User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 694 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 694

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless,Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    "Dishonored" sits comfortably in the mixed heritage of FPS games like "Bioshock," "Half Life 2," and "Deus Ex" without quite meeting the same great heights. Instead, it unfortunately is going to join my shelf of "Bioshock 2" and "Deus Ex: HR" as grand attempts that don't quite make it. It's a shame, cause on gameplay alone this really should be a 10/10... it just lacks that extra punch,"Dishonored" sits comfortably in the mixed heritage of FPS games like "Bioshock," "Half Life 2," and "Deus Ex" without quite meeting the same great heights. Instead, it unfortunately is going to join my shelf of "Bioshock 2" and "Deus Ex: HR" as grand attempts that don't quite make it. It's a shame, cause on gameplay alone this really should be a 10/10... it just lacks that extra punch, and since the combat/stealth is so good, it's all the more noticeable what it lacks in payoff. The attack customization is top-notch - better, perhaps, than any of the above mentioned games - with plenty of player choices affecting later gameplay, if not so much the story. And the level design is pretty damn good, allowing exploration risk/reward while still giving a straight shot for those who aren't interested in every completionist sidequest and item. But (and this is a big But), the game is too short and the story is forgettable. Now, usually I'd argue a short game is just a good game without padding, but it really feels like there could've been some more missions if devtimes had not caught up with them. Or maybe they focused so heavily on making the levels excellent, they didn't notice how few well crafted moments they gave us. And the story is...well, it's there, but often I felt like I was supposed to be more wowed by the setting than the narrative. There are no real stand-out "wow" moments, something the greats of the genre make sure to give players almost every level. Some reviewers have argued that the best part is going back to try different ways through each mission and shoot for those ghost/deathless scores, but so many other games already have that great retread.It's fantastic that the depth is there (and believe me, the depth of the level design is awesome), I just wish there was more of it to explore. I'd still highly recommend this game to FPS/Stealth fans, especially those that wanted "Deus Ex: Human Revolution" to be better than it was, but at the end of the day the game sits, for me, as an enjoyable "Aw damn. So close, yet so far." Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    3
    I'm struggling understanding the love for this game. I wanted to love it, really I did. But the controls are poor, the story line is not very good, and the options bethesda gives the gamer in conversations are a joke. On that subject, after choosing to progress (after answering a ridiculously stupid question i.e. would you like to go back to prison?) the screen just goes black and leadsI'm struggling understanding the love for this game. I wanted to love it, really I did. But the controls are poor, the story line is not very good, and the options bethesda gives the gamer in conversations are a joke. On that subject, after choosing to progress (after answering a ridiculously stupid question i.e. would you like to go back to prison?) the screen just goes black and leads into the next chapter, there's no traveling, there's no cinematic, there's just a loading screen. Also the graphics are poor. Beer just looks like jello in a glass for example, and the textures are not very good as well (characters arms will go through their sheathed weapons). As I said, I wanted to love this game, and though the gameplay itself can be quite fun after getting past the many annoyances, I will certainly be trading my Dishonored in towards Assassins Creed 3, as it will CERTAINLY be a better game, in fact, Assassins Creed 1 was better. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Dishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole gameDishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole game and kill no one which is highly unlikely to happen but still adds to the fun that you know you can kill or spare anyone you want. The ending of the game depends on how you play so if you just run an kill everyone, people will react differently, you might be betrayed and even the dialogue of the game changes. So if you choose that kind of approach than I can tell you the ending won't be pretty. I also love how it doesn't just have to be a stealth game as it's supposed to but can also be a normal killing game mixed with cool powers. These are some of the many things that make Dishonoured unique from other games. Something I dislike in Dishonoured is probably the lack of powers you actually get in this game compared to the variety there is. One of things I was most exited about when Dishonoured was announced was all those supernatural powers you could have in the game but then was heavily disappointed when I found out you can only choose slightly less than half of the breath-taking abilities. I found the powers as one of the most attracting things that brought me towards this game and am very disappointed with this. What's the point of bragging about all these powers you can use when you can only choose not even half of them? I also don't like it how there is no free roam as free roam with abilities like those could have unlimited potential. Just imagine being able to do ANYTHING you want with powers like those, if the whole thing was just free roam I still wouldn't hesitate a second giving it 100/100. Alias you can only imagine these excitement.

