User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 660 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 660

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is top notch. The game is gorgeous, the world breathtaking, controls tight, combat solid, attention to detail is incredible, lightening in the game is best i've ever seen in a game so far, game design is awesome, sound design is amazing, narrative draws you in right from the start, voice work and lip synching is great, a lot of effort has been put into the styleEverything about this game is top notch. The game is gorgeous, the world breathtaking, controls tight, combat solid, attention to detail is incredible, lightening in the game is best i've ever seen in a game so far, game design is awesome, sound design is amazing, narrative draws you in right from the start, voice work and lip synching is great, a lot of effort has been put into the style of the game. Game feels like a moving water color painting. One of the best original game titles to have come out in a long time and one that will be remembered for a long time. Its so refreshing to have such a unique world to explore without constant shooting or combat. The slow pace fits this game perfectly. I never had so much fun playing a "stealth" game so far. This was one of the best game surprises ever, since the game wasn't overhyped like so many other games nowadays. I also like the dark, mysterious tone of the game and the combat is pretty brutal. Definitely check it out if you've been looking for a new. unique world to get lost in and explore. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    No matter how many times you argue about it Dishonored is the best surprise of the year and probably a contender of Game of the Year either users or critics alike , and mostly ( and commonly ) the " haters " simply will thrash everything by their lack of taste. So to top it off, we had the over the top , fluid, almost perfect control scheme that makes this game shine set with a variety ofNo matter how many times you argue about it Dishonored is the best surprise of the year and probably a contender of Game of the Year either users or critics alike , and mostly ( and commonly ) the " haters " simply will thrash everything by their lack of taste. So to top it off, we had the over the top , fluid, almost perfect control scheme that makes this game shine set with a variety of powers , weapons , diverse locations on a single level , and creative missions . This elements will guide you through all the game and most likely will ease all your troubles when you acquire/improve powers . Arkane did not only made you a scary entity in the game it also made a solid AI that will cause you to break your head just to find out what possible solutions you can do to make a easy escape , mistakenly leave trails of your victims , a " piece of cake " entry to a mansion or a gory yet disappointing death for you . It sounds hard right ? well you get the hang of it , because you will want to be Corvo every time you assume the control of him and you want skills to feel awesome. The story itself , is clever and you can sense some sort of dark tone with every decisions in the conversations . With all these things in single game you need to say one thing for sure, single-player games still rock even on this generation full of multiplayer games. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    It's a great game. Some of the best stealth I've played in a while. Probably since Metal Gear. It's just fun and time-consuming. I expected a mediocre game but got something else: a worthy GOTY candidate.
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    i love this game it mixture of assassin creed with magic powers ability kill any bad guys i love game design from movement, character building and good voice that voice character as well fit perfectly

    only wish it went longer & hoping for sequel in works
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    There is nothing bad i can say about this game i love it so much i will dare to say it is perfect. i will say this now though if you just rush through and kill everything in your path you will not have as good of a time and the game will be relatively short. all of your assassination targets are easy to get to right at the start but it involves killing everything in front of you and goingThere is nothing bad i can say about this game i love it so much i will dare to say it is perfect. i will say this now though if you just rush through and kill everything in your path you will not have as good of a time and the game will be relatively short. all of your assassination targets are easy to get to right at the start but it involves killing everything in front of you and going in guns blazing. there is nothing wrong with doing that of course but you will not experience the full game. what i mean by this is the fact that there is so much going on that you will miss entire scenes of the game if you don't think about your kill before making a strategy and finding out everything there is to know about them. the way they throw you into each situation is also to be praised because the game is open world to an extent and this allows you to play the game the way you want to play it unlike most games where there is only one way to do something this game allows limitless possibilities on how to play. the art in this game is icing on the cake it is beautiful and so diverse that as well as trying to figure out how you will kill your target you will also look around and admire your surroundings. although some may disagree i love the story so far and it is puling me in further and further and i want to keep playing so i can find out what is going to happen next. this game is a breath of fresh air and is a goood break from all the FPS games that are on the market i recommend this to everyone and i highly suggest you pick it up now. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Dishonored is a thinking man's game, period. Each level in Dishonored gives you a sandbox to toy around in and lets the player run wild with their imagination as to how they will get through each situation. Gone are the overly scripted scenarios you're used to in games that funnel you down a certain path that the designers carved out for you. Dishonored is a game that asks the player toDishonored is a thinking man's game, period. Each level in Dishonored gives you a sandbox to toy around in and lets the player run wild with their imagination as to how they will get through each situation. Gone are the overly scripted scenarios you're used to in games that funnel you down a certain path that the designers carved out for you. Dishonored is a game that asks the player to think, to use their noggin, to overcome the obstacles, and while you have many tools at your disposal, it's your choice to decide how you use them and how you make your way through each environment. Do you prefer to kill every enemy in your path with weapons? Do you prefer to take them out through silent means? Or, another possibility and the most gratifying of all, is to make your way through the game without killing a single enemy. Everything's up to you, which is the true beauty of Dishonored. Dishonored's a true "water cooler" game where no two people will play the same and it's fun to talk to others and see how they played through the game. It's a deep game that only asks the player to think for once. Sometimes thinking for yourself can be fun.

