Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Counter-Strike: Global Offensive neither deviates from or significantly alters the principles the series is built upon, making it a fan-pleasing edition to the fold.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Outside of a couple of glitched spawns that left me stuck in mid-air, I didn't run into many issues when it came to lag or connection errors. As a downloadable title, Global Offensive offers a tried-and-true experience at a reasonable price, even if its gameplay isn't for everyone. If you prefer working with others and attacking the opposing team with well thought-out tactics instead of brute force, you should find plenty to like in this updated release.
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    85
    On the PlayStation 3, playing with a controller is very difficult because CS:GO lacks the hand-holding auto-aim that console FPS players are generally used to.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Move is accurate, and your quick reflexes will score kills, but the unavoidable instability of holding a remote will give your cursor some seriously unpleasant wobble. Worse, moving the wand quickly can confuse the controller, which often and irritatingly misinterprets basic left/right looks as a want to turn around 180 degrees.
  5. Play UK
    Oct 2, 2012
    89
    Stunning value for money. [Issue#223, p.85]
  6. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 23, 2012
    70
    Fortunately, the design is still fun, even if it doesn't quite hold up against modern FPS fare. [Dec 2012, p.86]
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Global Offensive is pure Counter-Strike. Hidden Path have made an inoffensive compromise between the best parts of the old versions. Whether it'll be the definitive thing is yet to be seen. However, it's an all-around decent FPS and is likely the most necessary one on PSN.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Too busy playing it to write a proper review. Sorry. I mean, I just pulled away long enough for a round to start, and got killed trying toToo busy playing it to write a proper review. Sorry. I mean, I just pulled away long enough for a round to start, and got killed trying to think of what to write. Worth $15, easy. Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    The game is awesome on the pc, just a repaint, but still nice to play.
    On the console how ever, it S**KS, it really did, its not working for
    The game is awesome on the pc, just a repaint, but still nice to play.
    On the console how ever, it S**KS, it really did, its not working for most people, there are much glitches, and allot of very laggie servers or p2p, its not meant for console ,thats all i want to say about it

    i give it a 6 out of 10, for the awefull console version.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    0
    Just got done playing the console version of GO, and all I can say is that is TERRIBLE! Why did you have to ruin such a great game by puttingJust got done playing the console version of GO, and all I can say is that is TERRIBLE! Why did you have to ruin such a great game by putting it on consoles? No one helps out, everyone who actually tries to play the game gets called a **** or a hacker, and the worst of all, The graphics suck ass and you can only have 5v5 matches! WTF!!!! Do yourself a favor and ONLY get the PC version, the only platform CS is, and only has been good on. Do not waste your $15 on the craptacular 360/PS3 version. You will regret it. Full Review »