Dishonored PlayStation 3

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 771 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 771
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    For everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable andFor everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable and aesthetic, but entirely non-interactive save for the breakaway tables and glasses copy/pasted from area to area, which drags my immersion back to the shallows, at times. Combat is reliable, but one-dimensional - a blow either connects or it doesn't, with no variability of result quality or magnitude. These simplicities, I imagine, allow for the stalk-'n'-sock, custom-built kills to function reliably (and they do). However, though it may be fun to find new combinations of talents for your kills, the novelty wears off incredibly fast, leaving me feeling like some of the main selling points for the game are gimmicks, at best. I finished the initial playthrough, but don't have the motivation to put in the time and effort for the quality retry/replay attempts at a perfect game. Much of the story is told through submenu databanks, so perhaps I might revisit those and let myself deeper into the story, at some point. However, overall, this felt like BioShock 1 was reskinned for a Metal Gear Solid Mode set in the London of Alice: Madness Returns. I recommend picking it up as the price comes down. It's a good game and you'll enjoy the experience, but it will feel dated either way and there's nothing new or innovative enough to enjoy at full price; bland is bland regardless of freshness. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Buy this game! The game is worth the full 59.99 price! Beautiful graphics. Multiple ways to finish a mission. Choices that you must make change the experience you have!
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am in love with this game. It's soooo beautiful and the world is so well made. I love exploring the levels and finding everything it has to offer. I am playing a full stealth game and it's so intense and fun. If I get caught I consider it a failure and reload I haven't had this much fun in a game since Deus Ex: Human Revolution!
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Put Metal Gear Solid, Skyrim, and Bioshock in a blender and you get this game. Its really fun and has a million side quests that you feel compelled to do because the story is so great. I also enjoyed the fact there are mulitple ways to achieve your goal for every situation. The AI seems mentally challenged at times but other than that good game. Wish there was an addition of a SolitonPut Metal Gear Solid, Skyrim, and Bioshock in a blender and you get this game. Its really fun and has a million side quests that you feel compelled to do because the story is so great. I also enjoyed the fact there are mulitple ways to achieve your goal for every situation. The AI seems mentally challenged at times but other than that good game. Wish there was an addition of a Soliton radar or something though. 8/10 Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    6
    I wanted to love this game I really did, but it just didnt suprise me at all I found it unintresting. With that said I also wanna say this game is in no way a "bad game" its just a game that struggled to grab my attention. I felt the graphics were just weird and Im not one to complain about graphics but they were just funky. The gameplay to me was not a lot of fun I felt so cheated when II wanted to love this game I really did, but it just didnt suprise me at all I found it unintresting. With that said I also wanna say this game is in no way a "bad game" its just a game that struggled to grab my attention. I felt the graphics were just weird and Im not one to complain about graphics but they were just funky. The gameplay to me was not a lot of fun I felt so cheated when I got my weapons I just disliked them. The stealth aspect of the game is honestly bad If you want stealth stick to metal gear or splinter cell. Now I also want to address the Bioshock vs. Dishonored dilema In no way should these games be compared they are two diffrent games but with that said there have been six bioshocks counting system shock games Dishonored does not touch that franchisebut overall the game is ok but has a lot of personal annoying flaws Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    "Dishonored" is a hell of an experience. Although it is a very short game that can be beaten in under 10 hours or so, the game has a TON of re-playability and has numerous ways in which its missions can be beaten. You can kill upwards of 150 men throughout the game, or you can go through the entirety of the game without being seen or killing anyone. All of this is at the player's"Dishonored" is a hell of an experience. Although it is a very short game that can be beaten in under 10 hours or so, the game has a TON of re-playability and has numerous ways in which its missions can be beaten. You can kill upwards of 150 men throughout the game, or you can go through the entirety of the game without being seen or killing anyone. All of this is at the player's discretion and gives the player a lot of liberty in going about their business while being immersed in a very cool, dystopian atmosphere.

    This game requires a lot of thinking and isn't easily accessible for those who like to run-and-gun. While you can always try to stay out in the open, run through the levels and take on all foes that get in your way, you probably aren't going to have much luck in doing so unless you have a large amount of power-ups or ammo. And, even then, you're going to find that isn't going to be the best way of going about things because getting detected will bring a LOT of attention your way, and it is definitely tough to get out of these situations when being approached by enemies from many different angles.

    Stealth is definitely encouraged, though not required. If you struggle in stealth games (kind of like me), you're going to find this game to be a bit frustrating. You are going to find that it is better to take on opponents one-by-one instead of taking on 5 at once (unless you have a bunch of pistol or crossbow ammo, in which case you have a better chance). The crossbow and pistol are definitely very helpful in your quest, though. The crossbows allow you to take enemies out from a distance without letting others in the area (immediately) catch on to your whereabouts. The pistol, on the other hand, is very helpful when you need to get out of a bad situation in which you've been spotted. It allows you to knock enemies back and take them out with your sword (if they aren't killed on the first shot) with relative ease. Ammo goes quickly, though, so use it wisely as you move forward (if you aren't going for total stealth trophies, that is). The sword combat is good, but should probably be used as a last resort. Taking on many enemies at once when you only have your sword is probably going to get you killed.

    Blink will immediately become your best friend. While it is a bit frustrating to control at times (sometimes you have trouble locking on to the point you want to reach), it becomes a necessary part as you move forward, whether you are focusing more on combat or stealth. Blink will get you onto ledges that you wouldn't normally be able to access. It is critical to use Blink, whether you are scoping out an area to plan an efficient attack or are trying to stay in the shadows to finish the game as stealthily as possible. You are going to be using Blink a lot to help you out and, for the most part, it works out pretty well. Also, saving often is very much encouraged, as well. You can save right in a certain spot so you don't have to work from a certain checkpoint if you mess up. Instead, you start right at the place where you save. This is HUGE, especially when one false movement can end your chance at earning some of the stealth trophies/achievements.

