Dishonored PlayStation 3

Dishonored Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 803 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamousThe action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamous assassin, known only by the eerily disturbing mask that has become your claim to fame. In a time of uncertainty, when the city is besieged by plague and ruled by a corrupt government armed with industrial technologies, dark forces conspire to thrust upon you abilities beyond those of any typical man – but at a cost. The truth behind your betrayal is as murky as the waters encircling the city, and the life you once had has slipped away forever. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    99
    If you like video games, you will absolutely love Dishonored.
  2. 95
    The massive amount of choice given to players keeps the game interesting through multiple replays, proving that multiplayer isn't necessary to be a hit. In a year, and an industry, stricken with a plague known as "sequelitis", Dishonored is the perfect cure, and should etch its name into every Game of the Year discussion with a sharply-tipped assassin blade.
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    A lot of imagination, work, and care has gone into it, and your best bet is to slow down, explore it, and see what you can find. It's one of the better games this year, and will probably still be discussed ten or twenty years from now.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    Perhaps the most striking thing about Dishonored is the way the later stages of the game change, depending on how you've approached earlier missions. If you go through killing everyone and blowing things up, you'll invoke a lot of chaos in the game world and later missions will be darker and more difficult to navigate stealthily.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    Dishonored may not contain the depth of Skyrim or the unrivaled beauty of Uncharted, but it does present something new, innovative and engaging. It makes the player think about the effect their choices, both in terms of narrative and gameplay, may potentially have on the world around them.
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    88
    The steampunk-inspired technology is fascinating, and the art direction superbly establishes a distinct visual style to accompany the dark and disturbing lore lurking behind the city. I hope this isn't the last time I play a game set in Dunwall.
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    80
    A meaningful and successful reinvention of the core ideas behind Deus Ex with a singular focus on making this dense style of game more accessible.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 162
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Never have I seen a game in my entire gaming life that is as lively and interactive as Dishonored. The storyline is so intense it had meNever have I seen a game in my entire gaming life that is as lively and interactive as Dishonored. The storyline is so intense it had me screaming at the screen and it actually persisted as a major challenge for me, something that games hardly ever do to me. If you are a really good story gamer like me, you would be able to just rush right through and beat it in almost no time, but this actually required some thinking and planning to get through this game. I rarely see games where there is such a good balance between stealth and action, and the scale stays prefect on this game. Arkane has definitely undone themselves, if only they would make a sequel to this game, that would make my day! Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    i was cautious to get this game because the last bethesda game for ps3 was such a bug ridden mess. however, this game is truly great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The otherOwn it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I simply could not put this game down. The first time I saw the trailer I was stunned that in a flood of sequels something so radicallyI simply could not put this game down. The first time I saw the trailer I was stunned that in a flood of sequels something so radically different would have been given a chance. A first-person, action-adventure, stealth game set in a magical steampunk world where your actions affect your outcome? No way. I wanted it.
    I was afraid that by being published by Bethesda the world would be pretty with great mechanics and gameplay, but the characters and story would be shallow and forgettable. I was pleasantly surprised. Corvo being framed for killing a woman he loved and not being able to protect her daughter who considers you a father is enough for anyone to march on for revenge and the dialogue and voice acting seals the deal. In addition, the art design and setting of the dreary, dingy, dirty Victorian-style steampunk city of Dunwall is so horribly attractive you don’t ever want to leave.
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You choose what way you want to play in this game. You can go all out and run around and kill everything or you can try a more stealthyYou choose what way you want to play in this game. You can go all out and run around and kill everything or you can try a more stealthy approach. You CAN run threw this game pretty quickly but atleast this game is somewhat different from the things we have been seeing latley. I think this is a good game but I also think that people will forget about this game pretty quickly. I would actually give this game a 7.5 but we can't do that on Meta Critic. Don't get me wrong the game is good and in a way it's unique but in another way "we've seen these types of games before" I don't know if the way I phrased that makes any sense but anyway. Graphics are pretty decent,not that I care about them, I don't really care about story either but this games story is lacking ingrediants. Gameplay is pretty good too. I found the game to be easy and most people that know me know that I like hard games which this gen lacks so bad except Demon Souls/Dark Souls...If yo are looking for a challenge in this game you will not find it. However it is a decent game that deserves a rent and if it happens to be your cup of tea then buy it. I wont be disappointed if this games recieves GOTY, although I do not think it should be, but this year has already had a lot of games that I was excited for and was disappointed in many of them. This game doesn't disappoint me, just there are better games out there than this one. I'm just happy that it's not a Call of Duty game.. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    creo que este juego es prometedor como para una segunda versión de verdad que me a dejado con la boca abierta con la historia quecreo que este juego es prometedor como para una segunda versión de verdad que me a dejado con la boca abierta con la historia que presenta y como la plantean tiene muy buenos gráfico sonido y una mezcla extraña de tecnologías de diferentes épocas lo cual le da ese toque lujubre al juego no sabes que año ni en que época se desarrolla por que todo esta mezclado eso es genial te hace pensar e inmaginar que sera esta historia ?! aun estoy esperando a ver que cosas van a sacar para comprar en la tienda por que es muy curioso ver como seria una descarga de contenido adicional... este juego sin duda a mi y unos cuantos amigos nos a gustado mucho pero lo que no me gusta es que el personaje tiene poderes que dices y te sientes como un dios pero en el mapa creo que le falto mas algo de accesibilidad a zonas como para generar mas tácticas y aparte el modo mas difícil no es tan difícil de resto sin mas nada que decir que buen juego!! Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmalOverhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.