Dante's Inferno PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 265
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    8
    Ah, Dante's Inferno. One of my favourite Playstation games. Fanboys cry about it being a copy of GoW, and sure the gameplay is similar but you can't really compare anything else. I recommend it to everyone. Hell, if you liked GoW why would you not play this one? Battlefield and Call of Duty are extremely similar but people love to play both, so even you GoW fanboys should get it.
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Hey let's play some hack'n'slash!
    Like GoW? Yes,but i have and xbox so let's play Dante's Inferno!
    Cool! So any of copy-yelling user out there,not everybody can afford both xbox360 and ps3,so if you got and xbox then you don't deserve to play games like GoW? For the game it's really awesome nice graphics,epic bosses,sometimes hard as hell,but a decent game.And it even got into
    Hey let's play some hack'n'slash!
    Like GoW? Yes,but i have and xbox so let's play Dante's Inferno!
    Cool!

    So any of copy-yelling user out there,not everybody can afford both xbox360 and ps3,so if you got and xbox then you don't deserve to play games like GoW?

    For the game it's really awesome nice graphics,epic bosses,sometimes hard as hell,but a decent game.And it even got into Portable version!(PSP with some drawbacks of couse)
    Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    yes it is similar to god of war, and yes it is using one of the greatest poems of all time as its story. THATS WHAT MAKES IT F-ING AWSOME. its not like getting more god of war stlye games is bad, and this one stays close to the inferno's descriptions and story. that and how many people have READ THE POEM?
    it a brilliant way to bring people into the story. that and I DIDNT KNOW THAT GOD OF
    yes it is similar to god of war, and yes it is using one of the greatest poems of all time as its story. THATS WHAT MAKES IT F-ING AWSOME. its not like getting more god of war stlye games is bad, and this one stays close to the inferno's descriptions and story. that and how many people have READ THE POEM?
    it a brilliant way to bring people into the story. that and I DIDNT KNOW THAT GOD OF WAR TRADEMARKED THE IDEA OF LIGHT AND HEAVY ATTACKS, OR THE IDEA OF A RECHARGEABLE MAGIC METER.
    Expand
  4. SebaW.
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    This game is so freiken... AMAZING!!! Yes ive played all the god of war games and i have to admit that dante's inferno does copy it, but this is waaaaaaaaay better than god of war. For instance, the monsters and graphics are INSANE. The monsters make your brain spin. Its like the creators of the game were on crack while making the game lol. 2nd off it has a great story line *its This game is so freiken... AMAZING!!! Yes ive played all the god of war games and i have to admit that dante's inferno does copy it, but this is waaaaaaaaay better than god of war. For instance, the monsters and graphics are INSANE. The monsters make your brain spin. Its like the creators of the game were on crack while making the game lol. 2nd off it has a great story line *its based off of a poem in the 1300* with alot of twists. I cant belive this game didnt get a main score in the 90's because its so damn perfect. I'm hoping to see the sequel soon! Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    A very very good game. Not as deep as I thought it would be - Depth as in, what COD:MW 2 had or BF:BC 2 had. But still... very fun and very realistic. Single player campaign is short which isn't a good thing but DICE makes it all up for Multiplayer. :)
  6. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Dante's Inferno is one of the best god of war like games in 2009 it has lots of level that are great to play a look at. On the ps3 it is much better then the Xbox. Also it worth much more then what you pay for with custom attack selection for killing hell spawn. Finally the end of the story is very satisfying. Go pick up when you have the chance
  7. SplatTer
    Feb 9, 2010
    9
    Honestly do some of these critics even play the games. Its so disappointing to find some of these people give it the score they have. What.. they play one stage and rate it. I get pretty angry knowing they have the power to make or break some games, some of them really don,t deserve to crit anything. This games is Amazing. The first point Id like to make is that you can see right away the Honestly do some of these critics even play the games. Its so disappointing to find some of these people give it the score they have. What.. they play one stage and rate it. I get pretty angry knowing they have the power to make or break some games, some of them really don,t deserve to crit anything. This games is Amazing. The first point Id like to make is that you can see right away the passion that went into making this game. The team put there