Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 661 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamousThe action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamous assassin, known only by the eerily disturbing mask that has become your claim to fame. In a time of uncertainty, when the city is besieged by plague and ruled by a corrupt government armed with industrial technologies, dark forces conspire to thrust upon you abilities beyond those of any typical man – but at a cost. The truth behind your betrayal is as murky as the waters encircling the city, and the life you once had has slipped away forever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    99
    If you like video games, you will absolutely love Dishonored.
  2. 95
    The massive amount of choice given to players keeps the game interesting through multiple replays, proving that multiplayer isn't necessary to be a hit. In a year, and an industry, stricken with a plague known as "sequelitis", Dishonored is the perfect cure, and should etch its name into every Game of the Year discussion with a sharply-tipped assassin blade.
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    A lot of imagination, work, and care has gone into it, and your best bet is to slow down, explore it, and see what you can find. It's one of the better games this year, and will probably still be discussed ten or twenty years from now.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    Perhaps the most striking thing about Dishonored is the way the later stages of the game change, depending on how you've approached earlier missions. If you go through killing everyone and blowing things up, you'll invoke a lot of chaos in the game world and later missions will be darker and more difficult to navigate stealthily.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    Dishonored may not contain the depth of Skyrim or the unrivaled beauty of Uncharted, but it does present something new, innovative and engaging. It makes the player think about the effect their choices, both in terms of narrative and gameplay, may potentially have on the world around them.
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    88
    The steampunk-inspired technology is fascinating, and the art direction superbly establishes a distinct visual style to accompany the dark and disturbing lore lurking behind the city. I hope this isn't the last time I play a game set in Dunwall.
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    80
    A meaningful and successful reinvention of the core ideas behind Deus Ex with a singular focus on making this dense style of game more accessible.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 148
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    You can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of aYou can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of a developer who does right by the gamers. Dishonored is primarily a stealth based experience but it does promote experimentation. The number of possibilities to approach a specific situation in the game is just remarkable. The developers have seriously put some thought into this. It is one of those gems for which I'd say I hope they do not make a sequel. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    i was cautious to get this game because the last bethesda game for ps3 was such a bug ridden mess. however, this game is truly great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The otherOwn it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    I can see what the developers wanted to do with Dishonored: split the difference between a legendary game (Bioshock, if you've never playedI can see what the developers wanted to do with Dishonored: split the difference between a legendary game (Bioshock, if you've never played it, stop reading this and go buy it right now) and a solid multiple approach game like Dues Ex Human Revolution. Did they succeed? Admirably so for the most part. Dishonored's setting takes place in a steampunk world (Dunwall is pretty amazing) and combines the options to be patient and utilize stealth with general mayhem or anything in between. Like Bioshock it uses a variance on plasmids (upgradeable skills) but geared toward the opproach the player wises to take. The city is lush and vibrant and the enemies are challenging if you're playing stealthy. In addition to this you have an excellent story combing strong elements of political intrigue and blood soaked revenge. What sets Dishonored apart is the readily visible consequences in the form of rats. In Dishonored rats bring the plague and killing enemies raises the rat population to dangerous levels. This makes a straight forward approach as risky as a stealth approach and the developers should be congratulated for it. Dishonored is not without its flaws- the customization of abilities is pretty limited as are the choice of weapons; enemy AI is not always great either. That being said Dishonored is an excellent new IP and should be given an ample chance to prove itself. That alone should be incentive to check it out- it's not a part 20 retread it is a new and fresh game....try it out. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Dishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. AlthoughDishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on the storyline. The gameplay mainly involves traveling from your base (where you can upgrade your tools and abilities) to mission levels. There are some clever consequences put into play depending how how tackled previous missions. The more guards you kill on your first visit to one of the districts of Dunwall, results in more Weepers (zombies) and rats appearing on your next visit to that region. If you were to takedown guards using non-lethal methods, then this can be avoided. This is only a couple of examples of the action/consequence elements of the gameplay.

    As a fan of games like Fallout 3, Fallout: Las Vegas, Skyrim and the Deus Ex games, I really enjoyed this game, but I felt that the game itself was not long enough and that the "Blink" ability (teleportation skill) was a little unprecise to use. In the heat of battle, trying to teleport to a rooftop to escape combat can sometimes result in you mis-targeting the rooftop and teleporting into a crowd of enemy guards etc. Highly recommended, but don't expect a long journey.
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    The game's biggest --perhaps only-- flaw is its inability to wrap the complex narrative up in a memorable way. Considering how rich the restThe game's biggest --perhaps only-- flaw is its inability to wrap the complex narrative up in a memorable way. Considering how rich the rest of the game is (both in terms of mythology and gameplay) I was sad at the non-ending that greeted me upon the end of Corvo's rather straight forward "save Emily" quest. Maybe they're pulling a Fallout 3 and planning on releasing the ending in DLC form. Or maybe they're pulling a Bioshock and planning on giving us a proper ending with a direct sequel. Either way, a huge opportunity was lost and, in the process, Dishonored went from being a probable Game of the year to simply a very good game. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    I'm so glad a friend let me download this free from his library. This game is dull and boring. Could not get into the story to save my life.I'm so glad a friend let me download this free from his library. This game is dull and boring. Could not get into the story to save my life. Further more i didn't even finish the game. I don't understand the hype behind this stupid game. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.