Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Despite the flaws, Crysis 3 is a triumph that shows a willingness by Crytek to push itself to new heights, achieving a beautiful three-way union of graphical fidelity, compelling storytelling and a honed gameplay experience.[April 2013, p68]
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    88
    It’s the Crysis you know, but with a few new strings to its bow. Not just a high water mark for graphics anymore.
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    85
    All-in-all Crysis 3 is a great package, despite burning bright half as long. It may have not been exactly what all the fans wanted, but it does a great job of trying to appease as many as it can without sacrificing too much. Add to this a decent, if not groundbreaking multiplayer suite and you have a solid FPS that is more than worth a look.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    85
    An excellent modern playground. Not only is it a beauty to behold, it is also a pleasure to play. The capabilities of the nano suit can be used to its fullest in the giant playgrounds of the game. A game of hide and seek or tag has never been this sadistic. No other game offers the superhuman fun Crysis 3 offers.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    Though it’s still saddled with the plot baggage of its predecessors, Crysis 3 is at least the most cohesive story in the series.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    The console versions are still able to hold their own. We expected the six and seven year old circuitry in our PS3 and Xbox 360 to boil into a puddle of silicon soup as soon as we slipped the disc in the tray, but as it turns out Crysis 3 runs well and looks fantastic no matter which platform you pick it up for.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    83
    Crysis 3 follows the trail of its predecessor to the letter. This means that we will again be experiencing the most astounding audiovisual experience, which, alongside its gameplay, will constitute the main feature of this next-gen first person shooter. The experience may not be very innovative, and the plot may not be very exciting, but it remains on the top of the list of its genre regarding quality.
  8. Feb 21, 2013
    82
    If you're looking for a strong follow-up from the Crysis 2 storyline then you're going to be heaven. Crytek brings a very powerful story that fits just right with the previous titles and compliments it with a fast-paced gameplay experience. Sure the campaign might last 6-8 hours, but you'll enjoy every minute of it.
  9. The beautiful and eerie locations give Crysis 3 a great atmosphere. Cowering in the tall grass, while being hunted by bloodthirsty aliens, reminded us of the terrifying raptor-scene from Jurassic Park. Blowing up a giant dam caused a spectacle big enough to make our inner vandal smile. [April 2013, p.80]
  10. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    An action game in a sandbox. As usual, the Nanosuit allows for interesting gameplay dynamics where both stealth and all out action are good approaches. There are also some interesting online game modes that makes good use of the Nanosuit's abilities.
  11. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 looks absolutely stunning. Strip away the graphics however and you are left with a mediocre shooter with some fancy gimmicks. The stealth gameplay saves the day.
  12. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 is a worthy sequel that is highly entertaining on a number of different levels.
  13. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 is the best of its species. Technology and impressive graphics. But it isn't a surprise if you've played the previous game, and this is quite short. The bow is fantastic and the new New York setting too, but we wanted a more open and unexpected adventure.
  14. Such is the strength of the online modes, it lifts the overall package comfortably above the scant story offering. It pains my digits to write ‘technical tour de force’, but it’s hard to describe Crysis 3 any other way. Though lacking soul in places, this striking Prophet can still channel the divine.
  15. Feb 25, 2013
    79
    Crysis 3 is set in a world that can take your breath away - but as an overall experience, it's flawed. Crytek’s third installment is undoubtedly a beautiful product, but it is not yet a beautiful game.
  16. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Its attractive visuals make Crysis 3 a pleasure to look at, and the game is plenty of fun, though not up to the high standards of its forebears.
  17. Mar 28, 2013
    70
    Crysis 3 reunites the outfit with a voice, Prophet, and his supposed buddy, Psycho and tells you that only one set of sentient long-johns can save the world. It’s a functional excuse for the action but uninspired, much like the bulk of the game. [Issue#235]
  18. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    The appeal of the series has always been in its graphics and Crysis 3 still stands tall as one of the best looking console games of this generation. As many first person shooters shrivel up in the shadow of Call of Duty, Crysis 3’s tactical gameplay and the introduction of the predator bow help it stand apart from the usual suspects of the genre. However, seen as a series that pushed graphics and gameplay to the limits, the third installment’s lack of innovation is perhaps its only weakness.
  19. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    Psycho aside, it’s hard to be engaged by the narrative, and not only because it’s standard sci-fi fodder. Blatant clues as to the story’s direction mean most players will have pieced together the plot’s deeper mysteries long before they are formerly unveiled. Meanwhile, optional audio logs that dig deeper into the lore can only be played via a static menu screen, necessitating a break from the action to listen to a minute or two of laboured exposition.
  20. The problem is that in the few hours I spent online with the PlayStation 3 edition about a week after release the number of people playing at any one time seemed to hover around 700-800, with the bulk of them engaged in death matches rather than any of the more interesting, innovative game types (such as the new Hunter mode, which pits a minority of nanosuit-wearing, permanently cloaked hunters against plain old human troopers).
  21. Feb 28, 2013
    65
    Sadly the PS3 version of Crysis 3 is the worst version compared to the other platforms. The PS3 version is filled with framedrops, pop-ups, audio glitches and disappointing graphics. The singleplayer is fine, but it's short and the story is far from interesting. A fun shooter at best, but certainly no more than that. If you want the best experience you’re better off with the Xbox or PC version.
  22. Apr 23, 2013
    61
    Stunning to look at, but the experience within its gorgeously rendered environments ultimately lacks substance. [Issue#230, p.76]
  23. 60
    A devolution from open-world brilliance and a far cry from compelling, Crysis 3 is a serviceable sci-fi shooter with noteworthy multiplayer and a story that just barely warrants attention.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 11 out of 39
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    The only saving grace is the singleplayer which for some odd reason features horrible ai, even on the hardest difficulty. I'm only a fewThe only saving grace is the singleplayer which for some odd reason features horrible ai, even on the hardest difficulty. I'm only a few missions in but im easily able to simply run past everyone only shooting a few people to beat a mission. The storyline, voice acting and graphics are the best part about the experience they are nex gen quality. Multiplayer is average at best and brings nothing new to the table at all. In my opinion I had more fun with Crysis 2 multiplayer as this version of the game is 100% dumbed down even further for the call of duty audience, and it looks like it sold like a turd, less than 1,000 players online all together. Expect LAGGY hosts and 0 players in every mode not names tdm, ffa, spears and crash site. Minimal improvements have been made as well compared to crysis 2 mp this feels like nothing more than a map pack with different Killstreaks. Piss poor job EA. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    Graphically impressive, but graphics alone don't make a game great. It's the same boring shoot a ton of bad guys that we have done in prettyGraphically impressive, but graphics alone don't make a game great. It's the same boring shoot a ton of bad guys that we have done in pretty much every fps. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Crysis 3 has its moments but repeated over and over and over well you get the point. A+ for graphics and sounds. But what lacks in thisCrysis 3 has its moments but repeated over and over and over well you get the point. A+ for graphics and sounds. But what lacks in this edition is the lack of depth in story. Maybe its just me but these FPS are really getting watered down in game play and other elements. Zero memorable moments for me and more of the same with the nano suit which is still the best feature in the Crysis games. I never felt for the characters in game nor did I have any WOW moments. Despite all my negatives there are still a few positives including, upgradable characteristics and of course the nano suit. This was a simple decision for me as 7/10 was the easy pick. Crysis 3 looses points for quality in the story and lack of innovation in game play and level design. FPS's are beginning to be a joke in this generation of gaming. This one reviewed seems to be a split decision between user reviews. I still enjoy Crysis 2 as the best Crysis game. Full Review »