Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    42
    The action-MMO set in a painstakingly recreated DC Comics world requires superhuman patience to even install, with assets verification, patch downloads, and the like taking a full day, depending on your Internet connection.
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    42
    Unless you fancy yourself a hardcore DC comics fan, you'll find little to hold your interest in DCUO in its current state after the first several hours of gameplay.
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    40
    DCUO never really takes off. It suffers from numerous bugs and glitches, and the structure of the quests looks more suitable for a single-player RPG rather than an MMO.
  4. Jan 22, 2011
    40
    The game's combat feels limp, the quest design is immediately monotonous, and the whole package manages to make being a superhero or villain feel like the most mundane thing in the world. Considering the game's "everyone's a hero/villain" plot, I suppose that makes perfect sense.
  5. Feb 8, 2011
    30
    Thanks to its disastrous mess of a user interface, DCUO is unplayable for anyone lacking superheroic patience. SOE, SCE and DC Comics have colluded in an attempt to foist a dreadful and amateurish product onto comic book and MMO enthusiasts.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has
    First Review! (which is surprising)

    I have played many MMOs and not many have been able to hold my attention. The only 2 to hold it has been WoW and Final Fantasy 11, and now DC Universe Online has my attention. I think the combat is fun and actually makes you feel like your are controling a super hero with super powers. The amount of customization is great as well as the choices for classes (fire, ice, mental, etc).

    I was skeptical about the control scheme on a console but I believe they managed to pull it off. With a press of L2 or R2 your abilities or spells are right there at your disposal, also with a gadget and consumable at your fingertips. The only problem that I have with the game is that the menus IN game are a little clunky and slow, hopefully they will fix this problem. But I am looking foreword to the inevitable content patches and expansion packs. I look foreword to continuing this game and trying out the end level content. If you are a fan of MMOs I highly suggest this game, especially if you are a DC fan!

    RAPTORLunchbox
    Full Review »
  2. May 18, 2011
    6
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything
    My first impression review was ...

    Having a history of online games on the PC I've been counting the days for this PS3 release. Everything you'd expect in an MMO is here and it works extremely well. if you're new to MMO's be warned, there is a lot to learn with this game and it isn't pick up and play like other console games. I've heard many people moaning about this aspect. This game is very rewarding after a few hours play so take this slow. FYI the game takes about two hours to install/update the first time you play Yes it's £9.99 a month, but the best MMO's cost money.

    My updated review today (18/05/11) is that this game is a fantastic opening month. With no other MMO on the PS3 I got carried away. To be honest, I've not played it once my subscription run out and the initial 'buzz' I had for it quickly faded. I've since started playing RIFT (on release date) and the candle burns very brightly for it still. Rift is how an MMO should be made.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online orThis is a fantastic action/adventure MMOAG that should not be missed by anyone who's a fan of DC comics and open world game play, online or otherwise. Vibrant aesthetics, familiar charachter voices, authentic DC inspired stories/charachters and locales. Easy and fun gameplay. Tons of customization and rewards that continue to unlock the more you play. Distinct hero and villain campaigns that demand multiple playthroughs. An active community with someone always willing to help you beat a level in PVE or take you on in PVP. Lots of endgame content already with more to come. Nevermind the hater reviews that played it for 5 minutes and rated it down because they couldn't even get past the first mission LOL, or that complained the servers were down a couple hours because the game is so popular the developer needed to add additional servers. This has been a very smooth MMO launch which by nature are usually rough (ie Warcraft). Getting online on the console is easy and hassle free after the initial install, and once online the controls and combat are so easy, intuitive and effective that even kids could enjoy it. The first must-play of 2011. Full Review »