User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 408 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 408

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    Its one of the best games i played. It have some very specific mechanics which take some time to get used to. For example, you have to read description of every single new item you acquire. This way you can see how its used in crafting or otherwise useable and decide, should you take this type of items in future ar not. Or maybe you shall take it for sale. If you take everything, you willIts one of the best games i played. It have some very specific mechanics which take some time to get used to. For example, you have to read description of every single new item you acquire. This way you can see how its used in crafting or otherwise useable and decide, should you take this type of items in future ar not. Or maybe you shall take it for sale. If you take everything, you will be over encumbered very fast. If you take nothing, you will lack many cool possibilities and will be underpowered. Apart from items game is truly brilliant. Its much more fun than Skyrim. Assimetric multiplayer (pawns system) makes it even better. You never had so fun and intelligent ai-driven companions. This game is underrated. I made metacritic account especially to rate this game 10. Capcom should make sequel. And if you will decide to buy it, buy it with expansion Dark Arisen. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    Dragon’s Dogma amiguinhos! Esse foi um daqueles jogos que me chamou a atenção e tenho esperado desde o primeiro video que vi. Pra começo de conversa é o primeiro game depois de Shadow of the Colossus a implementar uma jogabilidade de “escale o monstro para mata-lo”. E destaque para o termo jogabilidade, pois você realmente joga essas partes, diferente de jogos onde escalar o monstroDragon’s Dogma amiguinhos! Esse foi um daqueles jogos que me chamou a atenção e tenho esperado desde o primeiro video que vi. Pra começo de conversa é o primeiro game depois de Shadow of the Colossus a implementar uma jogabilidade de “escale o monstro para mata-lo”. E destaque para o termo jogabilidade, pois você realmente joga essas partes, diferente de jogos onde escalar o monstro gigante se resume a QTEs como Godo of War e Castlevania Lords of Shadows. O jogo vai além de escalar monstro com uma jogabilidade complexa para toda a parte do combate, algo nunca visto antes em um RPG de mundo aberto.
    E esse é o grande destaque do jogo, a jogabilidade. Como sabem é o que mais prezo em um jogo. Quando peguei o controle pela primeira vez pra jogar o demo me senti compreendido! Foi paixão a primeira vista. Pois pra mim todo jogo decente tem que ter um mínimo de ações como pulo, esquiva, correr, agarrar e normalmente quando você joga um jogo o jogo opta por certas ações e te restringe não tendo outras. Como jogador a tanto tempo já até acostumei com isso. Mas Dragon’s Dogma não é assim. Nele você tem todas essas ações. O jogo já começa com muitas opções de ações e o mapeamento dos botões é perfeito, extremamente instintivo. E o combate, digno realmente dos desenvolvedores de Devil May Cry. Testei algo que experimentei pela primeira vez com DMC, apertar os botões de bater dando um intervalo, e isso resulta em um combo diferente. A profundidade e complexidade do combate é impressionante. O mapeamento das skills, perfeito. Sem falar que cada skill não tem apenas um efeito, elas tem cada uma sua física programada. quantos jogos você já jogou onde um arqueiro pode paralisar um inimigo com uma flecha? Agora quantos jogos você já jogou onde você precisa que o inimigo esteja perto de uma parede para finca-lo nela e assim paralisa-lo? Esse é Dragon’s Dogma. Toda skill, aliás todo o combate, todo o jogo tem uma física muito bem trabalhada nele. No modo como conecta os golpes, corre, pula, se agarra, escala, agarra os inimigos e por ai vai.
    Dentro do combate outro destaque é o agarrar. Você pode agarrar qualquer objeto pra arremessar e pode agarrar seus inimigos. A muito tempo penso nessa dinâmica de agarramento do Dragon’s Dogma e fico feliz que FINALMENTE algum jogo fez isso. O lance de você agarrar um inimigo se ele for pequeno e se agarrar a um inimigo para escala-lo se ele for grande. É uma ideia simples porém só agora realizada por um jogo.
    Dragon’s Dogma foi ousado. Além de ser um RPG, com quests, NPCs, em um mundo aberto, com um gameplay tão “de ação”, o jogo ainda dá direito a todas as dinâmicas encontradas em RPGs tradicionais, como: um complexo sistema de gethering e crafting para itens e armas, diversas classes de personagem e ainda outro sistema de companheiros de party.
    Agora entramos no que tem de ruim no jogo. Os Pawns, que são seus companheiros de party, eles tem uma AI péssima e você é muito limitado no modo de comanda-los. Eles são realmente limitados, por tanto eu pretendia jogar sem eles, porém é impossível! Pelo menos na dificuldade normal. O jogo não é difícil, é cruel!.. e difícil! Desnecessariamente. Inimigos medíocres logo no começo exigem uma quantidade imensa de golpes para morrer. E isso não vai melhorando muito com o tempo. É triste ver suas táticas de combate irem por água a baixo porque você tem que ficar dando 2 ou 3 combos num inimigo caído no chão pra ele morrer ao invés de já poder estar indo pra cima de outro.
    O grande problema para mim são os HPs muito altos, e esse problema se acentua se você estiver jogando com classes de arco e faca. E em situações onde surgem grupos de inimigos em mais de dez cabeças, isso fica ridículo. E o jogo é cruel por te enviar para lugares inóspitos cheios de inimigos de level mais alto que o seu, logo de começo! Se você não quer abaixar o nível de dificuldade do jogo, (o que estou começando a considerar em pró da diversão. Se jogar no easy se resumir a inimigos com menos HP.) ande com cautela por aí. Sempre atento. Morrer e ser mandado lá pra traz é frustrante, mas com o tempo você aprende a salvar com frequência.
    Por ser um RPG o jogo também exige que você perca muito tempo no micromenegement dos equipamentos itens, crafting e venda. Isso é meio chato pra mim, ainda mais se sua vida depender disso, de equipamentos melhores e itens de cura melhores. Outro ponto fraco é que o mundo aberto é um vasto mundo por onde você ANDA. São distâncias muito longas e os itens de fast travel só ficam acessíveis bem mais a frente. Então infelizmente você passará grande parte do jogo apenas andando e correndo. A história de Dragon’s Dogma a princípio também é bem fraquinha.
    Mas nada disso consegue estragar a experiência única do gameplay perfeito de Dragon’s Dogma. Na minha humilde opinião ele deixa Skyrim e Demon Souls no chinelo fácil! Pois são dois jogos com jogabilidades MERDAS! Pronto falei!
    Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Im a player who just plays rpg games and please attention to my words:

