User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 134
  2. Negative: 30 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Ever since Fallout 3, I have been looking for a third person, post apocolyptic setting, rpg style game(I know that seems really picky) But then I was told about Defiance and wow it is alot of fun. It feels like Borderlands in third person(Controls remind me of games like Gears of War). There is loot to be found, a variety of guns to be modded, vendors to buy from, vehicles to customize and drive, rescue missions to attempt, friends and clans to join up with and most importantly, hellbugs to destroy. Whether you are a fan of 3rd person shooters or MMORPGs in general, this game has a little bit for everyone and really allows you to play the way you want to (Solo, Co-Op, Stealthy, Gun a blazin). Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Like any other mmo on it's launch day, it will have some hiccups here and there, I didn't face too many issues, elitists may say this game is more like a 7-7.5 in terms of the nitty gritty.

    10/10 for it just being addicting and the most fun I've had on an mmo in a long time! (got bored of wow finally..this is the perfect time killer til some games I have my sights on come out)

    my
    review may seem vague, but the gameplay/addictiveness is there, it's worth the price tag. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Defiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keeps getting better and better the more you play. People try to nitpick at all of the little things like the lack of a cover system(there is btw its just not static) and the voice chat problems, but the games better qualities far outweigh any issues I've encountered. The gameplay for the game is very solid. In games like borderlands as you trek through the game the enemies are higher level and as you go back to previously explored levels they are too easy because of a lack of dynamic enemy levels, but in Defiance the entire game is balanced. You can travel across the map when ever you feel like it and kill the enemies there too without worrying about getting destroyed by some level 50 robot. There is tons to do also. The map is covered with dynamic events, missions, challenges, etc. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Warning: This game is very addictive! It's like a mixture of Borderlands and World of Warcraft. It is an open world with tons of quests, events, pvp, and raids. You can "farm" monsters for weapon and weapon mod drops and do quests to earn items. This is the first MMOFPS of it's kind and it's very unique in a few ways. The leveling system and talents you can earn is quite different from your traditional MMO because it an "EGO" number representing your power rather than level 1, 2, 3 etc. There are many different kinds of weapons you can use like: Sniper Rifles, Assault Rifles, Shotguns, Pistols, Grenade Launchers, etc. You can customize your character to be very unique and different from other characters with all of the different options you have. Just last night, I was on a 4-Wheeler (You earn this in a quest soon after beginning the game) with about 10 other players, we were driving through rolling hills, mountains, and mud to reach a raid point where you fought monsters for about 30 minutes. In PVP, I watched from a tower with my handy sniper rifle as I saw about 30 players fighting in the creek below me. Bullets were flying and bodies were dropping, I just sat back and picked off stragglers with my rifle and racked up quite a few kills in the match. I highly recommend this game if you like playing MMO's, FPS, or even just RPG's. It's definately well worth the money and what I find is especially great is that there is no monthly payment! Go get it! Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Fallout 3 and Borderlands had a baby and that baby we know is Defiance. What is Defiance you ask? Defiance is a MMO (Third person shooter), which is based off syfy channel TV's show Defiance (debuting April 15th). The game takes place far west in America. I will keep this short because not everybody likes long reviews these days. The game is fun, the game map is huge, there are a ton of stuff to do like quests, mini quests, etc. So if you're a fan of the game's Borderlands or Fallout 3, you should love this. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I picked up Defiance for the PS3 and I am AMAZED. I went in with low expectations, and quickly had them blown away. This is the game I have been looking for, for so long. To me it is essentially Fallout 3 Mass Effect Borderlands wrapped into an MMORPG. It is made by the same people who made Rift (which I also played, but this is far better). It has an arguably better UI, and similar inventory (and targeting) mechanics as Borderlands, the feel of Mass Effect 3, and the Mad Max style of Fallout.
    The most important factor to me is the immersion the world feels alive. You start out the game with an ATV you can summon, and you can get other vehicles as well (I'm riding around in a Twisted Metal-looking Dodge Challenger R/T atm :D There are world events (just like Rift) that turn into huge player-driven battles. The quest system works great (similar to Farcry 3, but better you have a main quest and you can pick up other ones randomly around the world). It is just an all-around immersive, and incredibly fun game.

