Defiance PlayStation 3

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    72
    Defiance is far from perfect. But it gets enough stuff right, that fans of action RPGs should find solace and have a really good time on this sci-fi excursion.
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    71
    Even though we haven't checked the consistency between the game and the TV show, we can say that Defiance, with its ample variety of options, will be a satisfactory experience for any MMO fan. Although this game is not a graphic marvel, if the player base keeps up, it will last for a long while.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 20, 2013
    70
    If Defiance were purely offline you wouldn’t look at it twice. Objects wink out of existence, characters have little weight, and unless you’re in a team the enemies are tough. But it will get under your skin. [June 2013, p74]
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    There is lots to do in this MMO, but the story and graphics could have been better.
  5. 70
    Well worth the base price for players looking to find a great third-person shooter with a good deal of ever-evolving content.
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    65
    Defiance kicks off an engaging science fiction universe along with the series of the same name. The world itself is great, but the game is rather mediocre. The action is fun thanks to a nice variety of weaponry, but repetitive missions, terrible AI and disappointing audio take away from the experience. Nevertheless, Defiance isn't the worst shooter out there - the interested shouldn't keep themselves from applying for duty.
  7. 65
    The successes of Defiance are quickly overshadowed by its flaws. Trion Worlds promises that Defiance will continue to evolve and improve. I hope so: beneath the muck is a game that deserves better.
  8. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Defiance is the B movie of massively multiplayer games: rickety and unrefined, yet a good time all the same.
  9. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    It’s also worth noting Defiance’s death mechanic, which fails to elicit much from the player. You periodically get the ability to revive exactly where you died, but generally you’ll need to "extract," which pulls you just a little bit farther out. Even so, you will rarely revive anywhere that's not in eyeshot of where you just were. In other words, you can always just respawn--and the experience and gold penalty to do so is negligible. It’s too forgiving, and a significant part of what makes Defiance an oftentimes flat and emotionless experience.
  10. Trion Worlds’ game, on the other hand, seems simply to offer yet another big open world filled with weapons to collect and creatures to kill. I won’t deny that I’ve had moments of fun blowing holes in Hellbugs over the last week, but it was of a flavourless variety I could have derived from any number of other third-person shooters.
  11. Apr 17, 2013
    52
    Every MMO I’ve ever played has issues at launch, but Defiance would be just okay even if it were working perfectly. It can't afford hiccups like these.
  12. Play UK
    May 27, 2013
    50
    Ugly and full of bugs, but also quite fun and possessing some good ideas - an interesting start for an MMO. [Issue#231, p.73]
  13. 50
    Defiance is not a bad game, but offers no more than a satisfactory solution to a universe of MMO's where there are heavyweights with better arguments.
  14. You certainly can’t fault Defiance for lack of content, then. Sadly, what you can fault it for is being an ugly, buggy and monotonous shooter with a tenuous link to a mediocre sci-fi TV drama.
  15. Apr 25, 2013
    50
    While it has some minor redeeming qualities Defiance is just too bland and unoriginal to recommend. If you’re done with Borderlands and want more this might interest you, but it’s a step down. A really, really big step down.
  16. Apr 11, 2013
    50
    Defiance is a middle-of-the road third-person shooter that never seems to fully capitalize on its alien-filled, post apocalyptic setting.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Defiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keepsDefiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keeps getting better and better the more you play. People try to nitpick at all of the little things like the lack of a cover system(there is btw its just not static) and the voice chat problems, but the games better qualities far outweigh any issues I've encountered. The gameplay for the game is very solid. In games like borderlands as you trek through the game the enemies are higher level and as you go back to previously explored levels they are too easy because of a lack of dynamic enemy levels, but in Defiance the entire game is balanced. You can travel across the map when ever you feel like it and kill the enemies there too without worrying about getting destroyed by some level 50 robot. There is tons to do also. The map is covered with dynamic events, missions, challenges, etc. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Like any other mmo on it's launch day, it will have some hiccups here and there, I didn't face too many issues, elitists may say this game isLike any other mmo on it's launch day, it will have some hiccups here and there, I didn't face too many issues, elitists may say this game is more like a 7-7.5 in terms of the nitty gritty.

    10/10 for it just being addicting and the most fun I've had on an mmo in a long time! (got bored of wow finally..this is the perfect time killer til some games I have my sights on come out)

    my review may seem vague, but the gameplay/addictiveness is there, it's worth the price tag.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Warning: This game is very addictive! It's like a mixture of Borderlands and World of Warcraft. It is an open world with tons of quests,Warning: This game is very addictive! It's like a mixture of Borderlands and World of Warcraft. It is an open world with tons of quests, events, pvp, and raids. You can "farm" monsters for weapon and weapon mod drops and do quests to earn items. This is the first MMOFPS of it's kind and it's very unique in a few ways. The leveling system and talents you can earn is quite different from your traditional MMO because it an "EGO" number representing your power rather than level 1, 2, 3 etc. There are many different kinds of weapons you can use like: Sniper Rifles, Assault Rifles, Shotguns, Pistols, Grenade Launchers, etc. You can customize your character to be very unique and different from other characters with all of the different options you have. Just last night, I was on a 4-Wheeler (You earn this in a quest soon after beginning the game) with about 10 other players, we were driving through rolling hills, mountains, and mud to reach a raid point where you fought monsters for about 30 minutes. In PVP, I watched from a tower with my handy sniper rifle as I saw about 30 players fighting in the creek below me. Bullets were flying and bodies were dropping, I just sat back and picked off stragglers with my rifle and racked up quite a few kills in the match. I highly recommend this game if you like playing MMO's, FPS, or even just RPG's. It's definately well worth the money and what I find is especially great is that there is no monthly payment! Go get it! Full Review »