Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    90
    Even if you don't have a PlayStation Move, you'll get some use out of Extraction with the Dual Shock, as well as a damned good impetus to jump on board with Sony's motion controller.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Bold and inventive. [Issue#203, p.98]
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    88
    Extraction is still pretty fun, and with the improved controls it's the best version.
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    82
    This game is a good port from the Wii version. The gameplay is great, the story is nice and the graphics are pretty. At some moments the gameplay is a bit slow, but besides of that a must have for Dead Space and horror fans.
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Necromoprhs, alien monsters, blood and tons of corpse. Extraction is 100% Dead Space, with a deep gameplay, powerful plot and great graphics. A perfect porting, with a perfect control schema: probably, the best usage of PS Move seen so far.
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    Go and bust some heads and sever some spiky limbs in the name of slightly disturbing entertainment.
  7. Jan 27, 2011
    75
    Dead Space Extraction is fun and the best reason so far to own the PlayStation Move.
  8. Jan 31, 2011
    70
    It may lack the scares of its big brother but this proves an impressively progressive lightgun game that works very well with PlayStation Move.
  9. Despite sophisticated wand-waving, this tires fast. [Apr 2011, p.114]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    Wow. Extraction is by far the best game for the Move that I've played so far. The controls are spot on, and I love how they managed toWow. Extraction is by far the best game for the Move that I've played so far. The controls are spot on, and I love how they managed to created a scheme that worked both with the Move controller on it's own, and also with the navigation controller.

    What's super cool too is that I can have my buddy play on it in 2-player mode with the regular dualshock, since I only have 1 Move controller.

    I love Dead Space, and Extraction was one of my favorites in the series. The story and character development are top notch. That Weller guy is a bad ass! I only wish they could have had online multiplayer, but oh well, this rocks!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2014
    5
    When I started playing Dead Space: Extraction, I wasn't expecting the amount of polish the main series has got, but I was still expecting aWhen I started playing Dead Space: Extraction, I wasn't expecting the amount of polish the main series has got, but I was still expecting a fairly decent game. It certainly starts off promising, with an interesting opening level that promises to tell a thoughtful story that takes place just before the first Dead Space. Indeed, the series sounds like it would work pretty well as an on-rails shooter. After the first level ends with a neat little twist, however, the game quickly became a slog to play through.

    Dead Space: Extraction's biggest flaw is its enemy AI and cookie-cutter design; you'll usually find yourself fighting between two to five Necromorphs at a time, but once they close in, they're all happy to stand next to (or get stuck on) each other, with only one Necromorph willing to attack at a time. Only on rare occasions will you find some enemies with ranged attacks, but when this happens, it's more a pain than interesting variety of enemy placement. At times, the game doesn't know what enemy to focus the camera on, and on more than one occasion I found myself being pummeled by an enemy barely on screen as the camera focused on another enemy patiently standing a few steps away, waiting for me to kill his buddy before attacking. And despite the abundance of Necormorphs in the Dead Space universe, you'll unfortunately only find yourself fighting Slashers and Leapers most of the time.

    Ammo and dismemberment is another big problem in this game - most on-rails shooters rely on their fast pace and shooting enemies as fast as possible, but Extraction does not know what it wants: it's happy to throw a lot of enemies at you but your weapons are slow and designed for severing their limbs than actual crowd-control. If you run low (or out) of ammo, you're stuck with a Rivet Gun, the only weapon with infinite ammo, but with only 7 shots (when fully upgraded) and a slow rate of fire, it's a poor excuse for even a back-up weapon. The bosses in this game were absolutely terrible because of the lack of ammo in the game. If they go on for too long, be prepared to run out of ammo and end up stuck with a weapon that isn't designed for the boss. As a word of advice, make sure to always keep a Pulse Rifle and/or P-Sec Pistol on you for the three bosses (from Chapter 6 onwards).

    Everything here has been simplified compared to the main series - weapon upgrades are now simply notches that don't specify how they've upgraded the gun, and all the text logs have literally been lifted straight from the first Dead Space. The Challenge Mode that comes with the game is just awful; failing to adequately explain how its scoring system works, and with no online leaderboard functionality. Outside of trophies, there is literally no reason to play this uninspired, lackluster extra mode, and the developers that were stuck working on this could have been put to better use elsewhere.

    Aside from this, the game is very easy, with enemies dropping health packs whenever you're low on health; your character will instantly use the health packs when you pick them up, so don't expect any tactics regarding health management here. In fact, what makes this game so tedious to play is that you'll be moving from one area to another, fighting off the many Necormorphs that assail you with whatever weapon you've been lumped with until you either reach the next area or one of your companions start to talk about something and crudely break whatever pace the game has going for it, with no risk of failure ever looming (outside of the aforementioned boss fights, anyway).

    Levels range from ten minutes to half an hour long, and there's only ten of them. While the character interaction is one of the best things about the game, it does break up the pace of the levels (especially on repeat playthroughs) when characters spend several minutes blathering on and on, and the lack of a Restart Checkpoint option baffles me - if you run into a game-stopping glitch (I ran into three during my first playthrough!), you'll have to restart the entire level from the beginning!

    What starts off as a promising game ends up as an extremely tedious, by-the-numbers, almost-no-thrills game to play. It has an interesting enough (if simple) plot, and admittedly there's a sense of enjoyment exploring the Ishimura again before Isaac arrives, but it's just... not fun to play. It certainly has its moments, and it's not all bad - don't get me wrong - but the negatives definitely outweigh the positives, and after completing the game all I could immediately recall were the parts that annoyed and frustrated me the most.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Dead Space: Extraction is a good addition to the Dead Space franchise. During the first four chapters the story lacks and is boring, butDead Space: Extraction is a good addition to the Dead Space franchise. During the first four chapters the story lacks and is boring, but during chapter 5 the game gets more intriguing and fast paced and thats when this game really shines, plus Extraction has some badass boss battles. Extraction is not an ordinary Dead Space, it is an On-Rails-Shooter, which means the game walks for you, all you have to do is shoot. I played Dead Space: Extraction with the DualShock 3, the controls where a bit clunky and hard to learn at first but once you master the gameplay it becomes very fun shooting off the limbs from the Necromorphes. The graphics are better than the original Wii version and it has a full list of trophies even a platinum. The characters are really memorable, especially since Gabe Weller and Lexie are in Dead Space 2: Severed the DLC. This game keeps you on the edge of your seat until the games conclusion. Full Review »