Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    85
    With very good controls transitioned from a PC title onto consoles, Dungeon Siege III has gratifying old-school dungeon crawling combined with RPG elements for ton of hack & slash adventuring fun, especially for gamers that indulge in co-op gameplay.
  2. Jul 14, 2011
    85
    So, in the end, what we have is an exceptional local-multiplayer action RPG with a good story and great combat and production values, fused with some of the best-loved trappings of the hack-and-slash loot-grab genre.
  3. Jun 19, 2011
    84
    An accessible and fun dungeon crawling romp, with or without friends.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    81
    Dungeon Siege III is a solid singleplayer action-RPG, but please forget the possibility to play with friends. There is no splitscreen or anything else to gives the player a feel of freedom. It's all up to the host. Everyone see what the host wants to see and you can only kill some monsters for nothing, because you are not playing with your character. You get a character which is automatically in range to the host with good equipment and everything. That is not funny. But the singleplayer campaign, the atmosphere and the sound effects are really great.
  5. Jul 18, 2011
    80
    It's a love it or hate it game. If it doesn't click with you right away it probably won't at all. I just wish they had made some better decisions with the way that the co-op is handled.
  6. A hearty fantasy banquet. Tuck in. [Aug 2011, p.104]
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    Dungeon Siege III ends up being a fantastic hack and slack adventure that nearly achieves brilliance if not for lack of post-game content and expansive multiplayer.
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    80
    If Dungeon Siege III proved anything, it was that the isometric RPG Hack and Slash style is not dead, nor needs to be called Diablo to be fun.
  9. Jun 27, 2011
    80
    If you are looking for something with a bit more depth, beefier online options and something to tax your brains, then the game might be worth a quick try, but Dungeon Siege 3 is not doing anything revolutionary for the ARPG genre.
  10. Jun 23, 2011
    80
    Dungeon Siege 3 is a worthy successor to the Dungeon Siege Saga, and the legitimate heir to the Throne of Console Dungeon Crawlers. However, PC fanatics will feel as if they're playing a slightly dumped down version of the first two epic games of the franchise.
  11. Jun 22, 2011
    80
    If you're looking for an exciting romp through impressive-looking dungeons where you smash monsters, get loot, use tactics to win, and level up a lot of fun abilities, then this game delivers that in a way that's more true to Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance than it is to either the past Dungeon Siege games or the Diablo series. And if you want something with the kind of wide-open online play that lasts for years, well, you're better off saving your money and waiting for Diablo III.
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Doesn't have the pomp and ceremony of a triple-A blockbuster RPG, but it does have charm, solid gameplay and a really fun co-op experience. If you love loot then you want to be part of this. [Issue#206, p.78]
  13. Jun 20, 2011
    80
    It's a modernised take on dungeon crawling that brings a few new ideas to the series.
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Boasts such good combat that it doesn't matter if the loot, traditionally the heart of these games, is disappointing. In fact, it's so good that I think I'm going to go back and play it right now.
  15. Jun 16, 2011
    80
    The pacing takes a hit because I think the developers went a little overboard in terms of character depth, the camera can be problematic, and a few too many of the abilities seem pointless, but in the end, DSIII is a dungeon-crawling winner.
  16. Jun 16, 2011
    80
    I recommend Dungeon Siege III to anyone that wants to connect with friends and kill a whole mess of monsters together. [July 2011, p.84]
  17. Jun 27, 2011
    78
    As much as this review may come across as "negative", Dungeon Siege III is a fun and easy to pick up game and certainly the best technical effort from Obsidian Entertainment in recent memory. If there were more complaints than praise it's because I really wanted this new entry in the DS franchise to be the best Action-RPG cooperative offering it could have been.
  18. Jun 17, 2011
    78
    Dungeon Siege III is a linear, solid good game when played in coop mode, but a little boring when played in single player mode.
  19. Oct 30, 2011
    75
    If you like high-fantasy realms, but are willing to overlook alterations to what are ultimately some pretty arbitrary conventions concerning weapon types, and you have like-minded friends who'll play with you offline, Dungeon Siege III is definitely worth your time. If you're going to go it alone strictly for story and gameplay, then know that you've already played this game before in similar form, probably a dozen times.
  20. Jun 27, 2011
    75
    A simple RPG that won't impress fans, but still delivers a fairly enjoyable experience to gamers.
  21. Jun 16, 2011
    75
    So what you're essentially paying for in the difference is the graphical polish of the environments, a satisfactory storyline, and clean craftsmanship. If that sounds like a fine deal, then Dungeon Siege III is the right dungeon crawler for you.
  22. Jul 4, 2011
    73
    Dungeon Siege III doesn't reinvent the wheel by any stretch of the imagination, but if you're into these sorts of D&D style, loot collecting, hack and slashers, then it's definitely worth a look. For me though, I ended up disappointed. While the game can be fun, the surprising linearity, terrible camera (both online and off), uninteresting (and seemingly uninterested) characters, and the lack of a New Game + mode made this dungeon crawler feel like a lost opportunity.
