Def Jam Rapstar PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    74
    Basically, Def Jam RapStar is a successful spin-off of the ageing music game genre.
  2. Oct 28, 2010
    74
    If you want to bust out the rhymes of your favorite rap artists, DefJam Rapstar is your only option. By default this makes it the best game of its kind, but that doesn't mean its undeserved. While the package might not be a slick as other music games, the goods comes in the form of its precise rapping.
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    73
    Def Jam Rapstar is the only music game that focuses exclusively on Hip Hop with more than 40 of the greatest Hip Hop songs available. For this reason it's not easy to play like other "karaoke" games. You can use your console camera to record your performances and share them with the fully integrated Def Jam Rapstar community at www.defjamrapstar.com.
  4. Play UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    72
    Rapstar touches the musical bones other games can't reach. [Issue#199, p.98]
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    72
    There isn't much to the game's career mode, but this game will certainly be a sure-fire winner at parties.
  6. Jan 20, 2011
    70
    It has its flaws, but if you like rap or hip-hop, you'll surely have fun, especially in multiplayer.
  7. Dec 29, 2010
    70
    A surprisingly fun karaoke game, with a strong community and good online options. Unfortunately, censorship in many tracks brings down the overall experience.
  8. Dec 13, 2010
    70
    Overall, Def Jam Rapstar is an excellent entry to the rap karaoke genre and goes some way to achieving what fans would have been wanting from the game. With a little bit more fine tuning here and there, Def Jam Rapstar has the potential to be a very serious contender within the music game market.
  9. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    While it may just seem like glorified Karaoke, there is more going on here than meets the eye and a sequel could be even more fun if they polish up the interface.
  10. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    Thanks to Rapstar we now finally have a karaokegame that makes us rap instead of sing. The problem is Rapstar can't decide if its for the hardcore hiphop-fan or the mainstream listener. And why on earth is the foul language edited out?
  11. Dec 13, 2010
    50
    This is a good idea that needs to be retooled before it becomes a staple of the music game genre.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I've been a big fan of rap and hip-hop since high school. I also like Rock (and a little country here and there), but when it comes toI've been a big fan of rap and hip-hop since high school. I also like Rock (and a little country here and there), but when it comes to parties, Hip hop was always the thing. For this reason, I never understood why there wasn't a good hip-hop music game. Frankly, watching people playing Rock games at parties, I always thought that a great Hip-hop game would be a better party fit. Enter Def Jam Rapstar. This is perhaps the most fun party game I've ever played. Hands down. I broke it out at a party this past weekend, and within minutes, the whole room was going nuts. The music in the game is great - and seemed to appeal much better to men and women. But it was the camera component that really had people going. I don't know why, but once people realized that they were on camera, and we could edit the videos and then watch how good (or better put, how bad) we were, it took it to a whole different level. We played the game for hours and couldn't have had a better time - battling, duets....and mostly just making crazy videos.

    And while that was fun, seeing the videos online the following morning was almost better. Friends who weren't with us that night were flat out jealous that they'd missed one of the best nights in recent memory. Maybe this was just our experience, but if what I experienced is any indicator, I think Def Jam Rapstar is going to go down as one of the best party games ever made. I can't wait to play it again.
    Full Review »