Dead Rising 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 174
  2. Negative: 34 out of 174
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    I really don't see why people don't like this game. Most of the complaints are about the timer, but it's what makes Dead Rising unique. Dead Rsing 2 builds on the original with the weapon combinations, story and characters and makes the overall experience better.
  2. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    Bags of brainless fun with lots of variety. The main downside, once again, is the time limit factor so you never feel like you can truly explore and go on a balls-to-the-wall adventure. The competitive multiplayer, while sparse, is uniquely entertaining with its own spin on the "Gladiators" TV series.
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite zombie games ever and its for sure in my top 15 favorite games of all time. This game combines all my favourite game types amazingley, Zombie,3rd person,open world, all in one and it has a great sense of humor (Whispers*Bannana hammic). AND multiple endings Good god i went to gamin heaven, OH wait theres more COMBO CARDS. 10
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Well done this is the funnest game I´ve played in my intire life just go buy it ,it has some issues like framarate drops but nothing much important this game is 1010 on fun factor I only wished DR3 would be fun like 2 D:
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    You get a lot of blood and funny moments in this game, what i didn't was the timed gameplay. The weapon mod was the best part but when the super zombies came it gets hard and you need to rush in fear.
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Really don't understand the low score for this game, it's great. If you love zombies then buy it! The only negative thing that i can say about it is the difficulty, because the game is very challenging at times!
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    When I first picked up the original Dead Rising for the Xbox 360 when it first came out I found myself quite elated by the wonderful idea of taking random objects and beating zombies into pulpy bits of rotten flesh and blood while wandering around a mall for 3+ days. Now you could Imagine to my surprise when I found out that Dead Rising 2 was going to be on most "real" consoles (sorry Wii,When I first picked up the original Dead Rising for the Xbox 360 when it first came out I found myself quite elated by the wonderful idea of taking random objects and beating zombies into pulpy bits of rotten flesh and blood while wandering around a mall for 3+ days. Now you could Imagine to my surprise when I found out that Dead Rising 2 was going to be on most "real" consoles (sorry Wii, but any system that makes is primary focus on activeness and makes it difficulty level just flailing your hands around as if to simulate wild seizure style motions, it's not a gaming console its shake weights cousin with down-syndrome) as well to find out that it would also host a multi-player feature I nearly came to the idea **** myself would be the only way to appease god for such a lovely gift he gave to the world. When I finally scraped together the cash to purchase the game I found the Single player to be about the same just with the addition of weapon combos and a slightly sandbox area, Though being the fan that I am of the game I became very content to still be mindlessly hacking away at zombies, escorting survivors, and killing more psychopath than Dexter. It was about the point when I beat single-player that I decided "Hey lets see the other half of the reason I payed $60" only to be completely astonished about how much the Co-op servers was just a digital ghost town. I spent 1 hour trying to connect to other people only to strangely be rejected 4 for unknown reason I finally found someone which finally made me feel like my hour of tireless searching wasn't one of the biggest wastes of time I've experienced in my life, those 2 hours where I got to play DR2 Co-op the way it was intended was the highlight of playing this game but after that single player got stale and Co-op matches got harder and harder to find i hung up my machete and put DR2 back up on the shelf to collect dust. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    This game is better than the first, alot of boss fights and typical hordes of zombies. Although i have to admit it was advertised as taking place in the las vegas strip, it feels alot like the first game with much better graphics. Controls could be tighter, frequent screen tearing, and very stupid a.i. friendliest hinder this game a bit. The game is cheesy, funny, and scary at times makingThis game is better than the first, alot of boss fights and typical hordes of zombies. Although i have to admit it was advertised as taking place in the las vegas strip, it feels alot like the first game with much better graphics. Controls could be tighter, frequent screen tearing, and very stupid a.i. friendliest hinder this game a bit. The game is cheesy, funny, and scary at times making the experience well rounded. Alot of fun kiling zombies with combined weapons is wicked. A must buy for zombie game fans. Expand
