User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 121
  2. Negative: 23 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2012
    9
    Disgaea 4 is the best entry to the series since the original PS2 title. It has a perfect blend of different elements from the past three titles and other NIS hits. Combine that with a humerous plot, great characters and loads of content and you have yourself one of the best games on PS3.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Disgaea 4 will never make sense to someone unfamiliar with the history of the series. So therefore if you fall into this category I suggest you look elsewhere. For fans of the genre and the series, however, this is the day you've been waiting for. A true tour de force, delivering all we have ever wanted and more in the neat contents of a blu - ray disk. Plot, visuals, game play and comedy.Disgaea 4 will never make sense to someone unfamiliar with the history of the series. So therefore if you fall into this category I suggest you look elsewhere. For fans of the genre and the series, however, this is the day you've been waiting for. A true tour de force, delivering all we have ever wanted and more in the neat contents of a blu - ray disk. Plot, visuals, game play and comedy. It has it all, and then some. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    A good Jrpg tactic just what we need when there are barely any other games of its type, if you feel nostalgia for the days of JRPGS in ps2, ps1 and SNES get this
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    the best disgaea ever made the graphics have improved and the development too.. of course we will have that idot things of the serie but it's this things that makes disgaea what it is
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    A ten? yes a ten.. but not an undeserved one. This is definitely the best entry in the series and the dev team has pulled out all the stops. I have played the entire series and know its faults and strengths and they really outdid themselves. The music is top notch, extremely memorable with a lot of new tracks as well as the inclusion of many beloved classics from earlier titles. TheA ten? yes a ten.. but not an undeserved one. This is definitely the best entry in the series and the dev team has pulled out all the stops. I have played the entire series and know its faults and strengths and they really outdid themselves. The music is top notch, extremely memorable with a lot of new tracks as well as the inclusion of many beloved classics from earlier titles. The game has a new crisp sprite as well as the ability to change the graphics back to the old style so you can get the classic disgaea visual experience if you want. The balance has been worked on and you can now expect some challenge from the base game instead of special combo blitzing your enemies. The dialogue has real heart and the humor is top notch, expect to be grinning like an idiot at the very least as you play! If not laughing out loud at some of the better jokes. The English voice acting is the best I can say I have heard from any game! And I said that about disgaea 3 also. The disgaea series is one of the few I can safely say has better voice acting than the Japanese originals, and that's coming from a Japanese anime fan!

    This game is just perfect.. its got a simple learning curve for newcomers, a great tutorial and I could not recommend it any more to old fans and newcomers to the genre alike, as well as anime fans! (you will find lots of in jokes and references from anime and video games in there too, flawlessly delivered.)
    Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Such a great game, far better than the previous chapters. Disgaea 4 has new, high definition sprites, a revised gameplay, more depth and great value since you could easily play it for hundreds of hours. Definitely the best srpg on ps3 along with Valkyria Chronicles.
    This new entry of Disgaea is bringing so much new contents while keeping the same good old gameplay for fans of the saga.
    Such a great game, far better than the previous chapters. Disgaea 4 has new, high definition sprites, a revised gameplay, more depth and great value since you could easily play it for hundreds of hours. Definitely the best srpg on ps3 along with Valkyria Chronicles.
    This new entry of Disgaea is bringing so much new contents while keeping the same good old gameplay for fans of the saga. Like any Disgaea, you get to clear the main story in 40 to 50 hours and then add hundreds of hours in it for the side-story if you're up for the challenge. There's some new gameplay mechanic, upgraded characters' sprites and yet another good story. This should be a must for fans of the saga and srpg fans.
    Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    The most badass strategy RPG of all time comes back! The game boasts new HD graphics, new features such as the Cam-Pain room, torturing enemies, and online features. The main-game will have you log in about 50 hours in the game, and that's just barely scratching the surface to the amount of depth in this game. The voice-overs are great as usual, and the game includes the original JapaneseThe most badass strategy RPG of all time comes back! The game boasts new HD graphics, new features such as the Cam-Pain room, torturing enemies, and online features. The main-game will have you log in about 50 hours in the game, and that's just barely scratching the surface to the amount of depth in this game. The voice-overs are great as usual, and the game includes the original Japanese dub if you prefer that. My only gripe would be the story, since it feels like nothing happened really. All-in all though, one of the must-buys for any RPG fan. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    I am a Disgaea fanatic, and thus I'm incredibly picky when it comes to each game. That said, I can safely say this one is the BEST of the series. I've played it for 130 hours now, and I'm not even close to done with all the excellent bonus content, new characters, absurd weapons, or giant prinnies. The graphics are HD now and look fantastic, the special moves are ridiculous and fun toI am a Disgaea fanatic, and thus I'm incredibly picky when it comes to each game. That said, I can safely say this one is the BEST of the series. I've played it for 130 hours now, and I'm not even close to done with all the excellent bonus content, new characters, absurd weapons, or giant prinnies. The graphics are HD now and look fantastic, the special moves are ridiculous and fun to watch, and the music is top notch. And if you've never played a Disgaea game before, no worries! You can jump right into this game and not have to know a thing about how to play or previous storylines. The tutorials were informative without being annoying, and the new plot is by far my favorite. Valvatorez is hilarious! So if you want an SRPG to scratch that itch, Disgaea 4 is an investment that will pay off. Expand
  9. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    After the godawful writing that plagued Disgaea 3, this is a welcome return to form. This one has far fewer characters you want to bludgeon to death, and some pretty witty writing. Gameplay is similar to previous installments, with some refinements and very upgraded graphics. Oh, and you can fuse two prinnies into a giant prinny. So what's not to love about that? This is aimed entirely atAfter the godawful writing that plagued Disgaea 3, this is a welcome return to form. This one has far fewer characters you want to bludgeon to death, and some pretty witty writing. Gameplay is similar to previous installments, with some refinements and very upgraded graphics. Oh, and you can fuse two prinnies into a giant prinny. So what's not to love about that? This is aimed entirely at fans of the genre, and those fans will go away happy. ps - Ignore Merrill4Life, he's a known Bioware shill and only exists to try and prop up the failure that is Dragon Age 2. Expand
  10. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    This game is very similar to previous entries in the series. Like most Japanese developers NIS doesn't like to take too many risks. There are a couple of rough edges but overall the same game experience and slightly upgraded graphics still make for a fun romp.
  11. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    This is by far my favorite game series of all time. I've invested so many hundreds of hours into it it's ridiculous. Disgaea 4 is a fantastic entry. I feel it's much stronger than Disgaea 3 story wise and gameply is also better. Being able to make your own maps is just plain awesome. The graphic improvement is great. The battle animations are absurdly over the top and completelyThis is by far my favorite game series of all time. I've invested so many hundreds of hours into it it's ridiculous. Disgaea 4 is a fantastic entry. I feel it's much stronger than Disgaea 3 story wise and gameply is also better. Being able to make your own maps is just plain awesome. The graphic improvement is great. The battle animations are absurdly over the top and completely awesome (though you'll end up turning them off while grinding). The only downside IMO is that there are so many different ways to make your character completely OP that it can be overwhelming trying to figure out the best way to max everything. I sometimes wish for the relative simplicity of Disgaea 1. However, this is a very minor quibble as there is certainly no mandate that everything be maxed to complete everything there is in the game.

