User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1795 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    People should stop comparing this to other games, great campaign that tests you on veteran along with a superb online that also does the same. If you are looking for a fun campaign this game is for you.
  2. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game has a user score of 57 as opposed to a critic score of 94. This tells me that it's a high quality game, but people don't like it because they suck. Now whether or not you LIKE a game is subjective, and I'm sure that there are people who actually don't. However, the majority of negative reviews here are just people **** that they got killed in MP.
  3. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    8.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    The sequel to the game that revolutionised much of the fps-multiplayer experience had a lot of hype to live up to, and many of the points, it did.

    The story continued much of the same cinematic drama from the first game, and made a lot of changes to the multiplayer. The multiplayer now has more perks, and more killstreaks to choose from, which is
    fun. I have found some balancing issues with the game, and so have others, with much complaining on the grenade-launchers and "akimbo" shotguns as secondary weapons, for example.

    This doesn't stop Modern Warfare 2 from being a great and over-all fun experience, which in many ways tops the original Modern Warfare game. So if that's what you're after, this game wont disappoint you.
    Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best FPS game I have ever played. Really good customization and the fun never ends with all the Map Packs. And thats it. All the Negatives are battlefield fans or noobs.
  5. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    The single player may be way too short, the spec ops may be a bit tiring and seem pointless. But the multi-player always brings me back for more. This game is responsible for dragging me away from other great games, however i must say, red dead redemption broke that trend. Anyway, an excellent game and a must-have for all console games. There are many haters out there, but how can you complain, never before has a multi-player experience been so immersive. I'm not a fan boy, i play many games, but this game just stands out on the FPS market. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I know there are a lot of haters out there(I don't know why) but this is a great game. Trust the real game review sites, not a Battlefield bad company fanboy posting here. Amazing graphics, decent storyline, great sound, amazing co-op, and one of the best multiplayers. A must-have game!
  7. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    After Modern Warfare awesome release, this game is the best! The graphics are excellent, the story is great, and the weapons are cool! But, after playing the missions over and over again..it kinda gets boring. But when you play online, it is entertaining!!! But I liked the game alot!
  8. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    i am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing but the game itself is very well made Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    If you dont have online capabilities do not buy this game. The single player mode is average at best. Split screen is annoying when playing two player. That being said, this game has a very good online multiplayer mode. I spent days playing with friends on this game. Its the best online first person shooter out there with so many different ways of killing your opponent with a vast array of weapons. One thing that is a bit annoying is that other than team death match and free for all the other modes seem a bit stupid, i mean who wants to capture a flag? this isnt paintballing its supposed to be modern warfare.
    Overall a 9 based on online play.
    Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    How much hate from Battlefield fans is this game getting? A lot. Many people who hate this game say they played the single player in something ridiculous like 3 hours. Simply, they didn't 'play' the game, they rushed through it on recruit deliberately trying to beat the game as quickly as possible so they could boast about how short it is. It isn't 3 hours long. It's probably around 6 or 8 hours long which isn't massive but the set piece moments are so epic they more than make up for it's length. Any longer and they game would feel 'too long' and ruin the single player campaign's 'perfection'. The multiplayer has been getting the most hate, with reviews on Metacritic as lazy as: Commando, Danger Close, One Man Army, unbalanced lag fest. I can't honestly understand the hate behind this game. Sure, it has it's flaws, but at the right moments it's satisfying and fun. The biggest complaint about the multiplayer for me, is probably the grenade launcher. Aside from that it's outright the best multiplayer experience of 2009. The graphics are fantastic, with just a few poor textures de voiding it of perfection. Special Ops is a little boring and uninspired when paired with Nazi Zombies but serves as a decent extension for those bored with the multiplayer. The bottom line is that the single player is very nearly perfect and the multiplayer will last you for many months if you can put up with dying once in a while. Expand
  11. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off. Yes, multiplayer gets frustrating but once you know the maps, gun combinations, etc this game is very good. Recently new modes was introduced like Barebones Pro where killstreaks are disabled!! So if you have any complaints about overpowered killstreaks just jump into this mode. Expand
  12. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Call of duty Modern Warfare 2 is a really good shooter which has really good online as well. The missions are action packed with lots of action in each of the missions, it has lots of guns you can use in them with RPGâ
