DmC: Devil May Cry PlayStation 3

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1466 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2016
    9
    This game is a reboot and thus I recommend going into the game with that in mind before you set an unrealistic standard of it been the exact same world and characters. I love this Devil May Cry and it's Dante. The story was very good. The levels are very fun designed and are all very unique. The boss fights in this are also really good. The combat is very quick and has lots of differentThis game is a reboot and thus I recommend going into the game with that in mind before you set an unrealistic standard of it been the exact same world and characters. I love this Devil May Cry and it's Dante. The story was very good. The levels are very fun designed and are all very unique. The boss fights in this are also really good. The combat is very quick and has lots of different moves and abilities with out feeling overly complicated. The games have never been open world but this does feel less open than the others. There were a lot of anger from fans about this been 30fps but it's really a minor criticism as the game felt very quick, responsive and smooth to me. It's the best game in the series, in my personal opinion. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2016
    8
    Um jogo muito bom, mas esta muito ocidental, porem sua jogabilidade é boa, os personagens me agradaram, historia media, acho que essa nota esta muito legal
  3. Jul 23, 2016
    10
    Beautiful, inspiring, engaging, enthralling, exciting, funny, and above all breathing new (and improved) life into a franchise that had long gone stale. Improved combat, user interface, better balanced and more engaging combat, and a vastly more appealing aesthetic with a story and voice acting that demand and capture player attention.

    A truly perfect game that stands as a shining
    Beautiful, inspiring, engaging, enthralling, exciting, funny, and above all breathing new (and improved) life into a franchise that had long gone stale. Improved combat, user interface, better balanced and more engaging combat, and a vastly more appealing aesthetic with a story and voice acting that demand and capture player attention.

    A truly perfect game that stands as a shining monument to what the Devil May Cry experience can be. Finally, the game that will bring new players to what was once only appealing to long-time, die-hard fans who were the only ones who could forgive the faults that kept adding up in earlier sequels.
    Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    This is the best Slasher of 2013. Best gameplay of the series and fantastic
    atmosphere. One big minus is a characters and story, but story was never best side of the franchise.
  5. Apr 8, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There hasn't been a more divisive reboot in gaming in quite some time. There are some legitimate concerns some have with this reboot but for the most part I think Ninja theory's reboot was good but not without its flaws.
    Game play:
    The combat is still as smooth as ever. It is true that the combat has been streamlined to fit a wider audience but it is still deep an fun to execute combos as before. Dante has access to demonic and angelic weapons as well as his sword Rebellion. Some enemies can only be hurt by certain weapons. For example, the red enemies can only by demonic weapons and blue enemies can only be hurt by demonic weapons. It does give the player an incentive to use all of the weapons at your disposal but it limits combat variety. The lack of a lock on feature can be really difficult to maneuver when there is a lot of enemies The game has a steady difficulty curve as it goes on with a range of enemies that look similar to the dolls from Alice the Madness Returns. The platforming has been vastly improved over the previous entries although it is simplistic it is thrilling to grapple on the platforms. The color palate really makes this game as the art department really outdone themselves. One thing that hasn't be utilized outside of the final battle with Virgil are the boss battles. They rely on one strategy to win and they can be easier to beat than the ninja sub bosses. They do show the distinct personalities that the franchise is known for and the fight with Bob Barbas may lack in depth but it makes up for it in visual flourish.

    Story:
    The most controversial part of the story is the new portrayal of Dante. His design reflects the current trend of Western youth culture much like how the old Dante is a representation of the Japanese youth culture. He pails in comparison to his classic counterpart but I found the new Dante to be a compelling character in his own right. He starts with a sense of apathy but eventually learns to respect humanity after falling in love with Kat who is a Wicca who teleports him to limbo during missions. She may not be the most interesting love interest like Lady or Trish but I cared enough about her to not want any harm to be done her. I have mixed opinions about the depiction of Vergil. On the one hand we see more of his fraternity with Dante before their inevitable fight but he lack a sense of honor that the original envelops. The infamous trad off scene really shows this as he shoots the fetus from Lilith (I'm sorry reboot or not its just wrong to see Vergil use a gun). He then lets the loss of her baby sink in before shooting her in the head. The one character that really stood out was Mundus who enslaves the world though debt and the media The social commentary although very obvious does give profound statements about modern society despite the unsubtle nature of it. In conclusion this game is worth checking out but I completely understand why fans despise this game. The flaws also become more apparent when you play on higher difficulties which shows that a lock-on feature is needed.
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There hasn't been a more divisive reboot in gaming in quite some time. There are some legitimate concerns some have with this reboot but for the most part I think Ninja theory's reboot was good but not without its flaws.
    Game play:
    The combat is still as smooth as ever. It is true that the combat has been streamlined to fit a wider audience but it is still deep an fun to execute combos as before. Dante has access to demonic and angelic weapons as well as his sword Rebellion. Some enemies can only be hurt by certain weapons. For example, the red enemies can only by demonic weapons and blue enemies can only be hurt by demonic weapons. It does give the player an incentive to use all of the weapons at your disposal but it limits combat variety. The lack of a lock on feature can be really difficult to maneuver when there is a lot of enemies The game has a steady difficulty curve as it goes on with a range of enemies that look similar to the dolls from Alice the Madness Returns. The platforming has been vastly improved over the previous entries although it is simplistic it is thrilling to grapple on the platforms. The color palate really makes this game as the art department really outdone themselves. One thing that hasn't be utilized outside of the final battle with Virgil are the boss battles. They rely on one strategy to win and they can be easier to beat than the ninja sub bosses. They do show the distinct personalities that the franchise is known for and the fight with Bob Barbas may lack in depth but it makes up for it in visual flourish.