    TL;DR: Defiance is an MMORPG version of Fallout/Borderlands/Mass Effect all wrapped into one. It is a revolutionary step forward in console (and PC) gaming, and is an absolute blast to play.

    Just my 2 cents.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have had the game for a few days and so far it is very enjoyable. There have been a few hiccups along the way, I believe all MMOs start off like this. The gameplay is very cool and it's great you can travel wherever you like straight away without having to unlock parts of the map. I have just fought against a screen filling bug with 50 other players... It was epic and it gives you a score at the end (it judges you on how many hits and kills). I came second which was a shock.
    I highly recommend this game!!
    Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    A must have for Ps3, finally a functioning MMO and a darn good one at that) for the ps3. defiance offers an Open world, grouping with functional voicechat, obsurd variety of weapons and gear( i.g. modifiable weapons, outfits, shield generators) vehicles i.g. ATVs, Challengers, Dune Buggies) to get crazy air or squash hellbugs doing donuts, a variety of missions (i.g. story, Side, Survival, Rescue, Racing, PvP team battles, up to 100 player vs Hellbug wars, abilities and perks, and a whole lot more fun to be had. I'm thoroughly impressed with what they have done and although I'm very preoccupied with the standard game, I'm very much anticipating any additions coming later on. Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Great game, I see so much potential here. Trion really got a lot of love for me after all the new stuff they did with Rift. This actually has a few elements kinda like rift. There are a few hiccups with the launch of any MMO, but it's been surprisingly solid all things considered.
  10. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Defiance is an extremely under rated game this is going to take time to smooth rough edges, but in all honesty this is one of the most addictive games of all time. The content justifies the price tag and for all those interested you must give it a try and do not listen to all these individuals giving the game zeros.
  11. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I don't think I ever put a more addicting game into my ps3 tray! Defiance is the best online game I have ever experienced. My favorite part are the arkfalls which are massive gathering points where an endless amount of players team up against towering bosses for loot. I'm pretty far into this game as well (about 20+ hrs) and I still have yet to experience the entire map/storyline as you can simply get lost in things to do. BUY THIS GAME Expand
  12. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    This game is pretty fun lol graphics not that great but gameplay is pretty cool lots of quest guns and multiplayer is addictive pvp mode is great just cause cod fan boys cant adapt to 3rd person and more strategy I like the weapons to there pretty cool .best ps3 purchace in a while.
  13. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Dont trust reviews based on bad experiences due to some bug and launch problems.
    Launch of course had some issues, but already day 3 game was running smooth and could appreciate full potential of it.
    This is a true MMO, so to truly love it and appreciate you have to invest a good amount of hours, understand all the mechanics and details in game.
    Pve is great, big world with ton of
    activities, well made main mission, huge boss battles with bazillion real players...
    Also dedicated COOP mission up to four player that really are ton of fun. Pvp is also well made and i enjoyed it, especcial shadow war with 64vs 64

    Graphics are a bit toned down due to huge amount of people and big world... but huge monster look actually great, and the light effect are good.
    Weapons are well balanced and good variations.
    Its great to have only 1 charachter that can specialize in all perks and special abilities.

    in the end this game is very addicting and well made, must buy.
    Expand
  14. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    This is a game I did not know about before it stood in the Store. I bought it and after 1 hour I was sold. This game is just AWESOME. Yes, the game have som faults and minor bugs, but for me it is not game breaking. I bought the game to my friend just so we can play it together. He also fell in love with the game right from the start. I will tell everyone to buy this game. LOVE IT!
  15. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    Don't get the whole "terrible graphics" aspect of other reviewers as I thought they looked fine (I don't need Far Cry 3 graphics with short gameplay, but then again i grew up in the 90s with Super Nintendo-N64)

    I thought the game is pretty good overall though. It's definitely got a good story, a whole lot of weapons/items for you to achieve, thousands of quest (from what I see), and
    seems to be like it's worth at least the $40 bucks of the $60 I spent, which you can't say about most games these days.