  13. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Call Of Duty : modern warfare 2, Is without a doubt the best shooting game out. the graphics are wonderful, The game play is awesome!, Playing multi-player online with friends is so fun that you could play it 4 hours non stop, also you never get bored with the game even after playing it 6 hours!. The only problem with the game is the story-mode is a little too short as you could complete it within 6 hours. Overall the story mode is like watching a movie,The Scenes are very intense. At the end of the day i recommend this game to everyone even if you don't play console games you just have to play this game, it is well worth the money!.It is one of the most expensive games out at £55.00 but it is worth it!. The story mode is quiet complicated as you start of as a soldier in Afghanistan fighting the terrorists, The player assumes the role of various characters during the single-player campaign, changing perspectives throughout the progression of the story.
    Each mission features a series of objectives that are displayed on the head up display, which marks the direction and distance towards and from such objectives. Damage to the player is shown by blood shown on the screen. The player's health regenerates as time passes. Tasks vary in their requirements, having the player arrive at a particular checkpoint, eliminate enemies in a specified location, stand their ground to defend an objective, or plant explosive charges on an enemy installation. The player is accompanied by friendly troops who cannot be issued orders. Laptop computers that contain enemy intelligence appear throughout the campaign and may be collected. The Plot is quiet engaging, the Ultranationalists seize control of Russia and declare Imran Zakhaev a hero and martyr, erecting a statue of him in the heart of Red Square. Meanwhile, Vladimir Makarov, one of Zakhaev's former lieutenants, begins a campaign against Europe by committing acts of terrorism over the course of five years.
    Expand
  14. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Modern ware 2 is a excellent game with epic shooting and epic bombings the whole sounds feel like your in the movie the single player mode is quite good with first hand shooting this game is very good but there is certain things I donâ
  15. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    A solid single player which was actually challenging on normal mode for a change, but the multi-player, as always is what i bought this for and it didn't disappoint, although it is still very laggy at times, and lots of games still end early even though though a new host is meant to be found, but seldom happens efficiently.
  16. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    From start to finish, this is the game all shooters should be compared to. The visuals are epic, the campaign is deep, cool and entertaining and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air from those horrible clunky 3rd person shooters! In fact the only reason this game doesn't deserve a 10 is there's a balance problem. Noob tubes can be annoying and campers are just a huge pain in the ass. I'm not a guy that hates a game for small flaws but these definitely count into the final score. People should really see past the fact that yes there's an extremely irritating grenade launcher and heartbeat sensor but if they took that out people would find another way to be **** noobs. IW did a class job on this game and it should be remembered for a long time to come. Expand
  17. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Single player is pretty solid. But lets be fair it's about multiplayer . Akelz7 made a very good point. People who are rubbish at this game & get owned say it's poor because they are no good. Put in a lot of time in this game. Experience the perks. The weapons , the attachments and the levels and you will appreciate it in a whole new way. This game is faaaar from perfect however. Overpowered air support. Stupidly powerful secondaries ( shotguns as secondaries come on!) . The guns also lack recoil and sway meaning they have a point and click feel and don't come close to a realistic feel. Taking into consideration all the previous points mentioned and the constant anger pointed at tubers and commando users and blah blah blah. It is still the best game on the market for people who want frantic, fun and action packed first person shooting. The only problem with enjoying this game online is that you HAVE to put in the time to be good at it FACT. Overall 2.5 years after it's release.6 months after Black ops and a few months after Killzone 3's release ( also a good game) it is still the best FPS out there by a long stretch. Expand
  18. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    This game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which you can do with your friends at different difficulties. All of them are unique in their own way and so much fun. Now lets get to the MP. It seems that now that it seems to be the "cool" thing to hate on mw2 ridiculously. I find this completely stupid and hypocritical. People the complain about the game continue to play it, which means IW must of done something right to make it that fun and addicting to make you continue playing. People don't give the game enough credit and fail to realize what it's done. It has awesome killstreaks, awesome tight guns, graphically beautiful and original maps. I have never had so much fun with an FPS before in my life. COD4 is more balanced, but as fun or as packed as MW2. Yes, the nuke boosting and noob tubes can sometimes be a nuisance but it's not the end of the world as hardcore gamers claim. It's liveable. I love using the AC130 and love going for the nuke as a challenge. And you know what? The flaws of the game make the game more interesting and provide for rants and a "booster justice" game mode. MW2 is by far a much better game than Black Ops. Anyone who says different, is obviously in denial and is a stupid hypocrite. Expand
  19. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    COD4:MW2 - Continues where it's older brother left off. It has to be said it isn't the strongest single player game ever released and most people probably don't even bother with that aspect of the game. Sure the graphics are good and there are some fun and memorable bit's but it is all very liner and so hectic that you have a job to know what's going on.