    This is the best rpg i have ever played.Game itself contain a system called pawn.Pawns are not human but they are in human form and they will support arisen who is our character.You can command them during the game as well.Your group can be maximum 4 player,One of 3 pawn will be created by yourself and the others
    Im a player who just plays rpg games and please attention to my words:

    This is the best rpg i have ever played.Game itself contain a system called pawn.Pawns are not human but they are in human form and they will support arisen who is our character.You can command them during the game as well.Your group can be maximum 4 player,One of 3 pawn will be created by yourself and the others two will be other pawns created by other players around the world.

    This pawn characters are very clever and they have memories.They will learn every move and weaknesses of the enemies and they will learn locations and dungeons to guide you during the game.

    Dont lose any time and start to play this game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Dragon's Dogma for me what we call "true rpg", reminding me a lot of Demon's Soul and Dark Soul saga.
    Dragon's Dogma is challenging, creative, serious and classic, armor and weapons that really ambientam called "medieval" and realistic movement of the characters, not like all asian RPG cliché, where EVERYTHING is exaggerated.
    If you REALLY are an admirer and fan of a true rpg true, then
    Dragon's Dogma for me what we call "true rpg", reminding me a lot of Demon's Soul and Dark Soul saga.
    Dragon's Dogma is challenging, creative, serious and classic, armor and weapons that really ambientam called "medieval" and realistic movement of the characters, not like all asian RPG cliché, where EVERYTHING is exaggerated.
    If you REALLY are an admirer and fan of a true rpg true, then Dragon's Dogma was done for us.
    Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    What a great game, it was far above my expectations. You can do so much in this game, a tons of great quests and huge continents with great graphics. This is definitely one of the best games I ever played.
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    I only need 2 words to summarize this game: Simply Incredible.

    This game is what I had expected of Skyrim - innovative, fun, and beautiful with a memorable story. The combat is open and extremely complex, a level of complexity I've not seen since. Gear progression is fluent and satisfying and the open world is very fluent. No framerate drops or other fails of the system. I really hope
    I only need 2 words to summarize this game: Simply Incredible.

    This game is what I had expected of Skyrim - innovative, fun, and beautiful with a memorable story. The combat is open and extremely complex, a level of complexity I've not seen since. Gear progression is fluent and satisfying and the open world is very fluent. No framerate drops or other fails of the system. I really hope Capcom releases the next DD, as this was a great experience.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Dragon's Dogma is flawed the same way a fresh dug gem is flawed - it's missing some fine craftsmanship and polishing, but in spite of that, has a raw beauty that captivates you. At first, I was thrown off by the seemingly pop rock song at the title screen, which led to a facepalm and left me thinking, "Japan, what have you done NOW?" But as I played the game, it completely took me byDragon's Dogma is flawed the same way a fresh dug gem is flawed - it's missing some fine craftsmanship and polishing, but in spite of that, has a raw beauty that captivates you. At first, I was thrown off by the seemingly pop rock song at the title screen, which led to a facepalm and left me thinking, "Japan, what have you done NOW?" But as I played the game, it completely took me by surprise at the setting and, the factor that led me to buy this game, the GAMEPLAY! I had too much fun with this game and I've yet to set it down!

