User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 650 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 650

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    3
    I'm struggling understanding the love for this game. I wanted to love it, really I did. But the controls are poor, the story line is not very good, and the options bethesda gives the gamer in conversations are a joke. On that subject, after choosing to progress (after answering a ridiculously stupid question i.e. would you like to go back to prison?) the screen just goes black and leads into the next chapter, there's no traveling, there's no cinematic, there's just a loading screen. Also the graphics are poor. Beer just looks like jello in a glass for example, and the textures are not very good as well (characters arms will go through their sheathed weapons). As I said, I wanted to love this game, and though the gameplay itself can be quite fun after getting past the many annoyances, I will certainly be trading my Dishonored in towards Assassins Creed 3, as it will CERTAINLY be a better game, in fact, Assassins Creed 1 was better. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    I sadly thought this game was going to be unique and a major change in the industries but I was wrong. The trailers were misleading along with countless reviews. The game has many fine aspects and ideas but all are horribly used. At the beginning the game seems interesting and exciting, but shortly after it feels like you have done everything before and the missions get repetitive. It also feels as if a large part of the game was missing, content wise. Their were limited weapons and abilities. Also the stealth aspect was poorly done which lead to alot of problems and very many of the characters seemed uninteresting. The story was also quite short and very predictable after about the third mission. Also their was no real need for strategies, But when you used strategie it was time consuming and easily destroyed by countless bugs and a poorly made rating system called "The Chaos metre" which counted the times you were seen, the number killed or left unconscious was also poorly executed. Finally the graphics and the rendering system in place were absolute terrible, it's 2012, not 2008. Many times when rotating around I was met with quite a fair bit of lag on a machine meant to handle resource hogging games, but apparently the devs never got the memo on efficiently rendering and good graphics and little ol'e textures. In all honesty this game had some great ideas but failed to execute them properly and was followed by a dull story. I will give this game a 4 for the slight enjoyment I had. So all in all, rent the game Collapse
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    4
    Ok, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo. It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers on originality and potential. Trouble is, the game doles out information in a decidedly non-engrossing fashion and the first hour or so is just an on-the-rails game of hit-all-the-steampunk/fantasy-setting-tropes. The TF2, exaggerated art style is cool, but I can't help but feel that a more realistic look would benefit an urban game of gritty, moralistic conflicts. The stealth (like most FPS that try to incorporate it) can be fairly hit-or-miss and though you can blast your way through from hell to a whalemeat breakfast, the game suggests fairly heavily that the most virtuous path through it is a non-violent one. Not to mention that more than 3/4 of the unlockable powers are all used for killing or facilitating killing, meaning that you're going to waste a lot of runes if you want to go the no-kill route. The combat is simplistic but can be punishing early on and there are a few cool synergies between your powers and your weapons, but good luck to you if you think the game is going to prompt you much in that regard. There is a definite emphasis on "choose-your-own-path" at work but the narrative (and the assassinations involved in it) is broken down into discreet levels and you are graded and given the option to replay each one upon completion, so say goodbye to a fully immersive, open world experience. In a nutshell, the game is best described as a "steampunk Deus Ex" and yes, that would be Square Enix's recent "re-imagining" of Deus Ex, with all the connotations that entails. It's a competent action game with an interesting backdrop, but nothing that you'll be talking about 6 months from now. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    4
    i played this game for a hour and was not compelled to move any further. This was a absolute disappointment for a fan of games in the vein of Deus ex with horrible cliched characters and plot + clunky unresponsive controls. The problems listed above are not even the worst problem that is reserved for the false morality system which punishes the player for playing non-stealthy with more guards, rats, and a terrible "dark" ending. Bottom line for a game that promised freedom in combat and level design it completely misses and shows what type of a game is produced through too much hype and high, over rated critic reviews. 4/10 Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    I'm so glad a friend let me download this free from his library. This game is dull and boring. Could not get into the story to save my life. Further more i didn't even finish the game. I don't understand the hype behind this stupid game.
  7. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    Bethesda has never been one to be known for there excellent sneaking systems and this felt like they were trying to improve on their popular series with increased stealth options and ended up making an entire game to develop it and still failed. The games style/atmosphere tries to stray into steampunk and misses the mark. Music is highly forgettable, colors are washed together, the story is shoddy, bad controls, laggy, and none of the characters stand apart since most of the models looked extremely similar. Do not purchase. Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2012
    4
    There is so much promise in this game. Atmosphere is fantastic, controls are great but it was built as a stealth game and, geezzzz, there is no way to play through it with stealth unless you want to have no fun. The stealth component is tedious. You can't hide in the shadows, there's no safe place for you. Yet the game punishes you for killing and yet that's the most entertaining part. What a disappointment in my mind from a game that has so much going for it. Also, the hero, Corvo, has no voice/personality so it's really hard to be drawn to him. Bethesda went all out on atmosphere but fell short on finding a true identity as to how gamers should get through this. Go through a couple missions, you'll realize you have to kill to progress, unless you have the patience of a saint, and the game will punish you for that. If you have the patience to kill no one in a video game, and yet you can't hide in the shadows, well, bless you! Expand
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This is possibly one of the worst games I've ever played. The graphics are not up to par with other titles that came out around the same time, the voice acting is horrid and the story is lame. It isn't made obvious that your choices influence the game in any way, shape or form until the end. Why anyone thought this game was good is beyond me.
  10. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I sadly thought this game was going to be unique and a major change in the industries but I was wrong. The trailers were misleading along with countless reviews. The game has many fine aspects and ideas but all are horribly used. At the beginning the game seems interesting and exciting, but shortly after it feels like you have done everything before and the missions get repetitive. It also feels as if a large part of the game was missing, content wise. Their were limited weapons and abilities. Also the stealth aspect was poorly done which lead to alot of problems and very many of the characters seemed uninteresting. The story was also quite short and very predictable after about the third mission. Also their was no real need for strategies, But when you used strategie it was time consuming and easily destroyed by countless bugs and a poorly made rating system called "The Chaos metre" which counted the times you were seen, the number killed or left unconscious was also poorly executed. Finally the graphics and the rendering system in place were absolute terrible, it's 2012, not 2008. Many times when rotating around I was met with quite a fair bit of lag on a machine meant to handle resource hogging games, but apparently the devs never got the memo on efficiently rendering and good graphics and little ol'e textures. In all honesty this game had some great ideas but failed to execute them properly and was followed by a dull story. I will give this game a 4 for the slight enjoyment I had. So all in all, rent the game Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.