    Story:
    The most controversial part of the story is the new portrayal of Dante. His design reflects the current trend of Western youth culture much like how the old Dante is a representation of the Japanese youth culture. He pails in comparison to his classic counterpart but I found the new Dante to be a compelling character in his own right. He starts with a sense of apathy but eventually learns to respect humanity after falling in love with Kat who is a Wicca who teleports him to limbo during missions. She may not be the most interesting love interest like Lady or Trish but I cared enough about her to not want any harm to be done her. I have mixed opinions about the depiction of Vergil. On the one hand we see more of his fraternity with Dante before their inevitable fight but he lack a sense of honor that the original envelops. The infamous trad off scene really shows this as he shoots the fetus from Lilith (I'm sorry reboot or not its just wrong to see Vergil use a gun). He then lets the loss of her baby sink in before shooting her in the head. The one character that really stood out was Mundus who enslaves the world though debt and the media The social commentary although very obvious does give profound statements about modern society despite the unsubtle nature of it. In conclusion this game is worth checking out but I completely understand why fans despise this game. The flaws also become more apparent when you play on higher difficulties which shows that a lock-on feature is needed.
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2016
    10
    NOTE: Dont take the user scores and butt hurt negative comments about Dante being what he was before seriously (its a reboot what do you expect?!) , this is game good.
  8. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    Truly Amazing piece of hardcore action and a successful reboot.Dante is more notorious and unlovable now but lets focus on game play its utterly fast paced and action packed.but remember it is unplayable once you complete it once i dont mean you cant play it again i mean it gets repetitive and useless so remember never try to watch spoilers about this game it will ruin your experience..
  9. Dec 14, 2015
    8
    DMC: Devil May Cry is the newest edition to the Devil May Cry series and is a reboot by Ninja Theory. Dante is back and ready to kick some demon tail with a new look and a new attitude. The game still maintains its humour with Dante continuing to be the never back down bad ass we grew to love in the original series just without the class clown act to his character.

    The gameplay is
    DMC: Devil May Cry is the newest edition to the Devil May Cry series and is a reboot by Ninja Theory. Dante is back and ready to kick some demon tail with a new look and a new attitude. The game still maintains its humour with Dante continuing to be the never back down bad ass we grew to love in the original series just without the class clown act to his character.

    The gameplay is extremely intuitive for both returning fans and new players to the series. There is a close similarity to the controls in this reboot and the controls in the original games of the series. On top of this the overall controls are very basic and extremely easy to get a feel for and the learning curve in this game is spot on. There are only a few moments where the action slows down and the cutscenes seem to go on forever but this is only to emphasise key moments in the story telling so this can be forgiven. When it comes time for action, this game goes full throttle. The pace of the combat is phenomenal and makes it very easy for the player to lose themselves in the battle, especially when trying to rack up the best combo score. Not only is the combat fast but it is very intuitive to get to grips with the basics which then makes it easy for players to work out there own style and combos they feel will be effective against enemies and rack up some style points. The button press response is a god send, the original games of Devil May Cry were no were near as smooth or responsive. Being Nephilim Dante now has access to new angel and devil abilities and weapons, one of which is the angel/devil pull mechanic. This new ability allows Dante to pull enemies closer in order to give them a beating or pull himself toward an enemy in order to give them a beating choice is yours. This adds a nice twist to fighting aerial enemies or enemies that aren't close enough for close quarters, it is also very handy to string combos or escape a sticky situation with the angel/devil pull allowing Dante to grab onto ledges or other objects. The new angel/devil modes allow Dante access to angel and devil weapons that can be swapped during combat very easily. Attack an enemy without holding down either trigger will begin a combination using Rebellion (Dante's weapon of choice) but then press a shoulder button and the weapon will change immediately to an angel weapon (L2) or devil weapon (R2) and will remain as these weapons while the shoulder buttons are held down. The amount of trial and error with different combinations is unreal and is made so much easier by being able to swap between weapon so fluidly.