    Breakdown on features (on scale of 1 to 10):

    Graphics: 7. Detailed, but nothing to write home about. Runs around 20 to 30 frames per second.

    Sound: 7. Every character has a voice over, and most of them are not annoying. You'll be amused at the trainer that yells "Enough!" by the way.

    Gameplay: 10! THIS is where the game truly shines! The controls are simple, and yet the way its presented takes it to another level. You can jump and climb on enemies, and depending on what you grab (the legs will slow them down) or attack (hit an enemy's eyes and they'll stagger) will affect the battle in different ways. As for the smaller enemies, you can actually grab them and do a Sparta kick! It's like Shadow of the Colossus, but with a more vibrant world AND with companions! More on that below...

    Features: 9! The Pawn system takes the companion feature to a new level: You can actually use companions from your friends! This will make combat and exploring considerably easier and more fulfilling. That's not to say there aren't any challenging foes, however, as there are monsters that will test your group composition. Character and pawn customization is surprisingly detailed and makes you feel distinguishable.

    Multiplayer: N/A, no true multiplayer here, though one can't help but think of possibilities....

    Any downsides to this game?: The camera angles and lack of zooming can be a bit disappointing. Also you'd think this game would've harnessed the power of the PS3 to give the frame rate a bit of a boost. I found the story a bit uninteresting but to each their own.

    Overall: This game is at the very least worth checking out, and a definite buy if you like an engrossing single-player RPG with fantastic combat.
    Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    With an astounding battle system and a beautiful lore, Dragon''s Dogma it's a good choice of RPG, and, it's better than Skyrim in almost every aspect.
  9. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Graphically, I think this game needs improvement. The game play however is very solid. It's a game that takes a few hours of play to get to a point where the player can appreciate the work that went into it. I bring that up because I thought I made a mistake in my purchase the first couple of hours I played it. However, as you level up and get stronger, the world becomes more open to you,Graphically, I think this game needs improvement. The game play however is very solid. It's a game that takes a few hours of play to get to a point where the player can appreciate the work that went into it. I bring that up because I thought I made a mistake in my purchase the first couple of hours I played it. However, as you level up and get stronger, the world becomes more open to you, throwing in new challenges (mainly more monsters).
    I also enjoy the way you can stay as a particular class and gain specific permanent strengths to your character as that class that you can take with you when you switch classes.
    Expand
  10. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    I would love this game on the PC for two reasons. 1) the ability to zoom out and 2) graphical improvements. Other than that, DD is a very good game. It's not easy and takes serious strategy to play. It is also huge with tons to see. Sad part is there is no fast travel so journeys from one place to the next take time. This is good and bad. When it gets dark, bad things come out. If you setI would love this game on the PC for two reasons. 1) the ability to zoom out and 2) graphical improvements. Other than that, DD is a very good game. It's not easy and takes serious strategy to play. It is also huge with tons to see. Sad part is there is no fast travel so journeys from one place to the next take time. This is good and bad. When it gets dark, bad things come out. If you set out to say a castle way in the distance, if night falls you're in trouble. This sense of danger and urgency are unparalleled in any game I've played before. Combat is fast and action packed. It can be erratic with no sticky targeting system. Again, a good and bad thing. The UI isn't the best. It's poorly impletemented with multiple menus. I wish this could be patched. Exploration is excellent and the landscape varied. Not quite Skyrim but impressive all the same. Strangely, I'm enjoying DD more than Skyrim. Story and quests are standard stuff. Been done in every RPG since time began. The Pawn system is a standout feature and something I haven't seen before. Thoroughly enjoyed this aspect of the game. As a video game, DD is well worth investing in. It isn't a hand holding affair and I found myself in the dark for the first few hours. Give it time and it gets better and better. It really could have been a true great of the modern generation. It falls short because of minor technical issues. Watch videos and read reviews. Expand
  11. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Dragon's Dogma is far from perfect, but it's a heck of a lot of fun if you are an RPG fan. Perhaps the graphics don't look pretty enough or the map doesn't feel as big as say a Elder Scrolls game. The game can become easy after awhile, though it starts off challenging. Hmm..the lack of quick travel or pawns incessant talking can irk some people. These things are small deals. The big dealDragon's Dogma is far from perfect, but it's a heck of a lot of fun if you are an RPG fan. Perhaps the graphics don't look pretty enough or the map doesn't feel as big as say a Elder Scrolls game. The game can become easy after awhile, though it starts off challenging. Hmm..the lack of quick travel or pawns incessant talking can irk some people. These things are small deals. The big deal is that the game is enjoyable. This is a fast paced role playing game. With customization. Epic boss fights. Some of the best versions I've ever seen of some common fantasy monsters. It does feel like an adventure. I recommend it to any rpg fan. Expand
  12. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    Amazing dark fantasy RPG, combat doesn't have the finesse of Demons/Dark souls, but the availability of skills allows you to design all kinds of crazy combos and interesting tactics. Contrary to Elder scrolls and the souls series, gameplay is restricted to the job you choose (mage, fighter, etc) but you can change such job anytime you want, and some of the abilities from the job levelingAmazing dark fantasy RPG, combat doesn't have the finesse of Demons/Dark souls, but the availability of skills allows you to design all kinds of crazy combos and interesting tactics. Contrary to Elder scrolls and the souls series, gameplay is restricted to the job you choose (mage, fighter, etc) but you can change such job anytime you want, and some of the abilities from the job leveling system (augment) remain available even if you change vocation. It's a very addictive system in which you keep leveling different vocations to gain the best augments for your particular playstyle. Similar to other current RPGs, you also get unbelievable battles against huge monsters, and in this department, I gotta say Dragon's Dogma pulled it off perfectly. These fights feel visceral, grand scale, and brutal, with the special mechanic being the fact that you can actually climb the beasts and hack at weak spots similar to Shadow of the collossuss. My only gripe is the restricted Fast traveling system, hell, you don't even get a mount; but it's a minor issue, and I have to say it really gives it this special flavour of being on a long journey. A must have for Medieval RPG fans, and easily gets a spot in the Dark Epic Fantasy nirvana along with Demon's souls, Dark souls, and the elder scrolls series. Expand
  13. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Mixes western and Japanese RPG sensibilities very well, fun and rewarding without resorting to penalising the player with pointless grinding or becoming a mindless dungeon-crawl.
  14. May 28, 2013
    9
    What an epic game, you can be anyone you choose to be, you can side with all different types of characters, and have awesome duels in a land, this game really is epic, but a little short sighted on quests, but there will be tons of them to complete. Really a great game.
  15. May 28, 2013
    10
    This game is unbelievable. As a lifelong Elder Scrolls fan, I can say that this game scratches the itch better than the newest Skyrim game. Yes the map is smaller in terms of land area, but it is much deeper. Where Skyrim has tons of cookie-cutter dungeons, each of the dungeons in this game are fairly unique and interesting to play through. The landscapes are much more fun to explore inThis game is unbelievable. As a lifelong Elder Scrolls fan, I can say that this game scratches the itch better than the newest Skyrim game. Yes the map is smaller in terms of land area, but it is much deeper. Where Skyrim has tons of cookie-cutter dungeons, each of the dungeons in this game are fairly unique and interesting to play through. The landscapes are much more fun to explore in this game as each area feels hand-crafted for exploration. I even spent hours in the main city once climbing up walls to areas I recently didn't think were accessible, only to find secret chests with very useful items. A friend of mine played a character with a double jump (which I did not have), and was thus able to access areas I didn't even know were in the game!