    As for the story, it's pretty good but definitely not the strong point of the game, in my opinion. I think a lot of my criticism pertaining to the presentation of the story stems from the fact that the main character, Corvo, never speaks outside of exclamations of pain. I felt some character development on his end as you went through the game definitely would've helped create a larger attachment to the storyline. Instead, we just take a first person perspective where everyone just talks at him instead of to him, so it's a bit hard to say how Corvo feels while going about his business and makes it a little bit harder to get attached to the storyline. Anyway, it's just a small gripe, and it really doesn't set back the experience as a whole, which you will probably find very enjoyable, no matter how you play it. The story definitely makes you want to eliminate your key targets and restore your once good image by any means necessary.

    All in all, I would recommend "Dishonored" to any fan of stealth games and anyone who doesn't get easily discouraged by a challenge. This game will definitely test your instincts, as will any good stealth game, while adding some nice innovations through supernatural abilities that will help you out along the way. "Dishonored" is a very engrossing gameplay experience that is well worth the money you pay for it.
    Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    Bethesda has never been one to be known for there excellent sneaking systems and this felt like they were trying to improve on their popular series with increased stealth options and ended up making an entire game to develop it and still failed. The games style/atmosphere tries to stray into steampunk and misses the mark. Music is highly forgettable, colors are washed together, the storyBethesda has never been one to be known for there excellent sneaking systems and this felt like they were trying to improve on their popular series with increased stealth options and ended up making an entire game to develop it and still failed. The games style/atmosphere tries to stray into steampunk and misses the mark. Music is highly forgettable, colors are washed together, the story is shoddy, bad controls, laggy, and none of the characters stand apart since most of the models looked extremely similar. Do not purchase. Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This game is great and its universe too! It's a pleasure to see a studio creating a brand new IP, this must be encouraged :)
    First hours in the game were a (really) great experience, but as long as I progressed in the game, things just went harder and harder but the gameplay, enemies and environments remain (almost) the same. It become repetitive and - I'm sorry to say that -... boring.
  9. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Dishonored was a really fun experience. It's a different game, both in looks and gameplay. I love the art style, almost like a painting rather than a cell shaded cartoon. The city of Dunwall is beautifully detailed and alive. The different sections are well designed to explore for runes and bone charms; or sneaking around for stealth kills. I love the controls myself and found them easy toDishonored was a really fun experience. It's a different game, both in looks and gameplay. I love the art style, almost like a painting rather than a cell shaded cartoon. The city of Dunwall is beautifully detailed and alive. The different sections are well designed to explore for runes and bone charms; or sneaking around for stealth kills. I love the controls myself and found them easy to use. Once you start unlocking all the awesome powers there is no limit to how you can dispatch enemies. The game is more centered on using stealth, but the real fun is had when using your imagination and abilities in brutal ways! However, the more people you kill and bodies you leave in your wake, the more the plague spreads and rats swarms increase. It has an effect on the ending you get also. The story is pretty good, revenge is always the best motive to go on a killing spree and take bad people out of power. You always have choices to make in this game; whether it's deciding to assassinate a target or expose him, or sneak around the levels choosing your own path to an objective. This game gives you one of the best feelings of choosing your own way to accomplish things. There are some minor complaints as there are with any game, but they can be overlooked. The good things about this game far outweigh the bad. Expand
  10. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Finally an action game you can complete without brining death to a single enemy. So naturally I did my best to kill everyone! Rarely have i played a game where killing is more enjoyable, creeping up behind an enemy and stabbing them in the neck, never gets old. Tone/Setting: Excellent - perhaps only surpassed by the original Bioshock

    Gameplay: Outstanding - the best of the best of this
    Finally an action game you can complete without brining death to a single enemy. So naturally I did my best to kill everyone! Rarely have i played a game where killing is more enjoyable, creeping up behind an enemy and stabbing them in the neck, never gets old. Tone/Setting: Excellent - perhaps only surpassed by the original Bioshock

    Gameplay: Outstanding - the best of the best of this generation

    Graphics: Outstanding - as sharp as they are immersive Story: Ordinary - Not bad but nothing you would write home about, I don't care much for the characters, they neither add anything nor take anything away from the game. I was disappointed by the zero character development of Corvo and was never given a reason to care for the wellbeing of the empress. Story gets slightly more interesting towards the end. +Customisable weapons and magic
    +Brilliant stealth mechanics
    +Believable, fascinating and emotionally invigorating environments