    The big thing about the COD series
    is it was one of the first console multi player first person shooters to be played online, COD and Medal of Honour have been played by PC gamers for years and years, but the console and COD bought it to the masses, there are quite a few people I know who own a PS3 and only have 2 games, COD MW1 & MW2, that is how cult this game has become.

    Nothing comes close to the experience you get from playing COD online and any other FPS games now really do get labelled as imitiations as COD were one of the first. The key here is the addictive way you are rewarded, by earning XP the online mode is more like an offline platform games, it hooks you in with the promise of shiny new guns or perks. A bit like the trophy system on the PS3 you are compelled to go back for more.

    You can pick it up and play it for 5mins, 10mins or 3 hours and have some fun, most other games require a lot more attention and concentration.

    Sure it's not realistic and can be frustrating at times, there are a few glitches in the game and people hacking their online scores to be top, but I've got hours and hours of fun out of it and I don't regret it.
    Expand
  20. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    The sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure many felt it was more of the same but with much less plot or any direction. While SP was fun I didn't really understand what the story was all about because it seemed to jump around a bit with very little tying it all together. So, even though this game was great and equally addictive as COD4 there are definitely some irritations such as the knuckleheads that run around with marathon, lightweight, and commando perks. Imagine some teenage punk running around twice the speed as humanly possible, unlimited sprint, stabbing you from clear across the room before you can even put a single round into him with a sub machine gun... not very realistic. If they took away just a couple of these annoying perks the game would be more fun and probably the only reason I can't give this game a 10.

