DmC: Devil May Cry PlayStation 3

DmC: Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s darkIn a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Whether you're a longtime fan (with an open mind) or a total newcomer just looking for a solid character action game, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling overly dissatisfied with this new game.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A reboot is a chance to revitalize a flagging series, and Ninja Theory has done that with a striking vision for the DMC universe and top-notch combat.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    When you turn off your brain and let your intuition take over, you become one with Dante in a wild and seductive game you just want to play over when it finally ends.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    It should be noted, with a certain severity, that the 360 version is clearly superior in this pair. Its PS3 counterpart struggles to keep a steady framerate which is sadly characteristic of PS3 games running on the Unreal Engine.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    This is a title that gets most of the important parts right when it comes to an action game. It makes you feel like a bad arse, thanks to the cool-looking combat and easy-to-produce combos, but remains deep to allow people to delve into the system and pull off some wild moves.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly not without its issues, and at this stage in a generation you feel like a game should probably be wielding more graphical clout, but the game's combat more than makes up for it. It's simply brilliant, and you can have a lot of fun trying out the different options it presents you. Once Dante's picked up every weapon there's simply so much available to you, and it's what sets the game apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh,Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This is an excelent reboot for the series. The combat is fun and recognizable so its not trying to be a whole new game which is good. TheThis is an excelent reboot for the series. The combat is fun and recognizable so its not trying to be a whole new game which is good. The voice acting is great all around but most importantly the story. We get to see dante right as he learns who he is and that he has a brother. We see what starts there feud and get an understanding of there parents and background. Theresmore platforming than id like but this is a great way to restart the series. No goofy overly cheesy crap that the original team was starting to do giving the game a great feel. I have nothing to complain about. It all flows so well. This game was great under ninja theory Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I was very skeptical about DmC. Frankly, I was mostly ambivalent about the original titles and I thought the reboot concept was beneath NinjaI was very skeptical about DmC. Frankly, I was mostly ambivalent about the original titles and I thought the reboot concept was beneath Ninja Theory's taste-level. Rarely am I this happy to have been so wrong. I finally "get" the beauty of the original elements, while Ninja Theory busted their ass to take the existing themes and elevate them to a new level. Let me just say this - give this game an hour of your time and it will make you a believer. Give it another hour and it will make you a fan. Oh, and PS - Never before have I seen a game have to endure this level of trolling... criticisms of DmC are glaringly vague and stubbornly tired. Really? All of you bought the game on release day, played it through, and came to the conclusion that it sucked? Why do I find that so suspicious? How about you stop clutching your pearls over all the cosmetic changes and kiss Ninja Theory's ass for fixing your otherwise B Grade franchise. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There hasn't been a more divisive reboot in gaming in quite some time. There are some legitimate concerns some have with this reboot but for the most part I think Ninja theory's reboot was good but not without its flaws.
    Game play:
    The combat is still as smooth as ever. It is true that the combat has been streamlined to fit a wider audience but it is still deep an fun to execute combos as before. Dante has access to demonic and angelic weapons as well as his sword Rebellion. Some enemies can only be hurt by certain weapons. For example, the red enemies can only by demonic weapons and blue enemies can only be hurt by demonic weapons. It does give the player an incentive to use all of the weapons at your disposal but it limits combat variety. The lack of a lock on feature can be really difficult to maneuver when there is a lot of enemies The game has a steady difficulty curve as it goes on with a range of enemies that look similar to the dolls from Alice the Madness Returns. The platforming has been vastly improved over the previous entries although it is simplistic it is thrilling to grapple on the platforms. The color palate really makes this game as the art department really outdone themselves. One thing that hasn't be utilized outside of the final battle with Virgil are the boss battles. They rely on one strategy to win and they can be easier to beat than the ninja sub bosses. They do show the distinct personalities that the franchise is known for and the fight with Bob Barbas may lack in depth but it makes up for it in visual flourish.

    Story:
    The most controversial part of the story is the new portrayal of Dante. His design reflects the current trend of Western youth culture much like how the old Dante is a representation of the Japanese youth culture. He pails in comparison to his classic counterpart but I found the new Dante to be a compelling character in his own right. He starts with a sense of apathy but eventually learns to respect humanity after falling in love with Kat who is a Wicca who teleports him to limbo during missions. She may not be the most interesting love interest like Lady or Trish but I cared enough about her to not want any harm to be done her. I have mixed opinions about the depiction of Vergil. On the one hand we see more of his fraternity with Dante before their inevitable fight but he lack a sense of honor that the original envelops. The infamous trad off scene really shows this as he shoots the fetus from Lilith (I'm sorry reboot or not its just wrong to see Vergil use a gun). He then lets the loss of her baby sink in before shooting her in the head. The one character that really stood out was Mundus who enslaves the world though debt and the media The social commentary although very obvious does give profound statements about modern society despite the unsubtle nature of it. In conclusion this game is worth checking out but I completely understand why fans despise this game. The flaws also become more apparent when you play on higher difficulties which shows that a lock-on feature is needed.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge lookedThis is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge looked intriguing, and I was ready for the game to suck me in. But the moment I assumed control of Dante and battled my first enemy all optimism was sucked out of me. The combat just feels so lifeless and hollow, which is sad because it had the potential to be a thrilling experience because you have access to all your weapons at once and can switch between them at any time during combat which can lead to some pretty insane combos. But the combat just isn't fun and ruined the entire experience for me. On the plus side the game looks and sounds great, and the story is backed by fantastic voice acting. The story is interesting but ends on a dull note, and as for the new interpretation of Dante (oh, in case you didn't know, this is a reboot) I personally enjoyed his new style and personality. I really wanted to like this game, and honestly I was expecting to, but the boring combat brings down the whole experience. I liked the story, style, and the new Dante, they all just deserve a better game. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Characters:
    Dante - First of all - The new Dante starts his day by getting drunk and **** two whores. If you played any other game, you will see how the old one is starting the game. Dick jokes. Everyone is saying how both Dantes are using cheesy jokes. But the new Dante hardly has a sense of humor and when he jokes, he is doing it like a douche. He will never miss the chance to drop the f bomb and his obsession with Kat is simply annoying. He is not stylish like his predecessor who likes to ride rockets and drive Harley on vertical walls. Instead of being an anti-hero, Ninja Theory made a rebellious emotional teen.
    Virgil - He was a super bad ass in the previous games. He defeated Dante on several accusations. And now he was staying in his basement plotting and hacking the whole time. In mission 19 he looked just silly.
    Kat - While useful character she had no character depth ( beside the cliche stuff about her past en **** I am telling this because she was heavily dependant on either Dante or Virgil (not making any decisions of her own whatsoever.).
    Mundus - The lord of hell. The lord of hell who can destroy a whole city with one outburst is controlling the world through dept? And giving two turtle ****s about his hair? Was he sick or something? NO BECAUSE HE IS **** IMMORTAL!

    Story - This trend about making stuff about "real world problems" is just sick...leave video games alone god damn it. Movies, music and documentary films are enough as it is.

    Combat system - I played the game on Nephilim and I dont plan on playing on harder modes since I dont plantouching the game again. While visual appealing, the combat system does not have dept either. I am saying this because I can make ss and sss by simply pressing one button. If you involve more buttons you are making things easier. No lock on target system which leads to frustrations from time to time.

    On disc DLC - yeah.
    Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design,Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design, weak dialogue, story and voice acting.

    A truly terrible game with the Devil May Cry name added on to it. A shocking example of how not to handle Devil May Cry.
    Expand

See all 410 User Reviews