all into this baby. They enjoyed creating it and added there full love and attention into it...Well done Graphics: The graphics are great, The creatures are amazing, the little details which the team have added are just the cherry on the top. Like the little grains of sand Dante kicks up when he walks or runs. Animation: This is something that totally blew me away, the animation of all the characters was just perfect. The bosses and all the creatures really moved with cheer power behind them. They really put the effort to make these creatures as awesome as they possibly could. I honestly have never seen a better looking Reaper, The way he moves is just so damn powerful , all the bosses are just animated beautifully and you feel there power, which makes taking them down just feel amazing. One little thing is that you can work out pretty quickly their patterns of attack but they do look pretty:) Gameplay: If you have played GOW you have played Dante, This is not a bad thing. GOW is yes of course the master of this genre as GTA is to the sandbox, but who cares, Dante,s fight mechanics are Amazing to control, he moves well and all his powers are upgradeable, which just makes him awesome to watch and play with. His Main two weapons are a Scythe and a Crusafix...and both weapons are upgradeable, I thought the two weapons were a brilliant idea and they work amazingly. Sound: The sound in this game is great, you feel everything in this game, The voices and grunts and screams of bosses and victims always remind you that you are in total hell, You get totally immersed in the game and the ambient sound is brilliant always keeping you in this Hell. The stages are great, yes there is some repetition, but all in all just great to play, The one thing that kinda irritated me a bit was the fact that if you die in some places you have to watch a cut scene over and over again until you pass the area and cant forward the cutscenes in some cases, but checkpoints are easy to reach and there are loads of them so you wont have to do a full stage again because you died, this was great because it keeps you in the action always. I do wish Dante changed the further he went on in the game, If he got upgraded himself and became bigger or meaner, or angrier as he went along, this would have been awesome, but he stays the same through the whole game, which is not a bad thing but I wanted to see Dante grow into a damn monster of a character. Conclusion: The game is a MUST on every account, whether you have an xbox or waiting for GOW3 on PS3. I completed it in 2 sittings in about maybe 8-10 hours or so, Its a great length and once complete you get to keep all your upgrades and play again , you also open up a new mission and some new outfits. Its a game I probably wont play again for a while but the first time through was just amazing and I could not put it down. Oh and one more thing, wait till you get to control Phlegyas. Ahhh man what a beautiful stage indeed. Well done guys on an awesome game where the passion of your work is felt in every moment. Expand
  8. SonnyC.
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    My score is actually an 8.75, but 9 will do. For a complete copycat, Dante's Inferno is fun enough that you might forget all about it's status as a clone. It's cinematic, it's got a time tested story, and it doesn't ever really let up on the action. Which might be one of it's only problems: If you don't like the "button-mashing"/"beat-em-up" genre, this My score is actually an 8.75, but 9 will do. For a complete copycat, Dante's Inferno is fun enough that you might forget all about it's status as a clone. It's cinematic, it's got a time tested story, and it doesn't ever really let up on the action. Which might be one of it's only problems: If you don't like the "button-mashing"/"beat-em-up" genre, this probably won't help you into the genre at all. Some may get sick of the constant action, wave after wave of enemies, the same scenarios to kill each one. But if God of War and the like are your thing, or you just want to have fun kicking some demon ass, Dante's Inferno shouldn't be missed--if not just for a weekend rental. Expand
  9. PepeT.
    Feb 23, 2010
    8
    For starters, Dante's Inferno is a very strange game for me. i had a hard time figuring out the pacing as i was waiting for each circle of hell to be a stage, instead i found some circles to be very short (gluttony) while others to be too long (fraud). i also expected a boss for each circle but was surprised by the fight against Cerberus right as soon as i reached gluttony, again theFor starters, Dante's Inferno is a very strange game for me. i had a hard time figuring out the pacing as i was waiting for each circle of hell to be a stage, instead i found some circles to be very short (gluttony) while others to be too long (fraud). i also expected a boss for each circle but was surprised by the fight against Cerberus right as soon as i reached