    I will be looking to Battlefield Bad Company 2 next to see what this is all about. It claims to be a more realistic MP experience and it might be a good change of pace for this genre. I will give my thoughts on that in a little bit after I've played it for a while.
    Expand
  21. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    best call of duty, only people that dont like this game are people who are bad at it and dont like getting nube tubed. All the noobs complaining about this game is what brought black ops which is definitely the worst cod.
  22. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    I really don't know why everybody is **** about this game, the story is good, good graphics, decent game play, amazing multiplayer (and no I am not a Cod bum, I am not even that good). Sure not much has changed but why mess with a good formula.
  23. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Stunning. Could'nt lay down the controller in campaign mode. Getting into multiplayer as well, at first ridiculously tough, but now moving up in rank fast. Co-op special ops are fun too. Full-on, this game.
  24. May 10, 2011
    9
    Following the groundbreaking and game changing Modern Warfare was never going to be an easy task. And whilst their are those who have slated and wrote this game off, I certainly don't fall into that category. Modern Warfare 2 is simply an amazing game. It doesn't have the effect that the original had on me but it was never going to instead its the all round improvement that makes you appreciate MW2 all the more. Just like the first game, single player mode is far too short. Thats the only disappointing aspect of the game you can complete it in under 5-6 hours. However the 5-6 hours are awesome. Again you play as 2 characters this time the your aim is to stop ultranationalist Vladimir Makarov who was a follower of MW villain Imran Zakhaev. The story takes you all over the globe from Rio to Afghanistan however it is a bit farfetched and at times you wonder what is going on but it is a game afterall. And the gameplay more than makes up for it. It uses the same engine from the first game, if something ain't broke why fix it? But somehow it seems better if thats possible! Also, the settings really do help with each level some of the graphics/visuals within each environment are gorgeous and only add to the experience. There's a big improvement in that department from the original, because as ive said visually MW2 is fantastic. The clincher for MW2 that makes it in a class of its own is Online/Multiplayer. Despite how short single player mode is Multiplayer more than makes up for it. You will find yourself engrossed online for hours on end, its terribly addictive. The levels give you a decent variety but aren't anywhere near as big as Battlefield. With multiple options on offer you can't go wrong online and you will always find yourself coming back for more! Then there is the new Spec-Ops which only adds to your experience and is an awesome addition to CoD letting you play alone or co-op with a friend you sample all the locations of the campaign but with different objectives and rewards which are divided into five different group mission, you can't go wrong with this and is a geat alternative if you get somehow manage to get bored online. As an all round package MW2 is dynamite. Single player will leave you both enthralled and frustarted by its shortness however is made up with the variety of options made available including the new Spec-Ops as well as the even dependable online, MW2 oncemore raises the bar and delivers another stellar performance and establishes itself as the number one game franchise. Expand
  25. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Best Call of duty game in my veiw. Gripping Campaign, Brilliant multiplayer and i cant stop playing even though its 2011. the graphics are even better than black ops still 2 years ahead of MW2 i prefer it and many people i know do aswell.
  26. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Similar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayer of MW2 , but the constant Hacker's, Bugs , glitches is a busy struggle for those that want a nice moment of entertainment . Either way, if you like shooters I recommend you to play Black Ops if you don't want multiplayer problems, absolutely . Don't get me wrong, Modern Warfare is still playable, the campaign is fantastic and the multiplayer plays nice, it's just that those problems deteriorate the enjoyment , if you insist , well then have luck, Even with the updates. Expand
  27. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This game has it all in my opinion. Great single player, the Special Operations games are fantastic and the Online Multiplayer is terrific. I don't understand the lows scores, since I would highly recommend this game as one of the best shooter experiences I've played. The whole package...
  28. May 24, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has not been created yet. Can't wait for MW3. Expand
  29. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixed relatively quickly. i LOVED the title and emblem system. gave me a purpose to keep playing the game long after i had gotten to tenth prestige. most of the maps were great. they were a few that pised me off, but mostly they were great. there were problems with hackers and modders, but almost every game is going to have problems with that. i can see why people wouldn't like the game, but the pros GREATLY outweigh the cons. and please stop saying that BFBC2 is better. i played both, and enjoyed both. they are two separate entities. so please dont **** on our game and we wont **** on yours Expand
  30. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Expand
  31. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This game may not be the best game ever, but it has a fun not too hard story mode and has great special ops and is really fun to play with friends and online
  32. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best game in the world! I really like the single player and the spec ops are very funny.
  33. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    a good game,not reaching the levels of the first MW, but seen in its own self, a satisfying experience. Wish Infinity Ward had done something different to attract more gamers.
  34. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. Over powered perks like commando. The killstreaks are way too over powered. Once you get a harrier you get 4 kills with it. That makes you move on to the chopper gunner. And that leads to a tactical nuke. These are bad parts about it. When you are doing very good and are on a roll it's highly addicting.Overall it's a great game. Expand
  35. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    For me, the best first-person shooter video game of the year (2009). I play some other Call of Duty titles, but this one was the best campaign ever made. The really good thing about MW2 is definitely de on line mode (the best that i ever play). I recommended.
  36. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    From Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantastic new maps and perks it is sort of great. The story is a bit all over the place until you get to the middle i loved the end. It is an auditory masterpiece from the heart pumping music to the guns i love it and it looks stunning in the top 5 FPS's ive ever played. Overall Modern Warfare 2 is the best COD game out i'll give it 9.5. The Review is on my blog at url http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-2.html Expand
