Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PlayStation 3

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Modern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player storyModern Warfare 2 continues the gripping and heart-racing action as players face off against a new threat dedicated to bringing the world to the brink of collapse. An entirely new gameplay mode which supports 2-player co-operative play online that is unique from the single player story campaign. Special Ops pits players into a gauntlet of time-trial and objective-based missions. Rank-up as players unlock new Special Ops missions, each more difficult. Missions include highlights from the single player campaign, fan favorites from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare and all new, exclusive missions. Setting a new bar for online multiplayer, Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer delivers new capabilities, customization, gamestates and modes, including: Create-a-Class Evolved. Secondary Weapons - Machine Pistols, Shotguns, Handguns, Launchers. Riot Shields. Equipment - Throwing Knives, Blast Shield, Tactical Insertion. Perk Upgrades. Bling (Dual Attachments). Customizable Killstreaks - AC130, Sentry Gun, Predator Missile, Counter-UAV, Care Package. Accolades (Post match reports). [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty: Elite Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next CoD is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and ramps it up to the next level. With the best multiplayer shooting that money can buy, an incredibly action-packed campaign and plenty of superb two-player co-op levels, this is without a doubt a real contender for game of the year.
  3. Infinity Ward hits another one out of the park with Modern Warfare 2.
  4. Modern Warfare 2 is a complete package and one of those games you'll be playing for a long time to come. It's not only one of the best shooters of the year; it's one of the top shooters ever to appear on a console.
  5. Modern Warfare 2 carries the good tradition of its predecessor. The campaign is nonetheless too short, and it feels too inspired to the previous one; on the other side, the multiplayer carries a lot of improvements, and Spec Ops is a well crafted coop mode. If you consider buying for online fun, this is the game that will steal your life for the months to come. If you're up to an unforgettable single player experience you might consider other more lengthy and original titles.
  6. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has more than enough guns, modes and "oh-my-god" moments to propel it to the very top of your must have list, with astounding visuals, crystal-clear (and at times, frightening) audio and enough plot twists to make you second guess everything, so gear up, hop onto your snowmobile and haul ass to the nearest store.
  7. As a whole, at least on consoles such as the PS3, Modern Warfare 2 is a thrilling, if not entirely coherent, care package for itchy trigger fingers.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 314
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    People should stop comparing this to other games, great campaign that tests you on veteran along with a superb online that also does the same.People should stop comparing this to other games, great campaign that tests you on veteran along with a superb online that also does the same. If you are looking for a fun campaign this game is for you. Expand
  2. May 24, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). ItQuite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has not been created yet. Can't wait for MW3. Expand
  3. JamesB.
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    This is one of the greatest games of all time, but i can see where people are coming from when they give it a low score. Call of Duty has a This is one of the greatest games of all time, but i can see where people are coming from when they give it a low score. Call of Duty has a history of amazing campaigns, but this one just short of what people want. What do i say? There wasn't a single part in the story where i sat there wishing it would just end, each part of it is fun and adds flavor to the game. That is an amazing achievement for any game, but it is really short and dosnt explain the events that well. Voice acting is great, but if you could explain the story better i wouldnt have to wonder 'Why the hell am i doing this' so often. This dosnt cause a problem for me, and it all makes up in the multiplayer. What i like most about it is that accessibility of it. It finds me the game that i want fast and makes it more enjoyable to play. The graphics are the best in any game iv ever seen, they put all the love and care the make it absolutely amazing. Now, the reason its not a 10 in my opinion, the fact that it does get stale after so long. Sure, the maps are nice, but in multiplayer, the computer chosen maps sometimes ruin a few of the settings, such as quarry, its a good map with alot to do there, but they use it so many times it got stale for me. Sometimes by bad luck you play that same map two times in a row, and that sucks. Also, glitches, iv had a few times where my sever died on me, and i was forced out of my game when i was doing so good. Overall, i love the game, but it has a few technical difficulties, but it looks amazing and the diversity of the guns is enough for you to play it over and over again. Collapse
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    This game is, despite what people often say, a good game. It's always been a good game and, at first at least it showed the very best of CallThis game is, despite what people often say, a good game. It's always been a good game and, at first at least it showed the very best of Call of Duty. What broke the fun of this games multiplayer was the community. Yer maybe IW could have foreseen the problems that would come up but it is just people using boring and irritating tactics to ruin games that screwed up the fun. Expand
  5. GeoffT
    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    Impressive visuals but dated game play with no cover system and no ability to go prone and no way to interact with or control your AI team Impressive visuals but dated game play with no cover system and no ability to go prone and no way to interact with or control your AI team mates. Essentially this is a rail shooter where you are led to a confined area for a firefight. It is tense and visceral to be sure, but make no mistake, it is just a shooting gallery. Rainbow Six Vegas is more realistic as an example, with strategy elements, a cover system and more realistic weapons in terms of sound effects and the damage that they do. Firing a shotgun in Rainbow Six is a violent experience. In this game it is like shooting a ping pong ball out of a cardboard tube. This game also tends to be too over the top, with enemies sometimes flying around like weightless rag dolls when they are shot. The single player campaign is very, very brief (I can't stress that enough), very easy and represents a poor value. The snowmobile level is particularly childish and ridiculous with the vehicles traveling at what would be in real life hundreds of miles an hour. Yes there is multiplayer, but in many ways SOCOM Confrontation does it better with more ways to control your character and larger, more open maps. Take away the upgraded visuals and this Call of Duty is the same as the previous game. Its wide appeal is probably due to it's simplicity, but you will want to rent it first as it is a disappointing buy. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 was a bit of a disappointment to me because i felt is almost exactly like call of duty 4 concerning multiplayer. on the otherModern Warfare 2 was a bit of a disappointment to me because i felt is almost exactly like call of duty 4 concerning multiplayer. on the other hand the campaign was interesting but the only problem was that it was too short. Expand
  7. AnonymousL
    Nov 10, 2009
    0
    This game simply does NOT deserve its hype. Let's turn to history rather then idiotic fanboy fased arguments though. COD1 was a PC This game simply does NOT deserve its hype. Let's turn to history rather then idiotic fanboy fased arguments though. COD1 was a PC title, plain and simple. Consoles weren't even considered. COD2 came out in 2003 developed mainly for the PC, then ported to the consoles, and was a huge success. 4 lengthy years later, COD4 was developed as a multiplatform game, but it seemed to be a bit superficial when compared to COD2. This was acceptible anyway, since mods came out and let players do whatever it was they wanted. Then, 2 years after that, Activision is bought over and the new masters place enormous stress on IW to produce a title, ANY TITLE (quick glance at Treyarch's COD5) because clearly quantity is more important then quality. IW backstabs the PC community with the removal of dedicated servers and as such modding. Everything about this game is indicative of a console game. It costs $60, it runs on dedicated servers, and it isn't moddable. I guess the series is shifting towards what makes more money, as consoles do in fact (at this time) have more potential. That's perfectly legitimate, but to even suggest that this rant covers half the problems produced by such ridiculous constraints is ludicrous. I don't need to mention how badly this game fails. It's essentially a re-release of COD4 with different skins for the weapons. Expand

See all 314 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.