2 or MW3, you know why? Because all you advertised was FISH AI and A **** DOG.....seriously? Put some effort into your games. Call of duty (IW games in particular) has gone downhill from CoD 4. Call of Duty 4 was amazing, MW2 was really good, BO1 was good, MW3 was **** BO2 was good, this game is terrible. I'm a really big fan of CoD and FPS games, and I really hope you do something better next time, in 2016.

    - Sky
    Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    This game was just terrible. I expected innovation and the type of huge leap that was in introduced in Cod 4 to Mw2. However, Riley has a really nice and I constantly felt the need to pound it. Also, I just love watching porn while playing ghosts.
  21. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another anticlimax from Activision. GHOSTS is a massive step back from the days of MW1 and MW2. How can a game franchise get WORSE over time isn't it supposed to improve?

    Bog standard campaign mode as usual just a change of character names and voice actors. There are one or two cool 'moments' in the campaign but overall it's just fighting against another dictator/terrorist kingpin for the sake of humanity. (YAWN). Nothing new it's the same old.

    Online mode is really where it disappoints (which is what everyone plays CoD for)
    Firstly the maps are HUGE and unplayable. A player will run around for minutes at a time searching for an enemy, leading to boring low scoring rounds. Killstreak rewards are the worst I have ever seen, a 'guard' dog that is more interested in playing fetch than protecting you. Air support is limited and weak. Juggernaut is back (oh no) a player kills 10 people in a row and is rewarded by having his/her gun taken away!? Great idea. Where are the pavelow's, harriers and carpet bombs Infinity Ward?

    After 10 years a CoD player, CoD is no longer fun. Simple as that. A solid 2 out of 10 well done. Maybe stop rushing new titles out every 12 months for a quick payday will help! So disappointing as MW1 and 2 were world beaters!
    Expand
  22. Jan 10, 2014
    1
    i struggle to award a 2/10 score to this ultimate disappointment. I have been playing this franchise since the days of call of duty 2 and have been enjoying every single release the two studios(treyarch/IW) have thrown at me. Me and my friends started playing competitively in COD4 and was ranked in the top 10% of league brackets for MLG in Modern Warfare 2, which I believe was the prime ofi struggle to award a 2/10 score to this ultimate disappointment. I have been playing this franchise since the days of call of duty 2 and have been enjoying every single release the two studios(treyarch/IW) have thrown at me. Me and my friends started playing competitively in COD4 and was ranked in the top 10% of league brackets for MLG in Modern Warfare 2, which I believe was the prime of the franchise.
    At the start of Black Ops, it was obvious Call of Duty was catering to the community, which was a horrible idea that led to insane inbalance in the multiplayer to levels of excruciating frustration, the maps are large and horrible, as you can be killed in all fields of view, and 90% of the time I am 2 shotted from a silenced LMG across the map with ADS at all times while prone.
    There are a few improvements but many downgrades from previous games, like the SAT COM, which is a pathetic attempt to add strategy into the game to replace the UAV, but the SC just turns out to be very unbalanced and confusing as well. I could write all day on the horrible segments of the game, but the website is lagging and I just cannot stand it.
    Please, I beg of you, Do NOT buy this game, if you are looking for a good new FPS, go for Battlefield 4, it is very fun to play casually.
    Expand
  23. Jan 30, 2014
    1
    boycott this franchise please! All COD has done is just recycle, recycle, recyle. If you compare the characters and maps etc from the previous titles in the franchise, they just take the same stuff and repackage it. I used to be a huge fan of MP of the series, but just got bored after they just repackage the same stuff repeatedly.
    It's just terrible! guys, boycott the franchise so they
    boycott this franchise please! All COD has done is just recycle, recycle, recyle. If you compare the characters and maps etc from the previous titles in the franchise, they just take the same stuff and repackage it. I used to be a huge fan of MP of the series, but just got bored after they just repackage the same stuff repeatedly.
    It's just terrible! guys, boycott the franchise so they will actually put some energy into creating new titles instead of recycling old ones!
    don't buy this game if you played previous title/titles!
    Expand
  24. Feb 1, 2014
    4
    I'm gunna keep this short. Single player is just another hallway shooter, and multiplayer is the same since MW2. They've kept the same base recipe, then just added a little bit extra spice that only veterans will take notice of. (Or really care for that matter.)