  9. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anyone who is a fan of George A. Romero style zombie films will find a lot of the same style in Dead Rising 2. The game has a dark but often funny sense of humor. Being able to go anywhere and do anything in a mall is great fun. Trying on all the different clothes, looting stores for weapons, or just riding a tricycle through hordes of zombies is addictive. There are a few framerate issues, but considering there is nearly always hundreds of zombies on screen the game runs well. Zombie groans mixed with cheery mall music and survivors screaming really adds to the immersive feel of the game. Gameplay is easy to get used to and for the most part works well; although jumps tend to miss at platforming. The combat is repetitive to the point of getting boring if you don't mix up the action with different combo weapons, and combo weapons are a huge draw to what makes the game so interesting. So if you feel like creating a weapon that mimics Wolverineâ Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    8
    Love it, the main fact is fun thats everything you need to know about this franchise, i know the drill about combining weapons and make awesome kill's. I do not think this is the game for everyone, it has some flaws , but it it still great.
  11. May 18, 2011
    9
    Love this Game.. its almost too much fun... its Corny,Cheesy and mindless fun but there is something innately satisfying about using a modified lawn mover, dressed in a man-kini and safari hat, to lay waste to a sea of never ending undead
  12. May 11, 2011
    8
    i loved DR1 on the xbox 360 so i couldnt wait to play the second one nop with CO-OP. well considering the first one came out around 4 years before the second one was released i kinda thought there would be some more improvements to the game . its pretty much the same game as the first with co-op and the ability to combine wepons which is intresting. the co-op feature does make the gamei loved DR1 on the xbox 360 so i couldnt wait to play the second one nop with CO-OP. well considering the first one came out around 4 years before the second one was released i kinda thought there would be some more improvements to the game . its pretty much the same game as the first with co-op and the ability to combine wepons which is intresting. the co-op feature does make the game abit more fun . they've gottin rid of the survivle mode which is a shame . they should have kept it and gotten rid of the whole eating food thing to stay alive and just let you run around and enjoy killing zombies. the game is still on a time limet which i wish was removed and let you move at your own pace and just have some fun. you can still do that pretty much if youi just ignore rescuing people and the other side missions . DR2 is stil a fun game though although not the improved sequel i was hoping for. still if you have a few friends with this game you will have fun goin on a zombie hunt . this series is still far better the left for dead which is just a monotonous kill zombie get to vehicle , rinse and repeat for 3 hours and your done. with 1000's of ways to kill zombies in DR2 you will find some fun in this game. Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    This review is quite late, but I have a logical excuse, I only just joined the Metacritic community, and this is something of a â
  14. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Best. Zombiegame. Ever. Seriously, this is the closest you will ever come to the feeling of a zombie movie. A single zombie is not really dangerous, but the horde is. The passing time and the survivors you have to save give a constant feeling of threat and suspense. Also, you can discover lots and lots of secrets. You will get better in the game and feel this - which is a nice thing in anBest. Zombiegame. Ever. Seriously, this is the closest you will ever come to the feeling of a zombie movie. A single zombie is not really dangerous, but the horde is. The passing time and the survivors you have to save give a constant feeling of threat and suspense. Also, you can discover lots and lots of secrets. You will get better in the game and feel this - which is a nice thing in an age where you will get offered super-easy-mode after dieing twice. Graphics are really great in my opinion.

