Dead Rising 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 178
  2. Negative: 36 out of 178
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    7
    This would be an excellent game if it wasn't for the timer........if this was a sandbox game with no timer this would be so much more enjoyable..... the only saving grace is that you can ignore the timer and level up your character, then restart the story and keep all your upgrades....only issue here is now you have to play the story until you complete it before you can go have funThis would be an excellent game if it wasn't for the timer........if this was a sandbox game with no timer this would be so much more enjoyable..... the only saving grace is that you can ignore the timer and level up your character, then restart the story and keep all your upgrades....only issue here is now you have to play the story until you complete it before you can go have fun again....... if you don't mind timers i would recommend it, not worth 60 bucks in my opinion..... Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    5
    I'm a fan of zombie games but have yet been able to find a good one. In this game the graphics are great. But, the game play is the same. You run into a mall of zombies everytime. I brought it back after 7 days because it just wasn't what I thought it would be.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    5
    This game has a huge sandbox for you to have fun mowing down hundreds of zombies with a wide variety of weapons and combo-weapons to choose from. It also has a very engaging story that pulls you along. However, Capcom puts time limits on your missions that forces you to have to choose to have fun or plough through the storyline. But you'll never make it though the storyline on your firstThis game has a huge sandbox for you to have fun mowing down hundreds of zombies with a wide variety of weapons and combo-weapons to choose from. It also has a very engaging story that pulls you along. However, Capcom puts time limits on your missions that forces you to have to choose to have fun or plough through the storyline. But you'll never make it though the storyline on your first try because you'll have to level up quite a bit. Trying to have fun in this game is like someone giving you the keys to a porsche but only giving you enough gas to go five minutes in. In Dead Rising 2, exploration will bring about failed missions due to time limits and make you have to choose to either start again from a previous save, losing all of your progress, or restarting the entire game over, but keeping all of your progressed levels, combo cards, money and power points. After starting the same cut-scenes over for about the fifth time, the game then began to wear thin. If only Capcom could have allowed you to have fun and continue the storyline along at your own pace then I would have had no problem giving this game a ten. But after four days of playing this, I'm not looking forward to playing for another hour of and then having to start all over again. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    Good game although feels like more of the same.
  5. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    I love zombies! Nothing would bring me greater joy then the dead rising (no pun intended) I have read Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z by Max Brooks, I have seen most of George Romero's zombie movies but something about Dead Rising 2 just doesn't pull me in. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy combining a bucket with drills and turning a zombie's head into jelly but what drives me insane theI love zombies! Nothing would bring me greater joy then the dead rising (no pun intended) I have read Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z by Max Brooks, I have seen most of George Romero's zombie movies but something about Dead Rising 2 just doesn't pull me in. Dont get me wrong, I enjoy combining a bucket with drills and turning a zombie's head into jelly but what drives me insane the most is attacking other living human NPCs in the game. If Capcom and Blue Castle ever reads this I want them to answer one question, why the hell did you make Chuck Greene the biggest vagina this zombie apocalypse as ever seen? Chuck Greene is so much of a wimp that the game gives you the option to restart the game with your level and abilities you have already unlocked. I thought most games did that once you beat the game as a bonus. Why didn't you just make difficulty settings! Fighting bosses and mini-bosses you will see that they have an insane amount of health, I would get so mad that I would have to put the game down. This was by far the most difficult hurdle I had overcoming about this game, I could easily take a broadsword and split a zombie from head to groin but fighting some insane hippie in the bathroom I easily got my ass handed to me on a silver plater. Dodging an attack is impossible until you level yourself up enough to learn the dodge but I was already on my second play through by the time I had gained enough PP. Another problem was that the fastest way to level up is by far the most tedious, escorting survivors. Which feels like every side-mission broken up occasionally by impossible mini-boss fights. Another beef I have with this game is there is no auto save feature so if you died you have to restart from the last time you saved. I thought auto save was a pretty standard feature in most games but that was left out. Somethings to highlight about this game is that it looks great and you always have zombies to kill. The story is pretty weird but funny and the zombie kills keep you entertained for hours. The ability to combine items is fun but can be a pain searching for them. I mostly stuck with the bat with the nails on it and the broadsword. I wouldn't recommend buying this game unless you enjoyed the first which I didn't but it is worth renting just for the arcade style fun and beat'em up, blow'em up, shot'em up action. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2011
    5
    I know when it comes to zombies, they appear out of nowhere and we all must band together to survive. Zombie violence seems to entertain so many and that's what this game does. Except killing zombies is not as much fun as the game wants it to be. Long story short, you traverse through malls, basements, and streets slaughtering zombies. Technically it plays well but it gets old fast. TooI know when it comes to zombies, they appear out of nowhere and we all must band together to survive. Zombie violence seems to entertain so many and that's what this game does. Except killing zombies is not as much fun as the game wants it to be. Long story short, you traverse through malls, basements, and streets slaughtering zombies. Technically it plays well but it gets old fast. Too fast because you get to use over half the weapons in the first two hours. Rent it or borrow it. Don't pay full price. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    The game it's self is a lot of fun until you get into the story. Everything is so timed that I feel like it really makes the game a choir to play at times. I also have the issue where my game just fails me at the same point no matter what I haven't heard of anybody else having this issue but it definitely took me out of the game.