    Overall:
    +Freedom of choice
    +Can be several types of genres depending on how you play
    + Different endings to the game
    +People reacting differently depending on how you play as well as the environment changing
    +Supernatural powers
    -Limited amount of powers available per a game
    - No free roam

    In conclusion, Dishonoured is great game for people who like deciding how the game moves towards the conclusion and also for people who don't . I highly recommend this game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Hmmm, i'm giving this an 8 because it's a very good game but i still feel it's been overhyped when so many reviewers are calling it GOTY. Though you can't deny that Dishonoured mostly achieves what it sets out to do polished gameplay with non linier level design, freedom to play how you want, some cool powers, and an interesting graphical style it also becomes apparent long before the endHmmm, i'm giving this an 8 because it's a very good game but i still feel it's been overhyped when so many reviewers are calling it GOTY. Though you can't deny that Dishonoured mostly achieves what it sets out to do polished gameplay with non linier level design, freedom to play how you want, some cool powers, and an interesting graphical style it also becomes apparent long before the end that the missions are repetitive and the plot is a bit dull. Although Dishonoured is always enjoyable ther's no real surprise or anticipation about what's coming next and ther's a constant, nagging feeling of "seen it all before and seen it done better". It just lacks that special oomph to be a true classic. Again, it's not that it's a bad game at all but it's just not the mindblowing, innovative experience many reviewers have hyped it up to be. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game... graphics are very nice, decent music, memorable cast.
    I dislike how killing is frowned upon... is seeking vengeance really that bad?
    PS If you want people to not kill you should give them more abilities... choke, dark vision, blink, and poisoned arrow... you give the killers more... nades, mines, etc
    PSS Possession is just goofy, its length should be massively buffed so it has a use for the ghost runners.
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    great game! very polished story and graphics. good level of challenge and a variety of ways to play. wish it were a complete open world, but i can't really complain, lots of plot twists and turns. highly recommended
  8. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Dishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on theDishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on the storyline. The gameplay mainly involves traveling from your base (where you can upgrade your tools and abilities) to mission levels. There are some clever consequences put into play depending how how tackled previous missions. The more guards you kill on your first visit to one of the districts of Dunwall, results in more Weepers (zombies) and rats appearing on your next visit to that region. If you were to takedown guards using non-lethal methods, then this can be avoided. This is only a couple of examples of the action/consequence elements of the gameplay.

    As a fan of games like Fallout 3, Fallout: Las Vegas, Skyrim and the Deus Ex games, I really enjoyed this game, but I felt that the game itself was not long enough and that the "Blink" ability (teleportation skill) was a little unprecise to use. In the heat of battle, trying to teleport to a rooftop to escape combat can sometimes result in you mis-targeting the rooftop and teleporting into a crowd of enemy guards etc. Highly recommended, but don't expect a long journey.
    Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Dishonored belongs to a rare kind of game. And because it is rare it is special. Not everything that is rare is good but Dishonored is. From the story to the visuals, from the characters to the gameplay. Dishonored is a (very) special experience to any gamer. Everything that is put on this game is there with a purpose. If there is a ledge or a walkway there is a different way to play. AndDishonored belongs to a rare kind of game. And because it is rare it is special. Not everything that is rare is good but Dishonored is. From the story to the visuals, from the characters to the gameplay. Dishonored is a (very) special experience to any gamer. Everything that is put on this game is there with a purpose. If there is a ledge or a walkway there is a different way to play. And what to say about Dunwall? Picture Rapture without the plasmid effects and put a rat plague instead, add a political conspiracy with a twist of mysticism and you have the most amazing setting since Bioshock. Better even in my opinion. Dishonored is pure gaming perfection! Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    There's little to be said about Dishonored, its Bio-Shock meets Thief with a hint of Skyrim & Assassins Creed. Dishonored is a great title but there were a few things that could have turned the title from Great to Masterpiece. You are instantly introduced into a world of politics as the Main Man, Antagonist, Hero, Anti Hero and the list can go on, Corvo Atano, a prolific bodyguard of anThere's little to be said about Dishonored, its Bio-Shock meets Thief with a hint of Skyrim & Assassins Creed. Dishonored is a great title but there were a few things that could have turned the title from Great to Masterpiece. You are instantly introduced into a world of politics as the Main Man, Antagonist, Hero, Anti Hero and the list can go on, Corvo Atano, a prolific bodyguard of an empress who is assassinated asap in the game by unknown assassins at this point, Corvo is simply framed with the murder, leaving little to be known about the empress but before her death it shows glimpses of you having previously established a close relationship with Jessamine (the empress) but more importantly a close bond with her daughter and only heir, the empresses warm hearted daughter Emily who is kidnapped in the process of the murder of her mother. The plot is simple find and save Emily, it felt a bit generic with your average plot twist and as simple as the Main Story is the side missions is what makes this game a complete conscious ride and keeps the replay value at a good height, even with the short amount of main missions (being only 9) there is a certain point where it felt that some missions had more depth then others, where the odd ones felt like they were just fillers where the super natural powers you possess made the mission a fun ride instead of the mission it self. The assassinating is where ALL the fun is with a array of supernatural powers given to you from the Demi God known as the Outsider, which he does give you that slight chill at times, with your new found powers gives you the chance and opportunity to either play extremely ruthless or completely silent throughout the whole game. As for visuals, DON'T be expecting stunning visuals like Uncharted or Skyrim, 80% of the locations have a dark tone to it with almost every location being bland but it does have the rare areas in the game that shows some nice contrast but overall it feels like a nightmare has taken place with a bit of life being hidden deeply inside the locations. This games value comes all down to pure game play and its conscious driven plot. The cons would be its lack of plot design/depth and its shifty stealth system which at times you feel completely disguised but then some how you have been spotted from meters away also the combat system did feel a bit generic and it felt the final blow was the only different action after you have performed a array of 1-2 slash combos which is luckily saved by its creative ideas of using your super natural abilities. The load screens were a bit long at times and some characters could have had more depth, I barely had any sort of technical problems in my experience with the game only freezing up on me twice on all my play throughs, i say the frame rate was good and the exposure of glitches were rare.