    If you love zombie movies pick this up. It's a hell of a ride and I had only fun with it.
    Expand
  15. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    i think this is just great fun. if you are looking for a deep story you aren't looking in the right place. although the story isn't bad just pretty straight forward and i had it figured out before the end. i mean this is just good fun. how many ridiulous was can i smash a thousand zombies? what about 5000? or 73,650?? howabout with flaming boxing gloves or fireworks? maybe a wheel chair ori think this is just great fun. if you are looking for a deep story you aren't looking in the right place. although the story isn't bad just pretty straight forward and i had it figured out before the end. i mean this is just good fun. how many ridiulous was can i smash a thousand zombies? what about 5000? or 73,650?? howabout with flaming boxing gloves or fireworks? maybe a wheel chair or a bucket. doesn't matter. and all the people crying about the timed missions, you aren't suppossed to get them all this game is to be played over and over again, i'm on my 4th as of now. slowed down but if i ever need some good zombie smashing i know what to play! yes simlar from the first but just a little bit better in important ways. my one complaint is that you feel way underpowered your first playthrough. if you make it through without doing some online co-op leveling first you are a master because i made it about half way before i had to start over and use my leveled character to finish the whole story. but that play throguh was much more enjoyable, i knew where things were, i knew which people i could get and how to do it. and smashed a ton of zombies in the process. approching level 50 is when you can truely just enjoy the game and all those survivors, forget them if you want, there's a trophy for that! just smash zombies and do the main story to keep it moving and keep the zombies coming! Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2010
    8
    First off, let me state that unless your an ignorant fanboy of Halo or Call of Duty or any other repetitive Franchise game series then there is no possible way you could rate a game like Dead Rising 2 to such extremes like 1/10. There are many features which would appeal to just about any person who: Likes zombies, likes violent humor, clever and funny weapons, mowing down zombies on aFirst off, let me state that unless your an ignorant fanboy of Halo or Call of Duty or any other repetitive Franchise game series then there is no possible way you could rate a game like Dead Rising 2 to such extremes like 1/10. There are many features which would appeal to just about any person who: Likes zombies, likes violent humor, clever and funny weapons, mowing down zombies on a chainsaw-equipped motocross bike, or any of the other fun concepts provided. The game follows Chuck Greene, a former motocross champion who does whatever it takes to get the ultra rare zombie anti-virus drug Zombrex that his infected daughter, Katey, needs daily to prevent turning. When another outbreak is unleashed Chuck must take his daughter to a safe house and, from this new base of operations complete various tasks such as the usual rescue survivors, fight psychopaths, find Zombrex for Katey, and whatever the main mission calls for. Rescuing survivors is relatively easy except when they get too close to your melee swings and turn on you from taking too much accidental damage, effectively failing the mission and forcing you to kill them. This can make it a little frustrating at times but the easiest way to succeed here is to just charge straight for the safe house and keep them following you. Some of the premises for rescuing some suvivors are pretty funny most of the time, like a woman who was trapped in a tanning bed or a death metal band who was so into their music that they didn't realize that their "fans" below the stage were the newly unleashed zombie hoard. Defeating the various psychopaths, or essentially the bosses, is the most difficult task next to finding Zombrex. In all these fights the odds are stacked against you all the time. They consist of a simple cutscene to introduce the nut job and a following fight. They are way faster than Chuck, way stronger, and have some crazy abilities (A guy in a bathroom can teleport around the room using the stalls). They also have an insane amount of health (It took around 10 point-blank shots from a shotgun to kill one guy on a bike). This is where the game focuses on multiple playthroughs even if you haven't finished a game. Yes, you can play halfway though and start a new game with your existing profile and keep all your stuff at the start of the new game. While most consider this stupid or broken it is necessary to beat the human bosses or even stand a chance. The game has a small feeling of Demon's Souls here, as in bosses are very difficult and require multiple replays to gain the edge in battle. The game takes place over 72 hours (3 days until the military arrives to clean up the mess), and in that time Chuck's infected daughter needs a daily dose of Zombrex to stay human. It only needs to be done every 24 hours of in-game time, which tends to fluctuate with real time. Zombrex is nearly impossible to find but can be purchased from pawnshops. The main story missions focus on the uncovering the origins of the new outbreak. Chuck has been framed for releasing the zombies and he has 3 days to get the evidence to