  8. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    Dead Rising 2 starts off with a man named Chuck who must compete in a gameshow against his will to earn enough money to buy a drug that will prevent his young daughter from getting zombified. But this game is not a Hallmark movie, so soon your flailing zombies with chainsaws attached to your motorcycle. Yay for violence! The rest of the game is much like that, with weapons including a toyDead Rising 2 starts off with a man named Chuck who must compete in a gameshow against his will to earn enough money to buy a drug that will prevent his young daughter from getting zombified. But this game is not a Hallmark movie, so soon your flailing zombies with chainsaws attached to your motorcycle. Yay for violence! The rest of the game is much like that, with weapons including a toy helicopter with a machete propellar (appropriately called the Heliblade) and a football with a grenade taped on it (the Hail Mary) these kind of things are fun and aplenty. and you'll definitely never run out of zombies, with hordes reaching the hundreds roaming free to mess with at your leisure. It takes a while to get used to all those enemies, but soon you'll make short work of those flesh-eating beasts. the mischief and humor in the game are the possible best I've ever seen in any Capcom game. The Vegas-like strip in the game is beautifully detailed, I think you can walk in to about 95% of buildings, no exaggeration. However, there are a more than a few problems with the game, some of them may even turn off a few gamers. To save you must enter a restroom, and although it asks you to save after every mission, it still isn't always easy (try traveling across the map with one health just to save your progress) and you will probably be playing missions over again. The story isn't great either, but you can tell by the box art that this isn't the "story" kind of game. But the worst offenders of them all is the dreaded timers. You have to collect Zombrex (your daughters drugs) at seven AM every day, which is a huge chore. (My advice: let her die, yes, you seriously can do that) and you have to play missions every day or you lose the entire game. Yes, the ENTIRE GAME is nothing more if you decide to not play a mission at, let's say, ten AM. In the end, I recommend DR2 to any fan of the original, or if your up at night thinking about shooting zombies in the face. Others looking for something as good as Left 4 Dead, look elsewhere. Also, multiplayer is amazing. Just amazing. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2011
    5
    Would Make a better movie than a game. I saw the trailer like everyone else and also saw the potential like everyone else. unfortunately this one failed to deliver. the best part of this game is making new weapons... which you will run out of combinations in about a day or 2. the worst part of this game is a struggle between the boring boring boring multiplayer, lack of campaign splitWould Make a better movie than a game. I saw the trailer like everyone else and also saw the potential like everyone else. unfortunately this one failed to deliver. the best part of this game is making new weapons... which you will run out of combinations in about a day or 2. the worst part of this game is a struggle between the boring boring boring multiplayer, lack of campaign split screen, timed missions that interrupt your wanting to just mess around, and repetitive game play. ppl that like zombies generally want creepy. this game is all blood and no creepy. its almost always day time and even night time is bright. zombies are always out in the open and easy to avoid (unless u want to stop and then they are annoying at best). yes there seem to be a variety of weapons BUT only a hand full of animations. this ones story and all around game play weren't unbearable and it does keep u entertained for a while. just don't expect too much. i wouldn't pay more than $15. buyer beware. P.S. DLC is just as repetitive. Expand
  10. Apr 4, 2012
    5
    First of all, I don't see why this game is so popular. Yes, it has zombies, but don't expect something like Left 4 Dead or any other zombie-related game. It feels and plays very 'Japanese'. The combat is awful, missions are frustrating due to a timer and there are very long and distracting load times. It looks good and the story is okay, but all the potential fun is stripped away by clunkyFirst of all, I don't see why this game is so popular. Yes, it has zombies, but don't expect something like Left 4 Dead or any other zombie-related game. It feels and plays very 'Japanese'. The combat is awful, missions are frustrating due to a timer and there are very long and distracting load times. It looks good and the story is okay, but all the potential fun is stripped away by clunky gameplay and the frustrating timer which will always distract and annoy you. Expand
  11. Jul 26, 2012
    5
    First I am going to talk about what I enjoyed about this game - loads of zombies for you to kill, alternative endings, leveling system, different kinds of exotic weapons and multiplayer mode. Now comes the bad part - as a free roaming game it has a time limit, repetitive missions/ zombie killing, bosses take too long to kill, and story sucked.
  12. Jan 25, 2013
    5
    Dead Rising 2 is an enjoyable but short game that probably won't maintain your interest for very long unless you like the challenge of completing everything by doing multiple playthroughs and going for all the trophies. Playing cooperatively with a friend also makes things more interesting and adds to the games' enjoyment. Most of the game provides an almost relaxing experience as you moveDead Rising 2 is an enjoyable but short game that probably won't maintain your interest for very long unless you like the challenge of completing everything by doing multiple playthroughs and going for all the trophies. Playing cooperatively with a friend also makes things more interesting and adds to the games' enjoyment. Most of the game provides an almost relaxing experience as you move throughout the mall massacring thousands of slow-moving zombies while tranquil elevator-style music plays through the loudspeakers. The somewhat challenging boss fights, especially early in the game, are an exception to this and bring up the intensity a couple notches with heavy rock music as you fight to survive against various comical,deranged psychopaths. To greatly aid you in these battles you are encouraged to make combination weapons from regular weapons like baseball bats and sledgehammers, although only a select handful are worth the effort required to make, despite being fun to use. You can also join in on strip poker mini-games at several points which is a simple yet fun side attraction. The cash you accumulate from poker or from playing slots in the casinos can be used to purchase the keys to the pricey sports car or SUV to run dozens of zombies down as you move from place to place. Overall this is a fun game, just don't set your expectations too high. Expand
  13. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    Now that Off the Record's out, this game is essentially obsolete. I'd advise to anyone tempted to get it to get OTR instead. This is a great game in it's own right, but OTR is simply the better (and cheaper) edition. Buy if you're done with OTR and wish to play through Chuck's (similar) story.
  14. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    Good game. I enjoyed playing it. However, I liked the graphics in DR1 better than DR2. Also, the loading times/saving times are way too long in DR2, which makes me frustrated after a while. It has an interesting story, but if you know how to beat the bosses, it's just too easy.
  15. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    Dead Rising 2

