User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5106 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    To the people wondering if Modern Warfare 3 would take a hit due to the 40+ staff of Infinity Award leaving, look no further. The answer sadly, is yes. It has taken a huge hit. This review is primarily focused at the multiplayer (which I have loved both (COD 4: MW & MW2).

    Unfortunate to say MW3 is nowhere near as good as the previous games in terms of multiplayer, with the major drawback
    To the people wondering if Modern Warfare 3 would take a hit due to the 40+ staff of Infinity Award leaving, look no further. The answer sadly, is yes. It has taken a huge hit. This review is primarily focused at the multiplayer (which I have loved both (COD 4: MW & MW2).

    Unfortunate to say MW3 is nowhere near as good as the previous games in terms of multiplayer, with the major drawback being the map design. With 16 maps included on the disc you'd think there would be atleast a dozen of good quality maps, instead you're met with 16 small, maze ridden maps that have no flow whatsoever. In my opinion there are about 3-5 bearable maps, the rest are so poor even the maps from Black Ops outshine. I seriously think when the **** hit the fan at IW all the map designers left because the 16 on offer are truly awful. Pretty much all buildings are locked out and everything is basically flat, there are no areas to cover your six and it's completely geared toward the Rambo COD gamers that run around like blue arsed flies shooting and running constantly.

    It is a severe disappointment,. I was expecting this game to not match the quality of the previous two games but even then I was still majorly let down.

    This is the worst COD MP I have ever played, and that includes COD2, COD4, W@W, MW2 & Black Ops.

    This is a completely truthful opinion from a big fan of the series, unfortunately it seems that it is now time to leave it for dead (or atleast go back to the awesome MW2).

    Seriously, the maps are truly awful. I am selling this game as soon as I have finished the campaign.
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments fromIt's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Save your money Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year.
    Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    It's mainly disappointing. There was so much hype for this game, but once you play it, it just feels like a really expensive map pack for Modern Warfare 2. It doesn't change virtually anything, the graphics are the same, the game play is the same, most weapons are the same. This is a series where you could previously see at least a little effort on the part of the developers, starting withIt's mainly disappointing. There was so much hype for this game, but once you play it, it just feels like a really expensive map pack for Modern Warfare 2. It doesn't change virtually anything, the graphics are the same, the game play is the same, most weapons are the same. This is a series where you could previously see at least a little effort on the part of the developers, starting with the wonderful CoD 4 that revolutionized the industry and moving onto Modern Warfare 2, which improved a lot of things in the multiplayer aspect and was a great title. This just feels insulting. Taking 60 bucks away for a few map and a SP campaign which could have been as well DLC. Infinity Ward really dropped the ball here, get this game used if you can, it's worth used, never new. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Welcome to the Madden of fps! Every year they release essentially the same game with a few tweaks and a bit more graphics and tell you that you gotta have it. And just like the Madden series, no matter how few new features there are people will still snap it up. Rent before you buy, make sure you actually want this game!
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    MW2 expansion pack is not worth full price. It's a decent game, there are still over powered weapons, there is still a bunch of annoying things to put up with online, the story is totally over the top, you character is defying death in every scene which becomes stale after the very first mission when you realize how many times you defied death in MW2. This is something you want to stayMW2 expansion pack is not worth full price. It's a decent game, there are still over powered weapons, there is still a bunch of annoying things to put up with online, the story is totally over the top, you character is defying death in every scene which becomes stale after the very first mission when you realize how many times you defied death in MW2. This is something you want to stay away from until the price goes down, or there is a sale. Not a bad game, at least not as bad as MW2, but not what I was expecting for a full priced game with over 2 years of development times. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Honestly I'm fairly disappointed. IW had a chance to make a truly great game but they completely let me down. Before you read further I was not a fan of MW2 either and honestly this feels cut and pasted with a few new features here or there. From the return of death streaks to the god awful map design this game just completely let me down. At the store the cashier put my copy in a MW2 caseHonestly I'm fairly disappointed. IW had a chance to make a truly great game but they completely let me down. Before you read further I was not a fan of MW2 either and honestly this feels cut and pasted with a few new features here or there. From the return of death streaks to the god awful map design this game just completely let me down. At the store the cashier put my copy in a MW2 case with a 3 scribbled over the 2 Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Bought this game, took it home, and played it. Then I realized the game I was playing was one that I already owned. I had owned several copies of this game. Why did I even go out and buy it? I thought it was new game, but I already have three of them.