    The DMC storyline continues to remain faithful to the best bits of the original series in that you play as series protagonists Dante while trying to stop the Demon King Mundus' rule over humanity, this involves defeating him just like in the first game of the series. Another key part to the story is that Dante has some catching up to do with his twin brother Vergil which is the main storyline in game number three of the series. Whilst on the run from demons sent after him by Mundus, Dante is reunited and works alongside his twin brother Vergil who wants to put a stop to Mundus' reign. Dante and Vergil are no longer half demon, half human in this reboot, now they are Nephilim, half demon and half angel but both still the Son's of Sparda. Nephilim are the only beings strong enough to defeat Mundus however they still need to weaken the demon king first before a head on confrontation. This is the main goal throughout the game, to weaken the Demon King by taking out his minions that help him maintain his stranglehold on the human world, once this is fulfilled the brothers can then take out the Demon King himself. This seems straight forward but events that will arise in the story will force Dante into quick time events, defuse hostage situations and question his allies. All this before the final battle.

    The graphics on this game is a mixture of beautiful level designs and creative surroundings to poor frame rate and graphical glitches in cutscenes and gameplay with a lot going on at one time. This is the games main downfall with how creative it is being ruined by the game not being able to to keep up with the action and world design. Minus these hiccups the level design is amazing as Dante runs through a living and changing level.

    Playing through the storyline start to finish with only a few secret missions completed took just over 8hrs. Luckily there are good reasons to play the game again. One new feature to a Devil May Cry game is the leaderboard. At the end of every level the player is given a score and a rank which can then be uploaded to an online leaderboard, scores are then compared to other players around the world. As with all games on the PS3 there is always achievements to be unlocked and secrets to be unlocked such as lost souls and secret mission throughout the levels of the games. Also available is the return of the popular bloody palace which is a free DLC with the game. In this mode the player will be placed in an arena with multiple enemies, as the player progresses the waves of enemies gets more difficult and even bosses will be included in the waves. This gameplay is also good for practice and this time player's will need to time their attacks and dodges while trying to work on their combos.

    Conclusion

    With the popularity of Capcom's original series, taking on the job of producing a reboot is a tough challenge especially when it comes to pleasing die-hard fans of the original games. If an action hack and slash game is what you are looking for with fast paced action and combat full of style then DMC: Devil May Cry will deliver. It is a beautiful game which is very quick to get the momentum moving with quick and easy controls to get to grips with. The level designs are amazing, the combat is intuitive and the storyline and characters are incredible. Try to not let graphic disruptions or frame rate lag ruin your experience when there is so much more to the game.
    Expand
  10. Dec 12, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I will try to review this as a standalone game, instead of comparing it to the original games since we all know this game stands no chance.

    1. Dante (1/10) - Let's be frank. Dante is a try hard and a douche. Dante's redesign is terrible. His hair looks stupid and his outfit is just sloppy. Everything about him is sloppy, and you can tell it was done on purpose to make him "cool". I don't think Ninja Theory ever realized he looks like a modern day douche. This Dante also tries so hard trying to be like the original, and it just adds to how bad his character is. Seriously, you're either trying to make him different from the original or you're trying to make him more like the original. Pick one. In fact, Dante's devil trigger is now his hair turning white and his coat becoming red, and basically using the Quicksilver style. They could've done so many cool things with his devil trigger. Why the hell doesn't he become a demon in his devil trigger? Or a nephillim? Did I mention Dante is a demon-angel hybrid called a nephillim? In fact, why does Dante even look human? Why does Dante start questioning his humanity in the end? He doesn't have any human in him. Or were they just trying to make him like the original? Then I got some advice for you Ninja Theory: just make him like the original.

    2. Story (8/10) - The story is surprisingly fun to play through. It is now a social commentary. Society is blind and will believe anything the rich and powerful tell them. Dante takes down Virility (Mountain Dew) and the Raptor News Network (Fox News) to take down Mundus with the help of The Order (Anonymous). They even have a Bill O'Reilly parody in there, a.k.a Bob Barbas. The only problem is when you put bad characters in a good story, it can leave a bad mark on it. You can see this in the end. First of all, Dante and Vergil let the demons loose into the real world. And this is supposed to be a good ending for some reason. God knows how many people were killed because of this. Dante and Vergil have the dumbest argument in the history of arguments. Vergil merely suggests that they rule the world, and that means he's evil for some reason. Dante goes nuts of course, and instead of trying to convince Vergil to do differently like he had been doing throughout the whole game, he basically fuels Vergil to fight him leading to unnecessary conflict and an unnecessary sequel. The Vergil's Downfall DLC is even worse. Vergil actually goes into a downward spiral of madness. Why? Because he suggested ruling the world and they had a fight which could've been easily avoided. This lead Vergil to believe that for some reason his mother favors Dante over Vergil. It's ridiculous. I mean just look at his hair throughout the majority of the DLC. It's all ridiculous. But other than that it's a pretty good story and one worth playing through.

    3. Gameplay and Level Design (8/10) - The gameplay is really cool. Sure you'll miss the original Devil May Cry feel and the fact there's no targeting system is a pain in the ass, but it's nevertheless pretty cool. Because Dante is now a nephillim, you can switch between demon and angel mode, where you can use different weapons. When you combine all these together in combat you can pull off some really cool combos. However, it's too easy. Getting style points is super easy and there is no challenge in the boss fights. The level designs are spectacular. You spend most of the game in Limbo, with it's flashy colors and morphing environments. Limbo is just great.