    -The ordinary story holds this game back from masterpiece status
    -written letters and book excerpts have no voice over: the last thing I want to do in a game is stop and read, its annoying and breaks up the action; I would have liked audiotapes like in bioshock. Recommended for: stealth lovers, people who enjoyed bioshock, or anyone who can appreciate an amazing game regardless of genre. Closing thoughts: You will remember Dunwall for its eeriness and thrilling gameplay, the same cannot be said for its weak characters and ordinary story. Overall: Amazing
    Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    I can see what the developers wanted to do with Dishonored: split the difference between a legendary game (Bioshock, if you've never played it, stop reading this and go buy it right now) and a solid multiple approach game like Dues Ex Human Revolution. Did they succeed? Admirably so for the most part. Dishonored's setting takes place in a steampunk world (Dunwall is pretty amazing) andI can see what the developers wanted to do with Dishonored: split the difference between a legendary game (Bioshock, if you've never played it, stop reading this and go buy it right now) and a solid multiple approach game like Dues Ex Human Revolution. Did they succeed? Admirably so for the most part. Dishonored's setting takes place in a steampunk world (Dunwall is pretty amazing) and combines the options to be patient and utilize stealth with general mayhem or anything in between. Like Bioshock it uses a variance on plasmids (upgradeable skills) but geared toward the opproach the player wises to take. The city is lush and vibrant and the enemies are challenging if you're playing stealthy. In addition to this you have an excellent story combing strong elements of political intrigue and blood soaked revenge. What sets Dishonored apart is the readily visible consequences in the form of rats. In Dishonored rats bring the plague and killing enemies raises the rat population to dangerous levels. This makes a straight forward approach as risky as a stealth approach and the developers should be congratulated for it. Dishonored is not without its flaws- the customization of abilities is pretty limited as are the choice of weapons; enemy AI is not always great either. That being said Dishonored is an excellent new IP and should be given an ample chance to prove itself. That alone should be incentive to check it out- it's not a part 20 retread it is a new and fresh game....try it out. Expand
  12. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    This is possibly one of the worst games I've ever played. The graphics are not up to par with other titles that came out around the same time, the voice acting is horrid and the story is lame. It isn't made obvious that your choices influence the game in any way, shape or form until the end. Why anyone thought this game was good is beyond me.
  13. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game... graphics are very nice, decent music, memorable cast.
    I dislike how killing is frowned upon... is seeking vengeance really that bad?
    PS If you want people to not kill you should give them more abilities... choke, dark vision, blink, and poisoned arrow... you give the killers more... nades, mines, etc
    PSS Possession is just goofy, its length should be massively buffed so it has a use for the ghost runners.
    Expand
  14. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it.

    PS: These Abdul fanatics whoever they are need to be IP banned. This is ridiculous.
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it.

    PS: These Abdul fanatics whoever they are need to be IP banned. This is ridiculous. These clowns have no lives.
    Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I feel like the game is overall well put together through the story and the mechanics of the game. If anyone remembers Tenchu on the Playstation, this game has a similar feel to it gameplay wise. There is a different take on magic and majority of the areas in the game are exploreable, I find more and more I can do everytime I play. Dishonored is well worth the money especially since youI feel like the game is overall well put together through the story and the mechanics of the game. If anyone remembers Tenchu on the Playstation, this game has a similar feel to it gameplay wise. There is a different take on magic and majority of the areas in the game are exploreable, I find more and more I can do everytime I play. Dishonored is well worth the money especially since you will spend weeks playing it, and you will spend weeks. Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    Dishonored was a great game, it incorporated fairly new elements of game play, had a great story, and brought a very inspiring touch of environment. But I found myself bored when I had beat the game, it has very poor replay value. Sure you can do one play-through as a psychotic killer- and then another play-through as a careful assassin... but that's has far as the replay value goes.Dishonored was a great game, it incorporated fairly new elements of game play, had a great story, and brought a very inspiring touch of environment. But I found myself bored when I had beat the game, it has very poor replay value. Sure you can do one play-through as a psychotic killer- and then another play-through as a careful assassin... but that's has far as the replay value goes. Excellent game-play with hardly any bugs, the story is invigorating, but once you've beaten the game its hard to pick up the controller again. Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    I rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mileI rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mile with the acting and the way the whole thing ended just seemed unfinished. I did read before release that there wouldn't be an actual boss encounter in the end but the way it all ended still sort of disappointed me because the last target was like the main antagonist and you just kill him like all the others, done and roll the credits...

    I liked the game overall but really just feel like something is missing from the experience as a whole : / I don't know if all the mainstream blockbuster games have spoiled me over the years or what, though it surely seems that most critics adore this game... I don't know how I feel about it, probably a 7,5 :S
    Expand
  18. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I have only played a few hours of Dishonored, and I already love it. I am not that far into the game, so I can't tell all the things I like. So far, I love the detail and distinct style this whaling city has. The story is pretty cool and the powers you get are incredible. Great game! If you are going to pay full price for anything on its release day, you could do a lot worse than this.
  19. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    creo que este juego es prometedor como para una segunda versión de verdad que me a dejado con la boca abierta con la historia que presenta y como la plantean tiene muy buenos gráfico sonido y una mezcla extraña de tecnologías de diferentes épocas lo cual le da ese toque lujubre al juego no sabes que año ni en que época se desarrolla por quecreo que este juego es prometedor como para una segunda versión de verdad que me a dejado con la boca abierta con la historia que presenta y como la plantean tiene muy buenos gráfico sonido y una mezcla extraña de tecnologías de diferentes épocas lo cual le da ese toque lujubre al juego no sabes que año ni en que época se desarrolla por que todo esta mezclado eso es genial te hace pensar e inmaginar que sera esta historia ?! aun estoy esperando a ver que cosas van a sacar para comprar en la tienda por que es muy curioso ver como seria una descarga de contenido adicional... este juego sin duda a mi y unos cuantos amigos nos a gustado mucho pero lo que no me gusta es que el personaje tiene poderes que dices y te sientes como un dios pero en el mapa creo que le falto mas algo de accesibilidad a zonas como para generar mas tácticas y aparte el modo mas difícil no es tan difícil de resto sin mas nada que decir que buen juego!! Expand
  20. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. The complaints for the game are ill-fitting. One of the game's so called "flaws" is that it is short. We all it is but it is meant to be replayed over and over again. I never encountered any particular glitches while playing. Overall, one of my favorite games.
  21. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Great game! FPS with freedom of approach. Got some Half Life 2 vibes when playing this and it´s a good thing. Voice acting and art design are top-notch.
  22. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    An amazing open-ended adventure that has renewed my hope in action/adventure games, RPG's, and gaming in general. If you cant enjoy this game, I pity you, for you cant enjoy life.
  23. Mar 28, 2013
    6
    I wanted to like this game so bad, but ultimately just couldn't get into it. The art direction is fantastic but animations and textures are sub par (Why do characters arms move like action figures?) There was nothing I noticed that was really bad about game play or game structure, again, I just couldn't get into it. I hope they get to make a sequel because I think the elements for a greatI wanted to like this game so bad, but ultimately just couldn't get into it. The art direction is fantastic but animations and textures are sub par (Why do characters arms move like action figures?) There was nothing I noticed that was really bad about game play or game structure, again, I just couldn't get into it. I hope they get to make a sequel because I think the elements for a great game are there they just didn't mix it right in my opinion. I know a lot of people adore this game and I can see how, it just wasn't for me. Expand
  24. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This game takes stealth-action games to a whole new level. It's one of the best games i have ever played. It offers tone and tone of choice and, replay ability. It's story is interesting, its setting is something i have never seen in a video game. And it is a beautiful game. Recommended for everyone.
  25. Mar 29, 2015
    6
    What is it with devs and FPSs. This is a game that would've looked and played much better in 3rd person. Aside for that, I played this game for a whole 2 hours before deleting from my hard drive. That FP perspective was really giving me a headache and with all the magic spells and childish nonsense it felt like another BioShock. Maybe it just wasn't for me.
  26. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Story:
    Dunwall has a great atmosphere and the world of Dishonored has great potential. It's sad that this game doesn't explain it's background. Moreover, the story is pretty common and Corvo doesn't say a single word, which takes away his sympathy.
    5/10 Gameplay: The gameplay is just great. You have many options, there is a moral system (a pretty easy one, though) and you can unlock
    Story:
    Dunwall has a great atmosphere and the world of Dishonored has great potential. It's sad that this game doesn't explain it's background. Moreover, the story is pretty common and Corvo doesn't say a single word, which takes away his sympathy.
    5/10