    Dishonored's art direction is beyond amazing. It's important to note that one of the minds behind the art is Viktor Antonov, who was also the mind behind Half Life 2's City 17. Harvey Smith, Co-creative Director at Arkane Studios, has said that they went for a "water color" look with the game's graphics, which is an apt description. While you won't be blown away by the textures or anything, it's still one of the most beautiful games out there because of its unique aesthetic.

    Dishonored is one of those games we rarely see in this day and age. Harvey Smith, known for his work on Deus Ex and Thief, brings his experience from past games to make a new intellectual property that carries the same gameplay principals but puts it in a new and interesting world. This is a game that deserves to be supported. It's a rare and unique experience that no one should miss out on.
    Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Dishonored belongs to a rare kind of game. And because it is rare it is special. Not everything that is rare is good but Dishonored is. From the story to the visuals, from the characters to the gameplay. Dishonored is a (very) special experience to any gamer. Everything that is put on this game is there with a purpose. If there is a ledge or a walkway there is a different way to play. AndDishonored belongs to a rare kind of game. And because it is rare it is special. Not everything that is rare is good but Dishonored is. From the story to the visuals, from the characters to the gameplay. Dishonored is a (very) special experience to any gamer. Everything that is put on this game is there with a purpose. If there is a ledge or a walkway there is a different way to play. And what to say about Dunwall? Picture Rapture without the plasmid effects and put a rat plague instead, add a political conspiracy with a twist of mysticism and you have the most amazing setting since Bioshock. Better even in my opinion. Dishonored is pure gaming perfection! Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Very good.

    Excellent setting and story (particularly if you play the 'knife' and 'witches' DLC). Good overall gameplay. Interesting, long and varied missions. Enemy AI is a bit dull stay hidden long enough and surviving enemy return to their routine, rather than hunt you down but no more so than most other stealth games. Combat is quite deadly for you, so sneaking is really
    Very good.

    Excellent setting and story (particularly if you play the 'knife' and 'witches' DLC). Good overall gameplay. Interesting, long and varied missions. Enemy AI is a bit dull stay hidden long enough and surviving enemy return to their routine, rather than hunt you down but no more so than most other stealth games.

    Combat is quite deadly for you, so sneaking is really worthwhile most 'bosses' are significant threats in face to face combat, but far easier to overcome with some serious stealth.