    4. Villains (6/10) - Some of the bad guys are just great. Bob Barbas and Mundus were pretty entertaining. However, the Succubus was just terrible. I hated everything about that boss fight. The succubus, the dialogue, the design. But the Bob Barbas fight made up for it. It was just so fun. I liked the insults they threw at each other, except for the "cool points" one. That did not make any sense. Mundus was an interesting villain throughout the game. I liked how he actually gave us his point of view in the end, about how if he wasn't doing what he was doing, humanity would continue to kill and starve. But Dante had to keep being a douche and provoking him. Who's really the bad guy, Dante? Vergil belongs here, and he is the worst character in the game. He does morally questionable things to make him more interesting, but it never works. He's immature and a coward, compared to what they were making him out to be in the beginning. Come on. He tries to kill Dante, who he loves and values as a brother, going as far as risking Kat for him. Yeah, it's honestly more Dante's fault for being a douche and antagonizing Vergil, but you can see Vergil has no ideals to stick by. What does he believe in? It's not like the writers were trying to make him nihilistic or anything. I felt sorry for Mundus, who we're meant to hate, than Vergil, who we're meant to like. Vergil and Dante go together like clockwork to make the worst characters in gaming history.

    Overall - 6/10
    Expand
  11. Sep 8, 2015
    5
    5/10 Mainly because it's too simple for a Devil may cry game. When one uses the name of a popular franchise, one should also respect it. This game fails to deliver a Devil may cry experience to offer a more casual friendly Dmc while neglecting the fans that got it's back in the first place. So here is to summarize:

    Good: *Newbie Friendly. If you're new to this genre, don't worry, this
    5/10 Mainly because it's too simple for a Devil may cry game. When one uses the name of a popular franchise, one should also respect it. This game fails to deliver a Devil may cry experience to offer a more casual friendly Dmc while neglecting the fans that got it's back in the first place. So here is to summarize:

    Good:
    *Newbie Friendly. If you're new to this genre, don't worry, this game offers so little resistence you will find yourself making your way to the end of it, one way or another. You'll die, of course, but it's no Dark Souls or Dmc4.
    * Great Level Design. When you pass on the other world you'll know about what I'm talking about!
    * Great Story. Another good point it's the whole issue of how gullible people can be and how easy it's for the media to control us. Check it out!
    * Great graphics. Up to date and very nice to watch
    * Semi- free exploration. You will feel less claustrophobic than in most old school Dmc games.

    Bad:
    * Underdeveloped Dmc Battle System. They took Dmc4's 4 core system and reduce it's potential to the minimum. No jump cancel, no fighting styles, no versatilty... nothing. Just visuals. In casuals slang would be "so fly!", but in normal to hardcore gamer slang it's more like "...bland... I'd rather go GOW if I wanted simple and brutal".
    * Easy! even on harder difficulties. With the bland battle sys came the need for small challenges, compensated with oversized giants to feel some sort of epicness in every win. Here you have big pushovers who are so dumb and easy to kill you practically win by just smashing the crap out of your controller. It's not only that GOW does it better, it's that for a Dmc CLAIMING to be part of the franchise it's just borderline mediocre.
    *Unlikeable characters. From the douche Dante, to the boring Kat, to the annoying Phineas, to the wimp/cowardice Vergil... none of them are the shadow of the stool any of the characters in the old series could poop. Fact.