    Battles in Skyrim quickly devolve into "run forward while mashing R2," but battles in this game are epic and strategic. What other real-time RPG can you name where you can have party members simultaneous casting spells, shooting arrows into the eyes, climbing on the back to slash at the back of the neck, and holding the attention/agro of one of three huge ogres in the middle of an epic battle to take back a fortress?

    No fast travel means you have to actually walk across the beautiful landscape, planning ahead for your journey to make sure you have enough supplies, leaving at dawn because enemies grow stronger and greater in number at night. This all adds to such a high amount of immersion that I haven't felt in a game since Morrowind for the original Xbox. The pawn system is just genius, giving incentive to create the best main pawn you can possibly create, because you get points when other players use your pawn online. These points can then be redeemed for you to use higher level pawns for your own journeys.

    Overall this is one of the best American-style RPGs I have ever played. Yes the pawns' dialog can get annoying, yes battling the same enemies can get tedious, but I can overlook all of that when playing the most immersive, epic, strategic, and overall fun RPG I've played in years.
    Expand
  16. May 2, 2013
    9
    I have just started the Dark Arisen version, but since I have started the new game from scratch, it will take some time, before I'll be able to talk about its additions. So let me just go over some points of the original Dragon's Dogma, the best RPG game released in 2012, that I'd like to address.

    Reason why DD never quite hit the mainstream is, I think, how incredibly dull the first
    I have just started the Dark Arisen version, but since I have started the new game from scratch, it will take some time, before I'll be able to talk about its additions. So let me just go over some points of the original Dragon's Dogma, the best RPG game released in 2012, that I'd like to address.

    Reason why DD never quite hit the mainstream is, I think, how incredibly dull the first few hours of the game are. I was looking out for DD pretty much since first videos. My guts were telling me this is going to be Demons Souls big and they were ultimately right, but the first day or two I was playing DD, it felt like money flushed down the toilet.

    The game starts with short linear piece in shoes of another Arisen, who is predecessor to our own hero. Point of this piece is to get player familiar with compat controls, but they are simply too complex for that and ultimately your pawns will do most of the job on their own. Still you are likely to get the hang of it to some extent to enjoy the fight with the chimera at the end.