    Plot - 7
    Gameplay - 9
    Originality - 7
    Technicality - 9
    Replay Value - 8
    Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me some time to get used to the controls of the ps3, especially because the game is in ego-perspective. All in all it's a very good and solid game. It's just a little bit too short if you ask me. I finished almost every chapter in stealth mode to get a different ending. I guess it takes longer if you play it that way than just rushing through every quest. But it has a great replay value. I enjoyed playing it Expand
  12. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Finally an action game you can complete without brining death to a single enemy. So naturally I did my best to kill everyone! Rarely have i played a game where killing is more enjoyable, creeping up behind an enemy and stabbing them in the neck, never gets old. Tone/Setting: Excellent - perhaps only surpassed by the original Bioshock

    Gameplay: Outstanding - the best of the best of this
    Finally an action game you can complete without brining death to a single enemy. So naturally I did my best to kill everyone! Rarely have i played a game where killing is more enjoyable, creeping up behind an enemy and stabbing them in the neck, never gets old. Tone/Setting: Excellent - perhaps only surpassed by the original Bioshock

    Gameplay: Outstanding - the best of the best of this generation

    Graphics: Outstanding - as sharp as they are immersive Story: Ordinary - Not bad but nothing you would write home about, I don't care much for the characters, they neither add anything nor take anything away from the game. I was disappointed by the zero character development of Corvo and was never given a reason to care for the wellbeing of the empress. Story gets slightly more interesting towards the end. +Customisable weapons and magic
    +Brilliant stealth mechanics
    +Believable, fascinating and emotionally invigorating environments