clear his name. Like and other RPG or free roam game you have to go to various places, kill certain people, and whatever it requires to complete your mission. Combining weapons is the highlight of DR2 because not only are they awesome and wacky but effective in combat with hoards of undead and give multiplied PP (the games version of XP). These weapons ranged from F***ing awesome to F***ing hilarious, Liek the Boomstick, a shotgun taped to a pitchfork that stabs and shoots a zombie, or The Electric Chair, a car battery wired to a wheelchair that can capture one zombie, constantly electrifying him, charge through crowds of zombies and finally crash and release that sitting zombie who explodes with a chain lightning effect on other zombies. The online play is also quite fun. The mini game mode Terror Is Reality (TIR) offers close to a dozen zombie slaughtering mini games, all of which are very fun and entertaining, and give you prize money which can be transferred to your single player profile. Now onto technicals. The load times are there and they can feel like a minor bug bite on your back at times but you'll survive. Graphics aren't Final Fantasy XIII or Heavy Rain, but considering the shear amount of zombies on screen they do suffice. The facial expressions are very well done though. Not as polished as Heavenly Sword or Uncharted but good enough that their emotions feel real and believable, especially Chuck who has plenty of obvious chemistry with his daughter Katey who always has a sunny disposition despite of her infection or the state of the world. The audio is top notch though. A clever and stylish blend of sunny mall music for free roam and fast-paced metal for intense fight scenes. The voice acting is incredible for this style especially the insanity of the psychos. All in all a very fun game to play, alone or with friends. Expand
  17. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    Definitely a worthy sequel to the first Dead Rising. Very fun and addictive single player mode that could provide fun for hours end. Graphics aren't really top notch on the PS3 and don't look as good as some other PS3 titles but they aren't bad either. The only flaw aside from the long loading times, I've seen in the game is that when the screen is full of zombies you may get a frame rateDefinitely a worthy sequel to the first Dead Rising. Very fun and addictive single player mode that could provide fun for hours end. Graphics aren't really top notch on the PS3 and don't look as good as some other PS3 titles but they aren't bad either. The only flaw aside from the long loading times, I've seen in the game is that when the screen is full of zombies you may get a frame rate drop, however even then this does not happen often. Regardless this is probably one of the better games of 2010. Expand
  18. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Dead Rising 2 is a really fun game to play. It also is really good that you can combine your weapons to make it even more fun to kill zombies. The good thing about this game is that it is based some where different compared to the first one. The game is way better than number 1 because you can do loads more stuff like combining weapons, driving motorbikes and loads of other things. TheDead Rising 2 is a really fun game to play. It also is really good that you can combine your weapons to make it even more fun to kill zombies. The good thing about this game is that it is based some where different compared to the first one. The game is way better than number 1 because you can do loads more stuff like combining weapons, driving motorbikes and loads of other things. The best thing about the game is probably finding things to customize a weapon. The main character in dead rising 2 is better than the first one because you have more zombies to kill. You can also add weapons to a motor bike and a wheel chair which is really good for a game like this. I donâ Expand
  19. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    To put this simply, if you enjoyed Dead Rising 1, you will definitely enjoy this sequel. It gives you some of the best of the first game, like the manic zombie-killing and the neat level-up system, but removes the hassle of trying to time camera shots. The boss battles still aren't the best, but I will say that they improved the usage of guns, so now you aren't fiddling around with theTo put this simply, if you enjoyed Dead Rising 1, you will definitely enjoy this sequel. It gives you some of the best of the first game, like the manic zombie-killing and the neat level-up system, but removes the hassle of trying to time camera shots. The boss battles still aren't the best, but I will say that they improved the usage of guns, so now you aren't fiddling around with the controls trying to shoot a zombie with a shotgun. The gameplay is highly addicting and will keep you up past late hours, something I'm sure the first game also did to you. Also returning is the Overtime Mode, basically letting you play the story past the initial ending to get the real, good ending. If you like zombie games, this game is for you. Expand
  20. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    Not for everyone, that's the least you can say about Dead Rising 2. This game can easily be summarized. If you loved the first game, Dead Rising 2 is instant buy material. If you hate it, don't buy the sequel. For those of you who didn't play the original Dead Rising, I will summarize the game for you.