    So as you see, it's not that the game is bad. By itself it's easily a 7/10... the point is that as Devil may cry game DmC fails misserably to deliver the experience promised by a game that uses the shadow of a big franchise to fart in the mouth of all the fans that support that franchise in the first place.
    Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2015
    8
    Change an iconic character's hair, and what do you get? Angry fanboys raging on Metacritic! DmC is a good game, get over it. I admit, I like the old Dante better, and the old dungeons and dragons feel of it, but this game is good in rights of its own. If it weren't associated with Devil May Cry, we would all be praising this game. The combat is BETTER, and the story is refreshing. TheChange an iconic character's hair, and what do you get? Angry fanboys raging on Metacritic! DmC is a good game, get over it. I admit, I like the old Dante better, and the old dungeons and dragons feel of it, but this game is good in rights of its own. If it weren't associated with Devil May Cry, we would all be praising this game. The combat is BETTER, and the story is refreshing. The relationship with Dante and Vergil was oustandingly made. I will also admit, Kat needed more depth in her character, and Dante was a bit out of the context at some point, but this could easily be one of the top 10 Hack 'n' Slash games ever. By the way, this review is coming from a HARDCORE Devil May Cry fan, so you know this is coming straight from the heart. That is just my opinion. A hater will always hate. 8/10. Great Game! Expand
  13. Aug 5, 2015
    8
    Have been a DMC fan for years. Really liked this version. Gameplay was fast paced, funny, absurdly violent at times and just overall a lot of fun. Would highly recommend.
  14. Jul 4, 2015
    3
    Here we have a prime example of another popular game series getting Metroid Other M'd. The game isn't great. It isn't unplayable, but it doesn't hold up to past DMC games nor does it transfer over the spirit of them.
    The previous games focused upon building your style meter, using varying combos so the meter doesn't go down from staleness and switching weapons on the fly.
    DmC: Devil May
    Here we have a prime example of another popular game series getting Metroid Other M'd. The game isn't great. It isn't unplayable, but it doesn't hold up to past DMC games nor does it transfer over the spirit of them.
    The previous games focused upon building your style meter, using varying combos so the meter doesn't go down from staleness and switching weapons on the fly.
    DmC: Devil May Cry smacks the controller out of your hand and says no, no stylish combos. You get babby mode. The game doesn't only encourage repeat combos or the same move over and over to build your style meter, it rewards it. No previous game in the franchise would allow you to shoot a boss to SSS rank style, no other attacks used.
    Weapon changing to maximize your combos? None of that, either. You can attempt it on some enemies, but you'll find yourself running into enemies that not only kill the pacing of the game, but the fun of it as well. These enemies are color coated, which means you need to use a specific hell or heaven item against them. So you can swap against 2 weapons of that color, because apparently the Rebellion can't touch them. (???)
    It's clearly marketed towards the younger generations, with Dante's new found edgy looks and personality, looking like he's getting ready for his Black Veil Brides debut. He's generally a dick for no reason as well, while older Dante had a cynical sarcasm that made us laugh. DmC Dante delivers one liners that kept me straight faced.
    The story is predictable, but takes turns. Dante suddenly hates his brother mid-arc because the game remembered what franchise it's milking off halfway through and figured it better overcompensate.

    Is the game terrible? Not really. Is it bad compared to what it's trying to live up to? Absolutely. If this released as it's own game, maybe re-skinned with original characters and plot, I think I'd end up liking it. But even nostalgia goggles can't let me give this anything higher than a 3 for a solid effort.
    Expand
  15. Jun 24, 2015
    6
    Just because Dante has black hair doesn't mean this game gets a 2/10 it deserves this score for a couple of reasons, yes all the characters are unlikeable but the game also has a watered down combat system with no lock-on and no styles and the use of color coding. Not to mention it runs on the Unreal Engine 3 which takes long load times, texture pop-ups and the game runs at 30fpsJust because Dante has black hair doesn't mean this game gets a 2/10 it deserves this score for a couple of reasons, yes all the characters are unlikeable but the game also has a watered down combat system with no lock-on and no styles and the use of color coding. Not to mention it runs on the Unreal Engine 3 which takes long load times, texture pop-ups and the game runs at 30fps (thankfully the PC version runs at 60fps) DMC4 was released five years ago and it looks and runs better. The only positive I have was Limbo since I liked it's use of being very colorful. I recommend you get a rental or buy this game on sale. Expand
  16. May 19, 2015
    6
    Okay before you play this game realize that if you are a hardcore fan of this franchise the character redesign along with the first few levels might make you what to do what many have done here on metacritic scream out and say "this game is the worst game ever" but in reality its not the worst thing ever this game simply melds fun fast gameplay with excellent visuals to create a great gameOkay before you play this game realize that if you are a hardcore fan of this franchise the character redesign along with the first few levels might make you what to do what many have done here on metacritic scream out and say "this game is the worst game ever" but in reality its not the worst thing ever this game simply melds fun fast gameplay with excellent visuals to create a great game in a gameplay front what makes the game suffer the most however is the story i wont get into to details but overall characters seem less flushed out then ever before and both old fans of dmc and brand new players will both likely not care or feel any emotion at all toward any of these characters which is a deep disappointment as you can tell the people over at ninja theory really wanted you to.

    Pros
    gameplay is fast and fun
    visuals our on point and bosses our fun and original

    Cons
    Characters are boring and lifeless
    you likely wont care about any part of the story
    preppy emo redesign can be annoying in the least
    Expand
  17. May 14, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2015
    4
    A real Devil May Cry this game is not. The action is good at best, but almost everything just ruins the experience of tne game. The writting is awfull, scratch that, THE WRITTING IS ABYSMAL and tries to hard to be a social commentary of a world controled by demons and brainwashed by media and etc, and is also so pretentious that it may be wrote by David Cage. The characterization andA real Devil May Cry this game is not. The action is good at best, but almost everything just ruins the experience of tne game. The writting is awfull, scratch that, THE WRITTING IS ABYSMAL and tries to hard to be a social commentary of a world controled by demons and brainwashed by media and etc, and is also so pretentious that it may be wrote by David Cage. The characterization and change of the backstories of beloved characters of the franchise is downright insulting for a fan of the series and shows how pitifull people are to insult your favorite game calling "not cool anymore" with such masterpiece of failure. The gameplay was reduced to such a level that there's no learning curve or challenge in battle, also, removing essential things like a lock-on button or styles that are on previous games to spice the combat just cripples the experience for anyone starting to play this after DMC3 or DMC4. This games runs at 30 f*cking frames, have long loading screens, where Devil May Cry 4 run at a solid 60 frames ON CONSOLE and have quick loading screens. If you love Devil May Cry, don't bother with this game, it's not worth even if you find really cheap somewhere. If you want to play this, find it cheap, because full price for a insulting game is not worth. Expand
  19. Mar 15, 2015
    0
    This is not a Devil May Cry. NT totally ruined title with this reboot. This game looks like bad parody of original games with poor combat system, bad protagonist etc. I want to forget this shame and I hope we'll never see a sequel/prequel/whatever of this crap.
  20. Mar 14, 2015
    6
    As a newcomer to the series, I thought the medium difficulty was just right.. I didn't get stuck during the game, but meanwhile it did get tense, especially during boss fights.