    The graphics are a bit cartoony (like borderlands or amalur), but thats easy to get used to. Sound/voice is excellent.
    Expand
  9. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Dishonored Review
    The highlight of E3 has finally arrived and being one of the only new series his year gamers across the globe get ready to play one of the best games of the year so far. Dishonored comes to us from Arkane Studios and Bethesda and the Besthesda influence really rubs off on this one too. The story is pretty standard, Empress gets murdered, princess gets kidnapped and of
    Dishonored Review
    The highlight of E3 has finally arrived and being one of the only new series his year gamers across the globe get ready to play one of the best games of the year so far. Dishonored comes to us from Arkane Studios and Bethesda and the Besthesda influence really rubs off on this one too. The story is pretty standard, Empress gets murdered, princess gets kidnapped and of course you are framed for it, you are Corvo Attano the former bodyguard and it is your job to avenge the Empress's death and put the rightful heir on the throne. The story here is nothing original with some predictable twists but provides a good backdrop for the chaos going around in this city. Yes not only is the Empress dead but the city is still suffering from the rat plague which gives the city a certain lack of hope and happiness. The world is extremely detailed and evolves according to your actions, depending on who you kill and how many people you kill. The more you slaughter the more rats and the darker to outcome at the end. This adds a heap of replay value straight up to see the different outcome of the 9 missions and the ending. True to Bethesda fashion, the first mission is of course a prison break where you learn all the combat ropes and the different physical actions you can perform. The level design here is very open ended like the Thief and Hitman series, you can even get through the game without killing a soul, there are a million possibilities in these levels. Even more replay value, there are ghost bonuses and low chaos challenges to add difficulty. Talking about that, the difficulty settings here are pretty off, if you want a good time definitely turn it up to Hard or Very hard. Early you gain you magical abilities, to get these powers you must collect runes scattered around the world and these are powers like teleportation, possession, time bending and there is even a Fus Ro Dah. There are also passive abilities to get too like extra health, bodies disappear when killed and others. Graphically the game is perfectly fine but I think the developers were a bit confused when it came to art direction, were they going for cartoony or were they going for serious steampunk, I have no idea but regardless the visuals are fine. What baffled me is the lack of a substantial soundtrack, ambient music provides a little effect but it isn
    Expand
  10. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Dishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter yourDishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter your play style at will. The level design is some of the best seen on this gens systems with multiple paths to youre objectives and throughout the levels. Dishonored is not open world or linear it is a system of hubs and areas ,levels that have been ttightly crafted to allow you to reach almost anywere you can see. Allowing you to spend hours exploring if you so wish. Some people have said it can be a short game but it takes over the 20hour mark on hard with about 80per cent of collectables found. The game is best played on the hard difficulty upwards. The character,enemy ai is highly intelligent at spotting you reacting reverting back to there patrol routes and alerting other enemies that you have been spotted. Dishonored really is a new ip although it looks similar to some games when you begin to play you soon realise it is like no other and its a brand new series in the making. An adult tale of political intrigue and occult weave together to create a grand world and story and by the time you finish you will be ready for dishonored 2. You can adjust or totally remove all or non of the hud objective markers dont like them switch them off. health and mana bars dont like them switch them off you still get visuals clues to the state of youre health and so on. The Audio work is top notch from the high quality voice overs from some highly respected actors and the minimal soundtrack that changes on cue when the action changes. There really is nothing bad to say about dishonored in my play-thru i came across no bugs or glitches like getting stuck in places it just never happened. A master piece of the programming craft and top contender for Game of the year. If you miss playing this one you are missing out on one of the best games this year. Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I’d give it a 9.5, which I rounded up to 10. The game was definitely not as I thought it would be. The entire game had a Bioshock-ish feel with its own atmospheric identity, which is its best feat. The set-pieces are varied.

    Unfortunately the plot is not nearly as good as it could be, but the execution with the Bioshock-esque recordings etc. make a mediocre plot a better than average
    I’d give it a 9.5, which I rounded up to 10. The game was definitely not as I thought it would be. The entire game had a Bioshock-ish feel with its own atmospheric identity, which is its best feat. The set-pieces are varied.