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for theI didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for the series, and the only redeeming quality I can find is the extended re playability offered by the stand-alone Spec Ops missions and the aforementioned Horde Mode. I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this game to anyone, at least not at its full price. If you happen to find this at a bargain sale, then perhaps it would offer some buck for your money, especially if you are on a weaker system. Otherwise, just wait for the bundle that includes all 3 Modern Warfare games so you can experience the story from start to finish. This is a rehashed product, and I can't help but wonder what kind of work went into the development of such a game. As a side note, Elite is not currently available for PC. Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Sure, I buy the same laundry detergent to wash my clothes every time. It does what I expect it to do. That doesn't mean I should pay $60 for it, and it certainly doesn't mean I have fun doing the laundry.
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This isn't a sequel, it is basically a $60 DLC where your stats get reset, and random elements of the game are broken, because it was made by significantly less talented developers (Bobby Kotick gets to pay them less that way) Enjoy your McVideoGame
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do notMultiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Maybe if they changed the game for once it'd be worth it. Not giving my money for, from what I've played, is a 60$ DLC, with a promised $60 of DLCs on the way. What a scam these guys are pulling off though. Should give the makers a higher score just for that...naaahhhhh.
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after yearI was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after year without really aiming to do anything new. Such a shame to see this happen to a once great series. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hello Modern Warfare 2.5... Feeling like someone re-boxed an old mission pack addon for MW2 somewhat. Other than some slightly polished graphical updates, it's all same 'ol, same 'ol so far... disappointed with the whole game.
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    very dissapointed the same game again and again year after after year. basically a cod4 map pack. dont get this youl be dissapointed, 0/10. the user reviews are spot on the critics were paid to give good reviews
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I can't believe they try to pass off a game that is 90% the same as the previous games.. same engine, same gameplay. It is basically a patched up version of MW2 :(
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Im not entirely sure of my consumer rights on this one, but if I purchase a game (MW3) bring it home play it for around 27 minutes and instantly realize I've 1.) Made a huge mistake and 2.) Actually been fooled by Activision / Infinity Ward once again into giving them money can i return it? Because thats exactly what I'm going to do, How, how, how, how could you actually put this out onIm not entirely sure of my consumer rights on this one, but if I purchase a game (MW3) bring it home play it for around 27 minutes and instantly realize I've 1.) Made a huge mistake and 2.) Actually been fooled by Activision / Infinity Ward once again into giving them money can i return it? Because thats exactly what I'm going to do, How, how, how, how could you actually put this out on the market and charge â Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Don't waste money, effort, electricity, and your homemade mom's sandwich.. because nothing change same graphics like a cartoon style and i put 1 score only because of the story.. nothing special.. multiplayer sucks as always.. after playing campaign mode.. back to bf3 :P
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... SaveThe much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... Save your money or buy BF3. Expand
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set of mechanics. Shame? Yes. Could they have done more? Yes x2. Is it still going to keep you hooked for months? Yes x3.
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Old **** and it sells again. wtf why people is buyin this **** only new things are those insane killstreak **** and the story is like some b hollywood movie that just sucks like someone believes that one guy can go and kill 5 million peoples himself. wtf. i never buy cod again.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    From a Battlefield 3 Fan Perspective this game is very good, it's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too., COD Elite is just as good as Battlelog everything is good (MP is a dead heat) and Campaign is a bitFrom a Battlefield 3 Fan Perspective this game is very good, it's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too., COD Elite is just as good as Battlelog everything is good (MP is a dead heat) and Campaign is a bit cliche but slightly better than BF3s I will see you guys on the BATTLEFIELD and the MODERN WARFARE, Peace out Fans and trolls :P Expand
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Played this, this morning and its just a desaturated mess of a game, the whole thing needs to be updated to make it good, the textures are low, the shadows are to dark, the lighting is terrible, the only colour seems to be shades of gray and the sounds are just annoying, bad show IW, Sledgehammer and Activition, bad show
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is honestly just MW2.1 this is awful. I can't believe I stayed up and went to a midnight launch for this. Complete waste of money, i'm taking this back to the store after work today to trade it in (or return it if they let me) and get battlefield 3. God IW is so lazy this is more or less THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 with a couple minor tweaks. Waste of damn money.
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Yet another first person shooter in a market flooded with this overused brand. This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash.
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Just like everyone was saying. It is a MW2 remake.... IW needs to move on to another game franchise. Eventually COD will dissapear like rockband and tony hawk... Good job Activision, you just killed another one of your franchises.
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pathetic, same game, nothing new, nothing has changed. They even made something impossible to do. After 4 years they managed to make the COD serie WORST, they managed to sell so much games without bringing real new gameplay improvements. They single player, pathetic storyline. The gaming industry is dead, thank you Activision, FPS will never be what it used to be.
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Same old repeat. Feel like I bought MW2.1. Thank god I can get a full refund. I was such a Die Hard COD fan too! Epic fail guys. Never again. Spend less money on marketing hype and more on game development!