    Gameplay:
    The gameplay is just great. You have many options, there is a moral system (a pretty easy one, though) and you can unlock super powers to get better in the way you want to play. You have so much freedom in this game!
    9/10

    Technical:
    Dishonored looks dark and dirty which causes a good atmosphere, but the textures, the character's faces etc. are pretty poor designed.
    6,5/10

    Overall:
    Dishonored has some problems. however, it is a great experience to play it.
    8,5/10
    Expand
  27. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5? Seriously guys? I wonder which ill-fated cause made you so angry that you had to destroy the user score average of the PS3 version. The game is good, maybe not perfect, but doesn't deserve all this hate.
  28. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    Overrated. One word description to describe this so called masterpiece of a game. Critics praised the voiceacting and the animation of the characters, I must've been playing a completely different game. The A.I. was praised for their realistic reactions. Um, what? The A.I. is worst than that of most games in the stealth genre. How am I able to stand in broad daylight, less than 50Overrated. One word description to describe this so called masterpiece of a game. Critics praised the voiceacting and the animation of the characters, I must've been playing a completely different game. The A.I. was praised for their realistic reactions. Um, what? The A.I. is worst than that of most games in the stealth genre. How am I able to stand in broad daylight, less than 50 feet from an NPC, and they can't see me? My stepson watched me play and saw me crouched under some cover, and not covered well at all, and he started laughing at the dumb guards who walked right up to me, turned and looked straight at me, and seemed confused as to how I hid so well. The graphics (so called water paint style) were very underwhelming also. The stealth mechanics don't work well in first person, and very few games pull it off successfully. This is not one of those games. Stealth plays much better in 3rd person view. Wow was I disappointed after so looking forward to getting this game.