    The creation of our own hero follows and with all the options it is easy to kill an hour or two just with that. Then after a short fight and class selection you are thrown into the game in the small fisherman village of Cassardis (or something like that), which is about as dull as villages can get. Afternoon sun burns into everyones backs and who would really do anything in such weather. Short run around the beach will reveal another of DD's bigger flaws, which is overall level of detail of things, which is rather pathetic for 2012 game and the way props apper out of nowhere just a few meters in front of you is just sad. Thankfuly DD often manages to look strikingly beautiful anyways, mainly thanks to the suberb lightning.

    All in all before you get to create your own pawn, several hours are gone and hardly anything happens by that time. And it takes about a dozen hours before you get to capital city, get familiar with vocation changing, weapon enhancing, etc. and start taking on quests that will lead you to yet unknown parts of the land, which is where DD is in its best. So, yeah, the start could have been better.

    Exploration in Dragon's Dogma is a great thing you have to go places by foot and you can never be quite sure what kind of monsters you will encounter in those unknown lands. DD is not as hard as Souls series, but your survival in those encounters is nowhere near granted. Now if you are on your way to the fartherst regions of the map, you'll almost certainly not make it in before the night falls. And unlike in Skyrim, nights in DD are DARK. You won't see a thing unless you shine on it with something and lanterns give you just a few meters visibility. Nights are super dangerous with extra/tougher monsters being spawned and you just don't want to be out at night. I remember when I met my first Wywern it was in the middle of the night and boy were we screwed. There are actually small camps in the farther regions where you can get before sunset and spend the night in safety, but you have to find them first.

    Fighting. Enemy lock would be kinda handy, but you can do well without it. Each class/vocation has its set of skills and you can change those classes at will in the capital city. Passive skills transfer between classes so it is good idea to try them all to make your unique build. Fighting skills are well varied and while the number of skills you can select for use in combat is fairly limited (3 for most weapon types), there are some powerful combinations to be found for many different playstyles. Skyrim has absolutely nothing on DD in terms of combat and its dragons look like a big joke next to drakes, wyrms, wyverns of DD. And you can climb the bigger bastards and those who can fly will often get aloft with you on their back a will try to get you fall. Combat is simply fun and downright epic when it comes to bigger enemies.

    Crafting is an area of the game I am not quite happy with. All the equipment and enhancing are great, but there are literally tons of garbage lying just about everywhere and if you won't pick it up, your pawns likely will. It as annoying as it is useless since most of the stuff you can create you will never use. This area definitely needs a lot of cuts and streamlining.

    And that's about it. Capcom should streamline the whole crafting side of things, level-up the graphics detail and get pawns more variety in dialogues (see Zero Punctuation). Music is great, so is combat and overal atmosphere. You just have to be patient with the begining, those who hurry into action will spend too much time getting to it to be happy with the game.

    Dogma has a bunch of aforementioned loose ends, so it does not work as well as a whole as Dark Souls do, but if they take care of that with Deep Down (I am already pretty sure they didn't with Dark Arisen), the result is going to be pretty damn awesome.
    Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! GET IT!
    Good character creation. Little tough at first but gets easy. Combat system awesome! You dont go solo as you can get 3 followers to help and they are not dull with no talking as they do say helpful things to guide you if your new.
  18. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Hardcore action RPG. Brilliant game. Great combat mechanics. Brilliant Griffin/boss fights! Enigmatic plot. One game I bothered to complete and let's face it not so many games are worth the effort these days. Bout to man up for a second playthrough!
  19. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Been playing games for over 20 YEARS and this one really stands out. The industry has changed the focus has shifted towards style mass appeal over substance. Comparing this to Elder Scrolls is nonsense, in that game you look at buildings, in this one you climb them. In that game you push an attack button, this game plays like Devil May Cry 3. Way more depth, customization dynamicBeen playing games for over 20 YEARS and this one really stands out. The industry has changed the focus has shifted towards style mass appeal over substance. Comparing this to Elder Scrolls is nonsense, in that game you look at buildings, in this one you climb them. In that game you push an attack button, this game plays like Devil May Cry 3. Way more depth, customization dynamic gameplay in a more focused package.

    FE: Choose to start as a Strider Character class which uses twin daggers for fighting, unlock the skills then move up to a Ranger, then finally an Assasin. Take the skills you learned from the first two classes pick your favorites plus your new class abilities map 6 of them to triangle, square circle button. Choose a set of abilities that are always active from all the classes you've spent time leveling then add equipment into the mix.

    Equipment has aspects like knockdown resistance which aid a spell caster that has to stand in place to summon a spell. Pick up materials from fallen enemies or from collecting plants or mining rocks to level up your equipment, all of which looks different show on your characters.

    If you're into designing avatars you get to do this twice in this game. Height, weight etc all of which actually determine how much you can carry or how fast your stamina regenerates which plays into which type of character class you want your character to end up being. Consider a giant heavy wizard for a team mate OR play as a lean tall archer.