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    This game was hyped everywhere. My friends were absolutely hyped for this piece of fecal matter. I was absolutely baffled when I put my copy in my machine. This is THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 or Black ops. What I found was new maps, new campaign and some simple tweaks. This is absolutely ridiculous. And "professional" reviewers are giving this game glowing scores. I admit I had some funThis game was hyped everywhere. My friends were absolutely hyped for this piece of fecal matter. I was absolutely baffled when I put my copy in my machine. This is THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 or Black ops. What I found was new maps, new campaign and some simple tweaks. This is absolutely ridiculous. And "professional" reviewers are giving this game glowing scores. I admit I had some fun with this game for the first couple of hours but it all watered down really quickly because I had this feeling "I've played this game before". I sincerely hope that the next addition to the COD franchise will flop. In wait for a dozen of 15$ map packs, I end this review. Expand
  32. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Wow, what a complete rehash. I thought it was going to be similar but wow. It's less than an expansion or even DLC. This is basically a slightly changed mod! I am literally bored already.... No more chances for this tired series; this is just plain POOR.
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have been an avid supporter of the call of duty franchise for many years, playing each game for hundreds of hours. The latest release, Modern Warfare 3 is however extremely disappointing. There is almost no difference when compared to COD 4, which is disgusting considering that this is a stand alone game, and not just an expansion or map pack. The elite service is also rubbish, chargingI have been an avid supporter of the call of duty franchise for many years, playing each game for hundreds of hours. The latest release, Modern Warfare 3 is however extremely disappointing. There is almost no difference when compared to COD 4, which is disgusting considering that this is a stand alone game, and not just an expansion or map pack. The elite service is also rubbish, charging for things most games offer for free. I think I'm going to change sides and give BF a try. Expand
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I believe this game deserves a 0 for this reason, it's not a new game. Nevermind the trailers that say otherwise, nevermind the hype given to the game by its marketing department 'The most anticipated game in HISTORY!' this is simply put, a £40 MW2 map pack. And unless people stop listening to the reviewers that have been paid off, and stop subscribing to the hype the gameI believe this game deserves a 0 for this reason, it's not a new game. Nevermind the trailers that say otherwise, nevermind the hype given to the game by its marketing department 'The most anticipated game in HISTORY!' this is simply put, a £40 MW2 map pack. And unless people stop listening to the reviewers that have been paid off, and stop subscribing to the hype the game gives itself, Activision will continue to churn out rehash after rehash, each time offering you LESS for your money. This year it was 'HEY GUYS LOOK ITS BUNGIE.NET BUT YOU PAY FOR IT!' and to my disbelief that actually worked. I've got to give it to you Activision, your marketing department are sublime. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    $60 dlc. same garbage in a different box for a different year. they'll just keep stripping away more of your game each year and reselling it knowing you all will pay for anything.
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It sickens me when "pro" reviewers give this game high scores, eventhough its nothing more than a patch. Same graphics engine, same weapons, same animations, just more missions, arenas,killstreaks. How long can this cash cow formula keep working for Activision. They want us to keep paying premium prices for the same $hit every year, BLOPS, MW2,MW1, its all the same, just different maps.It sickens me when "pro" reviewers give this game high scores, eventhough its nothing more than a patch. Same graphics engine, same weapons, same animations, just more missions, arenas,killstreaks. How long can this cash cow formula keep working for Activision. They want us to keep paying premium prices for the same $hit every year, BLOPS, MW2,MW1, its all the same, just different maps. After 2 years of development this is what they came up with? are they even investing any money on this franchisee anymore? And "reviewers" give it high scores, yet thrash games like U3, Killzone 3, R3 for not been "innovative" or "bringing anything new" oh how I hate video game journalism, if we can even call it journalism Expand
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Enjoy your $60 map pack. I was skeptical of this purchase in the first place because of the previous products in this franchise but I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and give it a shot. Absolutely worst purchase I have ever made.
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Awful game.

    All they have done is reskinned blackops and added a few gimmicks. Blackops was a reskin of mw2. They publish half arsed games every year just to capitalise on sales. Only sheep would buy such a game. Awful campaign, again. All they have done is port the game over to the pc from console. No console, lean, configs, etc.
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game feels like an add-on to MW2. It has the same engine, recycled buildings and character models. It is practically MW2 with a few extra guns, perks and new maps. It is a shame on how Activision sells the same game twice at $60.
  40. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    well lets just say ive played this game before -_- this game is not worth buying and just get the cheaper version witch is call of duty 4 modern warfare terrible story same multiplay spec ops mode gets boring after one match do not recommend
  41. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Disaster. An absolute disaster. I bough it for the single player experience, which was excellent in Modern Warfare and MW2, but this one felt like some kind of Michael Bay wet dream. Don't waste your hard earned cash folks. Just get Skyrim instead.