    -The ordinary story holds this game back from masterpiece status
    -written letters and book excerpts have no voice over: the last thing I want to do in a game is stop and read, its annoying and breaks up the action; I would have liked audiotapes like in bioshock. Recommended for: stealth lovers, people who enjoyed bioshock, or anyone who can appreciate an amazing game regardless of genre. Closing thoughts: You will remember Dunwall for its eeriness and thrilling gameplay, the same cannot be said for its weak characters and ordinary story. Overall: Amazing
    Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    A great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though IA great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though I acknowledge that the graphics are supposed to represent an artistic style, I think that the character models could be a lot better, and there were some autosaving problems but those were quite rare. However, these are all small issues in an otherwise great game. Expand
  14. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    I have not played a better game than Dishonored. I loved the freedom to do as you wish. It has beautiful graphics that give it an arty feel. Not a very long story but i played through it about 4 times and didn't get bored. It has an interesting story that you get to decide the outcome. The powers you acquire are really cool and give you even more ways to approach levels.
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This FPS is really good for the following reasons: stealth (like an old school Clancy game), an oddly wide array of gadgets and open-worldness (not completely but enough to be odd for an FPS), you hang out in a pub all the time (somehow, yes, in an FPS), save-anywhere, and a range of settings for **** who need regenerative health and settings for badasses who hate regenerative health. Boom.
  16. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    It's a great game. Some of the best stealth I've played in a while. Probably since Metal Gear. It's just fun and time-consuming. I expected a mediocre game but got something else: a worthy GOTY candidate.
  17. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    In a nutshell... The gameplay is fantastic but the story leaves something to be desired. From the E3 trailors and all the supporting advertising we were promised something truly different - a masterpiece that would rival some of the best games of this generation. Unfortunately Dishonered does not quite meet those expectations, but it is a pretty great game regardless. The world isIn a nutshell... The gameplay is fantastic but the story leaves something to be desired. From the E3 trailors and all the supporting advertising we were promised something truly different - a masterpiece that would rival some of the best games of this generation. Unfortunately Dishonered does not quite meet those expectations, but it is a pretty great game regardless. The world is intuitively designed and each mission allows you to explore the range of options available to your playstyle - each mission plays like a mini sandbox with a multitude of NPC's that can help or hinder your progress dependent on the choices you make.
    The key is "choice" - something which is often promised but rarey delivered. The game can be played in stealth, outright carnage, or somewhere in between. Each method has its benefits and its entirely up to the player how you approach the various situations you encounter. However, appealing as all this may sound, Disonoured doesnt quite get the details right: The story which holds it all together is somewhat predictable and the structure of the game (set over 9 missions) breaks up the narrative. The soundtrack is nothing to get excited about, and your foes are often just guards with pistols.
    Despite the minor shortcomings its still great and is probably the best single player game on the market right now. When/if you play it, you will proably see that the game is a conceptual masterpiece with a few downsides. Highly reccomended nevertheless
    Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It takes a few levels to realise that, for a game which offers you multiple ways to play, you have to adapt to play it the way it needs you to. On Very Hard, Dishonored is an absolute nightmare at first. Even towards the end you'll sometimes be detected and won't be sure what's wrong. But oh - for those many moments where it works, where it pushes storytelling in FPS games far beyondIt takes a few levels to realise that, for a game which offers you multiple ways to play, you have to adapt to play it the way it needs you to. On Very Hard, Dishonored is an absolute nightmare at first. Even towards the end you'll sometimes be detected and won't be sure what's wrong. But oh - for those many moments where it works, where it pushes storytelling in FPS games far beyond what you've ever seen before, where you'll leave the house in real life (gasp!) wanting to blink, to use dark vision, to sleep dart the cat next door. When the last level comes around, you'll realise that you've been trained the entire time to become the ultimate badass and it has to end there. Because by then, you have become completely unstoppable. Yes, the controls take a little getting used to. Yes, the field of vision available is a little hard to get used to. And yes, you should stay away if Call Of Duty is the only game you know how to play. But for those who can easily get past all of the above, Dishonored is a beautiful, well-realised and deeply engrossing experience for which I sincerely hope there'll be a sequel. Thank you Arkane, thank you Bethesda, thank you Corvo and the city of Dunwall! Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Probably just a little bit below 8. Don't get me wrong, the game is pretty good, it just didn't deliver as much as I hoped for (I'm probably a little biased as I was super hyped for it). The best aspects by far are the level design (already praised by many reviewers) and the stealth, which gave me a flashback to the old metal gear days. Once hits the fan and guards start to go after you,Probably just a little bit below 8. Don't get me wrong, the game is pretty good, it just didn't deliver as much as I hoped for (I'm probably a little biased as I was super hyped for it). The best aspects by far are the level design (already praised by many reviewers) and the stealth, which gave me a flashback to the old metal gear days. Once hits the fan and guards start to go after you, combat doesn't feel as crisp as i expected, is sort of clunky and chaotic, and it becomes evident that your powers are designed for stealth, not overt conflict. This I can forgive since you're an assassin, and....... well I guess you're not supposed to be proficient in both stealth and brawl, but whatever. Things I didn't like: the graphics, since they feel very dated (same issue as with Deus EX:HR); lack of skill development (your powers' scaling feels bland and straight forward, a scheeme similar to Skyrim's skill trees would've been much better). Overall it's a good package, and though it's a little bit short it surely ranks as one the best stealth games I've played of late. Expand
  20. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This game is great and its universe too! It's a pleasure to see a studio creating a brand new IP, this must be encouraged :)
    First hours in the game were a (really) great experience, but as long as I progressed in the game, things just went harder and harder but the gameplay, enemies and environments remain (almost) the same. It become repetitive and - I'm sorry to say that -... boring.
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Buy this game! The game is worth the full 59.99 price! Beautiful graphics. Multiple ways to finish a mission. Choices that you must make change the experience you have!
  22. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    Really unique and fun experience with this game. Graphics are dated and cartoonish, but this is offset by the amazing gameplay and decent revenge/redemption story.
  23. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    The game's biggest --perhaps only-- flaw is its inability to wrap the complex narrative up in a memorable way. Considering how rich the rest of the game is (both in terms of mythology and gameplay) I was sad at the non-ending that greeted me upon the end of Corvo's rather straight forward "save Emily" quest. Maybe they're pulling a Fallout 3 and planning on releasing the ending in DLCThe game's biggest --perhaps only-- flaw is its inability to wrap the complex narrative up in a memorable way. Considering how rich the rest of the game is (both in terms of mythology and gameplay) I was sad at the non-ending that greeted me upon the end of Corvo's rather straight forward "save Emily" quest. Maybe they're pulling a Fallout 3 and planning on releasing the ending in DLC form. Or maybe they're pulling a Bioshock and planning on giving us a proper ending with a direct sequel. Either way, a huge opportunity was lost and, in the process, Dishonored went from being a probable Game of the year to simply a very good game. Expand
  24. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Very good.