    Dead Rising 2 starts with a zombie outbreak and it is up to you, Chuck, to find the one
    Not for everyone, that's the least you can say about Dead Rising 2. This game can easily be summarized. If you loved the first game, Dead Rising 2 is instant buy material. If you hate it, don't buy the sequel. For those of you who didn't play the original Dead Rising, I will summarize the game for you.

    Dead Rising 2 starts with a zombie outbreak and it is up to you, Chuck, to find the one who initiated the outbreak and to give your daughter every 24 hours a dose of Zombrex. She has been bitten by a zombie and will turn if you are too late with her daily dose. You have 72 hours (in-game about 6 hours) to do this and between missions you can save people and battle psychopaths to earn PP (Prestige Points). Each rescue or story mission must be completed within a certain time limit. This makes the game pretty hard at first, but by gaining PP and leveling up Chuck will become much stronger. Most people get frustrated by the initial difficulty but this game is meant to be played during multiple playthroughs. It is nearly impossible to do everything during the first playthrough.

    Apart from this, Dead Rising 2 is a fun game with a lot of weapons, a lot of gore and for the first time a co-opmode which adds to the replay value of the game. People who don't like difficult games should rent first, but those who like movies such as Dawn of the Dead should definately give this game a try.
    Expand
  21. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    I purchased my copy of DR 2 the day it came out. Once i began playing it i was immediately attached to the character and his motives. I wanted to see the story go to the end. Sadly the game does not make this easy as you should spend your first play-through ranking up by doing survivor missions and zombie killing because of the extensively difficult boss battles that are only made lessI purchased my copy of DR 2 the day it came out. Once i began playing it i was immediately attached to the character and his motives. I wanted to see the story go to the end. Sadly the game does not make this easy as you should spend your first play-through ranking up by doing survivor missions and zombie killing because of the extensively difficult boss battles that are only made less difficult by ranking. nevertheless the game is still extremely fun to play and offers a wide range of zombie killing techniques and awesome combo weapons to execute them. I love this game and just can't stop playing it. Expand
  22. Oct 1, 2010
    8
    ZOMG Load times!!!11

    People that get caught up in trivial things like this make me laugh. Go play Halo Reach and wait longer to find a match... I know you will. This is a FUN game, bottom line. If you like slaying hundreds of thousands of mindless zombies with TONS of unique weapons, chances are you will have a blast with this game. As with the first DR, going for those achievements
    ZOMG Load times!!!11

    People that get caught up in trivial things like this make me laugh. Go play Halo Reach and wait longer to find a match... I know you will. This is a FUN game, bottom line. If you like slaying hundreds of thousands of mindless zombies with TONS of unique weapons, chances are you will have a blast with this game. As with the first DR, going for those achievements is the next step after trying to get the best possible ending in story mode.

    It's too bad nobody plays multiplayer yet though, I can never find a match :(
    Expand
  23. Oct 1, 2010
    8
    just recieved my copy delivered to me yesterday.
    so far i've only played it for about half an hour, but what time i did invest in it returned to me a completely entertaining experience. i only played the first game of this franchise a couple of times on xbox 360 but i was totally no impressed. it looked bad and played terribly. this sequel is a fine improvement. the things you can use are
    just recieved my copy delivered to me yesterday.
    so far i've only played it for about half an hour, but what time i did invest in it returned to me a completely entertaining experience. i only played the first game of this franchise a couple of times on xbox 360 but i was totally no impressed. it looked bad and played terribly. this sequel is a fine improvement. the things you can use are hilarious and the slaughtering of zombies never gets old. i found their AI pretty smart actually. this game doesnt have a complex or intelligent story. if you want that, please move on. you slaughter zombies in any way possible, using anything you can find, in anyway possible. the object combination feature to create advanced weapons is awesome, as it is hilarious to mow down a handful of zombies which i found to be a delight. there is also the ability to change clothes in any manner. i couldnt get over the delight of butchering zombie with a tomahawk axe in my hand while wearing a tuxedo. how can someone not find that fun ?

    again, theres no complex story. you're stuck in a city filled with thousands of the undead and you need to save your daughter, and a handful of survivors you come across. really great game - it has its flaws as you would expect but they can easily be forgotten over the great things it has to offer. it's bloody, gory and never takes itself seriously. if you're a fan of zombie culture, like zombie games or even just horror movies, then this is a game for you.
    Expand
  24. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    The gameplay was nice, polished, and had enough variance to keep me interested. The weapon combo system is fun, although I can think of a lot of combos that they didn't with the weapons they leave around. The downsides have to do with the awkwardness of some of the combat, with things like zombies suddenly changing position in order to meet the game's single animation for each powerThe gameplay was nice, polished, and had enough variance to keep me interested. The weapon combo system is fun, although I can think of a lot of combos that they didn't with the weapons they leave around. The downsides have to do with the awkwardness of some of the combat, with things like zombies suddenly changing position in order to meet the game's single animation for each power attack, and the dialogue, which is so generic and terrible as to leave you not believing or embracing the characters.

    Overall though, I give it an 8. It will keep me busy and happy for a while to come.
    Expand
  25. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Dead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, somethingDead Rising 2 is an odd game to review. Going strictly on an objective, technical look, I'd give the game an 8/10. There are definitely elements that frustrate, chief among them being frequent load times, the lack of spoken dialogue (especially since what *is* there is so good), and the occasional difficultly spike. It's by no means perfect. However, there is something about it, something intangible, that makes me want to play it more than I want to play games that I'd give a 9 or 9.5 to. I guess it's just a pure sense of fun. DR2 is probably one of the most purely FUN games out there. There's something about it that just makes you want to keep playing late into the night.