    There are some good parts. The supernatural powers are cool to use along with the air assassinations that never get old (but too easy to pull off due to the dumb guards). The world is well designed, with a lot of different paths to accomplish my goal. This had so much potential, but in my opinion, it was all wasted due to terrible AI, bad graphics, bad voice acting, bad animations, and the fact it's in first person as opposed to third person.
    Expand
  29. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    I sadly thought this game was going to be unique and a major change in the industries but I was wrong. The trailers were misleading along with countless reviews. The game has many fine aspects and ideas but all are horribly used. At the beginning the game seems interesting and exciting, but shortly after it feels like you have done everything before and the missions get repetitive. It alsoI sadly thought this game was going to be unique and a major change in the industries but I was wrong. The trailers were misleading along with countless reviews. The game has many fine aspects and ideas but all are horribly used. At the beginning the game seems interesting and exciting, but shortly after it feels like you have done everything before and the missions get repetitive. It also feels as if a large part of the game was missing, content wise. Their were limited weapons and abilities. Also the stealth aspect was poorly done which lead to alot of problems and very many of the characters seemed uninteresting. The story was also quite short and very predictable after about the third mission. Also their was no real need for strategies, But when you used strategie it was time consuming and easily destroyed by countless bugs and a poorly made rating system called "The Chaos metre" which counted the times you were seen, the number killed or left unconscious was also poorly executed. Finally the graphics and the rendering system in place were absolute terrible, it's 2012, not 2008. Many times when rotating around I was met with quite a fair bit of lag on a machine meant to handle resource hogging games, but apparently the devs never got the memo on efficiently rendering and good graphics and little ol'e textures. In all honesty this game had some great ideas but failed to execute them properly and was followed by a dull story. I will give this game a 4 for the slight enjoyment I had. So all in all, rent the game Expand
  30. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    It's best to ignore the unreviewed, amount of negative votes (it seems someone has a serious grudge against the PS3 version), and instead look at the reviews from other versions of Dishonoured. In doing that, just simply go buy this game, it's a delight to play, and new, innovative IP's like this, need to be supported if we want to move away from the age of, CoD and sequels after sequels.
  31. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    This is one of the better games that I've bought in the last few years. It exceeds guild wars 2, battlefield 3, and many others in terms of how much I've enjoyed it. The gameplay is smooth as silk, and you get very immersed when you are stalking your prey. Huge fights give an adrenaline rush from all of the unpredictable chaos that happens which is a big bonus. I'd give it a 10, but theThis is one of the better games that I've bought in the last few years. It exceeds guild wars 2, battlefield 3, and many others in terms of how much I've enjoyed it. The gameplay is smooth as silk, and you get very immersed when you are stalking your prey. Huge fights give an adrenaline rush from all of the unpredictable chaos that happens which is a big bonus. I'd give it a 10, but the game is a little more cartoony than I would have expected, and the blood effects leave just a tiny bit to be desired in your killing sprees Expand
  32. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Loved the game, kept me involved for many days, great game play and story. If you enjoy being a part of the game and making important descions you will like the game.
  33. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it so much that this is the first game on the PS3 that I actually played through twice. I wanted to see the dark ending and the light ending and I also wanted to prove to myself that I could make it through without killing anyone! If you like stealth itsI'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it so much that this is the first game on the PS3 that I actually played through twice. I wanted to see the dark ending and the light ending and I also wanted to prove to myself that I could make it through without killing anyone! If you like stealth its great! I also loved how you can change the future of the game...example, kill lots of people, more weepers later in the game. Kill nobody, barely any weepers and the later game becomes a whole different story. Expand
  34. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    Very fun game, but the replay value is nonexistent and it is very shory. The overall game was a blast, you could unlock special powers like summoning mice to eat your foes, or you could just go around killing people with a crossbow and sword. You could play anyway you want. You can be stealthy or you can just go and kill enemies with guns blazing. But beware, the more people you kill, theVery fun game, but the replay value is nonexistent and it is very shory. The overall game was a blast, you could unlock special powers like summoning mice to eat your foes, or you could just go around killing people with a crossbow and sword. You could play anyway you want. You can be stealthy or you can just go and kill enemies with guns blazing. But beware, the more people you kill, the darker your ending will be. I found the story to be very very intriguing and I thought the graphics were great in their own way. But the story is really short. I finished the story in about 6 hours and I was mostly taking a stealthy approach the whole time. Since there are multiple endings, you'd think the replay value would be high. Well it isn't after beating the game I had to desire to go back and collect runes and I had no desire to get to the alternate ending. After beating the game once, I was done. When the price drops down to 20 dollars, I think you should buy it, but for now, paying the full $60 would be a waste of money. Expand
  35. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    You can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of a developer who does right by the gamers. Dishonored is primarily a stealth based experience but it does promote experimentation. The number of possibilities to approach a specific situation in the game is just remarkable. The developers have seriouslyYou can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of a developer who does right by the gamers. Dishonored is primarily a stealth based experience but it does promote experimentation. The number of possibilities to approach a specific situation in the game is just remarkable. The developers have seriously put some thought into this. It is one of those gems for which I'd say I hope they do not make a sequel. Expand
  36. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    The game is great with all those powers that Corvo used but the graphic were bad . The story it was good but were there was something that is missing that is not making to love the game.
  37. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    A great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though IA great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though I acknowledge that the graphics are supposed to represent an artistic style, I think that the character models could be a lot better, and there were some autosaving problems but those were quite rare. However, these are all small issues in an otherwise great game. Expand
  38. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    A true gem. Freedom to move, to play the game, good story, nice art. Worth every minute of my time. My only grime is that the RPG-lik element are so few that it might have been a better option to simply use a chest approach then going back to buy stuff.
  39. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    On my top five of games!
    If you want a rewarding and fun, first person, action adventure, stealth game then Dishonored is a game for you!
    You are the royal protector of the Empress, when she is killed and her daughter Emily is kidnapped, you get accused of the murder and kidnapping. After 6 moths in prison you break free and seek revenge upon those who have dishonored you. You'll get
    On my top five of games!
    If you want a rewarding and fun, first person, action adventure, stealth game then Dishonored is a game for you!
    You are the royal protector of the Empress, when she is killed and her daughter Emily is kidnapped, you get accused of the murder and kidnapping. After 6 moths in prison you break free and seek revenge upon those who have dishonored you. You'll get cool gadgets and pretty awesome powers to destroy or not even touch your enemies, you choose whether or not you want to kill everybody or nobody! It's a great game!
    Expand
  40. May 14, 2015
    1
    Terrible! Game play/Game mechanics is precisely the cheapest factor.

    There is almost no versatility to this game, sure you unlock powers but they're mostly good for mobility, on popular reviews you'll hear that your opponents are no match for your raw blade waves, and that's true, you're never challenged to make smart use of your abilities. Level design is (NOT unique) there's no
    Terrible! Game play/Game mechanics is precisely the cheapest factor.

    There is almost no versatility to this game, sure you unlock powers but they're mostly good for mobility, on popular reviews you'll hear that your opponents are no match for your raw blade waves, and that's true, you're never challenged to make smart use of your abilities.

    Level design is (NOT unique) there's no smart use of contrast or any of that garbage they feed us on review channels, hiding spots are poor and enemy positioning is meaningless, I spent most of my time worrying for my enemies if they see me, because the AI charges with no strategy in mind and no chance of survival.

    The story line and voice acting is decent, but if it were those that made games great then Candy Crush Saga would have never made it's download record, this game is the product of unreal engine and all the marketing power it's makers could muster.
    Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Dishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on theDishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on the storyline. The gameplay mainly involves traveling from your base (where you can upgrade your tools and abilities) to mission levels. There are some clever consequences put into play depending how how tackled previous missions. The more guards you kill on your first visit to one of the districts of Dunwall, results in more Weepers (zombies) and rats appearing on your next visit to that region. If you were to takedown guards using non-lethal methods, then this can be avoided. This is only a couple of examples of the action/consequence elements of the gameplay.