    FIGHTING SYSTEM: Climb up the back of a cyclops and start hitting his helmet. If you have someone with fire spells you can have them set the helmet on fire which will make the cyclops take off his helmet so you don't have to break through it. Then hope that him swinging a big mace around as he gets angry doesn't knock you or one of your team off the bridge down to their death. Do this all at night, while in the distance goblins are hurling explosives at you.

    Or climb up a creepy abandoned tower have a harpy lift you off the ground forcing you to do a quick time event to get free but take too long maybe you'll be over the edge already when you're let go you'll fall to your death, unless you're a wizard which can levitate or maybe a mystic knight that can do basically an air dash ala Dante in DMC.

    See the treasure chest across the really big gap, use your triple jump as magical archer no problem. Tuck and roll, double jump, block, parry, hit enemies into the air, become invisible, it's like Ninja Gaiden when you're an assassin.

    Don't want your lantern to get soaked basically make the room pitch black? Cast a pillar of ice as a wizard and use it as a stepping stone to cross the river.

    Pacing can make the game seem bland if you follow the developers original plan. It'll depend on if you're experiencing the more challenging areas& enemies early on or didn't mind playing through to get to those points naturally. This will determine your impression. I'd say playing a mix of exploring outside the story moving forward together has made my impression positive because I know what's ahead that I'm looking forward to playing. Top this all of is a new game plus mode, extra post game quests dungeons.

    This game takes Capcom's history, skills learned making different games puts it all into one really impressive feat. It's got some resident evil 4, Devil May Cry, Monster Hunter, platforming, rpg elements.

    Top notch game if you're looking for game play with depth. Not as artistically impressive as Elder Scrolls but no slouch either. Not an overly large world map either but the fun is in the variety here. Making a new team choosing a different body type character class actually leads to an entirely different experience while playing. New Game Plus mode just add to replay value but not sure if it's harder at all. That would be awesome if it was the second time around.
    Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    An absolute must-have for every Gothic-esque games fan out there. Amazing combat (never before have I seen greatswords done so good), good and positively surprising story, an abundance of gear and equipment and the pawn system makes this game a hidden gem. This is a REAL 60h minimum role playing game and you can't find many of those nowadays. Just like years before with Nier, the japaneseAn absolute must-have for every Gothic-esque games fan out there. Amazing combat (never before have I seen greatswords done so good), good and positively surprising story, an abundance of gear and equipment and the pawn system makes this game a hidden gem. This is a REAL 60h minimum role playing game and you can't find many of those nowadays. Just like years before with Nier, the japanese has once more proven that they CAN into RPG's and they're better at it than western companies(I'm looking at you, you abominable wretch Dragon Age 2).
    The biggest flaw of the game is horrible FPS at most times but it can be forgiven after you're "pulled in" by the game.
    Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    An overall good RPG. The story was ok, the surroundings were good, the battle system was very nice, and the party system used was really good. Had an old school feel of something like Tales of Symphonia. Compared to most RPG's made lately it is worth the buy. But there could have been more selection of enemies to battle, that is my only negative for the game. Oh and for those of you whoAn overall good RPG. The story was ok, the surroundings were good, the battle system was very nice, and the party system used was really good. Had an old school feel of something like Tales of Symphonia. Compared to most RPG's made lately it is worth the buy. But there could have been more selection of enemies to battle, that is my only negative for the game. Oh and for those of you who know your anime, there are some nice Berserk references and items in the game. Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Great game one of the finest in 2012 however the way people talk is annoying but this is a gripping adventure reminiscent of dark souls. defiantly worth it
  23. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    People say this world is small? Then I suppose they think 120+ hour Monster Hunter is tiny. Like in Monster Hunter, the map is fairly compact. However, also like Monster Hunter, there's much more area than there seems to be at first. This is because that like Monster Hunter, you can climb up on rocks, ledges, etc. There's a large amount of realistic environmental interaction that manyPeople say this world is small? Then I suppose they think 120+ hour Monster Hunter is tiny. Like in Monster Hunter, the map is fairly compact. However, also like Monster Hunter, there's much more area than there seems to be at first. This is because that like Monster Hunter, you can climb up on rocks, ledges, etc. There's a large amount of realistic environmental interaction that many negative reviewers fail to notice.

    Look at a game with a huge map: Sacred 2. While the square mileage is bigger in Sacred 2, anyone who's played the game knows that you can't go up steep hills and you can't enter forests, and almost everything is simply a static mesh that you can't interact with. Dragon's Dogma is the opposite kind of open world. In Dragon's Dogma there's less square mileage, but you can go up and over amost anything, interacting with most things.

