• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUST 514 is a free-to-play console-based hybrid massively multiplayer online first-person shooter set within the EVE universe and interacts directly with EVE Online.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    91
    This is a game that has serious potential to grow into something amazing, while being fresh and fun enough right at this moment.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    A very solid online shooter with some good ideas, offering enormous possibilities of equipment customization and complex, rewarding gameplay. The important thing is that thick wallet makes the encounters easier but does not determine their outcome – and that’s the Holy Grail of free-to-play games. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.66]
  3. May 31, 2013
    72
    It’s only when I fought with a corporation that I truly feel like a part of the Dust 514 narrative. I fear that many players may never even get that far due to how overwhelming the menu-heavy interface can seem.
  4. May 19, 2013
    60
    It reaches high and attempts to accomplish something not many games have even tried to this day, which should be commended. But right now, it needs a few more major updates before it gets there. With a hefty amount of microtransactions that border on offensive, there is a very ambitious, competitive game underneath the sloppy veneer.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    60
    DUST 514 is free-to-play and it's got some potential, but definitely fails to deliver.
  6. Thankfully, navigating through the poorly designed menus is not the only thing Dust 514 has to offer. You can also shoot each other in a body region of choice on poorly designed multiplayer maps. Even with 31 other player joining the fray, you will have a hard time finding even a single adversary. [June 2013, p.86]
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    A very poor first person shooter buoyed up by the promise of things to come, and an impressively ambitious attempt at a cross-format connected universe.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 102
  2. Negative: 36 out of 102
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    So much promise in this game. The large scope and massive immersion into the game is really rewarding. Looking forward to the game mechanics getting better. Great start to a FREE game! I also agree that if you enjoyed MAG, you will love this game. Expand
  2. May 24, 2013
    10
    Game Trailers gave out an extremely garbage review and the person reviewing did not even bother to do some research and i quote ''you can only get scrambler riffles by paying" which is not true there is ISK scrambler riffle weapons and the prototypes which are the best you only need ISK to buy them, also Did this guy even bothered to mention planetary conquest nope. There just goes to show how ignorant the person from GT was. even a monkey could of had done a better review. Dust takes some time (not alot) to get to a high level this is not just a pick up and play game to obtain everything in less than month like call of duty does. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Excellent shooter, because of al the depth and customization. The game has improved tremendously after beta, and continues to improve. I love the fact that you can make a character to your liking, with endless strategic and tactical opportunities.

    I don't agree with people saying that it's "pay to win", because your abilities to increase more powerful items increase depends on experience, which can't be bought. Paid items are great to test a better weapon before you want to sink your hard-earned experience points in the necessary upgrades, but as paid items are lost when you die, playing pay to win-style is a VERY costly exercise!
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2013
    6
    Its a very nice game a very nice improvement from the Beta

    but some weapons dont have a good aim and also there's alot of bugs and lack of
    maps dont know about EVE Online has those maps but yeah) it almost everything are microtransactions and the weapons are consumables like the dropsuits, but hey its free and if u like games like Battlefield and Planetside 2, then u should totally try out this game especially since it can go up to 16 vs 16. But this game is almost Pay to Win because the advanced/mid items and consumables involves Aurums, which u can get more in real cash.
    Overall this game has a lot of potential and since i heard that all their expansions will be free then i see this game can even be better then the Planetside series
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2014
    5
    I really wanted to love this game, to get immersed - take a persona to a sci-fi battlefield and have fun, but like Eve the reality is that I might as well be banging my head against a wall. For all its excellent visual design and promise, the game amounts to PvP deathmatch monotony with the added kick to the nads of robbing you of your equipment on death. Several months after closed beta (a frustrating exercise that allowed me to do very little except get sniped by some jackass every 5 seconds) the Academy arrived, allowing me briefly to enjoy some smaller, manageable battles. Soon after, I was thrown back into the main game, where the snipers had gone, and was constantly being run over by some **** in an armoured car. Uninstalled, gladly. Will give Project Legion a go if/when it appears. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    3
    Similarly to many people who have played EVE Online, I wanted this game to succeed.
    Sadly, I think that this game has failed miserably, it is
    a train wreck of a game...
    Surely, the persistent parts can be interesting, the character progression with new skills and new gear.
    But, it fails absurdly as an FPS game, and the graphics are horrible, it feels like it is upscaled from 320x180...
    I played it with the DualShock, Move and Move Sharpshooter, so who knows, maybe it might be playable with mouse and keyboard, but I don't want to play a console game like a PC one.
    Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    I cannot in good conscience recommend this game to anyone. CCP works on EVE Online, and has planned another MMO called World of Darkness. Now they've added Dust 514, and EVE Valkyrie, and cancelled World of Darkness after years of work. Just completely scrapped it too in a single announcement, so having confidence that this game is going to succeed seems very unlikely.

    At this point, you'd need to play for about 100 consecutive hours with skillpoint boosters and win at least 50% of your matches to be able to even use the weapons or the armor with it comparable to other players. Or let your account sit for about 3 months, which is a minimum, since every character gains skillpoints passively. But if you let your account sit, you'll still be behind since everyone else is playing and also getting the free skillpoints.

    Also, the skill tree has terrible explanations of the bonuses, and the items' stats are ambiguous and don't explain very well either. So putting points into a skill (which is permanent, once you place points in a skill there's nothing you can do to change or undo it.) means that you just spent a week's worth of points to use the bare minimum of a weapon, or a month's worth of playing to get a single weapon group to max level.

    Then there's the equipment, which is consumed with each time you die. That's right, when you die you need to repurchase everything to use it again. So the more expensive build you have, the less often you can use it. Unless of course, you have players in EVE who funnel you money. In D514, an extremely expensive build would cost you about 1mil isk (the currency in game) but in EVE, people can make 100mil isk in about an hour, or even 30 minutes. So giving someone 25mil isk to their dustbunny isn't unheard of, and they get the massive bonus to their Dust character because of their EVE subscription.

    Also, the load times are terrible, the graphics lag, the servers lag, and the controls are really a piece of **** compared to other fps games on consoles. Don't bother getting a sidearm weapon or any support items other than something you deploy. Swapping weapons takes a second and you can't look or turn your camera while swapping.
    Expand

See all 102 User Reviews