    Unfortunately the plot is not nearly as good as it could be, but the execution with the Bioshock-esque recordings etc. make a mediocre plot a better than average one. I think that alone makes it a worthwhile game to play. The past few years games have been way too focused on cutscenes. Luckily, Dishonored does not have many, so I can’t complain about the plot too much. Out of all of these stealth games this generation of games, I think the controls with this one seemed the easiest to use. Naturally, with any of these covert stealth games, the controls can be frustrating and you just want to pry yourself into your TV screen because switching between the powers is sometimes not as quick as one would desire. The powers are awesome. One thing I really liked is that you can combo them to how you would like to play. It had some great writing and a great plot. Many say that the game does kind of punish you for being what you are, an assassin, which is a valid point. However, it is definitely more difficult to keep the death count low, which is the point. The game length was fine. It promotes exploring. I found though that near the end I was getting tired of it though and just slaughtered everyone.
    Expand
  12. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    The best stealth game in years. The setting is dark and matured. The characters are interesting with their own motivations and goals. The story is also dark and based on your approach / decisions it gets even darker /more hopeless later on. If you kill many guards in one level then the next level will be guarded heavier with more guards (There are also other changes which I won't spoil).The best stealth game in years. The setting is dark and matured. The characters are interesting with their own motivations and goals. The story is also dark and based on your approach / decisions it gets even darker /more hopeless later on. If you kill many guards in one level then the next level will be guarded heavier with more guards (There are also other changes which I won't spoil). It is possible to solve the game without killing anyone. The good thing is the variety in the levels. Most times there are multiple ways or approaches for a task. When I replayed a level I often find different routes (A lot easier than my first choices). This gives a good replay value for a second or third play-through. The graphic and sound are really fitting and helped to created a dark / realistic world. This game deserves a lot of praise and I hope there will be a Dishonored 2. Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Wonderful! I had so much fun playing this game I was a little disappointed by how short it was even when i did the side quests, all and all its still a wonderful game.
  14. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Made my mind to buy this for the PS3. Thank goodness i wasted my money for good. This game sets up a new level of graphics, action, in game mechanics and etc. The storyline's epic. I love the surrounding scenery. I love to make use of those super powers u get.
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This FPS is really good for the following reasons: stealth (like an old school Clancy game), an oddly wide array of gadgets and open-worldness (not completely but enough to be odd for an FPS), you hang out in a pub all the time (somehow, yes, in an FPS), save-anywhere, and a range of settings for **** who need regenerative health and settings for badasses who hate regenerative health. Boom.
  16. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Replaying through this game is a must. Even within the first level I noticed pathways/things that I completely missed the first time through. So great to see what happens when a company puts so much emphasis on a single player game nowadays. Instead of making a sub-par co-op mode or something they have made the most fun single player experience I have played this year....easily.
  17. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Finally a REAL next gen game these are far and few between anymore, kudos Arkane studios! Dishonored is a thinking mans game that places you in open world scenarios that have endless approaches to completing your assination objectives. Along the way you will learn of side missions, search for runes to upgrade your super natural powers and explore large environments while evading or killingFinally a REAL next gen game these are far and few between anymore, kudos Arkane studios! Dishonored is a thinking mans game that places you in open world scenarios that have endless approaches to completing your assination objectives. Along the way you will learn of side missions, search for runes to upgrade your super natural powers and explore large environments while evading or killing many memorable enemies. This is how games should be anymore, screw that arcade style linear casual gamer crap and pick up a game actually worth $60 Expand
  18. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Best new original game of the year for sure. What more is there to say that hasn't alreay been said. It's an epic game that you just have to play to realise how awesome it really is.
  19. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. From the beginning to the end its a awesome experience. I loved the simplistic visual style, intuitive controls and the superb atmosphere. Best game i played in a long time!
  20. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    What a game. Right away it reminds me of the first time I played the original Bioshock. The story is fairly typical but the gameplay is fantastic. Everything works well and you can really get creative in how you choose to sneak about or lay waste to everyone in your path. The amount of abilities and upgrades really give you some great choices in how you decide to go about things. IWhat a game. Right away it reminds me of the first time I played the original Bioshock. The story is fairly typical but the gameplay is fantastic. Everything works well and you can really get creative in how you choose to sneak about or lay waste to everyone in your path. The amount of abilities and upgrades really give you some great choices in how you decide to go about things. I have found myself replaying sections simply to try our different tactics and see what works out best for me personally. One of the few games I have played where the stealth is actually a lot of fun and makes you feel like a total badass. The visuals are very nice as well. Some reviews say the textures are a bit muddy but I personally think it is the art style they were going for as it almost feels like you are playing a comic at times, everything is simply gorgeous. Each level also has a bunch of collectibles to keep the replay up and keep you searching for that next item....be it an upgrade, collectable or simply money. Easily one of the coolest games I have played in ages, an absolute must own in my book. Expand
  21. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    this is the best first person stealth game i have ever played. the power are awesome. you can play the game in whatever way you want. cool story. the graphics are really awesome, what else you want in a game? so i give it a perfect 10.
  22. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Good game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlikeGood game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlike in one thing and using only that for the rest of the game.

