User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 82
  2. Negative: 28 out of 82

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This Game was TOP NOTCH, Multiplayer not much playin YET but the game will be a great filler when waiting for doom 4, this game is a must buy you get Spoiled for the price you pay and thats what i love the most
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got to play DOOM 3. So, the release of the BFG edition on PS3 is something I've been waiting for a long time. When I got it, I loaded up and played the first two DOOM games and they look and feel great. I had been intending to only play the original DOOM for ten minutes or so and move one, but I dug it so much I kept playing. When I tried out DOOM 3 for the first time, I thought it was great. It moved as fast and smooth as Rage (which I own and think is highly under-appreciated). If you love DOOM, buy this. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    These negative reviews are whats poor here not the game itself. I personally have purchased and own a copy of Doom BFG edition(because I doubt the ones who have negatively reviewed it even own it) Now to the review. This game is well worth your time and money especially if you don't own previous versions of doom and only own a console. Personally I own a console and this was a perfect way to get my doom on. 40 dollars for Doom 3 and two expansions, doom and doom 2 with everything and multiplayer and trophies included with all of them? WHAT MORE WILL IT TAKE TO PLEASE YOU JADED **** Its cheap and you sure as hell get more than enough content provided! Not only that but they also bumped up the frame rate to a smooth 60 fps from a weak 20 fps but they also created a new expansion pack for a 8 year old game! I think it was very generous of them to release this for the PS3 and I thank them for letting me replay these games for only 40 dollars. Its well worth the money and notice how I am reviewing the PS3 copy, so I already understand that it was pretty useless for them to release it for PC. The controls are good, the game runs smoothly I have not run into problems, and it is insanely fun even to this day. The only issues you will encounter is the multiplayer hiccups a tad and not many people play the old doom games online sadly. Which speaking of the old doom games the biggest draw back and hopefully this will be patched is in order to switch from old doom back to main menu you have to shut down the entire game, but by now most of us are used to that because of games like God of war hd collection and jak and daxter hd and so on. All in all you love ID games? You love Doom? Support this release, let them know we are ready for Doom 4! Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This is a great game, only made greater by the inclusion of of Doom and Doom II. this is not just a game, but a piece of gaming history. this was a first day buy for me. i don't understand the reason for such bad user reviews. you have to understand that Doom is the reason that FPSs exist, and why they are so lucrative. before MW, Halo, Killzone,... there was Doom. great price for so much content.
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This is my opinion on Doom 3 only. Just gotta say that the negative reviews on this game are a load of garbage! This game is great! Brings back memories from when I first played Doom 3 eight years ago. I was really excited for the game back then and still excited now. Doom 3 was the reason I upgraded my PC all those years back. This version is by far the best version. The upgraded mechanics with being able to use the flashlight simultaneously with your guns make this a lot less frustrating. On the contrary though, it does also take away from some of the suspense. Graphics look great. Game runs extremely smooth. Sound is awesome. I have read on other reviews that they think the sound is horrible, I really don't know how their sound set-up is. I am lucky enough to be listening to the game through the 5.1 DTS settings and it is amazing! There are some drawbacks that I've noticed so far. Options are lack-luster. No way to change key bindings. No toggle crouch (don't recall if that was a feature eight years ago or not). Sometimes the auto save is inappropriately placed. The facial animation is a little dated, but the game is an older game. For $40 this is a great deal! Scary and fun, you can't go wrong. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    I never played the original doom 3 + dlc so for that alone this was worth the price of admission for me. The original two dooms are still epic to this day as well and the entire package at least for me was money well spent. However it does have issues like horrible graphics on doom 3, bad loading times/save system, horrible multiplayer (due to only 4 players max) and other small annoyances here and there. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Grimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its a great bundle on PC if youve never played the original games, and its well polished. But it really shines on the console, especially for those of us who played the Xbox original Doom 3 that was watered down from its PC counterpart.... this one really should make you smile and see what you missed if your into modding, then i'd say stick with the original releases on PC. If not, then this release is for you, and is one nicely polished bundle collection

    If your on console, definetely don't miss this release... go buy it.

    Also, the 3D effects are great... some of the best I've seen in a game that supports 3D. A definete must buy!
    Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    How is this NOT a greatly-reviewed and appreciated Disc? It contains three REVOLUTIONARY games plus additional new content, and all of it has been extremely well-upgraded and faithfully remastered. And even if you don't like the game (or games) in the first place, you should at least be honest about how vital they were (and are) in terms of their influence on the gaming world in general.

    DOOM NATION!!! oh, and for the record--Doom the movie is underrated: it's such a great guilty pleasure movie cuz it's basically just a ton of creepiness locked in constant battle with badass soldiers led by the Rock. what were you expecting, The Godfather or 2001: A Space Odyssey? bottom line: Doom rules and so does Doom II. Finally, Doom 3 is the champion; it is a masterpiece of fear-inducing action meshed with an authentically creepy atmosphere.
    Expand
  9. dpc
    Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats who expect the galaxy when they're already given the moon. The HD upgrade is excellent. The sound is spectacular. The graphics are very good yes, they show they're age, but they were outstanding when Doom 3 was released and they're just as good now. It's Doom. Isn't that what we wanted? Maybe the negative critics were expecting a 2012 overhaul to be more like Call of Duty. This simple, faithful game play is absolutely addicting, scary and beyond fun just like Doom 1 and 2. You won't be disappointed. Unless you have a giant pole up your butt. Expand
  10. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME! Doom 3 looks amazing. The lighting effects are 2nd to NONE! Some people don't like this game because it does not play like Call of Duty. Those people are idiots. Ok, so you can't look down the sights of your gun, that's ok, they come with laser pointers. It really is a great action packed game. No leveling up, no upgrading weapons. Just pure run and gun fun.
  11. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Ya lo he jugado y debo decir que no me a decepcionado, es justo lo que queria DOOM en ps3 y con ello quiero decir DOOM completo, doom 1 doom 2 doom 3 (junto con su expancion) mas las misiones adicionales que aun no he probado por estar jugando al doom 3, muy completo el juego, la unica pega es tener que salir del juego e iniciar otra vez si quieres ambiar de un doom a otro por lo demas esta genial! Expand
  12. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Amazing games, in a amazing and affordable package. For 39.99 the DOOM 3 B.F.G Edition comes with: Ultimate DOOM, DOOM 2: Hell on Earth, DOOM 3, DOOM 3: Resurrection of Evil, and The Lost Missions (which are eight single player missions added to the DOOM 3 campaign). I just received this Monday for my birthday and I have hardly touched on any of the content! I love the DOOM series and so far I have no complaints. Oh, and for the DOOM 3 flashlight issue they got rid of the handheld one and attached it to your armor so you can use it with your weapons! Although it was humorous smacking zombies in the face with it :)) anyways if you are a DOOM fan or would like to become one and do not have a gaming computer, get out and grab the DOOM 3 B.F.G Edition! Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 7, 2013
    50
    Had care and attention been given to those (not to mention some reworked visuals), it would've made for a far more compelling package instead of two classics saddled with three duds.
  2. One thing that won't drive you crazy any more is your flash light. In the original Doom 3 you had to choose. Do you want to shoot your gun? Or do you want to see where you are shooting. Sure, it added to the suspense, but in terms of gameplay it wasn't very practical. [December 2012, p.85]
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    69
    It's a shame that the main attraction - Doom 3 in HD with its add-ons - is (still) such a let-down. [Issue#225, p.79]