    As a fan of games like Fallout 3, Fallout: Las Vegas, Skyrim and the Deus Ex games, I really enjoyed this game, but I felt that the game itself was not long enough and that the "Blink" ability (teleportation skill) was a little unprecise to use. In the heat of battle, trying to teleport to a rooftop to escape combat can sometimes result in you mis-targeting the rooftop and teleporting into a crowd of enemy guards etc. Highly recommended, but don't expect a long journey.
    Expand
  42. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is a brilliant breath of fresh air! The art style is unique and beautiful. The world is masterfully crafted and immersing, the city of dunwall is a treat to explore. Oh and amidst this fascinating world is a damn good action game too. This is the new IP i've been waiting for .
  43. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    Intense , that's the word i'd use to describe this game . First of all, this game redefines the concept of nowadays blockbusters . It's a single player experience , it doesn't focus mainly on the graphics , althought they good , and the gameplay isn't all about short , intense moments against hordes of enemies. There's no open world , but this game is all about freedom . For me it's likeIntense , that's the word i'd use to describe this game . First of all, this game redefines the concept of nowadays blockbusters . It's a single player experience , it doesn't focus mainly on the graphics , althought they good , and the gameplay isn't all about short , intense moments against hordes of enemies. There's no open world , but this game is all about freedom . For me it's like if bioshock , skyrim , deus ex and sly cooper had an orgy and this was the result . This game is all about the journey . If your task is to go from point A to B , you'll end up spending a couple of hours exploring point C or D . And how you handle things in point C or D is entirely up to you. You can be super gory or you can be invisible like a ninja ( this has consequences in the end of the game ). The storyline is poor , the characters are an excuse for the story to go on , but don't you dare ignoring this game . You'll love it once you give it a try Expand
  44. Oct 16, 2012
    4
    Ok, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo. It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers onOk, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo. It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers on originality and potential. Trouble is, the game doles out information in a decidedly non-engrossing fashion and the first hour or so is just an on-the-rails game of hit-all-the-steampunk/fantasy-setting-tropes. The TF2, exaggerated art style is cool, but I can't help but feel that a more realistic look would benefit an urban game of gritty, moralistic conflicts. The stealth (like most FPS that try to incorporate it) can be fairly hit-or-miss and though you can blast your way through from hell to a whalemeat breakfast, the game suggests fairly heavily that the most virtuous path through it is a non-violent one. Not to mention that more than 3/4 of the unlockable powers are all used for killing or facilitating killing, meaning that you're going to waste a lot of runes if you want to go the no-kill route. The combat is simplistic but can be punishing early on and there are a few cool synergies between your powers and your weapons, but good luck to you if you think the game is going to prompt you much in that regard. There is a definite emphasis on "choose-your-own-path" at work but the narrative (and the assassinations involved in it) is broken down into discreet levels and you are graded and given the option to replay each one upon completion, so say goodbye to a fully immersive, open world experience. In a nutshell, the game is best described as a "steampunk Deus Ex" and yes, that would be Square Enix's recent "re-imagining" of Deus Ex, with all the connotations that entails. It's a competent action game with an interesting backdrop, but nothing that you'll be talking about 6 months from now. Expand
  45. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play,Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play, will you use stealth to assassinate your targets, ghost into a level killing no one and finding an alternative non-lethal method to dispose of your target, use poison or the environment to make your assassination look like an accident or go in guns, crossbows and swords blazing and kill everyone you see. The way you play is how Dishonored offers choice and this is not only in whether you sneak or fight, kill or spare. You can use various different pathways and methods to reach your destination including possessing a rat or a fish to swim or crawl through an entrance, use Blink (the first supernatural power the player gains) to teleport up to and around the rooftops, Possess a guard and walk through the front door as well as many others. So choice is most definitely a core theme in Dishonored, it does require some imagination to find different paths but finding a path and getting to your target without any NPC knowing your there is a definite rush. The gameplay in Dishonored mostly resembles Deus Ex: Human Revolution, you are encouraged to use stealth where ever possible and this is without doubt the best way to play the game, going in and trying to fight your way through is much more difficult and this is one of Dishonored's faults. When fighting enemies who use regular swords Dishonored's combat shines, however when an enemy wields a gun they never miss a shot and bullets take a huge amount of player health. It is not only gun wielding enemies, some foes can breath fire which is unblockable and completely prevents the player from seeing anything in front of them. Also when guards are alerted to your presence every other guard in the area knows exactly where the player character is and come running. In short this means Dishonored is not for players who do not enjoy stealth. The story is Dishonored starts strong, begins to lose its way in the middle and then comes back with a brilliant 3rd act which rounds off the plot nicely. The well publicised different endings are little more than 30-60 second clips showing how the players actions affected the world of Dunwall, however they are vey well narrated and do a fairly good job of making the player realise that there actions had consequences. Overall Dishonored is one of the most unique and inspired games in years with an incredible art style, an intriguing world and thrilling stealth game play. For anybody who has enjoyed Deus Ex, Thief or Splinter Cell pick Dishonored up. You wont be disappointed. Collapse
  46. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    There's no doubt that Dishonored (Dishonoured as it should be in the UK - I think) is a very well designed, highly polished and extremely playable game.

    However I was disappointed with it, the world has been beautifully designed and almost as many features regarding the environments have popped up in games mags as have reviews of the actual game but this isn't a sandbox world and you as
    There's no doubt that Dishonored (Dishonoured as it should be in the UK - I think) is a very well designed, highly polished and extremely playable game.

    However I was disappointed with it, the world has been beautifully designed and almost as many features regarding the environments have popped up in games mags as have reviews of the actual game but this isn't a sandbox world and you as the player character are funnelled back and forth between an implausible hub area by a small man on a boat who seems ready to collapse from apathy to everything in existence, so all you end up doing is ploughing on from one enemy infested area to the next - much like the original Metal Gear Solid.

