• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUST 514 is a free-to-play console-based hybrid massively multiplayer online first-person shooter set within the EVE universe and interacts directly with EVE Online.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    91
    This is a game that has serious potential to grow into something amazing, while being fresh and fun enough right at this moment.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    A very solid online shooter with some good ideas, offering enormous possibilities of equipment customization and complex, rewarding gameplay. The important thing is that thick wallet makes the encounters easier but does not determine their outcome – and that’s the Holy Grail of free-to-play games. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.66]
  3. May 31, 2013
    72
    It’s only when I fought with a corporation that I truly feel like a part of the Dust 514 narrative. I fear that many players may never even get that far due to how overwhelming the menu-heavy interface can seem.
  4. May 19, 2013
    60
    It reaches high and attempts to accomplish something not many games have even tried to this day, which should be commended. But right now, it needs a few more major updates before it gets there. With a hefty amount of microtransactions that border on offensive, there is a very ambitious, competitive game underneath the sloppy veneer.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    60
    DUST 514 is free-to-play and it's got some potential, but definitely fails to deliver.
  6. Thankfully, navigating through the poorly designed menus is not the only thing Dust 514 has to offer. You can also shoot each other in a body region of choice on poorly designed multiplayer maps. Even with 31 other player joining the fray, you will have a hard time finding even a single adversary. [June 2013, p.86]
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    A very poor first person shooter buoyed up by the promise of things to come, and an impressively ambitious attempt at a cross-format connected universe.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 98
  2. Negative: 35 out of 98
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Finally a persistent game where wins and losses matter and mean something! easily one of the most ambitious titles ever on console. needs compartmentalized team communication, bigger battles, more game modes and slightly better framerate in close firefights but the foundation is amazing. If you liked MAG you will LOVE this game. Expand
  2. May 26, 2013
    10
    Great game, greatly improved in the last release. CCP seems to be very efficient in upgrading the game and I can't wait for the next expansions. I trained for vehicles and I am having huge fun. I got recruited into a corporation and I have received excellent support from my corp, mates, who are very active.
    I look forward to exploring the depths of EVE online and the interconnections between the two games. And by the way the game is free. This is a major point for me, but I have to say that I would have purchased the game in any case. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Excellent shooter, because of al the depth and customization. The game has improved tremendously after beta, and continues to improve. I love the fact that you can make a character to your liking, with endless strategic and tactical opportunities.

    I don't agree with people saying that it's "pay to win", because your abilities to increase more powerful items increase depends on experience, which can't be bought. Paid items are great to test a better weapon before you want to sink your hard-earned experience points in the necessary upgrades, but as paid items are lost when you die, playing pay to win-style is a VERY costly exercise!
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2013
    6
    Its a very nice game a very nice improvement from the Beta

    but some weapons dont have a good aim and also there's alot of bugs and lack of
    maps dont know about EVE Online has those maps but yeah) it almost everything are microtransactions and the weapons are consumables like the dropsuits, but hey its free and if u like games like Battlefield and Planetside 2, then u should totally try out this game especially since it can go up to 16 vs 16. But this game is almost Pay to Win because the advanced/mid items and consumables involves Aurums, which u can get more in real cash.
    Overall this game has a lot of potential and since i heard that all their expansions will be free then i see this game can even be better then the Planetside series
    Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    5
    I had very high hopes for this game, having followed it since it was annoucement way back in 2009 as I feel the PS3 really needs an FPS like this. Unfortunately this is not the game that many people are hoping for and there are two main reasons for that.

    First of all the very heart of the game, the shooting, is bland and soulless. It lacks any identity of its own, hovering awkwardly somewhere between the fast paced Call of Duty and the more deliberate Killzone 3. Most FPS's can hold my attention for a short while but within three days of joining the early beta I was completely bored. I returned to the game more recently hoping that the constant stream of updates would have made a difference but I could honestly see little improvement.

    The second major issue I had with Dust is with the equipment system. I consider myself to be more than competant with an FPS but I frequently found myself in situations where I could not triumph over opponents simply because they had better weaponry than me. Skill became irrelevant as I was repeatedly obliterated by players who either had a lot of time on their hands to earn XP or simply bought all of their weapons. This is a real shame as the equipment system is deep and holds a lot of promise for those willing to invest their time

    In my opinion this game does not deserve any amount of long term loyalty, however the game is free to play so if you are still interested you should give it a go, just be aware that you will need to invest money in your equipment to have a rewarding experience.

    It is also worth noting that the graphics of the game do not even approach the levels seen in any of the teaser trailers, but are at least functional.
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    Has some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as League of Legends) or combat is more fun, skill-based, and less biased towards high level players (such as Hawken).

    The game's economy is not great, every piece of equipment you buy gets used up every time you die so you have to constantly restock everything but the base armors, weapons, etc. Skills take forever to unlock. A player who is higher level then you will cream you with advanced weapons, armor, vehicles, ORBITAL STRIKES! This leads to matches being completely unbalanced. Ultimately, the shooting mechanics work but that is about it. The game simply is not fun in its current iteration. With an improved economy and some balanced matches, it would be on the road to fun. This is one to avoid unless you enjoy painful grinding, in which case, have at it.
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    A half baked attempt to jump into the FPS market. Frustrating awkward controls, poor frame rate, graphics that look last generation. Lag and hit detection are also sub-par. This comes off very much as a poor man's FPS. Mediocre at best and a flaming wreck at worst, despite all the EVE fans trying desperately to up-rate it. Mediocrity combined with the pay to win monetization system. The touted link to EVE is really just a gimmick and that won't save this game when the core gameplay is so poor. Collapse

See all 98 User Reviews