  37. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacre of civilians. After the massacre, Makarov kills Allen, sparking a war between the U.S.A and Russia. The Modern Warfare 2 Campaign is amazing, and full of action-packed missions, and does have some jaw-dropping and shocking moments. This Campaign is the best story line yet, and will be hard to beat in Modern Warfare 3. Modern Warfare 2 now features a Spec Ops mode, which allows you to play individual missions with friends or by yourself. I enjoyed most of these missions and some of them were quite the challenge. Especially when you're playing on Veteran difficulty. It increases the capabilities of the enemies. Spec Ops is a great game mode if you want more action after the Campaign mode. After completing a Spec Ops mission, you earn a different amount of stars, depending on the difficulty you played on. Stars will unlock more playable missions. And then there's Multiplayer. My favorite part of the game. Multiplayer is basically perfect, with plentiful weapons, highly detailed and fun maps, incredible objective and team based game modes, and of course, playing with friends. The customization in Multiplayer could of been better, like Black Ops with customizable emblems and face paint. Multiplayer allows you to reach level 70, so it will keep you busy unlocking weapons, attachments, titles, and emblems. Modern Warfare 2 is an enjoyable, near perfect shooter game and is the best game in the series yet. Any Call of Duty fan would love this game and I highly recommend purchasing the game if you want an amazing, fun, and realistic shooter game like this. Great graphics and amazing gameplay all wrap up into this incredible game. One of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  38. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Let's put this in perspective. If you're one of those Halo or Killzone fanboys that gets mad when a Call of Duty game destroys one of your favorite games, don't even read this. However, if you're a regular person who enjoys fun and valuable experiences, MW2 is an excellent choice.
  39. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun. Many strategies, funny moments and tight clashes. It's a game of LUCK and SKILL which is the best combination to make most of players feel good. The only weak point is if you take it too seriously. For competetive hardcore players I admit this has things that will not appeal all the time. But a small amount of luck/random makes everything (wins etc.) much more enjoyable because everyone can win sometimes. Expand
  40. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Para mi es un gran shooter, es divertido, y ahora que han conseguido que vaya estable, me encanta!!
    tiene sus defectos y podria mejorar, pero a mi me divierte!
  41. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is so perfect, Gameplay, graphics, quick scopes with sniper, i love it so much, tactical nuke is the best thing i have ever seen. This game really rocks, best FPS ever made.
  42. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game was a masterpiece in 2009, and still is, also probably tis he last game of Infinity Ward's that was infused with hardwork. Enough said. R.I.P Call of Duty Franchise. May Activision find the guidence of the Gamer God or so, let that Publisher rot and fill bankruptcy never to hurt a video game again.
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Really good game that sets the bar, graphically, for first person shooters. Alot of fun in the quick campaign. Spec ops is a blast. Mulitplayer is great, improves everything from the first entry in the series. The game feels like its following too closely in its predecessors footsteps and suffers slightly for it.
  44. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Call of duty MW2, a true successor of CoD 4 MW, return this time to the war as Soap and new allies, but look no further, the online multiplayer is amazing, new guns and sounds, and amazing new graphics, IW really nailed it this time and deserve a pat on the back
  45. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    It's official. Modern Warfare 2 is one of the best games of the century. I'll give it a definite 10 for it's amazing graphics, excellent plot, and astonishing multiplayer. If you don't have this, well , I feel bad for you because you're missing out on an extraordinary game.
  46. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The
    scoreboards where hacked to death and that became useless. The saving grace of the game was the amazing Campaign. The campaign was compelling and the most exciting campaign to finish in any Call Of Duty game. Expand
  47. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to all of these negative reviews, in my opinion this is the best COD game out there. The campaign was good but not great but the multiplayer makes up for it.
  48. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    The Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of this great awesome game in the series with the best System IW. Expand
  49. May 14, 2012
    9
    Does MW2 deserves the "Game of The Year" (2009) award? Not really, but It is and was a strong nominee. Gameplay is extremely fun, but the graphics didn't impress me at all. Still it delivers a great single/multi player experience. (9.3)
  50. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Everytime i want to play a ego i always grab the good old MW2 Box. Maybe only for 2 or 3 Mission, but it has some kind of magic at playing it. Very good balance in the different mission, also the characters are guys i want in my team. Technically it is not perfect i agree, but as i said the balance is really well done. You get a 9!
  51. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    The great campaign and the excellent multiplayer, let's not forget, the incredible spec ops make this game a masterpiece. Not only that, but even the sharp controls are a big positive. But, what are the problems? Short campaign and dull graphics. Despite from those problems, MW2 stays fresh and awesome. 93 out of 100
  52. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    9-Presentation; The characters and dialogue are well built and the menu's are laid out well.
    10-Graphics; The visuals are just insane. Period.
    10-Sound; Authentic sound effects, amazing voice acting, and thrilling music.
    10-Gameplay; Excellent levels, controls, mechanics, and AI
    10-Lasting appeal; 6 hour campaign with spec ops and infinite replay value in multiplayer
    Overall-10/10
  53. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Perfect game! in Multiplayer you can use your favorite attachments and in single player you have an perfect experience with awesome graphics and weapons.
  54. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    Really addicting COD. I own this game on both 360 and PS3 and they both are flawless. The Story, Graphics, Controls are all smooth. The Spec Ops missions are a little fun to do after a while. The MP can get frustrating at times but still highly addictive
  55. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Its a simple fact, Tactical Nukes rock! This game rocks! I would highly recommend that you get a nuke as your first killstreak because they are so fun!
  56. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Yes it's a worn out formula, Yes it's the same thing over and over again. But it's an excellent formula and unbeatable in terms of multiplayer so... Why the negative feedback? Can't understand it...
  57. May 8, 2013
    10
    5.9 are you kidding, dont listen at all to that score this is one of the best most comprehensive online, spec ops and single player. Much better than 3 way better than black ops. This game is turly great.
  58. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and Danger Close. While the game can really make you rage like no other, this was still a highly addictive multiplayer that kept me engrossed and hooked into for more than a full year. Even though it signalled the downfall of CoD, it was still a great game in itself. Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the most perfect call of duty in history. The campaign mode was amazing (perhaps, modern warfare 3 was better), but the thing that make the difference between this game and the others Modern warfare is the online mode. The sniper, the hours you can spend playing without getting bored. This game continues the great way wich modern warfare 1 started, and turn it better. This game is the reason why call of duty becomes the bestseller game during 3 years.