    I give the game world special mention over say, the story or the weapons, because the game and the studio behind it seem to demand, without mercy, that you fall in love with this 'steampunk-inspired-neo-Victorian' cesspit and whilst it's obvious that some love has gone into the design of the rotten town of Dunwall it utterly fails to make you really feel anything for the characters, the mission or even the wretched poor who are to be found all over the place either dead, dying or mere seconds away from being brutalised to death by one of the City Watch (God, I hope they didn't use Terry Pratchett's character Sam Vimes for inspiration) or else standing around just waiting to mug you off to the guards (who'll probably kill you both for the trouble) so the morality fails in utterance.

    I'm told it's possible to complete the game without killing anyone, though why you'd make/buy an FPS with that in mind is beyond my humble intellect, but the reasons for opting to do this rather than carve a bloody path from credits to ending scene are scant and confusing.

    We're perhaps supposed to believe that the City Watch are just working joe's duped by the plutocrats into believing that your character (Corvo - bloody stupid name - the former chief of guards for the former empress) murdered the Empire's figurehead and are supposed to avoid shooting them because ignorance isn't punishable by death (unlike standing, walking, talking, trying to eat, wanting food, standing in the shadows, standing in the light, standing near the water, standing in the water, standing looking at the sky, standing looking at the ground or just generally having the nerve to be alive and not super wealthy if I'm understanding the C.W.'s own criteria for what's punishable by death) yet we'll often see them taking bribes off businessmen, trying to shake down civilians for medicine which is meant for babies and children and even defending mad **** who purposefully infect people with a fatal plague.....so when the guard fells me and shouts "I'll have a drink tonight for all the good men you've killed." I'm not searching my soul to check if my gaming morals are intact, I'm searching my recent memory to see which 'good men' he could possibly be referring to.

    The weapons are a mark of their design-inspired time, single shot and slow to reload but lethal if aimed right, the magic elements are ok and make stealthing from the first person perspective just short of tolerable rather than totally maddening and the story is awful, really awful.

    The design team at Arkane have really done a great job designing an interesting world, it's what they've populated it with that's the problem.
    It's a common motif throughout that the rich live by exploiting the poor and the whole thing stinks of an attempt at a "1%" criticism. yet if you stare out at the horizon of this port town you'll see what looks like a residential area that's totally intact - no columns of smoke, no piles of corpses and no noticeable signs that indusry has even stopped - so the themes of opulence and pestilence don't quite seem to work out and the real enemy seems to be the unquestioning stupidity of the City Watch and the glee with which they pursue their morally unambiguous duties.

    A naive tool was on the throne, now a bald masochist is on the throne and your going through the motions to put a poorly behaved brat on the throne instead - is the basic thread of the story line.....oh and most rich people are bad, disease affects only the poor and whale oil is wonderful!!!
    Expand
  47. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Dishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole gameDishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole game and kill no one which is highly unlikely to happen but still adds to the fun that you know you can kill or spare anyone you want. The ending of the game depends on how you play so if you just run an kill everyone, people will react differently, you might be betrayed and even the dialogue of the game changes. So if you choose that kind of approach than I can tell you the ending won't be pretty. I also love how it doesn't just have to be a stealth game as it's supposed to but can also be a normal killing game mixed with cool powers. These are some of the many things that make Dishonoured unique from other games. Something I dislike in Dishonoured is probably the lack of powers you actually get in this game compared to the variety there is. One of things I was most exited about when Dishonoured was announced was all those supernatural powers you could have in the game but then was heavily disappointed when I found out you can only choose slightly less than half of the breath-taking abilities. I found the powers as one of the most attracting things that brought me towards this game and am very disappointed with this. What's the point of bragging about all these powers you can use when you can only choose not even half of them? I also don't like it how there is no free roam as free roam with abilities like those could have unlimited potential. Just imagine being able to do ANYTHING you want with powers like those, if the whole thing was just free roam I still wouldn't hesitate a second giving it 100/100. Alias you can only imagine these excitement.

    Overall:
    +Freedom of choice
    +Can be several types of genres depending on how you play
    + Different endings to the game
    +People reacting differently depending on how you play as well as the environment changing
    +Supernatural powers
    -Limited amount of powers available per a game
    - No free roam

