User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 612 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 612

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Hmmm, i'm giving this an 8 because it's a very good game but i still feel it's been overhyped when so many reviewers are calling it GOTY. Though you can't deny that Dishonoured mostly achieves what it sets out to do polished gameplay with non linier level design, freedom to play how you want, some cool powers, and an interesting graphical style it also becomes apparent long before the end that the missions are repetitive and the plot is a bit dull. Although Dishonoured is always enjoyable ther's no real surprise or anticipation about what's coming next and ther's a constant, nagging feeling of "seen it all before and seen it done better". It just lacks that special oomph to be a true classic. Again, it's not that it's a bad game at all but it's just not the mindblowing, innovative experience many reviewers have hyped it up to be. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    WOW. I just thought that I had reached a very anticlimactic ending due to have already dispatched my target in the more unconventional way allotted for the mission at hand. Straight outta left field, I get slapped with the underpinning theme and reality of what Dishonored is as a game. NOT THE END. I will say, I am a sucker for un-apologetically mature and well crafted single player campaigns. This is very reminiscent of half-life in mood but much better developed. Well done Arcane! I don't replay many games, but I think I may replay this more than a few times. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This FPS is really good for the following reasons: stealth (like an old school Clancy game), an oddly wide array of gadgets and open-worldness (not completely but enough to be odd for an FPS), you hang out in a pub all the time (somehow, yes, in an FPS), save-anywhere, and a range of settings for **** who need regenerative health and settings for badasses who hate regenerative health. Boom.
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    It's a great game. Some of the best stealth I've played in a while. Probably since Metal Gear. It's just fun and time-consuming. I expected a mediocre game but got something else: a worthy GOTY candidate.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    In a nutshell... The gameplay is fantastic but the story leaves something to be desired. From the E3 trailors and all the supporting advertising we were promised something truly different - a masterpiece that would rival some of the best games of this generation. Unfortunately Dishonered does not quite meet those expectations, but it is a pretty great game regardless. The world is intuitively designed and each mission allows you to explore the range of options available to your playstyle - each mission plays like a mini sandbox with a multitude of NPC's that can help or hinder your progress dependent on the choices you make.
    The key is "choice" - something which is often promised but rarey delivered. The game can be played in stealth, outright carnage, or somewhere in between. Each method has its benefits and its entirely up to the player how you approach the various situations you encounter. However, appealing as all this may sound, Disonoured doesnt quite get the details right: The story which holds it all together is somewhat predictable and the structure of the game (set over 9 missions) breaks up the narrative. The soundtrack is nothing to get excited about, and your foes are often just guards with pistols.
    Despite the minor shortcomings its still great and is probably the best single player game on the market right now. When/if you play it, you will proably see that the game is a conceptual masterpiece with a few downsides. Highly reccomended nevertheless
    Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5? Seriously guys? I wonder which ill-fated cause made you so angry that you had to destroy the user score average of the PS3 version. The game is good, maybe not perfect, but doesn't deserve all this hate.
  8. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    Not since the masterpiece Deus Ex came out in 2000 has there been a game with so much freedom to get to the end objective your own way. It's absolutely fantastic that you can play without killing anyone or cut down all those in your path. The story is pretty good, but (without giving away any spoilers), I think most people could see the plot twist two or three missions in. Map design is terrific. There are so many ways to enter areas, take down enemies, achieve objectives it's amazing what the player can accomplish. Enemy AI is good. If you take down an enemy, another one will think no one is patrolling there and cover a bigger area. However, some small glitches prevent the game from being truly great. There are at time enemies who are somehow instantaneously alerted to your exact position through two buildings, while you are sneaking. There are at times audio glitches where you press play on something and the sound doesn't play. There are times where the game can't display some visual effects and instead shows a white square. These are minor blemishes that stain an otherwise fantastic piece of work. Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2012
    5
    You know what this was not too bad... Don\'t fool yourself its not 91% material at all, at best 75 but its very lucky that crap like borderlands 2 came out at a similar time because it looks so much better- however they have cleverly jumped ahead of ac3 in the knowledge that if you put these two side by side- in fact even ac2- no one would buy dishonoured at the full price. So it\'s a case of filler before the good games come out and in that respect it\'s passable. Nothing new, nothing groundbreaking and it just about gets away with the storyline which just about makes it all interesting and not quite boring. \" meh\" just about sums it up but it is a darn sight better than some other rubbish that has just been gushed over and it makes me think as I have so often said , the gaming world is disingenuous at best- most reviews should come with a warning that they are in fact just hype. How on earth this or b2 got 91 in comparison to say bf3 I\'ll never ever know ( but we all know really right?) anyway- in about 2 weeks time this game is going to drop out of sight so save your money and buy it for £15 at christmas Expand
  10. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    Someday somebodies gonna get the whole stealth thing fig.... oh wait, they did. Still sufferes from the trial and error that killed the rest of them but at least gave us a few options. Thank you for not being the (horrible) Deus Ex 2. This is a stealth game for the rest of us.