    The best: Multiplayer, one of the best multiplayers in shooter history. Awesome graphics, weapons variety. Good campaign and good special ops mode.
    The worst: Now, the hackers. The Nuke in multiplayer. Some bugs.
    Expand
  60. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    For me Call of duty had never been about the online multiplayers as i seen many battlefield fans just putting crap on it. but sure the game is hardly refreshed it does bring a much better story line. The story line really gets you in as you want to finish it. Playing split screen was the obvious reason i at time prefer cod over other shooters.
  61. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This game will forever be the pinnacle of the CoD franchise (including the original Modern Warfare). I love this game and played it far beyond it's release date. The only reason that most of us don't play it anymore is because of the hackers that UAV themselves into an orgasm. A sad end to a great game.
  62. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a great game with a fun multiplayer and a great campaign. Yes, the multiplayer is broken with the noobtubes, OP killstreaks and the aim assist snipers but that doesn't prevent it from being loads of fun.The campaign continues the story of the previous installment Cod4:MW so it will not disappoint.The characters are still great, the storyline is great and the gameplay is just borderline addicting.If you are a fps gamer, forget all the ignorant idiots that rank this an 0 and buy this game. Expand
  63. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is an improvement on Call of Duty 4. Campaign is short but compelling, Special Ops is a slick package of a variety of mini missions but it's the multiplayer that keeps you hooked on Call of Duty.