    Pros: - Same addicting multiplayer if you're not bored yet. (Plus if you're a fan of spending $120 bucks on a game.) Cons:
    I'm gunna keep this short. Single player is just another hallway shooter, and multiplayer is the same since MW2. They've kept the same base recipe, then just added a little bit extra spice that only veterans will take notice of. (Or really care for that matter.)

    Pros:
    - Same addicting multiplayer if you're not bored yet. (Plus if you're a fan of spending $120 bucks on a game.)

    Cons:
    - Forgettable, boring story mode.
    - Tired mechanics.
    - After playing other great looking ps3 games, this just looks bland and awful. (Blops2 looks better for **** sake)

    I rented this game for a week and I've already had my fill of Call of Duty for this year. Maybe I'll just spend this time next year playing Titanfall or Destiny instead...
    Expand
  25. Apr 24, 2014
    2
    oh god why? F*ck this game. Look If you want a call of duty shut up and buy black ops 2 now. F*ck me. What still here fine I'll go into details. Graphics are still just like modern warfare 1,2, and 3 not at all improved. The damn maps they are too big I know what your thinking "but I want big maps" 6 vs. 6 on big maps good luck finding anyone. So many damn children in M rated game itsoh god why? F*ck this game. Look If you want a call of duty shut up and buy black ops 2 now. F*ck me. What still here fine I'll go into details. Graphics are still just like modern warfare 1,2, and 3 not at all improved. The damn maps they are too big I know what your thinking "but I want big maps" 6 vs. 6 on big maps good luck finding anyone. So many damn children in M rated game its annoying and you all under the age no buy I mean it. Quick scoping is actually easier , why? Oh right because "F*ck you give me money". Knifing how do you f*ck that up? You get what I call an auto knife if it doesn't kick in hen you need it your screwed. Extinction ignore others its not a zombies rip off well completely anyway. You get a load out system that give you a class, pistol, and abilities by that I mean turrets and vest. You destroy hives instead of getting round which is kind of okay really. But it has an annoying $6,000 limit for weapons etc.. Oh right you die in 3-4 bullets unless its a shotgun or sniper. The story sucks about as bad as modern warfare 3. They even ruined the dog you bastards. The destructible map people wanted you get gas stations, log, and 1 nuke for 1 map so hope you weren't hyped for that. Right of course the DLC crap they do guess what so far 2 weapons that are actually worth a damn more money please smaller maps? More money, its legal robbery. Oh you can lean you know something hat exist in the ps2 era I know I still have mine. Before you go "so its modern warfare3?" no oh no you would think that is titan fall after this yeah that bad. No just no it hurts what I went through playing the f*cking game. The story length is slightly I mean slightly longer then battle field 4 by 1 or 2 hours so 5-6 hours. Do not buy this game Expand
  26. May 4, 2014
    2
    La verdad me parecio un juego totalmente aburrido en su modo multijugador la historia no esta tan mal pero la verdad que su multijugador es un ***** asco
  27. May 6, 2014
    2
    While the previous games in the series may have bought plenty of fun and entertainment to the player, over time each game's quality has degraded and degraded. Call Of Duty Ghosts is in my opinion the absolute low for the series, and I beg Activision to end it here, and not make their fans suffer by creating a turd even bigger than this one.
  28. May 28, 2014
    3
    Boring uninspired maps, questionable textures and graphics which looked better about 3 previous games ago, and ridiculous single player story, COD Ghosts is another lackluster, repetitive cash grab for a series that has long outstayed its welcome. If you're familiar with any of the 'efforts' by the COD franchise, I'm sure you'll have no need for anymore explanation and dislike this game asBoring uninspired maps, questionable textures and graphics which looked better about 3 previous games ago, and ridiculous single player story, COD Ghosts is another lackluster, repetitive cash grab for a series that has long outstayed its welcome. If you're familiar with any of the 'efforts' by the COD franchise, I'm sure you'll have no need for anymore explanation and dislike this game as much as I do. The 3 stars I did give it were merely due to extinction mode which was an interesting twist on the horde mode that many AAA games spout these days. However, I found myself missing zombies and just wished I could've jumped into that after goofing around online for a little. Horrid game. Stop buying it people. Expand
  29. Jun 1, 2014
    1