  42. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    This is MW 1 & 2 all over again!!! :-o
    My nephews got it and I played it RIGHT after MW2, it was THE SAME EXPERIENCE!!!
    What is this!? Why do people praise these games??? :-O
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Who is paying these "critics", this game is full of cow turd.

    -repetitive
    -3 year old engine based on an even older engine
    -sounds are terrible
    -not even fun anymore since COD 1-3 maybe even 4
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Tired rehash of the same old thing... The marketing department grossly over-hyped this game, their detachment from reality and their willingness to sell out is disgusting. They clearly didn't play the same game I did. Don't believe the hype, it's a sequel.
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This FPS has just released? In 2011? Let me laugh !! There is no evolution since CoDMW... Just a new campaign, heavier textures and new weapons, not a new game. More than $15 for this, it's just a joke ! There is no game development and no expensive work to release this game.
  46. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    There is no point to sugarcoat this, this game is modern warfare 2 with a few new maps, and even saying that is too much. I keep being fooled into buying these games when I could clearly spend my 60 dollars on something more worth it, like food and clothes. The hype for this game is out of control and the fanbase that praises this game like a religion continues to make it sound like we'reThere is no point to sugarcoat this, this game is modern warfare 2 with a few new maps, and even saying that is too much. I keep being fooled into buying these games when I could clearly spend my 60 dollars on something more worth it, like food and clothes. The hype for this game is out of control and the fanbase that praises this game like a religion continues to make it sound like we're paying for new technology.

    With that said, call me when this recycled series hits the next generation consoles (PS4/XBOX720), maybe they'll have something new by than.
    Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a newAfter playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a new package and call it Modern Warfare 3. Contrary to all the "VIDEO GAME JOURNALISTS" that give this game a 80% or higher this game is nothing new and they should have just called it Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 2011 edition, you are basically paying $60 on a expansion pack, A very poorly made expansion pack. Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I will never forgive you for scamming me. Goodbye, asswipes. May I never be reminded of this horrible serie again. Be gone from my PC. You have wasted all hopes, all dreams. And my bandwidth.
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Can't even tell the difference between this and original modern warfare. There's a reason they come out with so many games and so many map packs...its because they want one thing, and it looks like an "S" with a vertical line through it.
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    so in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kidsso in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kids ruin this game Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    So before I start I want to say that I have played every COD that has been realeased already.
    Modern Warfare 3 is fast-paced FPS and really good game. I cant stand those BF3 FANBOYS giving game 0 or 1 LMAO dont observe on them. I have both bf3 and mw3 and there equally good even tough mw3 has little advantage for me. What also makes me laugh are again people saying that this is like DLC
    So before I start I want to say that I have played every COD that has been realeased already.
    Modern Warfare 3 is fast-paced FPS and really good game. I cant stand those BF3 FANBOYS giving game 0 or 1 LMAO dont observe on them. I have both bf3 and mw3 and there equally good even tough mw3 has little advantage for me. What also makes me laugh are again people saying that this is like DLC for mw2 which is not .
    SP is spectacular and breathtaking even tough its kinda short MP is good and balanced unlike black ops.
    Spec ops and survival mode are new things(survival mode is) and there really funny and enjoyable.
    All in all mw3 deserves IMO 9 because of short campaign and everything else is great.
    Must buy for mw fans and for others who wants to have fun and be competative at the same time
    9/10.
    Expand
  52. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Im new to gaming and have really caught the bug after playing on a friends PS3 this year , got MW3 last night (prebooked today of work !) Having spent over 7 hours on the game i have to say im really disappointed . I'd read and heard so much about the series that i thought it would be awesome but the graphics seem very poor and the multiplayer maps seem so small . I'd beenIm new to gaming and have really caught the bug after playing on a friends PS3 this year , got MW3 last night (prebooked today of work !) Having spent over 7 hours on the game i have to say im really disappointed . I'd read and heard so much about the series that i thought it would be awesome but the graphics seem very poor and the multiplayer maps seem so small . I'd been playing a game called Bad Company 2 for the last few months at my friends house and i thought this would be at least as good but sadly its not even half as good as that , there's no teamwork , no destruction , no vehicles , poorer graphics and a huge downgrade in sound quality . On the plus side it kind of runs quick and turning feels like im on ice but ive decided to strike while the iron is hot and sell this game as quick as possible to recoup my money and i'll go and get this new Battlefield 3 game that everyone seems to be raving about . If its as good as Bad Company then its already better than this MW3 . Sadly i think i got caught up in the hype but i'll not get my fingers burnt again and will stick with the Battlefield series from now on . Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Rebaged COD4 Ill pass sorry. This game would have been great 10 years ago but with nothing new added to the same I see no reason to buy this game. If other people would skip on it we could send a message to activion they need to work to earn our money. There will always be blind masses, a series that brought so many to gaming needs to show most games dont just copy paste and add a newRebaged COD4 Ill pass sorry. This game would have been great 10 years ago but with nothing new added to the same I see no reason to buy this game. If other people would skip on it we could send a message to activion they need to work to earn our money. There will always be blind masses, a series that brought so many to gaming needs to show most games dont just copy paste and add a new number to make a new game in a series, sorry but I dont buy it. Pick up Battlefield 3 or hey almost any other shooter and save yourself $60 or if you have to have it just buy COD4 Expand
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Biggest map pack yet! It even comes with a few sneaky bonuses which you'll have to find.