    It has a lot of depth, killstreaks allow you to do more than just shoot. It's very rewarding and awesome to use. In Call of Duty 4, you only had 3. In Modern Warfare 2, you can
    only use three but you have 15 killstreaks to choose from.

    Modern Warfare 2 introduces several new features, not seen in Call of Duty, aside from new weapons, equipment and perks that upgrade to "pro versions" after meeting utilization requirements. If you're really good, you can get a nuke (25 killstreak) and the person who use it will win for the player, him or herself, or the team no matter who's winning.

    Host migration is a bit annoying, since the host likes to rage quit, but it lets you continue on with the game instead of going back to the lobby, where you would lose your victory points and extra exp if you were about to win.

    Third person is an option in selected game types and there are new game types as well as the return of Team Deathmatch, Search & Destroy etc. Trophies/achievements is very easy so this game is a good collection for you trophy/achievement whores as there are no multiplayer achievements, though you would need two players for some.

    Special Ops has a variety of mini missions from snowmobile race to eliminating enemies. Special Ops is great if you need a change from multiplayer. Graphics isn't the best but it runs consistently at 60 FPS on console. Consistent frame rate is required for competitive play rather than graphics that makes you go "wow" and there are loads of better looking games out there, such as Uncharted as well as Final Fantasy.

    People like to annoy you online, doesn't make the game itself bad. If you run into some annoying c**t, just mute him. Simple! People b***hing about trickshotters. So what? They get killed more than they kill anyway. Again, doesn't make the game bad. It's how the player chooses to play. Killstreaks isn't consistent but it's how the franchise evolves. It's one of the best shooters out today so if you haven't played it, you're missing out.
    Expand
  64. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This is a great game!! The campaign has a great story and an amazing cinematic presentation that I absolutely love to see in games because i think it makes the experience more like a movie! Aside from that it has a series of co-op special ops missions that are great fun to be had with a buddy! Last but certainly not least the multiplayer for this game is ridiculous, addicting and crazy fun! I still enjoy playing this game to this day! Expand
  65. May 10, 2013
    9
    of all the call of duty games that ive played this games beats all (including both black ops games, modern warfare 3, world at war, and cod 4). this game is a MUST buy for call of duty fans. I give this game a 9 because of how the PSN servers are and have been down for about 1 and a half years. Otherwise this is my fav game of all time
  66. May 19, 2013
    10
    Probably the best COD game I have played. It has a good campaign but its too short. Spec Ops is a good addition to the COD series. For the multiplayer, it has the best pacing, best guns, and best killstreaks
  67. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Great game. Loved the storyline, and multiplayer was awesome. Always fun to play, with or without friends. It's a shame that hackers took over and ruined it.
  68. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This game is utter garbage, don't buy this, the game sucks as hell, that being sayd, so for that reason i must give this game a 10, did i already say i was paid by microsoft, no, then i say it now
  69. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    Modern warfare 2. This game is getting a straight…. 9! Very UPDATED since COD4( the best call of duty in my opinion).
    Pros: Very interesting killstreaks, fun to play overall, doesn't get boring, good fallback game, private match lobbies can be fun when you are trolling random people or just hanging with your buds. Good map layouts, good graphics, good multiplayer, not too much lag( ill
    discuss in cons), good maps in general, cool killstreaks(ill discuss in cons), and overall a pretty positive online and single player.
    Cons: Some killstreaks are overpowered(Chopper gunner) once, you get one, you have a nuke. lag is really bad at times but not noticeable at times, it depends on your host. Overpowered weapons such as the majority of the submachine guns, Which putting a silencer on it makes it god mod, puts the online newbies at a risk of raging. Hell I even rage sometimes but games like this starting out really give you thick skin, so your able to withstand future Again the hackers in this game.. ruin the fun of it all. frame lag and all that gets a little crazy when a lot is going on but whatever. I am hungry, thats all i can think off of the top of my head, ill come back with more inspiration later.
    Expand
  70. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    The campaign in my opinion is not the greatest but the multiplayer is just phenomenal.One of the best games I've ever played.The guns are almost equally balanced (except the ACR maybe) and the maps are great.Infinity Ward did a freaking good job
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!