    The create a class (Create a Soldier) system is the best class creation system in all of CoD, personally that I have seen so far. It's just so well put together that I personally like it more than BO2's class system. However, many aspects of the game are just plain horrible and they just make BO2 so much more better. For starters, 85-90% of the maps are oversized for the amount of playersThe create a class (Create a Soldier) system is the best class creation system in all of CoD, personally that I have seen so far. It's just so well put together that I personally like it more than BO2's class system. However, many aspects of the game are just plain horrible and they just make BO2 so much more better. For starters, 85-90% of the maps are oversized for the amount of players that are allowed. Stonehaven is a prime example, I always end up having to leave a game at least 4-5 times just to find a small map, which there are only 2 of without any DLC. The fact that IW (Infinity Ward) hyped up their fans for this crappy game neglects me buy/look at the new DLC's or even continue playing Ghosts. It just makes me feel like I'm getting my money milked. Don't let the franchise get to you. Save your money by not buying this game. Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    If you like a game where they patch and nerf everything good about it and ignore all of the mods and glitches that people use, this is the game for you! If you want to play a game so packed with micro-dlc because the developers care more about your wallet, than the actually gamer? Then Ghosts is totally for you. I have been playing CoD for 17 years now and I have to say that this is theIf you like a game where they patch and nerf everything good about it and ignore all of the mods and glitches that people use, this is the game for you! If you want to play a game so packed with micro-dlc because the developers care more about your wallet, than the actually gamer? Then Ghosts is totally for you. I have been playing CoD for 17 years now and I have to say that this is the worst game that I have ever played. The game itself has lag, it has really bad balancing, and to top it off it is filled with more little kids than ever. The community is trash, this is actually the easiest CoD since MW3, but everything is so horrible. It is just not worth my time even putting it in my disc tray. lol Expand
  31. Aug 25, 2014
    1
    One of the worst COD to date. Even though i did like the story and the guns the online play let me down. The gun wiggles around like its made of rubber and it glitches alot. Because of that this game gets 1/10
  32. Mar 26, 2015
    4
    COD has returned again after the mw3 failure , infinity ward desided to "change" cod and start a new series called "Ghosts".Unfortunately they manged to make THE worst cod ever released.The singleplayer campaign is back but it is boring with lack of interesting characters like price or soap.As for the multiplayer it is awful.It feels like it is broken.One think i liked in this game is thatCOD has returned again after the mw3 failure , infinity ward desided to "change" cod and start a new series called "Ghosts".Unfortunately they manged to make THE worst cod ever released.The singleplayer campaign is back but it is boring with lack of interesting characters like price or soap.As for the multiplayer it is awful.It feels like it is broken.One think i liked in this game is that the guns are balanced.Rather than multiplayer here comes the Squads which is multiplayer with bots and the extinction.With extinction they wanted to make a new mode to replace treyarch's zombies,but they failed.Generally this game is one of the worst games ever released.DONT BUY IT!!!!!!! Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    this game is was bad not terrible just bad, for start's the single-player taking a different approach to the MW series and I want spoil the ending but i do like. next is extinction mode which some people don't like but it is most likely the only reason someone would by the game as it fells different from zombies. Finally the one reason i'm giving this game a below average is the very muchthis game is was bad not terrible just bad, for start's the single-player taking a different approach to the MW series and I want spoil the ending but i do like. next is extinction mode which some people don't like but it is most likely the only reason someone would by the game as it fells different from zombies. Finally the one reason i'm giving this game a below average is the very much broken muiltplayer and it's not the fact the coped maps but it is the the chainsaw the most overpower weapon in the cod series and a weapon that brakes the muiltplayer. Expand
  34. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    Just like MW3 and Black Ops 2, this game is pretty much a DLC, ever since MW2 was released there's been no technical innovation in this franchise which should've died with Black Ops; You hear many fanboys who'd disagree with me and say 'There's new guns', that makes a difference how? To be honest, the FPS genre is slowly dying, the only games that are keeping it alive are Battlefield, andJust like MW3 and Black Ops 2, this game is pretty much a DLC, ever since MW2 was released there's been no technical innovation in this franchise which should've died with Black Ops; You hear many fanboys who'd disagree with me and say 'There's new guns', that makes a difference how? To be honest, the FPS genre is slowly dying, the only games that are keeping it alive are Battlefield, and the soon to be TITANFALL.