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    I rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mile with the acting and the way the whole thing ended just seemed unfinished. I did read before release that there wouldn't be an actual boss encounter in the end but the way it all ended still sort of disappointed me because the last target was like the main antagonist and you just kill him like all the others, done and roll the credits...

    I liked the game overall but really just feel like something is missing from the experience as a whole : / I don't know if all the mainstream blockbuster games have spoiled me over the years or what, though it surely seems that most critics adore this game... I don't know how I feel about it, probably a 7,5 :S
    Expand
  12. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It's truly a unique game with amazing gameplay. The gameplay gives you creative ways to utilize gadgets and kill your enemies to stealthily proceed in the game such as by possessing rats to kill enemies. But even during all-out combat the gameplay is amazing. The graphics and art design are some of the best I've seen in a long time. Moreover, it comes with large amounts of content giving it high replayability. As for the story, it's the cherry of the cake so I won't spoil it for you. Betheseda has done a great job this time. THIS IS A MUST BUY FOLKS! Expand
  13. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    There is nothing bad i can say about this game i love it so much i will dare to say it is perfect. i will say this now though if you just rush through and kill everything in your path you will not have as good of a time and the game will be relatively short. all of your assassination targets are easy to get to right at the start but it involves killing everything in front of you and going in guns blazing. there is nothing wrong with doing that of course but you will not experience the full game. what i mean by this is the fact that there is so much going on that you will miss entire scenes of the game if you don't think about your kill before making a strategy and finding out everything there is to know about them. the way they throw you into each situation is also to be praised because the game is open world to an extent and this allows you to play the game the way you want to play it unlike most games where there is only one way to do something this game allows limitless possibilities on how to play. the art in this game is icing on the cake it is beautiful and so diverse that as well as trying to figure out how you will kill your target you will also look around and admire your surroundings. although some may disagree i love the story so far and it is puling me in further and further and i want to keep playing so i can find out what is going to happen next. this game is a breath of fresh air and is a goood break from all the FPS games that are on the market i recommend this to everyone and i highly suggest you pick it up now. Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    No matter how many times you argue about it Dishonored is the best surprise of the year and probably a contender of Game of the Year either users or critics alike , and mostly ( and commonly ) the " haters " simply will thrash everything by their lack of taste. So to top it off, we had the over the top , fluid, almost perfect control scheme that makes this game shine set with a variety of powers , weapons , diverse locations on a single level , and creative missions . This elements will guide you through all the game and most likely will ease all your troubles when you acquire/improve powers . Arkane did not only made you a scary entity in the game it also made a solid AI that will cause you to break your head just to find out what possible solutions you can do to make a easy escape , mistakenly leave trails of your victims , a " piece of cake " entry to a mansion or a gory yet disappointing death for you . It sounds hard right ? well you get the hang of it , because you will want to be Corvo every time you assume the control of him and you want skills to feel awesome. The story itself , is clever and you can sense some sort of dark tone with every decisions in the conversations . With all these things in single game you need to say one thing for sure, single-player games still rock even on this generation full of multiplayer games. Expand
