Def Jam: Icon PlayStation 3

Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
Buy On
  1. 65
    This one's fun, no doubt about it, and the way the beats bang the environment is a must-see. But its lack of fighting depth definitely keeps it on the casual tip.
  2. If this game still had the previous (or an even deeper) fighting system, a run button, and weapons, it would probably already be a classic. While the visuals are amazing, the game just doesn't deliver as well in the fighting as it should.
  3. EA gets blinded by the bling-bling and forgets to focus on the gameplay, leaving gamers with a painfully basic and shallow fighting game.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    68
    Like the previous Def jams, Icon can't decide what kind of game it wants to be. [Apr 2007, p.88]
  5. It’s strange that EA Chicago responsible for the amazing Fight Night series couldn’t capitalize on the Def Jam series.
  6. 60
    Icon is serviceable, but it’s not something you’ll be spinning in your disc tray for very long.
  7. Too bad the slow-as-molasses combat (and too-savvy computer-controlled opponents) keep this fighter from rivaling classics like "Tekken," "Street Fighter" and "Soul Calibur," but the innovative use of music, as both an aesthetic and a weapon, adds depth.
  8. The move towards the slower paced boxing style of Fight Night was an interesting concept, but everything else in the game screams wrestler. The combination just doesn't work well.
  9. Games Master UK
    56
    A disappointment, especially considering how daft and intoxicating "Fight for New York" was. [Apr 2007, p.72]
  10. games(TM)
    70
    Isn’t it amazing that a game featuring rappers fighting, and one made by EA no less, can be considered one of the most original games so far this generation? [Apr 2007, p.98]
  11. 60
    For anyone who feels like hip-hop is more than the soundtrack to the suburban mall thug experience, the game is really a disservice to a rich culture that involves more than misogyny and violence.
  12. Despite a few different fighting styles, matches tend to play exactly the same way no matter what environment you’re in or who’s doing the fighting. It’s like an album where every song sounds the same.
  13. 67
    Weak fighting moves, a lackluster story mode and inconsistent game mechanics complicate what would otherwise be the evolution of the franchise.
  14. Play Magazine
    65
    There's no way to imagine these fights as anything but someone's absurd rap fantasy that was somehow shoehorned onto a fighting game. [Mar 2007, p.53]
  15. Pure Magazine UK
    60
    Every move seems to take a split second from your button press to its actual execution, which means chaining combos becomes a very taxing endeavour. [Apr 2007, p.52]
  16. Even if you don't own every Ludacris album, watching the rich environments rattle to the music is reason enough to give this a play. Just don't expect much depth from this beat 'em up.
  17. While Icon is the best looking of the Def Jam games, the combat system isn’t quite as entertaining, dropping the previous games’ over-the-top wrestling moves for more straightforward street fighting. It’s not a bad system, but it’s just not as wild and entertaining.
  18. The DJ system is unique and intuitive, the visuals well polished and, even with my rock/punk roots, the soundtrack is a commendable mix of uncensored beats. Nevertheless, the broken fighting mechanics and sluggish pacing are enough to keep this game from reaching true icon status.
  19. Ultimately, there's not enough to do in the game to keep you occupied for very long. The Build a Label mode only offers a maximum of six to seven hours of play, and the bare-bones online mode isn't going to give you much more than that.
  20. 60
    Def Jam's most damaging flaw is the single-mindedness of the combat. Unleash all the punch and kick combos you want, but in very short order it will become obvious that environmental hazards are the only way to take an opponent down.
  21. 70
    If you are a fan of Hip-Hop, and don’t mind the slower pace of the fighting compared to the last Def Jam games then definitely check this one out.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. Jul 13, 2015
    0
    i'll be frank, def jam icon is a flop compare to def jam ps2, i bought this game this game because of the love i had for def jam ps2 but iti'll be frank, def jam icon is a flop compare to def jam ps2, i bought this game this game because of the love i had for def jam ps2 but it totally ruin my love for def jam. Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    1
    Had this one lying in my game collection since 2009 when i bought it for like 10 bucks, back than i already hated the controls, now i pickedHad this one lying in my game collection since 2009 when i bought it for like 10 bucks, back than i already hated the controls, now i picked it up and it hasn't aged well at all, awful controls, awful A.I. Your character just punch and kicks whatever he wants to, remembering their moves is impossible, after i almost broke my controller i stopped the game, removed the disc and snapped it in half. The only thing this disc is good for is to be recycled so i hope that in one day a good game will be stamped on it. Full Review »
  3. GamerP
    Jun 24, 2009
    1
    Why did I give it a 1? Because the graphics are good thats why. Other than that it was by far the worst game I have ever played. From the Why did I give it a 1? Because the graphics are good thats why. Other than that it was by far the worst game I have ever played. From the amazing brilliant FFNY comes this horrible horrible game which really upset me in terms of how bad it was and I actually seriously wanted my money back and the 3 hours i spent 'trying' to give it a chance. The fighting was more limited than a piece of cheese and the A.I was idiotic. ALL my friends agree with me on this one... DON'T waste your time or money! Full Review »