Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
Buy On
  1. Play UK
    Apr 21, 2011
    72
    Gets a hell of a lot of things right and is fun - especially if you're willing to experiment with your approach. But some poor design choices and a bizarre level of bugginess let the whole ting down. [Issue#204, p.78]
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Apr 15, 2011
    70
    It's a motif that permeates Crysis 2: everything functions agreeably but nothing engages exceptionally. [May 2011, p.76]
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Apr 6, 2011
    60
    Crysis 2 does little to create new material in the genre, though it cobbles together disparate gameplay elements that do create a level of interest that another modern Middle East liberation sim can't.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 420 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 420
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Problems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayerProblems with framerate dips and tech issues with Crysis 2 on PS3 have been greatly over exaggerated in previews of Crysis 2. The multiplayer runs at speeds comparable to Black Ops and Killzone 3. Though it provides a similar "level up" and "perks" system to these two games, the amount of balance that EA put into the new and unique nanosuit powers makes this one of the most addictive and fun multiplayer experiences on the system. The single player seems to be a near flawless experience, with some of the smartest AI that I have played against in a long time. EA has found a successful way to balance scripted "call of duty" style set pieces with sandbox style decision making, allowing you to attack a scenerio with your own play style (stealth, run and gun, heavy armor, etc...). Graphics don't top killzone 3, but the lighting effects are probably the best on the system. This game is a MUST BUY for any fans of the first-person shooter genre. If you've finished the killzone 3 single player, and you are fed up with the wonky hit detection of Black Ops, Crysis 2 is just what the doctor ordered! Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. LastI think this is the best FPS that I have played. If you read a majority of these bad score, you see people comparing it to the first one. Last time I checked the first was a Pc game not a PS3 game. The game play is smooth I haven't experienced any lag or connection interruptions. This game has been perfect on it's release day, it took the devs at Treyarch 2 months to get camp of duty lag ops to this level in terms of errors. The graphics are great, not quite Uncharted, but close to Killzone. It doesn't have that weighty feel that killzone or BFBC2 has. There are many game types, if you don't like the whole cloaking thing there is a gametype that doesn't allow it. Best FPS HANDS down. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I bought Crysis 2 on PS3 and PC. My expectation for the PS3 was low and considering what Crytek showed on PS3 i was not sure to buy it or not.I bought Crysis 2 on PS3 and PC. My expectation for the PS3 was low and considering what Crytek showed on PS3 i was not sure to buy it or not. After having played the PS3 version, I am massively impressed about Crysis 2. It is so far the best looking game on PS3, plays phantastic and offers unbelieveable experience. I very much recommend to buy it. Full Review »