    Also, don't waste your time with the official Brady guide. It's nearly worthless and doesn't do anything to explain any of the more complex aspects of the game (isn't that the point of buying a game guide?)
    Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    i have played disgaea 3 and didn't like it too much so i played this game not expecting to much. but i'm happy to say the game is much better. the gameplay is great, the graphics are are awesome, as well as the story. the best part is the length i've played for about fifty hours already and i haven't gotten tired of playing yet.
  13. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    this was my most wanted game this year and it did not disappoint. a very entertaining story about a fallen vampire who was once a great tyrant is now reduced to a prinny trainer but takes great pride in it and keeping his promises . disgaea is well known for its humor and goofiness and D4 carries that on very well. NIS also keeps evolving the series by adding new stuff . the story took methis was my most wanted game this year and it did not disappoint. a very entertaining story about a fallen vampire who was once a great tyrant is now reduced to a prinny trainer but takes great pride in it and keeping his promises . disgaea is well known for its humor and goofiness and D4 carries that on very well. NIS also keeps evolving the series by adding new stuff . the story took me about 35 hours to finish then you have 100s of hours of the post game to play which im only 20 hours in to so far. you also have reason to run through it again for different endings . you can also now build you own pirate ship and crew and have them invade or support other players. the class world has now been changed to the chara world . i dont know why the name change . it also plays abit differnt then the prevous one with the floor falling out beneath you. the item worls was also revamped with now branching paths every 5 levels that will eather focus on leveling your item or innocents . the graphics are also very nicely updated to HD sprites and look great. D4 fires on all cylinders and is the game i was hoping for , For disgaea fans this is a no brainer and is a must buy . Expand
  14. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Such a great game, far better than the previous chapters. Disgaea 4 has new, high definition sprites, a revised gameplay, more depth and great value since you could easily play it for hundreds of hours. Definitely the best srpg on ps3 along with Valkyria Chronicles.
  15. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Whats with all the Hating on this game? Xbots Jealous that they dont have a decent RPG? Grow up!

    Disgaea 4 is definatley a milestone in the dosgaea series, the 2D HD art is spectular! The old school still remains with a awesome HD makeover! Seriously you get 300 hours PLUS with this game, this game is the one of the best Disgaea game yet! Comes with JP/ENG voice work, both are very well
    Whats with all the Hating on this game? Xbots Jealous that they dont have a decent RPG? Grow up!

    Disgaea 4 is definatley a milestone in the dosgaea series, the 2D HD art is spectular! The old school still remains with a awesome HD makeover! Seriously you get 300 hours PLUS with this game, this game is the one of the best Disgaea game yet! Comes with JP/ENG voice work, both are very well done! The story is ridiculous as always, but the gameplay is where Disgaea 4 shines! Crazy Numbers, Crazy Special Moves, Crazy Leveling, yes any character can be leveled up to 9999, its a game with endless replay value, pick it up NOW RPG FANS!
    Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    ok this is definilly the best entry in the disgaea series ever made by NIS
    whit one of the most change in graphics i ever seen in a videogame,disgaea 4 comes up whit the same formula that never gonna pass away:more than 300 hour of gameplay.solid gameplay,good voices for englighs,very great history and humour on it. its probably the best game of september
  17. Sep 6, 2011
    0
    ok this is definilly the best entry in the disgaea series ever made by NIS
    whit one of the most change in graphics i ever seen in a videogame,disgaea 4 comes up whit the same formula that never gonna pass away:more than 300 hour of gameplay.solid gameplay,good voices for englighs,very great history and humour on it. its probably the best game of september
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    79
    The odd-ball humour is as feisty as ever. [Feb 2012, p.107]
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    79
    Same old rock hard Disgaea gameplay that's still as inaccessible as ever. [Feb 2012, p.100]
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    There's a serious case to be made that Disgaea has never been better. [Issue#117, p.124]