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You choose what way you want to play in this game. You can go all out and run around and kill everything or you can try a more stealthy approach. You CAN run threw this game pretty quickly but atleast this game is somewhat different from the things we have been seeing latley. I think this is a good game but I also think that people will forget about this game pretty quickly. I would actually give this game a 7.5 but we can't do that on Meta Critic. Don't get me wrong the game is good and in a way it's unique but in another way "we've seen these types of games before" I don't know if the way I phrased that makes any sense but anyway. Graphics are pretty decent,not that I care about them, I don't really care about story either but this games story is lacking ingrediants. Gameplay is pretty good too. I found the game to be easy and most people that know me know that I like hard games which this gen lacks so bad except Demon Souls/Dark Souls...If yo are looking for a challenge in this game you will not find it. However it is a decent game that deserves a rent and if it happens to be your cup of tea then buy it. I wont be disappointed if this games recieves GOTY, although I do not think it should be, but this year has already had a lot of games that I was excited for and was disappointed in many of them. This game doesn't disappoint me, just there are better games out there than this one. I'm just happy that it's not a Call of Duty game.. Expand
  16. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    The game fails to grab my attention. I'm many hours in and am still underwhelmed by the atmosphere / story / gameplay variation. The game is fun when you're in the thick of it on a mission, but as an overall experience Dishonored is disjointed and stiff. It's a very stop-and-go experience, which doesn't allow for much momentum. Games like Bioshock and Arkham City get it right by being "dungeon based" but working hard to disguise the seams between levels (Batman does it best by far). The world feels very dead too. I wish there were more NPC's or detail to the world. The mechanics of the game are great, and I enjoy it in small doses. But it doesn't approach the genre's high water marks like System Shock 2. Or even is most direct influence Bioshock. The game basically feels like a poor man's Bioshock. I say: RENT IT. Expand
  17. Jan 25, 2013
    6
    I had high expectations about this one. The videos, the reviews, the beautiful, haunting steampunk atmosphere. It feels to me they want to mimic Bioshock so desperatly... but they missed out the MOST IMPORTANT THING about Bioshock: an UNFORGETTABLE TALE. Dishonored's plot is simple, not compelling (at all). The game plays nice and all and it's a really cool, charming adventure. But I confess it got boring eventually. Not worthy of such hype, Good game, not great. Expand
  18. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Finally a REAL next gen game these are far and few between anymore, kudos Arkane studios! Dishonored is a thinking mans game that places you in open world scenarios that have endless approaches to completing your assination objectives. Along the way you will learn of side missions, search for runes to upgrade your super natural powers and explore large environments while evading or killing many memorable enemies. This is how games should be anymore, screw that arcade style linear casual gamer crap and pick up a game actually worth $60 Expand
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    What a game. Right away it reminds me of the first time I played the original Bioshock. The story is fairly typical but the gameplay is fantastic. Everything works well and you can really get creative in how you choose to sneak about or lay waste to everyone in your path. The amount of abilities and upgrades really give you some great choices in how you decide to go about things. I have found myself replaying sections simply to try our different tactics and see what works out best for me personally. One of the few games I have played where the stealth is actually a lot of fun and makes you feel like a total badass. The visuals are very nice as well. Some reviews say the textures are a bit muddy but I personally think it is the art style they were going for as it almost feels like you are playing a comic at times, everything is simply gorgeous. Each level also has a bunch of collectibles to keep the replay up and keep you searching for that next item....be it an upgrade, collectable or simply money. Easily one of the coolest games I have played in ages, an absolute must own in my book. Expand
  20. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It takes a few levels to realise that, for a game which offers you multiple ways to play, you have to adapt to play it the way it needs you to. On Very Hard, Dishonored is an absolute nightmare at first. Even towards the end you'll sometimes be detected and won't be sure what's wrong. But oh - for those many moments where it works, where it pushes storytelling in FPS games far beyond what you've ever seen before, where you'll leave the house in real life (gasp!) wanting to blink, to use dark vision, to sleep dart the cat next door. When the last level comes around, you'll realise that you've been trained the entire time to become the ultimate badass and it has to end there. Because by then, you have become completely unstoppable. Yes, the controls take a little getting used to. Yes, the field of vision available is a little hard to get used to. And yes, you should stay away if Call Of Duty is the only game you know how to play. But for those who can easily get past all of the above, Dishonored is a beautiful, well-realised and deeply engrossing experience for which I sincerely hope there'll be a sequel. Thank you Arkane, thank you Bethesda, thank you Corvo and the city of Dunwall! Expand