  23. Jun 17, 2011
    73
    While Dungeon Siege III doesn't quite measure up to its predecessors, its streamlined approach is a solid and enjoyable Action-RPG.
  24. Jun 21, 2011
    72
    Putting the number three behind the title should mean progression. Unfortunately, this feels more like a transgression.
  25. Jun 21, 2011
    72
    It's an average action RPG, filled with cliches and some actually funny combat. The real shame goes on the coop mode, which could've been a great appealing factor, but goes totally wasted. Consider it only if you're looking for some single player, light RPG action.
  26. Sep 14, 2011
    70
    It doesn't push the envelope aside from experimenting with gameplay but if you like this type of game you'll probably enjoy yourself as long as you speed through the story.
  27. Jul 23, 2011
    70
    Although it misses a beat on one or two of the RPG genre's values, the rest is classic dungeon-crawling through and through. [Issue#111, p.106]
  28. Jul 7, 2011
    70
    Dungeon Siege III isn't a bad game but you have to like the genre. If you like to explore a world and love to see your character grow, you will like this game. If you're looking for an RPG, there are better games available.
  29. There aren't many games like this for consoles, so it shakily fills a niche that most certainly needed filling. [Aug 2011, p.82]
  30. Jun 30, 2011
    70
    The game doesn't stand out in anything, except in its four-player cooperative mode.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    As others have noted, I too am unclear as to why there is such an unmitigated flow of hatred for this title. Anyone rating this title lowerAs others have noted, I too am unclear as to why there is such an unmitigated flow of hatred for this title. Anyone rating this title lower than a 6 needs their head examined. For instance, a score of 3 would put it on par with the Wii's "Babysitting Mama" title. And fools are throwing 0's around, are you kidding me? Let's get it right, 0's are for completely broken and unplayable titles. The graphical polish alone makes this title deserving of a 4 -5. The controls are not completely broken, I don't know what that griping is all about, no it's not as point and click as Diablo, but... who said it was going to be? Use your keyboard and mouse and it's fine. There's a fairly deep character building system here. It's not just a talent tree that you put points into. There are multiple abilities that you unlock, once unlocked you can put points into them in one of two ways generally leaning the skill towards offense or defense. Abilities can be "mastered" allowing you to perform even more powerful versions of those abilities with different effects than normal. The pace, though generally a little slow, can get quite manic in large battles. The fact that you can't just click click click spam spells or attacks through combat is refreshing; you need to be a participant in battle in order to restore your focus (mana) and block attacks (so you don't get your ass beat) There is no potion quaffing here, the best you can do is your character's heal over time spell. I guess I can't really say anything that hasn't been said, check out Game Informer's review, it's pretty legit. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE HATERS, this title definitely belongs in the 7-8 range, which is what you'll see from nearly all professional critics. The title is solid, it's not broken, and while it doesn't do anything amazingly well, it doesn't do anything completely wrong either. There is room for improvement, but as it stands it's an enjoyably fun dungeon romp, especially with friends. Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Good game, nice story, lots of loot and there is nothing else like this right now.
    Playing the PC version with xbox gamepad, otherwise the
    Good game, nice story, lots of loot and there is nothing else like this right now.
    Playing the PC version with xbox gamepad, otherwise the keyboard mouse controls are horrendous.

    Graphics is OK, but I found a strange bug, changing the Texture quality from low to highest, changes nothing and the game looks the same.
    All 4 texture size settings look the same, its like its always showing same size of textures, i checked my VRAM and the size of used memory stays the same.
    I donâ
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    I'm a huge RPG fan, so I decided to give Dungeon Siege 3 a try, even when I never played any of the previous games. Let's say it has been aI'm a huge RPG fan, so I decided to give Dungeon Siege 3 a try, even when I never played any of the previous games. Let's say it has been a mixed experience. You have 4main characters, all with their own unique skills and upgrades. The game can be played alone or with a friend with local or online co-op (online has 4 player limit while offline has 2). The co-op is not that interesting, mainly because the camera has a mind of it's own while you can't zoom in or out anymore, ...when playing alone though, you are able to zoom in very closely. I personally prefer to see my character and enjoy the armor he/she is wearing. That brings me to the next point... the armor isn't interesting since many look-a-like. Weapons are ok, but have the same basic attacks. Another negative point is the dialogue, most of the voice acting is fair or even bad, especially one of the main characters, Katarina, one of the worst in my game history. Also when having a conversation with characters, your back is always turned towards the camera, and there is almost no movement of any of the characters, they just stand there... talking. So the conversation isn't that compelling as (for example) Dragon Age. .... Don't get me wrong though, not EVERYTHING is bad about this game. It still has a fun combat system, though a bit repetitive after awhile, and the RPG elements qua choice are all there. You realy feel your choices have an impact on the story progression. In the end, the game feels ok but could've been much better, especially if they'd improved the co-op experience. If you can get this game cheap, then give it a try... because it's not realy worth the full price tag. Full Review »