    The only downside that is just glitches and will be fixed overtime I'm sure are the vehicle physics (i got stuck under a tree log... it was quite funny actually but i had to commit suicide to get out) and that the group system seems broke at times. (Friends will grab the same quest as you in a group and there quest randomly stops working/showing any kind of waypoint.. or in my case I'll go to the NPC I'm supposed to talk to for my quest and it'll work for my friend who didn't even start the quest, but doesn't work for me).

    It's all small minor stuff that hopefully gets fixed.
    Expand
  16. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    pure and simple this is a very good game, people are complaining about little things like it not having AAA game graphics and that the servers sometimes come down, but its like their ignoring the fact this is a MMO, they all have hiccups when they start but once they get going and the DLC and updates come this game will be one of the best MMO's on the market. it has an engaging story and good story missions, allot of them consist of the same general go here then disable this or pick this up, but the game play is very very good and every MMO on the market does this general questing structure, but what sets this apart from the rest is that there is no grinding which i hate about the other games out there like this, this game is also very addictive and does what it can for everyone like pvp,raids and a good single player. Id also say ignore the people going on about it being a borderlands or wow hybrid, yes it has a similar feel and gun play as borderlands, but this is in its own genre of kick ass. 9/10 Expand
  17. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    i had to register an account to give this game its proper kudos. ez 10/10 for me, perfect game all around and i cant wait for the tv show to air its going to make this game even better with all the additional content they plan on adding
  18. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    I've spent few hours and the game is huge so I can write about first impressions.

    If you like rpg but you spent the last 5 month on Black Ops 2 multiplayer this could be a good choice.

    MMO SHOOTER PS3 RPG if you search for all these thing this is the only choice.

    I'll swich to 10 only if will arrive the first person view.
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Cracking game...Wasnt sure what to expect tbh but the more you put in the more you get out. It is a one of a kind in terms on genre so can see it being a bit of a marmite game but if for example you like Borderlands you will love this
  20. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    i love this game alot of action lots new friends that help u when dont need it always see friendly gamer come in help out player struggling in quest the game has few flaw the main character does not talk inventory bit iffy but still give 10 out of 10
  21. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I personally love this game after putting in about 30 hours i still dont want to put this game down. I love the game as its different for a MMO and you will struggle to find a game like it. Defiance is very similar to Borderlands in a way but with 1000's of people playing on a server. Games vehicles are what sticks out for me absolutely awesome and never gets old and has a range of different vehicle types aswell. Guns are also good in game they are accurate and also a large selection of different guns with different effects. Story is better than average for a MMO could be better though. PVP is good, shadow wars are on a large scale which makes it a bit more fast paced. However if you have sniper you basically getting a stupidly high KD as people cloak and shoot constantly which is annoying. Instances are average seem to go on for a long time too long and bosses are a bit rubbish. A major con for this game is the repetitive of quests basically go collect medical supplies go collect data constantly which is a bit annoying but this is what to expect in MMOs. Anyway I gave it a 9 as its Unique and really addictive and would keep you busy for awhile which is most important. Give the game a try you would not be disappointed. Expand
  22. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    I have been playing this game since launch and am thoroughly enjoying every moment, The pvp content is fun and the pve elements can be done solo or with a few friends, Defiance has delivered some fun and addictive gameplay.
  23. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Such an Addicting game!

    Personally, I dont know why so many people rated this game bad. Although there are some problems with the MMO area people need to realize this game still comes with an 18-22 hour campaign. What $60 game can you name that gives you 20hours of game play? And this isnt even counting Ark fall events, random events, Matches, Shadow Wars, & Instances. OH And its being
    developed as an MMO so there are going to be constant updates, patching, Etc. Both Free & Paid.

    Despite what people say this game is very well done, Although there has been Patcher problems and mission bugs with in the game, I've experienced NO LAG, even during Ark fall events where there are 200+ players on my screen and more Hell bugs then I can count. I can see no reason besides being purely impatient that you could rate this game lower then an 8.

