Doom 3 BFG Edition PlayStation 3

Doom 3 BFG Edition Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offer enhanced graphics, engulfing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror. Players also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven levels that onceRe-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offer enhanced graphics, engulfing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror. Players also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven levels that once again have them on the edge of their seats. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    85
    Doom 3 is an old game and it definitely shows its age. If you, however, are willing to look past that obvious defect, this game will prove that it is still just as nerve-wracking as it ever was.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Sprinkle in the fact that it's a polished older game that is packed full of fun and there will be little reason why gamers won't be fighting their way through a hellishly altered version of Mars for quite some time to come.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    76
    Unfortunately, for all its merit, BFG Edition fumbles the ball in a number of baffling ways. Load times are atrocious, (particularly on PS3), mandatory auto-saves interrupt gameplay, and there's absolutely no way to customize your control settings.
  4. 65
    Both games have been ported nicely, with a few new features that weren't there originally.
  5. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    65
    One thing that won't drive you crazy any more is your flash light. In the original Doom 3 you had to choose. Do you want to shoot your gun? Or do you want to see where you are shooting. Sure, it added to the suspense, but in terms of gameplay it wasn't very practical. [December 2012, p.85]
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 28, 2012
    60
    Despite the heritage, and the memories of the time (if you did play it) promising a nostalgic trip, it's a reminder of how far we've come. In the end, Doom 3 just feels old. [Christmas 2012, p.81]
  7. Doom 3: BFG Edition has its darkly atmospheric highlights. But a generous amount of content can't salvage a package that's decidedly dated. If you want a cracking Id shooter, buy Rage on PS3 for about a tenner, because this is one mission to Mars you're better off skipping.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME! Doom 3 looks amazing. The lighting effects are 2nd to NONE! Some people don't like this game because it does not playThis game is AWESOME! Doom 3 looks amazing. The lighting effects are 2nd to NONE! Some people don't like this game because it does not play like Call of Duty. Those people are idiots. Ok, so you can't look down the sights of your gun, that's ok, they come with laser pointers. It really is a great action packed game. No leveling up, no upgrading weapons. Just pure run and gun fun. Expand
  2. dpc
    Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats whoI'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats who expect the galaxy when they're already given the moon. The HD upgrade is excellent. The sound is spectacular. The graphics are very good yes, they show they're age, but they were outstanding when Doom 3 was released and they're just as good now. It's Doom. Isn't that what we wanted? Maybe the negative critics were expecting a 2012 overhaul to be more like Call of Duty. This simple, faithful game play is absolutely addicting, scary and beyond fun just like Doom 1 and 2. You won't be disappointed. Unless you have a giant pole up your butt. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got toI am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got to play DOOM 3. So, the release of the BFG edition on PS3 is something I've been waiting for a long time. When I got it, I loaded up and played the first two DOOM games and they look and feel great. I had been intending to only play the original DOOM for ten minutes or so and move one, but I dug it so much I kept playing. When I tried out DOOM 3 for the first time, I thought it was great. It moved as fast and smooth as Rage (which I own and think is highly under-appreciated). If you love DOOM, buy this. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2016
    8
    This is an awesome game, but it's not a game without some flaws.

    Doom is the king of FPS, and now that I can play it on my TV on my PS3,
    This is an awesome game, but it's not a game without some flaws.

    Doom is the king of FPS, and now that I can play it on my TV on my PS3, it's great. This game comes with a remastered version of Doom 3, and the original Doom 1 & 2. Doom 1 is the same old Doom as before, but with smoother framerate and better controls. It still has the 4 episodes from the original Doom, and playing them is great. Doom 2 is my favorite out of the series, and everything is still here, but there is one small issue with Doom 2, there is a small lag spike after like 10-15 minutes of gameplay. It's not a huge issue, but it can be kind of annoying.

    Doom 3: Remastered on the other hand doesn't really bring anything new. The graphics are the same with some different colors. The one thing that is changed is that you can hold a gun and you can turn on your flashlight at the same time. It might sound great, sense the original was "hold the flashlight, or gun," but it really isn't something big. For one, The flashlight is over to the left of the screen, not in the center. It can get very annoying, and unconformable. Second, you can only have the flashlight on for a short amount of time. If you turn it on, a bar will show how much battery you have, and if it runs out, it will automatically shut off, and then recharge. So the flashlight isn't exciting. But the game is still fun.

    Over and all, Doom 1 & 2 are great, but Doom 3: Remastered has a lot of issues.

    Doom 1: 9
    Doom 2: 8.7
    Doom 3: Remastered: 7
    Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2016
    7
    Doom 3 was a clear change from the two previous games, clearly looking over survival horror games and did stand out when he came out but didDoom 3 was a clear change from the two previous games, clearly looking over survival horror games and did stand out when he came out but did he deserved a remaster ? And what is the quality of this remaster ?

    First technically its almost identical to the original game, there's even some framerate issues that remain, so from now on if you already possess the game(s) (there's also Doom 1 & 2 includes but you have to like retro gaming as nothing changed from the 90's) you already have no interest in buying this more expensive version. Otherwise the setting is creepy as hell and does a good job to make you feel in an hellish mars station.

    Concerning the gameplay I will focus on Doom 3 as I consider the two other games as bonuses (like in the last Wolfenstein) the FPS mechanics are a bit too slow in my opinion, when I play a Doom game I expect to have frenetic enemies that come from every side with a fast character to respond. In this game, according to their wish to make it more like a survival the pace is pretty slow and even for the final boss I didn't feel any adrenaline rush in me. On the other hand you are given an handful of cool guns to destroy demons which was nice. You're always given a lot of ammo and healing items so it kills all the survival side and just give a (very) gore side to the game, it's where it belongs, if only the pace wasn't in the survival side.

    The story is cheap as you would expect from a game like that : mad scientist, rule the universe, demons. It didn't bothered me at all as I wasn't expecting something more, but if you're reading those reviews because you want to know more about the game and if there's a good plot, the answer is no. To finish Doom 3 and its DLCs you can count for a little less than 20 hours, very good for a FPS and you also can add 12 more hours to finish the two first games.

    In conclusion Doom 3 BFG is pretty average considering the lack of technical improvements and the flaws (pace and story) from the original game. But at least it is generous in its length and still advisable for FPS lovers, specially if you want to try true pioneers of the genre like Doom 1.
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    I had Doom 3 for X-Box and I had a blast then. if you have this game, you could skip it with no real loss. I no longer had a copy, so II had Doom 3 for X-Box and I had a blast then. if you have this game, you could skip it with no real loss. I no longer had a copy, so I snatched it up for 40 bucks. I like it. I don't love it. Graphics are good, sound is okty and I love Doom and Doom 2.
    game worth = $39.99
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    I'm a fan of Quake, DOOM, id Software and FPS Arena games. The game is very good. Why this score? Because Bethesda took it and dumbed it down.I'm a fan of Quake, DOOM, id Software and FPS Arena games. The game is very good. Why this score? Because Bethesda took it and dumbed it down. They re-proposed the same game which was released in 2004 and raised its price. Stop. They promised to make it HD, but there's not any big graphics change. This game isn't worth its price. It's just Doom 3. Even if they made graphics very much better, why raising the price so much? And remember that in the original Doom 3, there are many mods that make it even look better than Doom 3 BFG Edition! It's just the same game, with an expansion! Same thing with Quake Live. It's free, but it's full of publicity of Bethesda games, and it's not open anymore. Damn. As innovation, I'd rate this game a 0/10. As a flop, I'd rate it a 10/10. BUY THE ORIGINAL DOOM 1/2/3! Expand

See all 30 User Reviews