    Look at Skyrim. DD has slightly less square mileage than Skyrim, but it's much closer. However, in Skyrim you can't interact with the landscape at all, and mountains block you all the time. Once in a while you find a mushroom to harvest, but generally you just run around cloned trees and hunt for copy-pasted quests in a copy-pasted world. In Dragon's Dogma, care went into making every scene unique in some way, ala Dark Souls or Demon's Souls. In DD, you can climb many things, you can slide down steep slopes in a special stance to avoid fall damage, you can pick apples from trees, you can harvest plants and search for a diverse array of resources, like in Monster Hunter. You can actually interact with the world, and like in the Souls games, there's hidden stuff everywhere.

    The bosses are reminiscent of Shadow of the Colossus, where you can grab and climb many of them as they attempt to shake you off. Other features were inspired by Monster Hunter or Dark Souls, such as your ability to sever some appendages from the bosses.

    People say the pawns are annoying? I guess people are too used to companions that never say anything and simply act as silent sexy armor holders. The pawns are intelligent. They'll follow you as you climb the steepest rooftops and cliffs, and they can take care of themselves in combat. Normally when you fight outside your level (ie, level 2 fighting a level 8 enemy), game companions eat hits and die immediately. Not in Dragon's Dogma. I'm continually surprised at just how fast and intelligent the pawns are. They'll protect each other, carry each other if one falls in combat, and give you someone to lean on if you sprint for too long and run out of breath. They'll even harvest loot and resources on their own (though you can get them to give it to you, if you want it) They dodge enemy attacks and deal solid damage on their own. You virtually never have to babysit them like you do in similar games. People claim that pawns are marred by the fact that they're temporary, and that's something I was concerned about as well. After playing, however, it's clear that many of the haters never even played the game for the 45 minutes required to get a permanent companion.

    Two of your three pawns will be temporary, and one is a permanent companion, but in Skyrim you only get one companion at all! Why are people complaining about this in DD? Plus, in Skyrim your companion is dumb as a bag of rocks and just eats hit after hit until they go down. You need to babysit in Skyrim constantly, to the point that I just had to avoid the companions altogether in that game. Plus, your companion in Skyrim won't protect you or really help you; once combat starts in Skyrim it's "every man for himself", and your companion won't heal you or stay nearby.

    Dragon's Dogma companions are much, much better. They keep up, they're smart, and not only do they not require babysitting, but they actually protect you as much as you protect them. They shout out advice, as others said, but I don't think it's annoying for some reason. They offer new ideas for how to handle quests and enemies, and occasionally they offer personal support in emotional quests. Really, after playing rpgs where every npc just exists and speaks at your convenience, Dragon's Dogma's companions are amazing.

    I own a gaming pc, and this game actually looks pretty good by comparison. It's rare that I can play a console game and not only tolerate the graphics, but actually enjoy them. Killzone 2 was the last game that managed that, besides Dragon's Dogma.