    In conclusion, Dishonoured is great game for people who like deciding how the game moves towards the conclusion and also for people who don't . I highly recommend this game.
    Expand
  48. Jan 7, 2013
    4
    i played this game for a hour and was not compelled to move any further. This was a absolute disappointment for a fan of games in the vein of Deus ex with horrible cliched characters and plot + clunky unresponsive controls. The problems listed above are not even the worst problem that is reserved for the false morality system which punishes the player for playing non-stealthy with morei played this game for a hour and was not compelled to move any further. This was a absolute disappointment for a fan of games in the vein of Deus ex with horrible cliched characters and plot + clunky unresponsive controls. The problems listed above are not even the worst problem that is reserved for the false morality system which punishes the player for playing non-stealthy with more guards, rats, and a terrible "dark" ending. Bottom line for a game that promised freedom in combat and level design it completely misses and shows what type of a game is produced through too much hype and high, over rated critic reviews. 4/10 Expand
  49. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    I have not played a better game than Dishonored. I loved the freedom to do as you wish. It has beautiful graphics that give it an arty feel. Not a very long story but i played through it about 4 times and didn't get bored. It has an interesting story that you get to decide the outcome. The powers you acquire are really cool and give you even more ways to approach levels.
  50. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. dishonored is a stealth-action game based around stabbing folks in the eyeballs, choking them out or using your super magical powers of death to explode them. the story in dishonored is generic but interesting and the two endings are also good, after one playthrough you will more than likely want to play through it again to get the other ending, the game follows corvo attano the former body-guard of dunwall's empress. The empress gets assassinated and her daughter kidnapped and you are blamed,
    you escape from prison with help from a small group who help you track down and kill those who are to blame for the assassination of the empress and her daughters kidnapping (eventually you find her daughter). the gameplay in dishonored is fantastic, some of the best I have ever seen, in your right hand you have a short sword/dagger and in your left you have a gun, crossbow or magical powers and they all work perfectly in combat and/or stealth situations.
    Final verdict:
    Great gameplay, interesting story, interesting powers and interesting locations 9/10
    Expand
  51. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Pros
    +Great artistic graphics
    +Fun to use powers
    +Strong stealth/combat/strategy gameplay.
    + Decent story, many possible endings
    Cons
    - Slightly weak swordfighting
    - Could be a little longer
  52. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless,Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  53. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Never been a big fan of first person but Dishonored has been truly one of the more unique games I have ever played. Very happy I picked this game up and already looking forward to my second play through. Lots of different choices you can make during the game that will affect your story. So awesome.
  54. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! crazy gamplay, really enjoyable game that provides a challenge without taking away from the fun of it. many different ways to play and paths to take really adds to the replay value
  55. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy toI cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy to play as an evil bastard. The graphics are great and the city of Dunwall is a fantastic little sandbox. I cant rate this game highly enough, it's better than Deus Ex: Human Revolution and can sit happily alongside MGS4 in my collection. Overall a brilliant game that should not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  56. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me some time to get used to the controls of the ps3, especially because the game is in ego-perspective. All in all it's a very good and solid game. It's just a little bit too short if you ask me. I finished almost every chapter in stealth mode to get a different ending. I guess it takes longer if you play it that way than just rushing through every quest. But it has a great replay value. I enjoyed playing it Expand
  57. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    Totally overrated. I've never been a fan of stealth games but since it was Bethesda game i thought i'd give it a change. Game is good fun at start and basic game mechanics are fine but very soon it gets so repetitive that it numbs my mind. The "world" (to call it world is just ridiculous - heck to even call it a city is just wrong because it just bunch of individual "Hollywood sets") isTotally overrated. I've never been a fan of stealth games but since it was Bethesda game i thought i'd give it a change. Game is good fun at start and basic game mechanics are fine but very soon it gets so repetitive that it numbs my mind. The "world" (to call it world is just ridiculous - heck to even call it a city is just wrong because it just bunch of individual "Hollywood sets") is repulsive and there is no freedom to just explore it. I don't understand how this is referred as a sandbox game Expand
  58. Jun 23, 2016
    9
    Dishonored, a game which really intrigued and sucked me into it's gaming content. Let's start by with the gameplay: it's exquisite!. Dishonored has a smooth and seamless gameplay of jumping and walking and using different sorts of powers you oriented with the game that also include of hand to hand combat and using these powers according to your specific conditions in the game. There is noDishonored, a game which really intrigued and sucked me into it's gaming content. Let's start by with the gameplay: it's exquisite!. Dishonored has a smooth and seamless gameplay of jumping and walking and using different sorts of powers you oriented with the game that also include of hand to hand combat and using these powers according to your specific conditions in the game. There is no open world gameplay here. There are specific maps and levels designed for a certain task or mission you are assigned to but the levels are beautifully crafted and made where each section of it is tailored to give the player a scare of unexpected enemies and/or side task that you can complete. Each mission specifically the main story one have extensive amount of ways to complete. You can infiltrate a specific building by possessing guards or animals, by approaching it with pure stealth, by thinking of a creative way of using your specials powers such as stopping time (Yes! stopping time!!), by going through the roofs, sewers, a specific room which requires a key (can be obtained by completing side tasks) and many more actually. So, you get the picture when I say "extensive". You're main tasks are to Assassinate, abduct, subdue or to not do any of those, meaning you have a choice. Onto another aspect, graphics: they're gorgeous!. The only thing that made me give this game a 9 was it's story wrap up at the end. The story is great don't get me wrong on that. It's just the wrap up at the end which made me deduct a point out of it. Expand
  59. Oct 15, 2012
    0
    Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play,Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play, will you use stealth to assassinate your targets, ghost into a level killing no one and finding an alternative non-lethal method to dispose of your target, use poison or the environment to make your assassination look like an accident or go in guns, crossbows and swords blazing and kill everyone you see. The way you play is how Dishonored offers choice and this is not only in whether you sneak or fight, kill or spare. You can use various different pathways and methods to reach your destination including possessing a rat or a fish to swim or crawl through an entrance, use Blink (the first supernatural power the player gains) to teleport up to and around the rooftops, Possess a guard and walk through the front door as well as many others. So choice is most definitely a core theme in Dishonored, it does require some imagination to find different paths but finding a path and getting to your target without any NPC knowing your there is a definite rush. The gameplay in Dishonored mostly resembles Deus Ex: Human Revolution, you are encouraged to use stealth where ever possible and this is without doubt the best way to play the game, going in and trying to fight your way through is much more difficult and this is one of Dishonored's faults. When fighting enemies who use regular swords Dishonored's combat shines, however when an enemy wields a gun they never miss a shot and bullets take a huge amount of player health. It is not only gun wielding enemies, some foes can breath fire which is unblockable and completely prevents the player from seeing anything in front of them. Also when guards are alerted to your presence every other guard in the area knows exactly where the player character is and come running. In short this means Dishonored is not for players who do not enjoy stealth. The story is Dishonored starts strong, begins to lose its way in the middle and then comes back with a brilliant 3rd act which rounds off the plot nicely. The well publicised different endings are little more than 30-60 second clips showing how the players actions affected the world of Dunwall, however they are vey well narrated and do a fairly good job of making the player realise that there actions had consequences. Overall Dishonored is one of the most unique and inspired games in years with an incredible art style, an intriguing world and thrilling stealth game play. For anybody who has enjoyed Deus Ex, Thief or Splinter Cell pick Dishonored up. You wont be disappointed. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.