Dustforce PlayStation 3


Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    Dustforce is a fast bet, suitable for any audience, funny but competitive. An amusing experience and its great music is its best asset.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 19, 2014
    A highly addictive platformer whose shine is marred by a few control issues. [April 2014, p83]
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    A fresh and entertaining action platform experience with some controls issues and a stiff difficulty level.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    If you’re looking for something with that “just one more go” mentality and are willing to overlook its flaws, then grab a broom and be prepared to get swept away.
  5. 70
    Spring cleaning has never been so entertaining in this well presented and cunningly addictive physics-based platformer.
  6. Feb 4, 2014
    Unique and very challenging, it's one of those games you should try before you buy. If you're a platforming fan who wants a game to play till you reach perfection, this may well be the one you're looking for.
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    I'd hesitate to suggest Dustforce as a must-play type of game, but for the cost of entry, you'll get some enjoyment out of it.
  8. Feb 28, 2014
    As a game it’s a good amount of content for a fair price, but I would advise checking out the demo before jumping in.
  9. Feb 21, 2014
    For those who can overlook the controls to appreciate the complicated game design behind the plain wrapper, you will enjoy your find. For everyone else, I'd recommend holding on to your money.
  10. 65
    A perfect example of a game that is only as good as what you are willing to invest into it. If you have never really understood the need to do a speedrun or care very little about perfecting lines, chances are you will tire of its repetitive nature long before you reach the end. But, if you do enjoy learning maps and running along generally linear paths against the clock, you will find it here in spades and with enough style to possibly make it worth the $9.99 investment.
  11. Mar 10, 2014
    What might have been a good game is dusted by poor controls.
  12. Mar 4, 2014
    Dustforce may look fabulous and has some really interesting ideas but the overall execution falls somewhat short of expectation. Though still enjoyable, the fiddly controls add an unnecessary amount of challenge, barring both younger audiences and casual platformer fans.
  13. Feb 18, 2014
    While the retro style graphics and soothing music by chiptune artist Lifeformed turns Dustforce into a very meditative experience, there isn't much to the game beyond being simply another two-dimensional indie platformer.
  14. Despite being won over by its personality – a catchy minimalist electronic score and simple but endearing aesthetic give it a feel all its own – I just never found my groove in Dustforce.
  15. Feb 26, 2014
    I never fully recovered from the wall I hit, thanks to the fidgety controls. Dustforce offers plenty of challenge and variety, but too much of that value is hidden under a layer of grime.
  16. Feb 25, 2014
    That beauty is just so fleeting, though. Dustforce doesn’t give you these moments enough and often it felt more like attrition instead, where the game and I just beat each other down until we were both bloody messes with me as the last one standing.
  17. Feb 20, 2014
    Dustforce's core problem is its unrewarding player experience, as completing a level to earn the maximum combo and unlocks doesn't lead to anything except more of the same, and given its frustrating difficulty, the repetitive gameplay tires quickly.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    Dustforce (on PC) is an amazing game, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a challenging platformer. I would give the PC version a 10/10Dustforce (on PC) is an amazing game, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a challenging platformer. I would give the PC version a 10/10 with no hesitation. However, the PS3 version is the worst port I have ever played. The reasons for this are:

    1) Obnoxiously long load times (Dustforce on PC had no loading screens, at all). It takes around a minute to get from initial boot to the hub world. On PC, it took about two seconds. I am not exaggerating.
    2) No cross-buy (PS3 and Vita versions are separate games).
    3) Framerate is jumpy. This becomes much worse when moving quickly.
    4) Audio lag. You can't go a whole minute without hearing some form of audio lag. Also, the audio lags consistently at the end of every run, and while attacking enemies at higher speeds.
    5) The new UI looks cheap and out-of-place.
    6) No custom controls.
    7) The clipping is off. I watched myself pass through objects that should have been solid several times on the PS3 version.
    8) Absolutely none of the previously listed issues are present on the PC version of the game.

    If future updates fix these issues, I will change my rating to a 10.

    Anyways, lets all thank Q-loc and Capcom taking a truly superb platforming experience and slaughtering it before the eyes of the console community. Sorry, Hitbox. I love you guys.
    Full Review »