Dead Space 3 PlayStation 3

Dead Space 3 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players take a thrilling ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-upDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players take a thrilling ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    98
    Dead Space 3 is still creepy, but this entry is more action-packed than previous games. That’s a good thing. Isaac’s intuitive new dodge roll makes avoiding the larger nercromorph attacks more manageable.
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Dead Space 3 is no more Survival than Dead Space 2. The game is therefore capable to maintain high the nervous tension and to involve players in an interesting adventure.
  3. 80
    At the end of the day the feeling that remains is that Dead Space 3 is a good game, but not a good Dead Space.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    79
    The environment is continually interesting and involving, the character and enemy designs are highly accomplished, the third-person action is reliable and responsive, and the deep weapon crafting system adds intricacy. But the subtler aspects, the slightly more artistic elements, the more cerebral parts of the production; they take a back seat to the insanity. Hence, the epitome of flash over substance.
  5. 74
    All things considered, Dead Space 3 just isn’t made for those of us craving another horror experience. It’s far less scary and far more shooter-y than the previous games in the series. But for fans of set piece-based action games, Dead Space 3 has a pretty healthy buffet of amazing content. Just don’t spend any money on the microtransactions; EA needs to know that we’re not going to tolerate that sort of crap.
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    A combination of an average shooter (that won’t appeal to shooter fans) and a (tension and atmosphere barren) survival horror game.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    50
    Despite all these issues, Dead Space 3 isn't a bad game—but it's not a particularly good one, either. The focus on co-op, attempts to ditch the horror elements in favor of more mainstream sci-fi shooter aesthetics, and the disjointed, repetitive feeling of the project as a whole prevent it from ever becoming something that pops.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 116
  2. Negative: 18 out of 116
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I am not sure if those that actually play/enjoy the Dead Space franchise are the ones leaving reviews. This game has not lost it's touch toI am not sure if those that actually play/enjoy the Dead Space franchise are the ones leaving reviews. This game has not lost it's touch to the scares and frustrations that the necromorphs cause, and still finds a way to keep the story fresh. It is a double edged sword that Visceral had to deal with, if they change nothing then people complain about the lack of innovation.. they change something, people complain about fixing something that was not broken. The game is solid, keeps you on your toes, good replay value. This is $60 dollars well spent, and I hope people can look past some poor reviews. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    This game is great. I know I'm gonna get lots of replay value out of this. I love the single campaign and I'm going to try the co op next. AllThis game is great. I know I'm gonna get lots of replay value out of this. I love the single campaign and I'm going to try the co op next. All the games are great but I do hope they have a better story line next time. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay so here's the thing: Dead Space 3 was sort of damned from the outset. If you look at the Dead Space series it follows the same pattern as the Alien films: the first is survival horror and acclaimed because of the sense of paranoia and claustrophobia it inspires. The monsters are hideous, the graphics are excellent and the blood and viscera are, well visceral. Dead Space 2 had to widen its scope since Dead Space took place almost entirely on the Ishimura, Dead Space 2 had to up the ante by demonstrating a necromorph outbreak within a human colony (notice the Aliens parallel?). I actually thought DS2 was every bit the equal of DS but it had a more actionized, epic feel. DS3 then HAD to find a new tack...and like Alien 3 it opted more for characterization over action or the type of horror of the original. Alien 3 is coincidently...the least liked chapter of the Alien series (and no, like most self respecting humans I do not include the films which followed) because it tried to have its cake and eat it too. But here again is the thing....I like Alien 3, a lot. I also like Dead Space 3 a lot. Dead Space 3 turned the near silent protagonist of DS and the damaged psyche edition of Isaac featured in DS 2 and gave him depth. Here we get to see Isaac handle the difficult seperation from Ellie while being forced to work with not just her but her jealous, jerk ass new man Norton. Not only is this drama present but oh yeah, Isaac is also the key to saving the entire living galaxy (potentially). Dead Space 3 also introduces a motley cast to aid Isaac and for the first time creates a human villain (a nasty one at that) who is utterly seduced by the markers. Dead Space 3 is also a good deal larger and at least for me, longer than the other 2 entries. I loved the weapon creation and customization engine and the adorable lil' scavenger bots which bravely navigated necromorph infested zones to bring in needed supplies. DS3 also for the first time lets Isaac be an engineer- his weapons are improvised and the creation system is indeed deep. A real bonus is that you have many blueprints available but you're also quite free to BYO. By the way my favorite weapon was one I designed: an acid infused, hard popping pulse rifle with a tremendously damaging rocket launcher (I do love the classics). I also created a scoped auto rifle which fired stasis infused needles and had a huge contact beam underneath to finish enemies with. I loved the side missions which added other tragic characters and fully fleshed out the chaos which occurred long before the events of DS. The graphics are gorgeous and the environs varied- yes the ships do reuse sections and are interchangeable but that's actually pretty realistic- there isn't a good deal of variance amongst ships of similar type and many of those are like the Nostromo in Alien- resource haulers. This being said, DS 3 has its share of flaws. The ice planet is large but also easy to get lost within and maybe its just me but I found navigation a lot more difficult in this game. The game is not for everyone (fans of DS in particular will likely hate it) but if you enjoy a game which offers a much more nuanced and fleshed out approach to its characters, big set pieces, large environments, a lot more bang for your buck storywise and with many sidequests, DS 3 is for you. I haven't written about co-op because I didn't play it (sadly DS 3 was part of my acquisition of the superior Bioshock Infinite) but I do plan on re-purchasing the game at some point to walk a mile in Carver's shoes. The final question therefore is, if Dead Space follows the Alien series on an abstract level (oh it does in many, many ways...which makes Aliens: Colonial Marines all the more disappointing) is it as flawed as the third entry? Happily it is not. If you're expecting DS or DS 2 replay those, but if you want to finally have a story with more of a human element (particularly between Isaac and Ellie) along with all the goodies......DS 3 is a worthy conclusion to an excellent series. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    8
    I've played the trilogy and read a lot of reviews saying that is not a scary video game (where you really playing Dead Space 3?) it got me outI've played the trilogy and read a lot of reviews saying that is not a scary video game (where you really playing Dead Space 3?) it got me out off my sit constantly as the others did, but i do agree on one thing, i think is ridiculous the amount of ammo you get in this video game maybe for many this is the reason why this game is not that scary, but i can tell you that no matter how much ammo you have s almost impossible not to die at least once. This is a must play video game no doubt. No matter what haters say. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    After playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel thatAfter playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel that this game is really too cinematic and action packed. At times I really felt over powered and a bit frustrated considering the pace of the game but thats just how it played out. The story took an unusual turn but I wont spoil anything for anyone that hasn't played it yet. This game was very cinematic in my opinion as I always felt in horror games "dead" silence in corridors was always more tense than an orchestra in the background. To finish up I think there was definitely alot of effort put into this game and it is still fun but sadly the horror aspect of it just isn't there. 7/10 Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    A decent game but fails to surpass it's predecessors. The boss battles were repetitive and boring since they kept using the same moves overA decent game but fails to surpass it's predecessors. The boss battles were repetitive and boring since they kept using the same moves over and over again. The AI is really stupid and the plot was pretty overshadowed by the love triangle thing. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    Not much words about this game. I stopped playing and having hopes on chapter 6, so can't say how it was until ending. But it was not worth toNot much words about this game. I stopped playing and having hopes on chapter 6, so can't say how it was until ending. But it was not worth to try more. Seems EA ruin every game they touch. In DS3 they changed everything good in First 2 games. Atmosphere, weapon crafting and endless pointless unskipable cut scenes are major changes which was enough to ruin whole game. So, rather replay few more times DS1 and DS2 than even try to play that!!! Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.