    Worth the 10-15 hour playthrough.

    Also, lol at the negative user score spam- looks like Bethesda pissed off ****
    Collapse
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This year hasn't been the best year for games; I bought only two games that were released this year before Dishonored and I was a bit disappointed with them both. Mass Effect 3 simplified the choices too much and gave the series a piss-poor ending, and Max Payne 3 just wasn't that compelling to play. It was after that that I went into a period of not playing any video games for a fewThis year hasn't been the best year for games; I bought only two games that were released this year before Dishonored and I was a bit disappointed with them both. Mass Effect 3 simplified the choices too much and gave the series a piss-poor ending, and Max Payne 3 just wasn't that compelling to play. It was after that that I went into a period of not playing any video games for a few months, so when my friend told me about how awesome Dishonored looked from the trailer, I just had to take a look at the game, and boy was that a good idea. Dishonored is the game that I needed to get back into gaming; it's absolutely brilliant on almost every aspect, from the story, to the characters, to the stylish (albeit glitchy) graphics, to the freedom of choice, to the fun gameplay, to the amazing world to explore. The game is fantastic. Never have I played a game which gives the player so much freedom on how to play. There are probably 50 or more different ways that you can tackle any situation in the game, whether it be climbing in through a window, possessing a rat or fish and going through a pipe into a building, shooting your way through the enemies or sneaking past your enemies and through the front door. The possibilities for gameplay are astounding in Dishonored, and this game is anything but a linear title. There are so many ways of tackling a situation, and the game gives you so many opportunities to be creative in the way you play. There are even tonnes of options in the way you assassinate the target; hell, you don't even have to assassinate the target! It's an unbelievably fun game with incredible gameplay and an amazing amount of freedom. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    The biggest complaint I have against Dishonored is that the story-telling (not the story, the story is great) is rather bad. I ended up skipping all of the parts where lord **** was blabbing in my face in fallout 3-esque fixed eye contact. It also suffers from most characters not having any personality whatsoever, they just exist to provide you quests and level ups. I can
  25. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the best stealth/action games i have ever played, the graphics are artistically well done, the controls are smooth and efficient. The options of doing a high/low chaos playthrough are utterly well done and thought out. the level design is extremely well thought out and offer a myriad of ways to go about your mission. The storyline is thought provoking and quite layered.This game is one of the best stealth/action games i have ever played, the graphics are artistically well done, the controls are smooth and efficient. The options of doing a high/low chaos playthrough are utterly well done and thought out. the level design is extremely well thought out and offer a myriad of ways to go about your mission. The storyline is thought provoking and quite layered. You also acquire certain tools/weapons and special magical abilities to aid you in your mission ahead. On my first playthrough with me being in all modesty a true gamer took me about 15 hours to complete. arkane have outdone themselves and with that i will be buying future titles by them. Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5 - A score which Corvo would freeze time, and crossbow. Dishonored is not only one of the best games of 2012, but one of the best I have EVER played. A great story encompassing the murkiness of betrayal; awesome game-play that encourages creativity and a beautiful hand-drawn atmosphere in Dunwall. people, if this hate is retaliation for Skyrim's PS3 ridiculousness then I'm behind you on0.5 - A score which Corvo would freeze time, and crossbow. Dishonored is not only one of the best games of 2012, but one of the best I have EVER played. A great story encompassing the murkiness of betrayal; awesome game-play that encourages creativity and a beautiful hand-drawn atmosphere in Dunwall. people, if this hate is retaliation for Skyrim's PS3 ridiculousness then I'm behind you on that. But don't drag don this incredible game that deserves the love of the gaming community. Expand