    5 new guns, new killstreaks and other pointless crap! Just another Infinity ward serving of poo.
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Very poor game in my opinion. Looked from the start actually that it was going to be this way. Come on Activision stop being lazy by giving us the same old crap -.- . This is what unfortunately happens when a very good game gets a new release every bloody year.
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Outdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with contentOutdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with content BESIDES map packs, which are overpriced as well. Collapse
  57. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY. Waste of money - bought it and stupid me chucked the reciept. Stuck with this piece of ****. It feels like a mw2 expansion - but it feeels like it has made it worse. I hate when developers do this - rehash old games. The only new thing is the menu. SERIOUSLY DO NOT BUY
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I am insulted that this can pass as a full finished game. This is NOT AAA material.
  59. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game came out two years ago, It's called Modern Warfare 2. I pity the fool who buys Modern Warfare 3. You'd have more fun spending your $60 on a toothless hooker.
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I'm quite frankly disgusted with the critic reviews for this game. It's the same select critic every year who reviews the franchise. If Kevin Van ord from gamespot reviewed this instead, it would have got a much more realistic score. Many, many other FPSs try to innovate and serve up something different, only to get slammed by reviewers simply because its not call of duty. Listening toI'm quite frankly disgusted with the critic reviews for this game. It's the same select critic every year who reviews the franchise. If Kevin Van ord from gamespot reviewed this instead, it would have got a much more realistic score. Many, many other FPSs try to innovate and serve up something different, only to get slammed by reviewers simply because its not call of duty. Listening to classmates talk about how good it will be sickens me to the heart. Quite simply, MW3 is the exact same as previous iterations, and critics have even acknowledged this fact. So why does it keep getting these uncharacteristically high reviews? If I'm coming across as a hater, then that's absolutely right, I hate the franchise. And I have good reason to, along with so many others. It's a bad game, and with so many people buying it every year and lining activision's pockets, its the cancer that will kill the videogaming industry. The user score just speaks volumes about the truth. Just remember, in 10 years time when gaming has become a subscription based, always online service that intrudes on every aspect and becomes extortionately expensive, you brought it on yourselves. You've all been warned. I think I'll enjoy Skyrim. Expand
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Now im going to be completely honest here, having gotten the game 3 days early I can tell you one thing. It's simply more of the same. That's not to say the original CoD 4 was bad though, it's just completely over used and now getting to the point where it is ridiculous.
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well I thought I'd buy the game in hopes it wasn't going to be another over-priced expansion pack...looks like I was wrong, but at least they threw in the bugs for free. I just wish major review sites had the balls to call this series out for things they'll rip others apart for because I'm returning the game tomorrow and I hope the rest of you do to.
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on theAfter paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on the internet like Destructoid's own Jimmyx Sterling getting paid big bucks to give it high review scores. Expand
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    There's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the gameThere's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the game it seems they have been aiming more towards the casual audience with more perks for ease of play that will drive some hardcore players over the edge and seeking other FPS games. Expand
  65. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    How could this happened ?! How can you sell it 70 â
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Iit is sad how we let Activision get away with this every year. This is why they will never change because all these sheep that keep handing them their wallets. Go play Batman Arkham City or The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword. when it comes out.
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Well I see the BF trolls reviews are in, now listen to a rational review. If you enjoy the other Modern Warfare games, you'll like this one. Sure, not a whole lot different going on, but the campaign is amazing and the game is still fun. Screw the haters, if you like COD this game is for you.
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Just as I suspected. An overhyped, copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. Very disappointing, I'd like to give a higher score but I'm so angry, how could they re-release a game and expect people to pay £39.99? Same graphics, same gameplay, same multiplayer, same everything else.
