Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. While we were occasionally frustrated by trial-and-error tedium and forced micromanagement of multiple items, these annoyances were easily overshadowed by Closure's highly unique mechanics and presentation. [July 2012, p.78]
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    87
    One of those games that just has to be experienced. Even if it's not your cup of tea, you'll probably be thankful that you tried it.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    85
    Stylish and engaging, Closure's thoughtful and pensive approach to the puzzle genre should be applauded. It controls smoothly and looks and sounds great as it both punishes and rewards.
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    81
    Closure's grip of levels aren't so devious that you won't exhaust them in a few play sessions, but there are more than enough secrets for those willing to repeatedly wade into the shadows. Puzzle aficionados who like their "eureka" moments mixed with a splash of action will devour this shadowy gem.
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    Closure is a great puzzle with unique mechanics.
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Closure may stop short of delivering the sort of swashbuckling adventure one might hope for from a journey through this shadowy netherworld, but it remains thoroughly enjoyable puzzle game that twists your brain in all sorts of maddening directions while keeping the answers just out of reach.
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    2D platform- and puzzle games and art go hand in hand. Thus is the case with Closure. It offers an amazing artistic experience and knows how to stand out in a crowd with a unique concept and entrapping atmosphere. Like a reader of poetry, you make your way through Closure: you don't always know what you're doing, but the experience is always amazing.
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    80
    By creating intriguing rules and pushing its ideas to impossible places, Closure cements itself as a great puzzler.
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    The PS3 game is a neatly-constructed package that wonderfully showcases a smart and challenging puzzle game. It's a great way to dive in and invest your time in a unique and soundly designed experience.
  10. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Closure offers up a unique puzzle experience set in a wonderfully moody environment caught somewhere between the designs of Dan Paladin and Edward Gorey.
  11. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Closure's faults can't prevent it from, at times, reaching some of the greatest heights in the puzzle-platforming genre. Once you get to the final ten stages, you are in pure puzzle-platforming bliss. Or hell. I suppose, bliss, then hell, then bliss again.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, is really interesting watching that some studios create little games with a big potencial, and do an amazing game. Closure is anAmazing game, is really interesting watching that some studios create little games with a big potencial, and do an amazing game. Closure is an amazing example, the gameplay is really amazing, the control interesting, I believe that this is the answer to lack of Fez on PlayStation 3. Amazing game. Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    There are a lot of indie puzzle platformers these days but this one is awesomely good. It keeps the pretension to a minimum unlike games likeThere are a lot of indie puzzle platformers these days but this one is awesomely good. It keeps the pretension to a minimum unlike games like Braid which have you read unbearable text that sound like it was written by a serial killer. Really unique mechanics that surprising last for a long time. If you keep experimenting, you will eventually figure it out and I only had to look at a solution once and I felt dumb after I saw the solution. I liked the art style and it seemed almost Edward Gorey (look it up kids) like. Great game! Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Wow, what a cool game. I downloaded the demo and it blew my mind. So, I purchased it off of PSN. The manipulation of light as a means toWow, what a cool game. I downloaded the demo and it blew my mind. So, I purchased it off of PSN. The manipulation of light as a means to manipulate reality is such an innovative idea. The game is a lot of fun too. It really makes you think. One potential turn-off is the fact the game is set up as level-based challenges, much like downloadable games for phones. That being said, I don't really think the game is priced fairly because of how short it is. Journey would be a better use of $15 than this. However, this game is gorgeous and also great. If you play the demo and are intrigued, I'd say, "get it." You'll like it. Full Review »