  27. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Wow. This game is amazing. At first it took me a while to get into it but after that it is such an amazing game!!! It is a mixture of skyrim, bio shock and thief! Similar action as skyrim. Similar powers as bioshock and sneaking around castles like thief. This game is a must play! Graphics ain't the best and that's why I'm marking this game a 8. But other than that this game is simply amazing
  28. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't perfect, but even so is a remarkable experience. The atmosphere of the game feels unique. The addition of some cutscenes and a better selection of tracks for the soundtrack would have built an even more interesting experience. The stealth approach works flawlessly. Some may get disappointed by how the melee combat works, like I did, but if you enjoy a good stealth gameplay, you won't even get bugged by this fact.
    So, that's it: 10/10 to Dishonored.
    Expand
  29. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    In a nutshell... The gameplay is fantastic but the story leaves something to be desired. From the E3 trailors and all the supporting advertising we were promised something truly different - a masterpiece that would rival some of the best games of this generation. Unfortunately Dishonered does not quite meet those expectations, but it is a pretty great game regardless. The world isIn a nutshell... The gameplay is fantastic but the story leaves something to be desired. From the E3 trailors and all the supporting advertising we were promised something truly different - a masterpiece that would rival some of the best games of this generation. Unfortunately Dishonered does not quite meet those expectations, but it is a pretty great game regardless. The world is intuitively designed and each mission allows you to explore the range of options available to your playstyle - each mission plays like a mini sandbox with a multitude of NPC's that can help or hinder your progress dependent on the choices you make.
    The key is "choice" - something which is often promised but rarey delivered. The game can be played in stealth, outright carnage, or somewhere in between. Each method has its benefits and its entirely up to the player how you approach the various situations you encounter. However, appealing as all this may sound, Disonoured doesnt quite get the details right: The story which holds it all together is somewhat predictable and the structure of the game (set over 9 missions) breaks up the narrative. The soundtrack is nothing to get excited about, and your foes are often just guards with pistols.
    Despite the minor shortcomings its still great and is probably the best single player game on the market right now. When/if you play it, you will proably see that the game is a conceptual masterpiece with a few downsides. Highly reccomended nevertheless
    Expand
  30. May 22, 2014
    9
    I've spent about 64 hours, and frankly I want more :). This game may look cartoon-ish, but please don't be fooled by this - the game tests your humaneness from its 1st second till its last one: you may kill everyone you see, or you may kill no one at all - it's up to you. And like Sir Isaac Newton said, every action has a reaction (simple form) - I mean, whatever you do in the game, allI've spent about 64 hours, and frankly I want more :). This game may look cartoon-ish, but please don't be fooled by this - the game tests your humaneness from its 1st second till its last one: you may kill everyone you see, or you may kill no one at all - it's up to you. And like Sir Isaac Newton said, every action has a reaction (simple form) - I mean, whatever you do in the game, all your actions will have a consequences.
    The main part of the game is dedicated to Corvo. Alas, he is silent, which I don't like. But in the add-ons (The Knife of Dunwall, Brigmore Witches), you're playing as Daud, who is much more talkative. Well, Michael Madsen, as Daud, is fun.
    For those who love stealth games, especially Thief 1&2&3: IMHO, this game is even more Thief-esque than the last Thief (2014). It has a good story, a nice NPCs and their dialogues, a lot of perfectly hidden stashes with loot, and you're free to hide from your foes and neutralize them in old Thief style - by sneaking from behind. Also, the game has a lot of tributes to the Thief series, so you'll definitely smile every time you see them.
    Bottom line: it's a must-have.
    Expand
  31. Oct 15, 2012
    0
    Good game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlikeGood game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlike in one thing and using only that for the rest of the game.

    Worth the 10-15 hour playthrough.

    Also, lol at the negative user score spam- looks like Bethesda pissed off ****
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.