gluttony, again the pacing was weird to me. when i started the game i wanted shocking imagery and themes and i feel the game delivered with giant heads dropping souls from their mouths down to oblivion and beyond and the many impaled bodies still alive and kicking, yet after the 4th circle i had pretty much seen everything. much of my negative points have a lot to do because i had visualized so much of how the game should look like in my own head that i was disappointed by that, but the art of the game is in no way is bad, although the graphics feel old to me. the last few levels started to kick up a noth again visually as it becomes somewhat abstract (eg. some levels have sky despite being underground) in the end i didn't have much fun playing it as the developers vision was very different from mine so i kinda set myself up for that disillusion. on the plus side, after finishing it and taking a break from it, i remember the game and realize, after putting my own ideas aside, that the game was actually pretty good, and im enjoying it that much more now. another point id like to make is that i LOVE the character design despite some people saying he looks generic. i also aprove of his attitude thowards his situation. i have read some people here calling him a whimp for being in hell and being tormented by his own sins and the devil planing to wed his woman. i mean, seriously, this guy may be in a game like god of war, but he is no mindless yelling machine like kratos is. i found that his face seemd tormented in the cutscenes, but you would have to play it to know why someone woud freak out (especially the suicide sin level). this guy isnt running around hell cuz he is angry, he is doing it cuz his wife is there and its his own fault. in the end, the voice actor really conveys the torment of this mn very well IMO. this was a fun game Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    i guess i'm one of the very few ps3ers not memorized by the hatred of kratos in god of war... i found it boring but then again vengeance ain't really my thing....darksiders puzzles were just difficult for the hell of it and killed its fun form me. however going into the bowels of hell to save my girl with the power to absolve others sins...short journey?...fine. nice graphics. absolutelyi guess i'm one of the very few ps3ers not memorized by the hatred of kratos in god of war... i found it boring but then again vengeance ain't really my thing....darksiders puzzles were just difficult for the hell of it and killed its fun form me. however going into the bowels of hell to save my girl with the power to absolve others sins...short journey?...fine. nice graphics. absolutely disgusting visual metaphors used... the penis is barely tolerable but c'mon. how utterly disgusting can we get i feel totally violated by some of what i saw...despite that i enjoy dantes inferno... even if i have to shower afterwards Expand
  11. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    This is probably one game that is way underrated. DI is GOW3 copycat but so what ?Just because this game is copycat does not mean that it deserves lower scores. This is like saying that any FPS is copycat of Doom ?! This game plays well and it is truly tons of fun. Graphics are great,combat is well done and there is not much really that i can say is bad in this game.If you like GOW thenThis is probably one game that is way underrated. DI is GOW3 copycat but so what ?Just because this game is copycat does not mean that it deserves lower scores. This is like saying that any FPS is copycat of Doom ?! This game plays well and it is truly tons of fun. Graphics are great,combat is well done and there is not much really that i can say is bad in this game.If you like GOW then you will love this title. Lots of blood and slashing. What else can you want :) Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    What the game lacks in originality, it makes up for with incredibly inventive (and often disturbing) art direction. And considering the game it's cloned after is great to begin with, if you enjoyed God of War you should enjoy this as well. A lot of license has been taken but the circles of hell are still generally accurate to the book. I'm not usually interested in cutscenes, but these areWhat the game lacks in originality, it makes up for with incredibly inventive (and often disturbing) art direction. And considering the game it's cloned after is great to begin with, if you enjoyed God of War you should enjoy this as well. A lot of license has been taken but the circles of hell are still generally accurate to the book. I'm not usually interested in cutscenes, but these are so well-rendered I was fairly amazed. It's epic fun, a little bit mindless, but that suits this genre. Expand
  13. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    I think this game is definitely worth playing, but once it's completed I myself wouldn't want to play it over.