    I won't go into too much depth, but here are some highlights:
    GOOD:
    1. Concept.
    2. Visuals (By which I mean styles, colors, general feel of the Vegas-like environment).
    3. Voice Acting (Seriously, even though this is a silly game, the acting has more depth than any of the Resident Evil games, which were going for a serious tone).
    4. Combo Weapons
    5. Chuck Greene (What can I say, he's a total badass)
    6. Humor
    7. The Cast (especially the psychos)
    8. So many secrets to be found.
    9. Just. Plain. Fun.

    BAD:
    1. Frequent Load Times
    2. Visuals (By which I mean textures. I hate looking at people's hands in this game.)
    3. Too little voice acting (so many survivors with interesting personalities are just text)
    4. Difficulty spikes (You never know when a psycho is going to pop out and kick your ass)

    While all those negatives are legitimate complaints, ones which I think need to be smoothed out in future iterations of the series, the fact remains that the game is so fun that I end up not caring about the negatives. 100% recommended.
    Expand
  26. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    I love this game. It is such a rewarding experience and you feel awesome when you accomplish anything. It's actually very addictive as well, I got it this morning but before I knew it, it was 12am. It's obviously been made for the fans of the original, so obviously if you didn't like the first you're not going to like this one. The side quests are alot tougher this time round, especiallyI love this game. It is such a rewarding experience and you feel awesome when you accomplish anything. It's actually very addictive as well, I got it this morning but before I knew it, it was 12am. It's obviously been made for the fans of the original, so obviously if you didn't like the first you're not going to like this one. The side quests are alot tougher this time round, especially the psychopaths. You're going to have a big gun if you're at a lower level and you try and take them on. However, this does make it such a more rewarding experience and keeps the re-playability alive. The AI on the survivors alot better however and you won't find them always screaming for help after having stupidly run into a crowd of zombies.
    The story really drives you forward, storylines are very important to me in a game, which was why I originally liked the first game and this one is no different. Chuck makes me laugh alot, he's not trying to be funny AT ALL but his cool occasional one liners make me laugh out loud and the subtle rock music that played when he's being a badass is cool too. It's such a strange format, in a good way though, the combat and overall game-play is just comedy, but the storyline is very serious. From the outside this might seem weird, but it works really well.
    The multi-player made me laugh alot, its very funny, it's played out like a gameshow and the money you earn from winning can be spent in the single-player.
    I can immediately tell that I'll be playing this one for a while, with the addition of co-op and multiplayer the re-play value is just massive.
    Expand
  27. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    I picked up my game last night.... I didn't go to sleep at all. If you are simply a fan of brainless sugar-coated fun, then buy this game because if all you want is a stressful, twitch-shooter with zombies that run at 60 miles per hour and never let you have fun... then go back to Left 4 Dead and don't say anything about this game.
    This is a true achievement in the videogame community, a
    I picked up my game last night.... I didn't go to sleep at all. If you are simply a fan of brainless sugar-coated fun, then buy this game because if all you want is a stressful, twitch-shooter with zombies that run at 60 miles per hour and never let you have fun... then go back to Left 4 Dead and don't say anything about this game.
    This is a true achievement in the videogame community, a masterpeice on its own merits. You take down swaths of slow-moving undead with anything (literally) that you can pick up. Then you can even combine some of the things you pick up to cause more fun mayhem and bloodshed.
    Before you listen to any naysayer of the game, think of this:
    You can combine a two-by-four with a lawnmower to make a handheld lawnmower that will grind zombies to nothing more than chunky blood soup.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 80
    Dead Rising 2 is everything the first game should have been. Even though the zombie motif may be overworn, the game hits a perfect blend of horror, gore, mystery and morbid humor – the essence of everything great about the zombie genre. Annoying and bad boss fights bring the final score down, but other than that, Dead Rising 2 gets almost everything right.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    76
    Dead Rising fans - you know who you are - are going to love this game. If you still bust out your copy of the 2006 original, do yourself a favor and pick this up.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    85
    The thing about the Dead Rising series is that it's pretty unique. Killing hordes of zombies with a huge variety of improvised weaponry isn't a genre present anywhere else. It's a great game to just mess around in, picking up random clothing, smashing zombie heads in and fighting away psychopaths.