    Its something NEW! Us console babys finally get a GREAT MMO! And like any MMO it only needs time to become even better.
    Collapse
  24. May 1, 2013
    10
    I am getting pissed at seeing these 0 ratings, It's a f@%$en MMO so of course it's going to have glitches and stuff. This is one of the funnest games I've ever played and I hate it when people give it a 0 just because they only play for one hour and are too lazy to continue. In order to enjoy this game you actually have to take time and enjoy it, don't rush through and screw it over by saying it sucks. This game is amazing and it's awesome to finally have a MMO that is a great shooter and doesn't have to pay monthly. Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    this is one of the most UNDERRATED games of 2013! i love this game! the fact that it is free on July fifteenth is amazing![ July fifteen or fifth on xbox 360 and PS3. its free on Pc now!] the story is not all that good. but its interesting enough to keep me hooked on. the sound of the game is well done! the early battle music sounds...interesting to say the least. its a mix of Beverly Hills cop meets a weird skrillex baby! the voice acting is really good! the guns sound good so do the explosions. the gameplay is solid thru and thru! i love how many guns there are. its like half of borderlands guns. you got toxic ones and fire ones and there,s special dark matter weapons which look amazing! i have played a total of 70 plus hours and i'm STILL not done with the main story. the side Missions lack more than the main missions. but the best part off the game is the... DUNGEONS!!! there are huge monster boss battles and lots of loot! all in all its a amazing fun action packed game from beginning to end! i would gladly pay full price for this game! there's also a bunch of DLC. its a definite must download for any console or PC owner. i love it! Expand
  26. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    I'd like to start off by saying this game is not for everyone, but I sure loved the hell out of it. Defiance is a MMOTPS, you might be wondering what that is. A MMOTPS is a new genre that has been created with Defiance and stands for Massively Multiplayer Online Third Person Shooter. In Defiance you play as your own character, which can either be a Human or an Irathient (An alien race) and takes place in a post-apocalyptic earth where Alien planets have merged with ours. The graphics in Defiance aren't the greatest, however they are not at all terrible. It's kind of similar to Borderlands' graphics. The music is fantastic and sticks to the theme of a combination of Dubstep and Techno. Sounds great right?
    However, Defiance lacks a good back-story. But that's where the TV Show takes into account. While I don't care for any of the characters in the game, I am emotionally connected to the characters in the show which takes place in a different area to the game. The TV show also does a great job of explaining the backstory a whole lot better too. So I would strongly recommend that you get into the Television series before giving the game a go.
    Expand
  27. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    Defiance is a game that is a companion to the SyFy original series. Objects and Events that can happen in the game can have influence on the TV show and Episodic event in new episodes can impact the game. The weapon system can be related to that of Borderlands. You have weapons with different stats and bonuses that are provided by many manufacturers. This also includes weapons that have origins from the different races in the game/show. The enemy AI is not horrible but not spectacular either. The enemy is smart enough to take cover when needed or run around objects to keep safe. They are not stupid in a fact that they will rush your position carelessly without regard to their safety. Weapons can also be modded to improve their stats for what you need. There are too many combinations and variations to list here.

    The "skill" tree or EGO abilities as it is called here is how you will gain a larger advantage in the game. As you level up you gain EGO which in turn translates into EGO skill points to gain new passive abilities. When you first start out you have 4 Primary activated abilities to choose from. The options are Cloak, Overcharge, Decoy, & Blur. Overcharge is your basic increase damage by a given percentage for a given time buff. Decoy throws out a blue humanoid projection that will distract enemies. Decoy will also run in the direction your are looking and you have the option to trade places (teleport) with the decoy 1 time if you press your EGO skill activation button again while the decoy is still active. Blur increases your running speed and makes your melee attack more powerful on strike while the ability is active. Finally cloak is exactly what it implies, it makes you transparent for a set amount of time.

    There is a co-op game system as well as a PvP (Player-vs-Player) system(s) in Defiance as well. The is benefits to participating in both. They both offer XP when they are completed but can also sometimes reward bonuses based on how well you did compared to other players. Co-op especially will provided bonuses like keycodes which are used to unlock lockboxes. For PvP you have your common game modes but the most interesting one that Defiance brings is Shadow Wars. This is a 64 player vs 64 player match where you have to take control of check points and the longer you control them the more points your team gains. Whichever team to reach the cap wins. It is similar to a conquest gamemodes or domination in other games. You do get to use your gear and load-outs from PvE so there is no PvP based restrictions.