    Its not a God of War rip off but it dose use certain game play element's from it and it also uses many other elements from many other games, so not by any means original hence the 4 stars. although not original it dose offer loads in the way of trophies, blood, gore,
    I think this game is definitely worth playing, but once it's completed I myself wouldn't want to play it over.

    Its not a God of War rip off but it dose use certain game play element's from it and it also uses many other elements from many other games, so not by any means original hence the 4 stars.

    although not original it dose offer loads in the way of trophies, blood, gore, violence oh and not forgetting certain favored womanly body parts, it can be addictive but I fear if I played it for to long I would want to bludgeon someone to death or something.

    Graphically it could be better but still good enough, for what you get the price should be a bit less so maybe just rent it and help your local DVD shop out.

    By no means let your children play this game its 100% not suitable, I know the rating is sometimes harsh but not this time.
    Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    a very nice hack n slash the story is based on a famous poem and it is really good the gameplay wasn't good and still it wasn't bad as you get more moves while you advance like rpg element and the places in this game are so good as you advance in nine places in hell in the end a good hack n slash game that deserves a shot
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    This is the perfect example of when a copy surpasses the original. It may have a little variety of combos, but the rest is just great, primarily the story.
  16. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    I like the combat of God of war but the constant backtracking and puzzles are a gamebreaker for me. Dante's Inferno takes God of war's best part and leaves the worst. That's about as simple as I can put it.
    The world created is engaging and beautiful although the graphics are a bit rough.
    Hell was never this fun.
  17. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    This is one of my favorite games because of the great art direction and story. It is a video game rendition of Dante's Inferno the 'poem' by Dante Alighieri and it reminds me alot of the God Of War series. The game takes you through the various levels of hell like in the story and the games gives you a great blend of button mashing and strategy, especially if you play on a higherThis is one of my favorite games because of the great art direction and story. It is a video game rendition of Dante's Inferno the 'poem' by Dante Alighieri and it reminds me alot of the God Of War series. The game takes you through the various levels of hell like in the story and the games gives you a great blend of button mashing and strategy, especially if you play on a higher difficulty level other than zealot. One of my favorite elements of the game is how you can buff your magical abilities to holy or unholy. The boss battles are very fun and challenging to a degree. The game has very dark overtones and really makes the game great for older crowds. The games artists did a great job of rendering a great deal of interesting textures and enemies for you to hack and slash through.

    To any God Of War fan or Dynasty Warriors fan, I would recommend picking up this game for the sheer fact that it can be found for under ten bucks at alot of video game stores and it definitely worth playing through at least once or keeping in your library.

    Revelation 13:16 #BornWithHorns
    Expand
  18. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    Although many here call it a GoW clone, I cannot deny it, but this still is a good game.
    It was annoying occasionally, with all the stupid falls over the edge or dumb placed checkpoints, but if we ignore it and focus on action and game graphics, it's very enjoyable.
    For example, leveling up is much more interesting then in GoW. I find it doubtful that GoW fans won't like Dante's
    Although many here call it a GoW clone, I cannot deny it, but this still is a good game.
    It was annoying occasionally, with all the stupid falls over the edge or dumb placed checkpoints, but if we ignore it and focus on action and game graphics, it's very enjoyable.
    For example, leveling up is much more interesting then in GoW.
    I find it doubtful that GoW fans won't like Dante's inferno as well.
    Expand
  19. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    I will five this pearl 10 of 10 - anyway!
    Allthough it made me mad at certain points!
    10 ALONE for the fantastic artwork! The Game graphics rock at every second and I couldn't image a "better" hell than the very different bleak stages of Dante's Inferno - Congratulations and Kotau to the Creative department - worldclass to my opinion. The gameplay itself reminds often of God of War
    I will five this pearl 10 of 10 - anyway!
    Allthough it made me mad at certain points!
    10 ALONE for the fantastic artwork! The Game graphics rock at every second and I couldn't image a "better" hell than the very different bleak stages of Dante's Inferno - Congratulations and Kotau to the Creative department - worldclass to my opinion.
    The gameplay itself reminds often of God of War series and is a mixture of hack&slay (fantastic animations and effects) and (terrific and partially annoying) skill tests - it'S flawless but not new.
    The skill tests (jumping sequences, time based tasks etc.) are like already metioned hairy but solvable at last.
    I mastered it without cheats (if there exist any) but there were 5 or 6 situations where had to try a level more often than I'm usually accepting in Games (that means I then stop playing).
    The scenario itself kept me trying nevertheless and I can only recommend this game to enthusiastic gamers who appreciate stunning graphics and a real challenge to master (at least it was one for me)
    Expand
  20. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Dante's Inferno

    Game-Play:The game in a well executed hack n slash game and it use some magic as well.the game is full of combos ranged and melee and some good boss fights. Story:This is the strong point of the game.The original story is based on a novel nad is very well executed as well.It will keep you about 8 to 9 hours. Graphics:The game have nice graphics. Notes:I would
    Dante's Inferno

    Game-Play:The game in a well executed hack n slash game and it use some magic as well.the game is full of combos ranged and melee and some good boss fights.

    Story:This is the strong point of the game.The original story is based on a novel nad is very well executed as well.It will keep you about 8 to 9 hours.

    Graphics:The game have nice graphics.