    All in all, an absolutely engrossing rpg with great realism and companions. I also like that Capcom wasn't afraid to stretch the M rating to the limit at times (like with the harpies), unlike some rpgs that are clearly meant for 12 year olds despite the M rating. If you like Dark Souls or Monster Hunter, you'll probably love this. If you think Skyrim is the best rpg ever made, you may not like this, or you might change your mind about Skyrim.
    Expand
  24. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Nothing beats a fight with an angry group of goblins and a huge, ferocious dragon in the middle of the forest, lit only by your lamp and the fire of the dragon. In fact, the best word to describe this game is epic. The quests feel like real adventures - trekking through the world to reach your goal and fighting your way to safety before darkness falls. Even the characters and story have aNothing beats a fight with an angry group of goblins and a huge, ferocious dragon in the middle of the forest, lit only by your lamp and the fire of the dragon. In fact, the best word to describe this game is epic. The quests feel like real adventures - trekking through the world to reach your goal and fighting your way to safety before darkness falls. Even the characters and story have a bit more about them than several RPGs - a bit mad, but thoroughly entertaining. Easily one of my favourite games ever. If you like RPGs, you have to try it. Expand
  25. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    the best RPG i have ever played...I love you loved Monster Hunter and Dark Souls..you will LOVE this.
    ....ignore the ignorant **** from IGN giving this a 7.5....they had big ass sponsors from terrible games like ''Kindoms of Amalur'' they gave it a 9(!!!) the biggest garbage i ever played.....Dragon''s Dogma is a game you cannot ignore...
  26. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    A great game overall, An intriguing selection of character builds (personal favorite ranger), for many different kinds of play, although Capcom's on disk DLC had me raging (they aren't necessary to the game at all) it was really the only set back..
    Some will argue the graphics aren't as good as the could be, but graphic aren't what makes a game great, I put at least 90 hours into this
    A great game overall, An intriguing selection of character builds (personal favorite ranger), for many different kinds of play, although Capcom's on disk DLC had me raging (they aren't necessary to the game at all) it was really the only set back..
    Some will argue the graphics aren't as good as the could be, but graphic aren't what makes a game great, I put at least 90 hours into this game, and the online community is great..
    The pawn system is a lot of fun, but a little broken, if it were a little better I would have given this game a 10..
    I must buy for anyone who enjoys an RPG with a challenge..
    Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    After spending 30+ hours in the world of Dragon's Dogma I can honestly say I have yet to experience a game quite like it. It blends the intense action that Capcom always provides with a solid RPG experience. Fairly basic quest lines with the occasional "wow" factor on your way to complete them. These random encounters are often huge bosses with different strategies to each, and they alwaysAfter spending 30+ hours in the world of Dragon's Dogma I can honestly say I have yet to experience a game quite like it. It blends the intense action that Capcom always provides with a solid RPG experience. Fairly basic quest lines with the occasional "wow" factor on your way to complete them. These random encounters are often huge bosses with different strategies to each, and they always reward with heaps of experience and loot. The class system is so in depth and accessible that anyone can work with it. Even so, it's possible to make very deep and rewarding class combinations for different roles. The pawn system in itself if quite gimmicky, but is definitely a fun and cool feature to add a sense of community in game, to a otherwise single player experience. I had to take a point off for the lack of good travel options and constant backtracking. Nothing like spending hours just running down a dirt road! Still it's a must play for RPG lovers and Action gamers alike. Try it out! Expand
  28. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    Хорошая игра, отличное начало для будущего сериала. В игреХорошая игра, отличное начало для будущего сериала. В игре интересный мир в котором хочется искать приключений. Интересные и сложные схватки с врагами и наверное одни из лучших бои с боссами в этом жанре. из минусов средняя графика, и слабо проработанная вселенная. Верю в светлое будующие Expand
  29. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    I don't want to go into to much tedious detail, but the bottom line is, GET THIS GAME. on my life, you will not regret it. Yes, pop in occur regularly, towns don't feel as vibrant as towns in KoA or Skyrim (sorry to compare) and some characters looks like a good PS2 game. But all of that aside, this game is a true wonder. The visuals on the world, armour weapons on buildings is better thanI don't want to go into to much tedious detail, but the bottom line is, GET THIS GAME. on my life, you will not regret it. Yes, pop in occur regularly, towns don't feel as vibrant as towns in KoA or Skyrim (sorry to compare) and some characters looks like a good PS2 game. But all of that aside, this game is a true wonder. The visuals on the world, armour weapons on buildings is better than any game i've seen in the past two years. The monsters don't feel like a block on your screen, that you hack and slash a until it falls, and night times don't feel like a stroll in the park. The creatures that you fight all have a different feel to them for example you will be fighting a weak goblin that you can destroy in a matter of seconds with a good fire spell, then next you will be attacking a magical Cyclops that has a volly of different weak points that forces you to scale the repulsive beast and hack at its monstrous eye. Night time in this game is also another part of the world that sets it apart from any of other game in the RPG category, you cannot see, anything. you will be walking through the woods with your terrible (but a good terrible) lantern that only shines a couple of metres in circumference and not be able to see anything outside of that circle, no use giving lanterns to your pawns, because that only seems to light up their body, but that aside, your heart starts to race just that little bit more, as your stumble across a posse of sorcerers, that on my first encounter, destroyed me, but this isn't a bad thing, because it raises your fear factor and nearly makes you take a different route, or equip well before you venture out into the night. All in all, this is one of the best games I have played in years, with so many different aspects, the towns feel safe, and the wilderness feels vibrant and dangerous, if you are a fan of dark souls, demon souls, KoA, monster hunter, Oblivion, Skryrim or any western RPG, BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Developers definitely have something in common with Demons/Dark Souls team, they used same menu sounds, similar graphics, save screens and save method. This is a very well developed game with a consistent story, almost every action has a consequence in this game. I think other countries should learn with Japanese fellows considering the currently lack of imagination in the industry. ThisDevelopers definitely have something in common with Demons/Dark Souls team, they used same menu sounds, similar graphics, save screens and save method. This is a very well developed game with a consistent story, almost every action has a consequence in this game. I think other countries should learn with Japanese fellows considering the currently lack of imagination in the industry. This is not a flawless game, it has sound problems during combat and some CG animations are weird and clumsy but the game is very innovative and surprisingly complex. The Pawn system is genius and the option to capture and publish any ingame screen is something that PS3 players always dreamed. If you consider Dragon's Dogma as a cult game instead of another blockbuster game you'll be very surprised. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    85
    This adventurer relished Dragon's Dogma's old-school sensibilities, which make it familiar territory that is expected on a PC instead of something from Capcom on the PS3. As players romp across a wide-open world filled with danger, titanic ruins and wonders, they'll realize that it's a rough, rewarding world, though its hardened edges may not be to everyone's cup of tea.
  2. 80
    Neither Monster Hunter nor Dark Souls--but a great combination of the two.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    85
    The graphics aren't state-of-the-art and the story isn't that well-told. That said, spectacular combat and a wonderful environment to wander around in save Dragon's Dogma from the purgatory of mediocrity.