    Excellent setting and story (particularly if you play the 'knife' and 'witches' DLC). Good overall gameplay. Interesting, long and varied missions. Enemy AI is a bit dull stay hidden long enough and surviving enemy return to their routine, rather than hunt you down but no more so than most other stealth games. Combat is quite deadly for you, so sneaking is really
    Very good.

    Excellent setting and story (particularly if you play the 'knife' and 'witches' DLC). Good overall gameplay. Interesting, long and varied missions. Enemy AI is a bit dull stay hidden long enough and surviving enemy return to their routine, rather than hunt you down but no more so than most other stealth games.

    Combat is quite deadly for you, so sneaking is really worthwhile most 'bosses' are significant threats in face to face combat, but far easier to overcome with some serious stealth.

    The graphics are a bit cartoony (like borderlands or amalur), but thats easy to get used to. Sound/voice is excellent.
    Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    The most important quality of Dishonored is that it doesn't treat you like a tool. Instead it offers a toolbox of techniques and powers that you can apply as you prefer on each mission. The second most important quality of Dishonored is that it is FUN. It is a game, not an interactive movie or a tech showcase. It is game design refined for the highest possible amount of fun inside theThe most important quality of Dishonored is that it doesn't treat you like a tool. Instead it offers a toolbox of techniques and powers that you can apply as you prefer on each mission. The second most important quality of Dishonored is that it is FUN. It is a game, not an interactive movie or a tech showcase. It is game design refined for the highest possible amount of fun inside the otherwise rather grim game environment.

    These qualities combine with an ambitious storyline and an exceptionally well realized game world, and the result is a rare mix of fun and immersion.

    The graphics are more cartoony than the title or cover-art, but with PS3s capabilities, the art fits the constrictions and set the bar low enough to stay outside of uncanny valley and out of the ordinary. It is thus one of the best looking games I've played on PS3.

    It has no multiplayer, no alternative game modes (unnecessary since it already can be played in many ways), and the ending is abruptly anti-climatic. I was overall satisfied with the story, but it could have built up the gameplay setups more rather than reiterate on the same basic challenges.

