Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    90
    Even if you don't have a PlayStation Move, you'll get some use out of Extraction with the Dual Shock, as well as a damned good impetus to jump on board with Sony's motion controller.
  2. Play UK
    Mar 21, 2011
    88
    Bold and inventive. [Issue#203, p.98]
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    88
    Extraction is still pretty fun, and with the improved controls it's the best version.
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    82
    This game is a good port from the Wii version. The gameplay is great, the story is nice and the graphics are pretty. At some moments the gameplay is a bit slow, but besides of that a must have for Dead Space and horror fans.
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    80
    Necromoprhs, alien monsters, blood and tons of corpse. Extraction is 100% Dead Space, with a deep gameplay, powerful plot and great graphics. A perfect porting, with a perfect control schema: probably, the best usage of PS Move seen so far.
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    80
    Go and bust some heads and sever some spiky limbs in the name of slightly disturbing entertainment.
  7. Jan 27, 2011
    75
    Dead Space Extraction is fun and the best reason so far to own the PlayStation Move.
  8. Jan 31, 2011
    70
    It may lack the scares of its big brother but this proves an impressively progressive lightgun game that works very well with PlayStation Move.
  9. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 24, 2011
    60
    Despite sophisticated wand-waving, this tires fast. [Apr 2011, p.114]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 22, 2015
    8
    Very good game for the move, my opinion may not be worth of attention if you don't possess the PS Move, but if you do, then you know that it'sVery good game for the move, my opinion may not be worth of attention if you don't possess the PS Move, but if you do, then you know that it's taking the dust somewhere and you'll be glad to know that with Dead Space: Extraction you can take it out for an excellent rail shooter with a lot of reference to the first episode and above all the true atmosphere of the Dead Space franchise keeping the dismemberment as the key to vanquish your ennemies, that's also a good thing after I played the third entry, despite a predictable story, the game knows how to create tension and offers about 7-8 hours of fun.
    The only bad thing is that the enemies are too similar.

    But as a PS Move owner and Dead Space lover I'm very satisfied and for both those things I've been waiting a long time, so if you're like me go for it you'll not regret this.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    Wow. Extraction is by far the best game for the Move that I've played so far. The controls are spot on, and I love how they managed toWow. Extraction is by far the best game for the Move that I've played so far. The controls are spot on, and I love how they managed to created a scheme that worked both with the Move controller on it's own, and also with the navigation controller.

    What's super cool too is that I can have my buddy play on it in 2-player mode with the regular dualshock, since I only have 1 Move controller.

    I love Dead Space, and Extraction was one of my favorites in the series. The story and character development are top notch. That Weller guy is a bad ass! I only wish they could have had online multiplayer, but oh well, this rocks!
    Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2015
    5
    Could be a good game - certainly interesting DS1 prequel backstories (far moreso than DS:Ignition) - BUT I'm finding it impossible to get pastCould be a good game - certainly interesting DS1 prequel backstories (far moreso than DS:Ignition) - BUT I'm finding it impossible to get past the 2nd mission using the standard ps3 controller! And if you quit a mission before completing it you're right back to the very start of that mission next time you play only to grind to a halt at the same frustratingly impossible fight next time around. Maybe its playable with a PS3 Move controller (or a PC mouse), maybe even easier Move co-op - but who has a Move controller? Full Review »