    The inventive unique grappling-hook-based platforming and the spectacular boss fights make me consider a higher score, but I think the core gameplay is too similar to its competitors, namely Bayonetta. I didn't
    As a newcomer to the series, I thought the medium difficulty was just right.. I didn't get stuck during the game, but meanwhile it did get tense, especially during boss fights.

    The inventive unique grappling-hook-based platforming and the spectacular boss fights make me consider a higher score, but I think the core gameplay is too similar to its competitors, namely Bayonetta. I didn't see any ideas and think "wow, they came up with THAT?!" because I've already seen variations of it in other games. Actually, the hook-flying-thing felt unique and fresh. Gotta hand that to the devs.

    The game's arenas have minimal variation in layout, it's most often just the same kind of basic arena setup with different background visuals, and it lacks the interaction with environment you find in some other games like Sleeping Dogs.. I think the game does excel as an ambitious whole, but it's still just 'above average' in regards to what you take away from the experience.
    Expand
  21. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    Its sad some people opened up a bunch of fake accounts just to bash on this great game, the combat was very fun but not perfect, the story was excellent too... The game did not receive one bad review from the critics, but gamers they love their soap opera stories, and Dantes long hair.
  22. Jan 2, 2015
    4
    This game was painful. The gameplay and the new character designs were just plain bad. And the graphics, while having a pretty high polygon count, just look slimy and entirely unnatural. 4 out of 10, it's functional, but not a good game and not deserving of the DMC title.
  23. Dec 28, 2014
    6
    This was my first DMC game in the series, so I cannot compare it to previous chapters, but if you're looking for a spectacle hack'n'slash action, you cannot go wrong with this. Me personally, I prefer my games to be something more than just a circus style button mashing and annihilating hordes of enemies, so it's not really my cup of tea, but I enjoyed the ride nevertheless, I liked theThis was my first DMC game in the series, so I cannot compare it to previous chapters, but if you're looking for a spectacle hack'n'slash action, you cannot go wrong with this. Me personally, I prefer my games to be something more than just a circus style button mashing and annihilating hordes of enemies, so it's not really my cup of tea, but I enjoyed the ride nevertheless, I liked the angel/demon theme, even the story and especially the music was fantastic, atmospheric instrumentals by Noisia and ass-kicking Combichrist during battles to make your blood pumping. Honestly, soundtrack is easily the best part of this game. Framerate on PS3 was not ideal, but definitely playable. If I was 10 years old, I would probably love this game. 6/10 Expand
  24. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    This game was fun and beautifully designed. New Dante is fresh, badass, and has attitude. Unlike Capcom, Ninja Theory is actually capable of writing decent dialogue, so there's that as well. The story is somewhat stereotypical with a fairly obvious twist built in, but these games aren't really played for their story. The level design was unique and visually appealing. Here are my mainThis game was fun and beautifully designed. New Dante is fresh, badass, and has attitude. Unlike Capcom, Ninja Theory is actually capable of writing decent dialogue, so there's that as well. The story is somewhat stereotypical with a fairly obvious twist built in, but these games aren't really played for their story. The level design was unique and visually appealing. Here are my main complaints: there is a fair amount of platforming, which in itself isn't bad, but coupled with some awkward controls and poor depth perception it could get frustrating. Dante and Vergil were decent characters, but their female helper was a little over-dramatic. All in all, DmC: Devil May Cry was a really fun game, and if you must compare it to the original series, it was a solid reboot with many good changes. Expand
  25. Nov 27, 2014
    7
    The combat makes it a seven.

    Few games have such stylish and complex combat.

    It's fun to play but the puzzle are too easy, the story leaves much to be desired and the monster designs are bland.
  26. Oct 24, 2014
    1
    GREAT GAME, if it released as a new video game series and not use any Devil May Cry related.

    I love the gameplay, fun and easy. The story isn't so bad, just forget about the related with any original DMC (name etc.). But I hate the character design. I love original Dante for his manhood, cherful, funny, stylish and his style. And Dante for this game is so bad, it like depressed guy
    GREAT GAME, if it released as a new video game series and not use any Devil May Cry related.