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    I am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game aI am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game a "3". It did offer some entertainment but absolutely nothing different then MW3. And as I was getting ready to log off last night someone said "your mom is a **** And that's when i remembered that this game is for children.. Expand
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    SAME GAME. They just want your money. Why pay for a 60 dollar game that has 90% of the same stuff as the games before? They do this all for money. You have to pay 50 dollars for a lil stupid COD social network? Please. They are just fooling all the rich people into paying 60 dollars for this sht. Should have just made a huge expansion pack for like 10-30 bucks. End of story, like what theySAME GAME. They just want your money. Why pay for a 60 dollar game that has 90% of the same stuff as the games before? They do this all for money. You have to pay 50 dollars for a lil stupid COD social network? Please. They are just fooling all the rich people into paying 60 dollars for this sht. Should have just made a huge expansion pack for like 10-30 bucks. End of story, like what they did with borderlands. Pathetic and sad Expand
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow, this game is the same thing, over and over again. MP offers zero competition. 10 year old kids might enjoy this game, but other than that? Steer clear.
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is absolutely horrible. Hardcore mode is screwed, one hit and someone is dead just like black ops. They basically just made black ops "modern warfare" and slapped the 3 on it to sell.
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    "This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash" "Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare"
  74. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Single player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I everSingle player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I ever pre-order. Expand
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 8, but since a lot of Battlefield 3 retards here have been rating this game like the very reason of their existence in the world is to rate B3 as 10 and MW3 as 0 (unsurprisingly all those have rated this as 0 and 1 really have no other contribution on this site), I thought.. what the hell? Let me boost it to 10. Anyhoo... this game is intense. Very intense. You have toThis game deserves a 8, but since a lot of Battlefield 3 retards here have been rating this game like the very reason of their existence in the world is to rate B3 as 10 and MW3 as 0 (unsurprisingly all those have rated this as 0 and 1 really have no other contribution on this site), I thought.. what the hell? Let me boost it to 10. Anyhoo... this game is intense. Very intense. You have to be on your toes.. always. The campaign although short, plays out like a breeze with the trademark over the top action this franchise is so famous for. Havent fiddled around with Multiplayer that much, but from what I have played so far, looks delicious. Expand
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I think the main point here would be "why change a winning formula?". There is no reason to and instead COD does enough minor tweaks to make the overall experience much more enjoyable and a more complete game than any other installment in the series. Their is clearly a reason that COD is the highest selling gaming franchise in history...because they have perfected what the first personI think the main point here would be "why change a winning formula?". There is no reason to and instead COD does enough minor tweaks to make the overall experience much more enjoyable and a more complete game than any other installment in the series. Their is clearly a reason that COD is the highest selling gaming franchise in history...because they have perfected what the first person shooter should be. It is hard to believe that this game has gotten so many negative reviews from "fans". If anything, it shows how this BF3 v MW3 has affected peoples judgement. To give a game a 0 or a 1 score means that it is utterly unplayable, so their no excuse for giving this game those scorelines unless A) you have not played it and do not intend to because you are so hung up on BF3 or B) you wish to drive the score down intentionally. Both are inexcusable. It is clear that MW3 is a fantastic piece of software! Universal accliam from critics should tell yo usomething. Agreed, the series could use some freshening up, but to say that it is entirely stale is a gross misstatement. The graphics are fantastic as always, the action is explosive and over the top and will keep you on your seat, and the multiplayer is a real treat. The new survival mode is absolutely brilliant and will be a good alternative to the "zombies mode" of black Ops. Well done Infinity Ward, you made another brilliant one!!! Expand
  77. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    It's not so much the game but the community that breaks this game. As someone who enjoys heavily team based games like Battlefield etc MW3 offers very little. It seems that the game promotes kill whoring a little too much which leads to players more obsessed with their k/dr than actually winning.
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    poor nothing has changed... well done activition for rehashing a game on a year by year basis...

    shame COD will go down the route of Guitar hero due to Activitions money visions :-/

    on a plus note you can finish the trilogy story of Soap and his crew
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Critics say one thing. People who paid 60$ for the game say otherwise... Trust me. This is not worth your time. Skyrim and Assassins creed are coming out soon so get those
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I would tell anyone on the fence about buying this game to ignore the bad reviews. Its a good game, they delivered exactly what they wanted, a new game with the same feel as what made modern warfare popular. When nhl 09 or 10 or 11 or 12 or comes out do they change everything?? no they just improve things slightly, the same could be said for games like halo, every big game is gonna haveI would tell anyone on the fence about buying this game to ignore the bad reviews. Its a good game, they delivered exactly what they wanted, a new game with the same feel as what made modern warfare popular. When nhl 09 or 10 or 11 or 12 or comes out do they change everything?? no they just improve things slightly, the same could be said for games like halo, every big game is gonna have its share of haters and those people are dumb if they dont know what to expect when buying a call of duty fps. I tried to like battle field but didnt like the controls and thats why i like mw3 more, the controls dont feel clunky to me and thats one of the reasons i enjoy playing it online. Bottom line is the game is good and with so many titles not living up to its hype , its nice to see one that does Expand
  81. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Great game, first experiences showed that it really was worth of waiting :) Multiplaying has stepped to the next level, playing was smoorh with out lag and rubber band effect.