  21. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Probably just a little bit below 8. Don't get me wrong, the game is pretty good, it just didn't deliver as much as I hoped for (I'm probably a little biased as I was super hyped for it). The best aspects by far are the level design (already praised by many reviewers) and the stealth, which gave me a flashback to the old metal gear days. Once hits the fan and guards start to go after you, combat doesn't feel as crisp as i expected, is sort of clunky and chaotic, and it becomes evident that your powers are designed for stealth, not overt conflict. This I can forgive since you're an assassin, and....... well I guess you're not supposed to be proficient in both stealth and brawl, but whatever. Things I didn't like: the graphics, since they feel very dated (same issue as with Deus EX:HR); lack of skill development (your powers' scaling feels bland and straight forward, a scheeme similar to Skyrim's skill trees would've been much better). Overall it's a good package, and though it's a little bit short it surely ranks as one the best stealth games I've played of late. Expand
  22. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Dishonored Review
    The highlight of E3 has finally arrived and being one of the only new series his year gamers across the globe get ready to play one of the best games of the year so far. Dishonored comes to us from Arkane Studios and Bethesda and the Besthesda influence really rubs off on this one too. The story is pretty standard, Empress gets murdered, princess gets kidnapped and of
    course you are framed for it, you are Corvo Attano the former bodyguard and it is your job to avenge the Empress's death and put the rightful heir on the throne. The story here is nothing original with some predictable twists but provides a good backdrop for the chaos going around in this city. Yes not only is the Empress dead but the city is still suffering from the rat plague which gives the city a certain lack of hope and happiness. The world is extremely detailed and evolves according to your actions, depending on who you kill and how many people you kill. The more you slaughter the more rats and the darker to outcome at the end. This adds a heap of replay value straight up to see the different outcome of the 9 missions and the ending. True to Bethesda fashion, the first mission is of course a prison break where you learn all the combat ropes and the different physical actions you can perform. The level design here is very open ended like the Thief and Hitman series, you can even get through the game without killing a soul, there are a million possibilities in these levels. Even more replay value, there are ghost bonuses and low chaos challenges to add difficulty. Talking about that, the difficulty settings here are pretty off, if you want a good time definitely turn it up to Hard or Very hard. Early you gain you magical abilities, to get these powers you must collect runes scattered around the world and these are powers like teleportation, possession, time bending and there is even a Fus Ro Dah. There are also passive abilities to get too like extra health, bodies disappear when killed and others. Graphically the game is perfectly fine but I think the developers were a bit confused when it came to art direction, were they going for cartoony or were they going for serious steampunk, I have no idea but regardless the visuals are fine. What baffled me is the lack of a substantial soundtrack, ambient music provides a little effect but it isn Expand
  23. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This game is great and its universe too! It's a pleasure to see a studio creating a brand new IP, this must be encouraged :)
    First hours in the game were a (really) great experience, but as long as I progressed in the game, things just went harder and harder but the gameplay, enemies and environments remain (almost) the same. It become repetitive and - I'm sorry to say that -... boring.
  24. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I have only played a few hours of Dishonored, and I already love it. I am not that far into the game, so I can't tell all the things I like. So far, I love the detail and distinct style this whaling city has. The story is pretty cool and the powers you get are incredible. Great game! If you are going to pay full price for anything on its release day, you could do a lot worse than this.
