Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    75
    Daytona is back to show us that the fun of driving in a video game doesn't necessarily require realism.
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    Daytona USA is no doubt a lot of fun for an arcade racing game.
  3. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    The good news is Daytona USA's port is actually better than you remember. The bad is, despite some inspired extras, it doesn't last that long.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    I wound up loving the downloadable version of Daytona USA. If you grew up playing it in its heyday, or enjoyed it as Sega Racing Classic recently, definitely give it a shot. For $10 on XBLA or $7 on PSN for a limited time, you'll be able to play one of the finest arcade racers whenever you want against anyone in the world.
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    While it's light on content and features and isn't about to make anyone forget about the triple-A racing titles coming out this holiday, Daytona USA is an enjoyable ride that proves that great gameplay almost always ages well. For those who still long for the simplicity of old school titles and the challenges that typically come with it, this downloadable slice of gaming nostalgia is well worth a look.
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    58
    Of course the real draw of Daytona is the fast and engrossing game play, and never before has shaving seconds off your time ever meant more. Every missed turn, hit wall or jerk off AI opponent who screws up will come into play and it is up to you and your reflexes to overcome it all. The controls remain tight and learning each track is crucial to your success.
  7. The gameplay is addictive as ever. [Jan 2012, p.114]
  8. The gameplay is as addictive as ever. [Feb 2012, p.84]
  9. Feb 2, 2012
    80
    Daytona USA is a game makes you feel young again, and you really can't put a price on that.
  10. Nov 1, 2011
    45
    Daytona USA was the pinnacle of arcade racers in the early 90's. Translated into today it sadly doesn't hold much of its appeal, especially without a sweet cockpit and steering wheel setup. Leave this one parked on pit road.
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Daytona USA is a loyal remake to the mythic arcade game we loved so much in the mid-nineties. It is still as fun as ever, and adds new game modes and online play, but it is still just three tracks, and that might seem limited.
  12. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    Daytona USA is a classic game. Unfortunately, classics don't always age well and Daytona suffers from a heavy lack of content, resulting in little to do. The still pretty decent gameplay and nice looks can only go so far.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    i remember playing it in the arcade back in the mid 90s and just being amazed at this game . it looked fantastic and plays as good as it looks. now flash foward 16 years later and it still looks and plays damn good. even with great racing games like gran turismo and Forza out there , Daytona USA is is just pure Arcade fun . this makes me want to take my 50" LCD tv and buy a seperate PS3 and use my logitech steering wheel just to make this my own personal arcade game. cause for years i wanted it . now we get daytona usa in HD with 8 player online racing some extra content like challenge , karaoke , time trial and survival mode added in . also supports logitech steering wheels to help give you that arcade feel. this is a perfect port of one of the best arcade racing games of the 90s. i really can only say i wish they added more a few new tracks and the cars off the sega saturn version would be great but hey this is only $9.99 in the PSN store or $6.99 if you have plus . so over all this is a great deal for what you are getting. if you are a fan of the old daytona usa game go and buy it. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    7
    If this tyhing was a premium price psn game, I would rate it a 3. However, for the price, there's a lot to love. It's tough and more importantly it's deep. You simply have to learn all of the details of the control. Anyways, I had a lot of fun for a short time but I still go back from time to time. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    What a perfect transition of one, if not the best arcade racer ever released! The controls work well (not like in Daytona USA 2001 or CCE) and the multiplayer-mode is really good working. Nice game, not overpriced, but sure, it's an old edge of arcade gaming and with only 3 tracks, not so much to be played. But true fans know what they are getting: A simple arcade-perfect transition! Now, please release Scud Race next time. :-) Full Review »