  82. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Game reviewers are getting paid to give this resale of last years game positive reviews. Its 5 hours long and some multiplayer maps. Really dont waste your time or cave into your kids request for the game.. there are so many more other games out there that arent rehashed
  83. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Oh man, this is worse than most of the Call of Duty games.... I mean really, everyone was just going on and on and on about it, and when it finally gets here, it was just flat out awful! It ended up being such a disappointing game. Hopefully, the next game (if there is one...) won't be as bad. Just get Uncharted or Sonic Generations.
  84. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor'sThis game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor's Battlefield 3. There are many great games coming out in the following months, don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  85. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well, what shall i say? Its a $55 mappack. I had high expectations, and yes i'm disappointed! I mainly blame Infinity Ward and hope that Activision will never work with them again.
  86. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Overall in my opinion, the single player and the special ops add depth and value to the package. The multi-player experience is where this package stands out, it will leave you addicted for months especially with call of duty elite and the vast amount of information it offers. The new modes also make it a worthwhile game.
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Gotta love people coming on here saying MW3 is simply the same ol game ( everybody hates what is on top ).. Call of duty is the best because all they have to do is refine the multiplayer just abit every year to keep it on top of the competition.

    Simply put the single player is the best story you will get with a fps, while it may not be quite on par with games like TES series it is still
    Gotta love people coming on here saying MW3 is simply the same ol game ( everybody hates what is on top ).. Call of duty is the best because all they have to do is refine the multiplayer just abit every year to keep it on top of the competition.

    Simply put the single player is the best story you will get with a fps, while it may not be quite on par with games like TES series it is still an awesome experience.

    The multiplayer is more fun then ever before! the gameplay is by far the smoothest around, Battlefield 3 is a great game but Call of duty just takes the cake once again.
    Expand
  88. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Call Of Duty may be one of the easiest games to make but it is very ADDICTING when it come's to multiplayer you can't argue there. If you were new to COD and just started playing it you can't say the game is crap because nearly everyone I know love's playing COD like I do
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Other ppl dont know what they are talkin about..good graphic good campaign....what i expected from modern warfare...goood ass game... wayyyyyy better than bf3..in graphic and gameplay wise.... this is def. worth the 60 bucks.
  90. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is the complete package. It has a solid, single-player campaign, a rich multiplayer mode that has new modes and will be played by millions of gamers for years to come; a awesome Spec-Ops mode that includes an all-new Survival gameplay mode similar to Horde; and is the first Call of Duty title to launch with the new Elite service, something that will become aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is the complete package. It has a solid, single-player campaign, a rich multiplayer mode that has new modes and will be played by millions of gamers for years to come; a awesome Spec-Ops mode that includes an all-new Survival gameplay mode similar to Horde; and is the first Call of Duty title to launch with the new Elite service, something that will become a standard in the CoD franchise for years to come. The online game is the deepest and richest CoD multiplayer experience to date and the Spec Ops co-operative mode is worth the price of admission alone. MW3 has excellent sound design, is very polished, and its gameplay exceeds expectations. MW3 is going to be played for a long, long time to come, and deservedly so. Expand
  91. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Good....Good...Let the butthurt flow through you. Seriously fan girls, whats wrong with you? Its not battlefield so it sucks. Same can be said the other way around.
  92. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I dont understand the critics from the major companies....clearly Actavision wrote them a big fat cheque so that they would give it some sort of positive score. This game lacks everything its a COPY PASTA of MW2 what a joke and their charging us full retail price. This game sucks KEEP your money and instead play MW2........ Im going for a refund as we speak.
  93. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    MW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's onlyMW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's only future is in zombies. Check my new account for games, I am only doing movies on here. Expand
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. All of you haters (battlefield 3 fanboys) need to get a life and leave the mw3 reviews for people who can actually afford the game. It's sad how bad your life is you just have to hate on cod mw3.
  95. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    No, sorry. This is a rip-off activision. MW 2.5 not more. Customers are stupid, but not that stupid! To destroy a so successful franchise the way you are doing itdoes not proof to be extremely smart....
  96. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    it's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too., COD Elite is just as good as Battlelog everything is good (MP is a dead heat) and Campaign is Amazing. The only reason this game has such a low score is because ofit's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too., COD Elite is just as good as Battlelog everything is good (MP is a dead heat) and Campaign is Amazing. The only reason this game has such a low score is because of all those Battlefield wa*kers. Expand
  97. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    No real changes, again... multiplay is only decent because of the players, the same level of enjoyment can be had with the other games, nothing new, no point in buying.