    I kind of want to give it 7/10, but it's rare that you play a game and have to figure out your own way through each challenge. For that, it deserves recognition.
    Expand
  26. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Fun to an extent. That's what Dishonored truly is. For the first few hours, you will be amazed at what Arkane Studios has done. It's an amazing stealth game...then the game goes on. Sure the stealth is still amazing but the game continues to linger on with just a decent story. The art style is different, but it just doesn't look right in many situations. All games repeat themselves, and ifFun to an extent. That's what Dishonored truly is. For the first few hours, you will be amazed at what Arkane Studios has done. It's an amazing stealth game...then the game goes on. Sure the stealth is still amazing but the game continues to linger on with just a decent story. The art style is different, but it just doesn't look right in many situations. All games repeat themselves, and if done correctly, it works fine. But Dishonored truly gets dull in some areas and then it gets amazing all of a sudden. Dishonored is a great game, but it is definitely flawed and maybe Arkane can make a masterpiece next time because I know they have the potential. Expand
  27. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Great game! FPS with freedom of approach. Got some Half Life 2 vibes when playing this and it´s a good thing. Voice acting and art design are top-notch.
  28. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    The biggest complaint I have against Dishonored is that the story-telling (not the story, the story is great) is rather bad. I ended up skipping all of the parts where lord **** was blabbing in my face in fallout 3-esque fixed eye contact. It also suffers from most characters not having any personality whatsoever, they just exist to provide you quests and level ups. I can
  29. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Put Metal Gear Solid, Skyrim, and Bioshock in a blender and you get this game. Its really fun and has a million side quests that you feel compelled to do because the story is so great. I also enjoyed the fact there are mulitple ways to achieve your goal for every situation. The AI seems mentally challenged at times but other than that good game. Wish there was an addition of a SolitonPut Metal Gear Solid, Skyrim, and Bioshock in a blender and you get this game. Its really fun and has a million side quests that you feel compelled to do because the story is so great. I also enjoyed the fact there are mulitple ways to achieve your goal for every situation. The AI seems mentally challenged at times but other than that good game. Wish there was an addition of a Soliton radar or something though. 8/10 Expand
  30. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I imagined this game to be very much like Bioshock which put me off if I am honest. I can understand why people like Bioshock, it's just not my type of game. I really didn't like the art style or story very much. Anyway, I think the reason I initially likened it to Bioshock was because of the art style. After reading several reviews on Dishonoured I decided to give it a chance. I am so glad I did. The story is fantastic... it really draws you into the world and before you know it hours have passed without you really having achieved that much in the game world. The game has great characters, a great story and best of all an amazing character to control in a totally believable city full of atmosphere. Exploration will see you collect runes around the city of Dunwall which can be used to upgrade your supernatural abilities such as Blink which allows you to teleport short distances or the ability to posses rats or fish to access small areas. All abilities can be upgraded and a particular playing style can be favoured dependant on your choice to be a stealth type assassin, an all out gung-ho no nonsense brawler or somewhere inbetween. The game presents you with missions and additional side quests to perform should you wish to stray from the main path, all of which are fun and rewarding in their own right. Puzzles are clever and never a chore as is often the case with this type of game. Missions are presented for you to complete and it is really up to you how you complete them. I have never played such a polished and exciting game that genuinely gives the player the choice of how to go about the task. You really can use your imagination to complete missions and in most cases you are not restricted by the game. Give this game an hour of your time and I guarantee you will be completely hooked. One of the games of the year for me. Amazing. Expand
  31. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I sadly thought this game was going to be unique and a major change in the industries but I was wrong. The trailers were misleading along with countless reviews. The game has many fine aspects and ideas but all are horribly used. At the beginning the game seems interesting and exciting, but shortly after it feels like you have done everything before and the missions get repetitive. It alsoI sadly thought this game was going to be unique and a major change in the industries but I was wrong. The trailers were misleading along with countless reviews. The game has many fine aspects and ideas but all are horribly used. At the beginning the game seems interesting and exciting, but shortly after it feels like you have done everything before and the missions get repetitive. It also feels as if a large part of the game was missing, content wise. Their were limited weapons and abilities. Also the stealth aspect was poorly done which lead to alot of problems and very many of the characters seemed uninteresting. The story was also quite short and very predictable after about the third mission. Also their was no real need for strategies, But when you used strategie it was time consuming and easily destroyed by countless bugs and a poorly made rating system called "The Chaos metre" which counted the times you were seen, the number killed or left unconscious was also poorly executed. Finally the graphics and the rendering system in place were absolute terrible, it's 2012, not 2008. Many times when rotating around I was met with quite a fair bit of lag on a machine meant to handle resource hogging games, but apparently the devs never got the memo on efficiently rendering and good graphics and little ol'e textures. In all honesty this game had some great ideas but failed to execute them properly and was followed by a dull story. I will give this game a 4 for the slight enjoyment I had. So all in all, rent the game Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.