    I love the gameplay, fun and easy. The story isn't so bad, just forget about the related with any original DMC (name etc.).

    But I hate the character design. I love original Dante for his manhood, cherful, funny, stylish and his style. And Dante for this game is so bad, it like depressed guy and need a big help to settle his identity. His attitude doesn't attract me at all.

    Second is, I don't like the color palete when entering limbo, make my eyes sick after play in 1 hour.

    I think buy DMC 4 on PS3 is more worthed than buy this DMC. I just rent it and not feel that I should have this game on my home.

    I still think it would be great game, if, stand with his own world and not use any related thing to original DMC.
    Expand
  27. Oct 17, 2014
    7
    DmC: Devil May Cry

    Game-play:The game play of this game is very good with fast combos and lot of weapons with the new weapon select system that is great and fast but the game is easy very easy even in the hardest difficulty level and the boss fight are not that good as it was on the original Devil May Cry. Story:The story is fun and interesting the only thing that ruins the story of
    DmC: Devil May Cry

    Game-play:The game play of this game is very good with fast combos and lot of weapons with the new weapon select system that is great and fast but the game is easy very easy even in the hardest difficulty level and the boss fight are not that good as it was on the original Devil May Cry.

    Story:The story is fun and interesting the only thing that ruins the story of this game is the character development that sucks the Dante have nothing in common with the classic Dante the only female in the game Kat is uninteresting and the Virgil one of my favourite characters in the original sucks as well.But the reboot in decent it gives us some completely different story from the original and that is partly good,it will keep you about 7 to 8 hours.

    Graphics:I do not thing that the graphics in this game are so special.

    Notes:I hate Dante's new look and the biggest mistake that i think this game done is the completely change look of the ebony and ivory the two bad ass pistols.you should buy this game if you are a hack n slash fun especially when it get a price drop.
    Expand
  28. Oct 2, 2014
    4
    The gameplay itself and some of the design is pretty good, however the storytelling is extremely cheesy and I personally couldn't get immersed in the story at all. Character development feels rushed and the "plot twist" is barely a twist.
  29. Aug 22, 2014
    0
    Okay, so I'm usually against giving 0 scores, very few games deserve it, but this is one of the few. Now, I'm not basing this on the games thematic content, at least, not entirely. There's plenty of games whose content, characters and/or settings I find objectionable, but who's game play makes up for it; examples being Bayonetta and Jet Set Radio: the oversexualization of BayonettaOkay, so I'm usually against giving 0 scores, very few games deserve it, but this is one of the few. Now, I'm not basing this on the games thematic content, at least, not entirely. There's plenty of games whose content, characters and/or settings I find objectionable, but who's game play makes up for it; examples being Bayonetta and Jet Set Radio: the oversexualization of Bayonetta seemed like it was pandering to under sexed nerds and Jet Set Radio revolved around a bunch of taggers and graffiti "artist", that being a medium I despise and seems to only attract the scummiest people; but both those games exhibited amazing and addictive gameplay...so I really can't say no to them. DmC, however, does not have good gameplay.

    I was even kind of excited about this game when I first heard Ninja Theory was doing it; of course I didn't like the douchey/eurotrashy look of Ninja Theories Dante, and I certainly didn't like the Combichrist on the soundtrack (you know, that band that people working at the Hot Topic think is industrial) but I had played Heavenly Sword, and the first half of Odyssey To The West and my general view was that both these games ran out of budget, and could have been great, given they had the time and money to finish them; so naturally, I thought "oh, but now they're getting a Capcom budget, so they'll have the time and the money". Sadly, as events unfolded, and the director got the spot light on him and more was revealed about his "philsophy" of game-making it became apparent that the flaws in these games were not due to circumstance, but were, in fact deliberate. They're one of those studios that buy into that accesible/cinematic/character driven form of game making, which I think is completely asinine, because, you know, just make a **** move if you want to do that **** So the combos aren't shallow in their games because they didn't have time to make a better fighting system, the platforming isn't easy and obvious because they didn't have the budget to develop it more, and the level design is bland because "they don't want to detract from their characters personality by making the world the focal point". And they brought that exact philosophy to DmC. It's easy, it's boring and it's simple, exactly like all Ninja Theory's games, and now they don't have that budge/time excuse to fall back on. Sure it looks nice, graphically (not so much design wise), but what's that thing people say about form without substance?

    The most horrific thing about this though is that this the polar opposite of what Devil May Cry was, and what fans really wanted; just how different is almost unfathomable. All the styles, and the moves and the huge arsenal, they're all non-existent, or reduced to a fraction, in this game; and why not? This games so god damn easy that you'd never need to use any of that, which is also a serious departure from Devil May Cry. Also, the frame rate has been halved from the last game, and it's a different engine (unreal), which means you can expect textures popping in and out all over the place.