    Game-play:The combat system is nice and all the weapon and combo weapon are great but it is slow very slow and it is also very easy but the bosses ae very hard. Story:The story is simple and nothing special and i hate the time limit you have for every thing. Graphics:The game looks bad but not terrible. Notes:I had fun with this game but i did not like the endings
    Dead Rising 2

    Game-play:The combat system is nice and all the weapon and combo weapon are great but it is slow very slow and it is also very easy but the bosses ae very hard.

    Story:The story is simple and nothing special and i hate the time limit you have for every thing.

    Graphics:The game looks bad but not terrible.

    Notes:I had fun with this game but i did not like the endings all of them and i recommend to get it after a 50% price drop because it is an above average game.
    Expand
  16. May 18, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 80
    Dead Rising 2 is everything the first game should have been. Even though the zombie motif may be overworn, the game hits a perfect blend of horror, gore, mystery and morbid humor – the essence of everything great about the zombie genre. Annoying and bad boss fights bring the final score down, but other than that, Dead Rising 2 gets almost everything right.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    76
    Dead Rising fans - you know who you are - are going to love this game. If you still bust out your copy of the 2006 original, do yourself a favor and pick this up.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    85
    The thing about the Dead Rising series is that it's pretty unique. Killing hordes of zombies with a huge variety of improvised weaponry isn't a genre present anywhere else. It's a great game to just mess around in, picking up random clothing, smashing zombie heads in and fighting away psychopaths.