  25. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    For everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable and aesthetic, but entirely non-interactive save for the breakaway tables and glasses copy/pasted from area to area, which drags my immersion back to the shallows, at times. Combat is reliable, but one-dimensional - a blow either connects or it doesn't, with no variability of result quality or magnitude. These simplicities, I imagine, allow for the stalk-'n'-sock, custom-built kills to function reliably (and they do). However, though it may be fun to find new combinations of talents for your kills, the novelty wears off incredibly fast, leaving me feeling like some of the main selling points for the game are gimmicks, at best. I finished the initial playthrough, but don't have the motivation to put in the time and effort for the quality retry/replay attempts at a perfect game. Much of the story is told through submenu databanks, so perhaps I might revisit those and let myself deeper into the story, at some point. However, overall, this felt like BioShock 1 was reskinned for a Metal Gear Solid Mode set in the London of Alice: Madness Returns. I recommend picking it up as the price comes down. It's a good game and you'll enjoy the experience, but it will feel dated either way and there's nothing new or innovative enough to enjoy at full price; bland is bland regardless of freshness. Expand
  26. Oct 13, 2012
    3
    I'm struggling understanding the love for this game. I wanted to love it, really I did. But the controls are poor, the story line is not very good, and the options bethesda gives the gamer in conversations are a joke. On that subject, after choosing to progress (after answering a ridiculously stupid question i.e. would you like to go back to prison?) the screen just goes black and leads into the next chapter, there's no traveling, there's no cinematic, there's just a loading screen. Also the graphics are poor. Beer just looks like jello in a glass for example, and the textures are not very good as well (characters arms will go through their sheathed weapons). As I said, I wanted to love this game, and though the gameplay itself can be quite fun after getting past the many annoyances, I will certainly be trading my Dishonored in towards Assassins Creed 3, as it will CERTAINLY be a better game, in fact, Assassins Creed 1 was better. Expand
  27. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    "Dishonored" sits comfortably in the mixed heritage of FPS games like "Bioshock," "Half Life 2," and "Deus Ex" without quite meeting the same great heights. Instead, it unfortunately is going to join my shelf of "Bioshock 2" and "Deus Ex: HR" as grand attempts that don't quite make it. It's a shame, cause on gameplay alone this really should be a 10/10... it just lacks that extra punch, and since the combat/stealth is so good, it's all the more noticeable what it lacks in payoff. The attack customization is top-notch - better, perhaps, than any of the above mentioned games - with plenty of player choices affecting later gameplay, if not so much the story. And the level design is pretty damn good, allowing exploration risk/reward while still giving a straight shot for those who aren't interested in every completionist sidequest and item. But (and this is a big But), the game is too short and the story is forgettable. Now, usually I'd argue a short game is just a good game without padding, but it really feels like there could've been some more missions if devtimes had not caught up with them. Or maybe they focused so heavily on making the levels excellent, they didn't notice how few well crafted moments they gave us. And the story is...well, it's there, but often I felt like I was supposed to be more wowed by the setting than the narrative. There are no real stand-out "wow" moments, something the greats of the genre make sure to give players almost every level. Some reviewers have argued that the best part is going back to try different ways through each mission and shoot for those ghost/deathless scores, but so many other games already have that great retread.It's fantastic that the depth is there (and believe me, the depth of the level design is awesome), I just wish there was more of it to explore. I'd still highly recommend this game to FPS/Stealth fans, especially those that wanted "Deus Ex: Human Revolution" to be better than it was, but at the end of the day the game sits, for me, as an enjoyable "Aw damn. So close, yet so far." Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2012
    8
    Got a late review here so I'm going to keep it short, just like the game did.. Dishonored is a truly special game, it's a unique sandbox game with great atmosphere, enjoyable gameplay and a pretty okay story. Still, the open style of the game means that the story did suffer, it feels like a classic revenge tale, but at times you might miss out on things simply because you're in the wrong place at the wrong time. Since it is a singleplayer game, I really do wish they would have put more effort into the story, since the game appears to highlight just that. Still, the reason why I liked this game was the nice visuals and the gameplay, playing this I wish more devs would implement similar teleportation mechanics, it's really fun and USEFUL. To finish this review off, I gotta say it's a good game, but flawed, I'm giving it a solid 7/10 since while it's a cool game, it could've used a lot more polish on... Everything, although I can recommend it to fans of stealth and adventure games. Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Buy this game! The game is worth the full 59.99 price! Beautiful graphics. Multiple ways to finish a mission. Choices that you must make change the experience you have!
  30. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    Really unique and fun experience with this game. Graphics are dated and cartoonish, but this is offset by the amazing gameplay and decent revenge/redemption story.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.