    And, of course, I do have to talk about the characterizations and story a little bit; it's just so stupid and juvenile. Dante has no flair, or style and is completely unlikable as a character; he looks like one of those white kids you see begging for change in Berkeley California, you know, the ones that are just rebelling against their rich parents. And, actually, everyone in this game is pretty unlikable; it's like they took all the characters from the original series and intentionally made them their polar opposites.

    And that's probably kind of what they did. The director had no problem telling people he didn't like the Devil May Cry series for its gameplay or it's content, so he had no problem bastardizing it and inserting what he thinks is "cool", because, you know, he knows best, obviously; and what's cool is, apparently, juvenile and asinine behavior from man-babies. It's actually kind of funny, if you look at a picture of this guy you'll see how big his ego is; his Dante is, essentially, an exaggerated version of himself, from the clothes to the haircut.

    I just can't understand Capcoms decision to hand this franchise over to such a young company that had no love for the series. There's an episode of South Park about the fourth Indiana Jones movie, you know, the one we pretend never happened. In the episode Stan, I think, has a nightmare where Lucas and Spielberg corner Indiana Jones and, literally, rape him...and that's what this game is: it's a eurotrash director who listens to bad contemporary industrial music and has a stupid haircut taking Dante, bending him over and raping him; raping him til' he's angst-ridden and obnoxious.
    Expand
  30. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Few games manage to make difficulty a genuine selling point, but the Devil May Cry games are an example of just that done well. DmC is not just a difficult combat driven game though; by re-envisioning the game series from a more western perspective, the game has been more grounded in western culture and as such this iteration has a far more engaging story compared to previous games in theFew games manage to make difficulty a genuine selling point, but the Devil May Cry games are an example of just that done well. DmC is not just a difficult combat driven game though; by re-envisioning the game series from a more western perspective, the game has been more grounded in western culture and as such this iteration has a far more engaging story compared to previous games in the series,

    Gameplay wise, this is as you'd expect. There's a multitude of weapons, various different styles of combat and movement, and all of this is mapped to the controller in such a way that you'll need the use of every button. It's masterfully crafted, and while some changes are made, such as the guns being far less powerful in this incarnation of the series, it's all still very skill focused. There are less moves in this game compared to Devil May Cry 4, but what is here is plentiful and true mastery of these combat mechanics would take years. Any DMC fan wanting the challenge of previous games will not be disappointed, particularly with the additional difficulties unlocked after the first playthrough. Level design is very well set up, with storyline reasons behind the otherworldliness of the levels. Platforming sections break up the action well and fit nicely with the controls. Lastly there's the boss battles all of which fit the theme, require specific tactics and mastery of the controls; actually change their patters and tactics on different difficulty levels; and are genuinely inventive in design.

    Storyline wise, whilst nothing groundbreaking in fiction, the story is a good example of an anti-corporate story in which a disenfranchised anarchic man-child learns to put his abilities to use to take down the corrupt corporate world powers who are, in this case literally, demonic evil. It's very reminiscent of They Live and has elements of George Orwell's 1984. Derivative sure, but well written, well paced, and an interesting attempt to tell an engaging story with a franchise that had previously never attempted to be more than a cheesy over-the-top animé.

    All in all this is one of the best action games made in years and barring a few textures issues, slight screen tearing during cutscenes oddly though thankfully not during gameplay; this game has no real notable flaws. It's sad really that this site will be filled with pathetic squawking fanboys rating it unreasonably low because the developers changed Dante's hair colour (something they actually did for a story purpose that as a fan of the series I quite appreciated actually). If you see this game get it, the easy difficulty is accessible but still challenging for new players, while the extended difficulty modes will keep veteran fans going for years; couple that with a decent and well told story and you can't go wrong. An easy recommendation.
    Expand
  31. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    I loved the old games, and this one certainly did not disappoint me. A reboot is not supposed be about making the exact same thing over again, like Halo 1. Let the masterpiece be before you mess with what is perfect. If you don't like it just don't play. They did a great job with a new story and some very well developed characters. The game is still wide open to take alot of the same roadsI loved the old games, and this one certainly did not disappoint me. A reboot is not supposed be about making the exact same thing over again, like Halo 1. Let the masterpiece be before you mess with what is perfect. If you don't like it just don't play. They did a great job with a new story and some very well developed characters. The game is still wide open to take alot of the same roads as the last one. I am looking forward to the sequel and stealing the hair cut! Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    If nothing else, DmC is sure to entertain with many hours of button hammering, fizzing combat. However, the experience as whole has hugely benefitted from a reboot and those who are familiar with the series will appreciate the new features and relish the opportunity relive Dante’s origin story. DmC, as a combat driven action title has held together the soul of the franchise, while enhancing all in-game features to create a unique experience for everyone.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 14, 2013
    87
    Ninja Theory deserves credit for not only delivering smooth combat and telling an entertaining story, but also for crafting detailed character models without lip-synch errors, who show real emotion and wear clothing that moves along with them. This is what a 2013-game should look like. [February 2013, p.72]
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.