    Notes:I would like more weapon than just two and also some more magic.Also there are some items in the game you can equip but the item are useless.
    Expand
  21. Feb 10, 2015
    10
    It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. IIt's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it.It's too good. I love it. Expand
  22. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    Have you ever wondered what hell might look like? Dante's Inferno offers an incredibly vivid and detailed hypothesis. The game is based on the 14th-century Italian poem by Dante Alighieri, but Dante never could have imagined a hell this visually captivating. The walls themselves crawl with the bodies of the damned, other lost souls intermitently rain from the sky burning in torturousHave you ever wondered what hell might look like? Dante's Inferno offers an incredibly vivid and detailed hypothesis. The game is based on the 14th-century Italian poem by Dante Alighieri, but Dante never could have imagined a hell this visually captivating. The walls themselves crawl with the bodies of the damned, other lost souls intermitently rain from the sky burning in torturous flames. In the distance, great columns of souls can be seen marching along monolithic causeways. The air is acrid with smoke and charred flesh, pierced by screams, fitful sparks and motes of ash. Each of the nine circles is here, along with the river Acheron and Limbo, and each setting is distinctive and fiendishly impressive. Through it all Vergil is your guide, just as in the poem.

    The gameplay is fluid and satisfying, with Dante boasting an array of combos with either his scythe, stolen from Death himself, or his cross that Beatrice gave to him. There are a variety of trinkets to collect - from the 30 pieces of silver received in ramsom by Judas to dozens of relics that Dante can equip to enhance his abilities.

    Dante attempts to rescue his lover Beatrice from the clutches of the Damned.along the way, Dante encounters many Lost Souls from various historical and mythological points in history,the player's interaction with these characters is not merely discourse, however, as Dante holds the power to either absolve these Lost Souls of the sins which condemned them to Hell, or hand down the ultimate Punishment instead. I consider this to be a brilliant mechanic that serves to immerse the player in a very personal manner, as it tends to compel the player to actually reflect on his/her own views of sin and punishment before deciding a Lost Soul's ultimate fate. Very well-executed.

    I had very high hopes for this title, but it has far exceeded even those. This game is one of the best I have ever played.Do your self a favor and BUY DANTE'S INFERNO!!
    Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2015
    10
    Although it is like Sonys' God of War Saga, it shines in storyline, graphics, and being able to choose the Holy or unholy paths, giving you the freedom not found in God of War. An excellent game overall.
  24. May 25, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome! An very good and honest "mechanics copy" of GoW and Darksiders, but it is not a problem, it's fine. I hope for more games like these and a sequence to Dante's Inferno.
  25. Sep 23, 2015
    9
    Dante's Inferno came out as EA's answer to Sony's God Of War franchise and while it may not offer much more than GOW gameplay wise I found the story to be more appealing to me and is a great and decently accurate take on the epic poem. There is plenty of debate on how this stack's up to Sony's game but I can assure you that it does very well but my only real complaint is that the gameplayDante's Inferno came out as EA's answer to Sony's God Of War franchise and while it may not offer much more than GOW gameplay wise I found the story to be more appealing to me and is a great and decently accurate take on the epic poem. There is plenty of debate on how this stack's up to Sony's game but I can assure you that it does very well but my only real complaint is that the gameplay is a bit too much like GOW. Still if you enjoyed God Of War then Dante's Inferno will surely please you as well. Just too bad Visceral Games got shutdown before they could make the promised sequel. Expand
  26. Nov 7, 2015
    8
    My first thought after the first minutes into this game was "wow, this looks gorgeous !" Production-wise, this is one of the most well-made games on the PS3. Controls feel very responsive and despite the hordes of opponents the game throws at you, you always feel in control.
    The second thought was that the mechanics and even the main character feel very much like God of War. But that is
    My first thought after the first minutes into this game was "wow, this looks gorgeous !" Production-wise, this is one of the most well-made games on the PS3. Controls feel very responsive and despite the hordes of opponents the game throws at you, you always feel in control.
    The second thought was that the mechanics and even the main character feel very much like God of War. But that is not a bad thing, because God of War 3 was one of my favorite games on PS3. Dante's Inferno has a similar setting, but puts the player into a hell hell by Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy" and for me this works just as well as Kratos' trip to Hades and Olympus.
    As I mentioned mechanics, plot and graphics are great, the only less optimal aspects are that it does feel somewhat overly familiar if you played God of War like games. Also, the difficulty feels a little unbalanced at points, most of the game is fairly easy and then occasionally the difficulty spikes or there is some point where it becomes tedious trying over and over. For me there was one point of the game that I couldn't have beaten without finding a missable item and when I realized that, I started over again, luckily, you can beat the game in less than 8 hours, which feels just right. Luckily the developers refrained from putting in unnecessary filler just to make the game artificially longer.