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    When I started playing FIRST PERSON SHOOTERS, I began with HALO. When COD MW:1 came out, I was hooked with the series until Black Ops. Then I was introduced to Battlefield BadCompany 2, which is when I said screw COD. I could not wait for Battlefield 3...but then a few weeks before it came out, I began remembering my days with COD...the glory days. I almost got excited for MW3. I did allWhen I started playing FIRST PERSON SHOOTERS, I began with HALO. When COD MW:1 came out, I was hooked with the series until Black Ops. Then I was introduced to Battlefield BadCompany 2, which is when I said screw COD. I could not wait for Battlefield 3...but then a few weeks before it came out, I began remembering my days with COD...the glory days. I almost got excited for MW3. I did all the research that was available on the internet about MW3 during this past October........it was clear to me that BATTLEFIELD 3 was definitely the better game and most thrilling. I'm a veteran of both franchises, and I am telling you seriously...if you give BF a try and play the way it's supposed to be played instead of running and gunning, you will be amazed...I promise you! Expand
  99. Jan 17, 2012
    5
    The current generation of gamers mainly consist of people who dislike innovation and are looking for the same thing over and over again. It is companies like Activision we can blame for the recent decline in the Japanese games industry we have unfortunately witnessed. CoD brought the sequelitis disease into gaming, which basically means a franchise bringing new installments annually withThe current generation of gamers mainly consist of people who dislike innovation and are looking for the same thing over and over again. It is companies like Activision we can blame for the recent decline in the Japanese games industry we have unfortunately witnessed. CoD brought the sequelitis disease into gaming, which basically means a franchise bringing new installments annually with no significant changes. Modern Warfare 3 is the third time the same game has been released, only with a few online changes that would prove little challenge to have released as DLC or a patch for the first game, and an even more absurd, generic plot ripped from a low budget action flick filled with painful cliches. It saddens me to see CoD do so well in an industry where a lot of hidden gems do not recieve such recognition, while they are ones who truly deserve it. If you are a mindless child whose pea sized brain can handle nothing more than easy to follow shooters with about 6 hours of true gameplay, then you may enjoy this mediocre game. If you are even remotely intelligent, then save your money. Expand
  100. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Sure it is more of the same. Sure Not that much has changed. But as I massive fan of mw2 it doesn't mean the game should be deemed a ZERO? If you want a radically different shooter then look to a different franchise ....there are plenty around. Anyway now to my review ( multiplayer only ) . The game feel is pretty good as is the presentation. The weapons somehow dont feel as visceral asSure it is more of the same. Sure Not that much has changed. But as I massive fan of mw2 it doesn't mean the game should be deemed a ZERO? If you want a radically different shooter then look to a different franchise ....there are plenty around. Anyway now to my review ( multiplayer only ) . The game feel is pretty good as is the presentation. The weapons somehow dont feel as visceral as before and the sound isn't as apparent. Maybe this was to tone down sound whoring. Only time will tell. The different packages are good for different players and indeed different game modes. In game modes where death is quick and easy like FFA then support is great as you get to call in UAVS and such with regularity. It is a pain to see UAVS , Choppers and sentry guns flying in far too much but the game has several counter measures. Namely Counter UAV ( duh) or assassin. SAM turrets for those perky choppers as well as EMP grenades for the sentries. This goes along with the obvious counter measures employed in mw2. The game modes currently are far more extensive and feature my all time fave 'mosh pit'. 99% of the players still play TDM for some reason meaning I couldnt find a game in lonely old Taiwan. The weapons feel similar to mw2 and indeed drop people as quick as they would in mw2 (minus SP ) . The UMP so far seems even steadier than mw2 and the m4 is a solid weapon ( resembling the scar in mw2) . I havent yet unlocked all the extras like bouncing betties and claymore but suffice to say Im satisfied with the weaponry. The perks are solid enough and do what they should do . They offer a little help. It doesn't feel like they dominate the game. The levels so far feel a little clustered. There is a lot of tight alleys and some annoying abstacles. One level has a hole in the middle of it and people just kept getting stuck at weird angles. Id like to say there are better levels if you play larger game modes like Ground war or such. Anyway I'd give it an 8.5 if I could as I love it as a new version on mw2 . I can however see why people would be disappointed in its stationary stance on developing the franchise. Overall : Great but not genre shattering! Expand
  101. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Outdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with contentOutdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with content BESIDES map packs, which are overpriced as well. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    85
    By sticking to the series' strengths, Modern Warfare 3 delivers some of the best competitive, cooperate, and single-player shooting in the business.
  3. As a complete package, Modern Warfare 3 takes the cake. [Jan 2012, p.67]