    The only things that are running for the game is the multiplayer and this new version of zombies, except it's not zombies it's aliens... I'm sorry but this franchise doesn't deserve the hype it gets.
    Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2013
    4
    I actually created an account so I could review this so other people could avoid being as disappointed as I was. Before I begin the review I should mention that I've played every call of duty since 2 online, My favorites would be COD4 and the 1st black ops but I thought 2, WAW and (to a lesser extent MW2) were decent too. I know the vast majority of people only buy call of duty forI actually created an account so I could review this so other people could avoid being as disappointed as I was. Before I begin the review I should mention that I've played every call of duty since 2 online, My favorites would be COD4 and the 1st black ops but I thought 2, WAW and (to a lesser extent MW2) were decent too. I know the vast majority of people only buy call of duty for multiplayer so I'll start there. In my opinion the multiplayer is terrible, the spawns after dying are as bad as anything I've ever played. This will happen to you a lot... You'll get killed and almost immediately after dying you'll get killed again by spawning near an enemy, which when you consider the size of the maps is inexcusable... But by far my biggest complaint is the fact that it's a campers wet dream, The map design is awful and a lot of the time it's really hard to spot anybody. I like to run and gun but it's impossible in this game, I know they have to cater for all play styles but if you even attempt to go out in the open in this game you're dead before you can do anything about it... I think I'm a fairly decent call of duty player but the only way I could get any decent scores or build up killstreaks was to patrol a specific area, hide in a building with IEDs and shoot out of a window or door or to snipe using the same method... I personally don't consider that as being fun. Also you can't check the connections of the other players in the room you're in now when you bring up the scoreboard so you can't tell if it's a laggy room or not. There's no theater mode either which is disappointing as well. Considering this is a game being released on a console at the end of it's lifespan, the graphics are really disappointing too. Didn't play enough of squads to really be qualified to review it adequately but like I said previously most people just want to play straight up multiplayer with their friends so I think it's a pointless addition. For those that are interested, I did find the campaign quite enjoyable but it's pretty short, should take most players a couple of nights to finish it on normal. Extinction mode was ok but to be honest I would have preferred survival mode instead which is weird seeing as I really like zombies in the Treyarch games. To conclude ,I think this is a lazy addition to the call of duty series, the fact 3 developers (Infinity Ward, Neversoft and Raven) worked on it tells its own story. Expand
  36. Nov 10, 2014
    3
    Wow what a piece of garbage this game was. Normally the reviews here don't do COD any justice, but in this case they do. The game is extremely slow and campy as hell. Don't know what Infinity Ward was thinking with the big ass maps like Battlefield. They work there because they have a higher amount of players. Playing a 4 on 4 game, when people rage from IED's, is horrible. Don'tWow what a piece of garbage this game was. Normally the reviews here don't do COD any justice, but in this case they do. The game is extremely slow and campy as hell. Don't know what Infinity Ward was thinking with the big ass maps like Battlefield. They work there because they have a higher amount of players. Playing a 4 on 4 game, when people rage from IED's, is horrible. Don't know how many time limit TMD's I played. Honestly, the game was so bad, I traded it in and went back to Blops 2. I wish Activision would get rid of Infinity Ward as they have two horrible strikes in Ghosts and MW3. Expand
  37. Dec 28, 2014
    2
    Overall this game was a huge disappointment. The single-player story was pretty childish and cheesy. As for multiplayer, the game fails in all aspects. We were promised dedicated servers that never came, but no problem you can never tell you're lagging because there's no ping bars. The maps are way too big for 6v6 resulting in running around for minutes just to end up being shot in theOverall this game was a huge disappointment. The single-player story was pretty childish and cheesy. As for multiplayer, the game fails in all aspects. We were promised dedicated servers that never came, but no problem you can never tell you're lagging because there's no ping bars. The maps are way too big for 6v6 resulting in running around for minutes just to end up being shot in the back. The time to kill is ridiculously fast, sometimes less than your ping resulting in instant deaths. The redeeming factors are the much improved hit detection and the okay weapons, but they're not enough. Expand
  38. Jul 3, 2015
    2
    Almost all of the past COD titles have been good at at least something. If the multiplayer wasn't good then the campaign was. That is not the case with COD Ghosts. The campaign is terrible, it just doesn't have the same feel anymore as COD4 and MW2 campaign's had.