    Defiance also provides a in-game paid currency store that allows people to buy things with "real world" currency. Now don't take this the wrong way, buying "bits" the paid currency does NOT give players a combat advantage over other people. All the store is for is to simply provided new outfits that you cant always acquire in game from quests and achievements, some unique vehicles, change the color of your charge blades, give you different stat boots like for 5-10% more scrip (in game currency), 5-10% more XP, etc.

    The Clan system is a way to stay grouped with friends or people you know. The one aspect that really sticks out to me is the social aspect. The player to player involvement especially when it comes to random people is on the low side which to be honest doesn't bother me. Sometimes you don't want to be bothered and can be annoyed by others. Contacting others for trading and getting together for events still is easy and possible, there just usually isn't much random local chat.

    They way they do grouping for events and quests is great. It is 100% seamless to get involved with others who are on the same objective you are. If you are on a quest and say you are having trouble or it is just taking a while, and someone else accepts the quest, then can come to the same area as you and participate with no effort required on your part. You don't have to talk to the other person, start a group, or even be at the same progression point in order to work together, it's great. This feature also comes in handy for Ark-Falls which are world events that ANYONE can help out with to gain more loot and compete with other players for the number 1 rank spot for that event. Some ark-falls are small with one event, others having a multiple events leading to major boss battle like a Hellbug mother, they are all great fun.

    Overall it is a good game that is getting better with age, Trion Worlds adds more content, fixes bugs, and next year, more events relating to new Defiance episodes. I play the PS3 version which I hear has the most problems but works well for me. I have some object draw issues from time to time and lag here and there but its still more than playable. I really recommend this game for people who like third person shooters and MMOs. Another good reason is if you love consistency but don't like to be on a leash and want to do what you want when you want then Defiance may be for you.
    Expand
  28. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    This game has a very bad reputation for being broken. This is however, not true. There are some patch download issues and yes, it does take a long time to install. Just know that it is completely worth it. If you watch the tv show than you will experience even more with this game. If you don't, this is a good way to get introduced in the world of Defiance. It is a third person, action RPG with MMO elements. Players around the world can take on Ark falls together. This game also has a competitive multiplier mode but this is probably the least interesting part of the game. The co-op mode is awesome. Give this game a chance. Expand
  29. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    i really dont know what your prob with the game is it fun great and it more then fun and i havent had one bug or prob with the game so why dont you all fix your **** and stop ****
  30. Apr 26, 2013
    0
    Such an Addicting game!

    Personally, I dont know why so many people rated this game bad. Although there are some problems with the MMO area people need to realize this game still comes with an 18-22 hour campaign. What $60 game can you name that gives you 20hours of game play? And this isnt even counting Ark fall events, random events, Matches, Shadow Wars, & Instances. OH And its being
    developed as an MMO so there are going to be constant updates, patching, Etc. Both Free & Paid.

    Despite what people say this game is very well done, Although there has been Patcher problems and mission bugs with in the game, I've experienced NO LAG, even during Ark fall events where there are 200+ players on my screen and more Hell bugs then I can count. I can see no reason besides being purely impatient that you could rate this game lower then an 8.

    Its something NEW! Us console babys finally get a GREAT MMO! And like any MMO it only needs time to become even better.
    Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. The moronic AI is not the only thing which takes us back to the good old days of the PlayStation 2. Defiance looks horrible with its blurry textures, wooden animations and an all-devouring grey mist that swallows up the horizon. [May 2013, p.82]
  2. May 27, 2013
    50
    Ugly and full of bugs, but also quite fun and possessing some good ideas - an interesting start for an MMO. [Issue#231, p.73]
  3. If Defiance were purely offline you wouldn’t look at it twice. Objects wink out of existence, characters have little weight, and unless you’re in a team the enemies are tough. But it will get under your skin. [June 2013, p74]