    The game is not for everyone, the violence makes this a mature title. Players who are offended by the exaggerated depiction of sex organs and burning farts should also stay away. For everyone else, this is worth a try.
    Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Dante's Inferno is about Dante, who is a crusader during the Third Crusade. Despite his faith, he commited several sins but a Bishop told him that his sins would be forgiven if he fights during the Third Crusade. However, Dante gets stabbed in the back by an assassin and fights against Death itself. Eventually he kills Death, takes hit Scythe and goes back to Florence, where he finds hisDante's Inferno is about Dante, who is a crusader during the Third Crusade. Despite his faith, he commited several sins but a Bishop told him that his sins would be forgiven if he fights during the Third Crusade. However, Dante gets stabbed in the back by an assassin and fights against Death itself. Eventually he kills Death, takes hit Scythe and goes back to Florence, where he finds his wife dead. He then goes to a chapel, blesses the holy cross that Beatrice gave him when they were together and upon doing that, a crack on the ground opens up, allowing Dante to descend to the Gates of Hell, trying to get his wife back and find redemption for the sins he has committed.

    Gameplay-wise, the game really reminded me about the God of War series (That most of you probably know), which I have also played, because a lot of gameplay mechanics are also featured in this game. But the unique thing about this game is that is isn't just a copy of God of War - There are also new features in it. For example you can level up a holy and an unholy side by either absolving or punishing souls you find in the underworld. Both skill trees give different bonuses; The holy side is more about improving his holy cross whereas the unholy side improves Dante's scythe. Of course, there are also other upgrades like having more health or more mana. Apart from that there are also a couple of skills you gain from the main story and your skill tree that Dante can equip which give him unique abilities that cost mana when used. What I personally really liked was the atmosphere of the game - It really delivered well on showing what hell might look like. There are also artifacts hidden during the story which give unique bonuses to Dante's attributes and can be leveled up simply by collecting souls.

    Graphic-wise, this game can't step up with games like God of War 3, but the major difference is that it runs at 60 frames per second, whereas GoW 3 ran at 30, sometimes even less if there was a lot going on on the screen. Always when I play PS3 it feels weird playing games with 30fps since I'm mostly playing games on my computer which run at 60 and it just feels really laggy at the beginning and takes a while to get used to. That makes it more fluent and people who are used to 60fps from their computers should also like that.

    All in all, I'd really recommend this game for hack and slash fans - Enjoy your trip through hell.
    Expand
  28. May 18, 2016
    9
    Awesome game, amazing game play. Games fault is it critics comparing it to God of War, It's not God of War! My all time most favorite PS3 game. Fans of this game have been waiting for a sequel way to long. I haven't had a single person dislike the game once they've played. Seems that GoW players dislike the game, calling it a copy. If you played Dante's Inferno prior to playing GoW youAwesome game, amazing game play. Games fault is it critics comparing it to God of War, It's not God of War! My all time most favorite PS3 game. Fans of this game have been waiting for a sequel way to long. I haven't had a single person dislike the game once they've played. Seems that GoW players dislike the game, calling it a copy. If you played Dante's Inferno prior to playing GoW you will understand how much better of a game it is than GoW. Expand
  29. Jul 4, 2016
    8
    Apesar da semelhança com a jogabilidade de God Of War e esse fator ter sido alvo de críticas,na minha opinião não interferiu de forma negativa,um bom jogo com ótimo enredo...O final é excelente!!!certamente merecia uma continuação.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Despite its visual aspect that was a bit below the standard ofn the genre, Dante's Inferno is able to provide fun and hold you until the end of the game. For some it can become repetitive and uninteresting, but it is a great choice for lovers of the genre.
  2. Obviously, critics will obsessively compare Dante's Inferno to other games, or complain about the quick time events, but don't let those nitpicky issues prevent you from experiencing this imaginative and fun adventure. It's one Hell of a good time..
  3. A copycat, yes, but when it's this thrilling, brutal and frankly, awesome we don't care.