    The multiplayer is absolutely dreadful latency and lag issues are all that is left on the PS3 version. The multiplayer is
    Almost all of the past COD titles have been good at at least something. If the multiplayer wasn't good then the campaign was. That is not the case with COD Ghosts. The campaign is terrible, it just doesn't have the same feel anymore as COD4 and MW2 campaign's had.

    The multiplayer is absolutely dreadful latency and lag issues are all that is left on the PS3 version. The multiplayer is terrible for public matches and unlike BO2 the game doesn't work that well as an eSports game either. XB1, PS4 and 360 have somewhat better MP, but this PS3 version is plain bad.
    Expand
  39. Mar 2, 2015
    4
    so liked the story so loved the graphics so that I hated multiplayer **** your maps many great **** so extinction sucks hated change of zombies to aliens
  40. Aug 15, 2015
    3
    Just really couldn't get in to Ghosts. For some reason it would not work with my playstation despite it being a brand new disk, and once it did I wasn't really impressed by the story of the multiplayer.
  41. Apr 21, 2016
    3
    Le veo un juego con cierta dificultad , aunque icultad al elegir las armas , lo único que le veo positivo al juego.. es el modo online para poder jugarlo con amigos.. pero por lo demás nada.. una cosa que cabe destacar es la comunidad de éste juego... no me gusta nada de nada..
  42. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    COD is pretty much the only game I play, as all my buddies play it. This will be the 2nd COD game I invest no time in(MW3 being the other). Health is too low, maps are wayyyy too big, the spawning is absolute nonsense. These maps are a campers wet dream, and 80% of the time death matches run out of time because everyone's sitting in a corner. Most definitely the most unpleasant CODCOD is pretty much the only game I play, as all my buddies play it. This will be the 2nd COD game I invest no time in(MW3 being the other). Health is too low, maps are wayyyy too big, the spawning is absolute nonsense. These maps are a campers wet dream, and 80% of the time death matches run out of time because everyone's sitting in a corner. Most definitely the most unpleasant COD experience I've ever had. I absolutely hate it. Don't waste your money. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    COD players, myself included, will still play Ghosts for the sake of having 20 or so new maps to play on over the course of the year, but in a franchise that’s the same year after year with slight changes, it’s reasonable to expect things to materially improve, not to take even a small step backwards.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    After loving the campaign in Black Ops 2, the single player in Ghosts feels like a step back for the series. The campaign felt tiresome, familiar, predictable and linear. The multiplayer on the other hand, saves the day as the tweaks to the gameplay and the new games modes make this the best multiplayer COD experience to date.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    It's a generally by-the-numbers excursion through big-budget wartime set pieces that, due to an unavoidable air of familiarity, wares out its welcome much quicker than it should.