User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 321
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    I created a profile here on Metacritic solely for the purpose of telling anybody who'll listen just how breathtakingly amazing every cinematic is. The subtle nuances of the facial movements, the emotional honesty of every piece of dialogue, and the real chemistry that Monkey and Trip share on screen overshadows every game (and most movies) I've ever seen. Even the performances in MassI created a profile here on Metacritic solely for the purpose of telling anybody who'll listen just how breathtakingly amazing every cinematic is. The subtle nuances of the facial movements, the emotional honesty of every piece of dialogue, and the real chemistry that Monkey and Trip share on screen overshadows every game (and most movies) I've ever seen. Even the performances in Mass Effect 2 and Heavy Rain seem like high school plays compared to the real believability of every line delivered. As for the game-play, it's nothing groundbreaking but pieced together very well and, like the story and characters, fits into the world that Ninja Theory has lovingly crafted. The controls can feel a little sluggish at times, but the customization is surprisingly deep and intuitive. Don't be afraid of a game which is based around one big escort mission - pick this game up now. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    one of the best adventure games ever made monkey and trip go on a epic adventure to escape the ruins of new york while being chased by mechs Across the ruins of new york. who still think there is a war so they shoot all humans on site because that's what there programed to do. the gameplay is a smooth as you would want it. absolute beautiful, graphics and environment details. the storyone of the best adventure games ever made monkey and trip go on a epic adventure to escape the ruins of new york while being chased by mechs Across the ruins of new york. who still think there is a war so they shoot all humans on site because that's what there programed to do. the gameplay is a smooth as you would want it. absolute beautiful, graphics and environment details. the story is just epic this game reminds me of uncharted 2 it has excellent facial animation but now its dated thanks to la noire if you like adventure games you will love enslaved odyssey to the west. come on ninja theory make a sequel for the fans. this game didn't get the reception it deserves. 10/10 Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    What a beautiful and amazing Odyssey! The story is simple but so perfectly told. The excellent acting and voices make the characters really alive (thanks again Mr. Serkis). The game play does not reinvent the wheel but is still effective (play it in hard mode though). There are little imperfections here and there but if like me you are more concerned by having a good time following aWhat a beautiful and amazing Odyssey! The story is simple but so perfectly told. The excellent acting and voices make the characters really alive (thanks again Mr. Serkis). The game play does not reinvent the wheel but is still effective (play it in hard mode though). There are little imperfections here and there but if like me you are more concerned by having a good time following a well presented and enjoyable journey; this game is for you! Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    A lot of people are hard on this game because of the automatic platforming and the battle system being good but not the deepest experience compared to other action games like DMC. This is an action adventure game. The story is great, the voice acting is amazing and so are the facial expressions (best in a game yet). The controls are good and allow you to enjoy the experience and while theA lot of people are hard on this game because of the automatic platforming and the battle system being good but not the deepest experience compared to other action games like DMC. This is an action adventure game. The story is great, the voice acting is amazing and so are the facial expressions (best in a game yet). The controls are good and allow you to enjoy the experience and while the game is linear there are puzzles, boss battles and other challenges to keep it from being a simple affair. This is one of my favorite games of all time, it's worth the money and play-through if you like deep experiences or adventure games like Beyond Good and Evil. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    This. Game. Is. Great. It's hard to recollect something I didn't appreciate and fully enjoy about Enslaved. Spanning around 8 hours, Enslaved was amazing. Combat is just wonderfully epic, along with the climbing/scaling stylization of the Uncharted series, it was nothing short of FUN. With an engaging, original story, emotional points, and very enjoyable, smart dialog, Enslaved was one ofThis. Game. Is. Great. It's hard to recollect something I didn't appreciate and fully enjoy about Enslaved. Spanning around 8 hours, Enslaved was amazing. Combat is just wonderfully epic, along with the climbing/scaling stylization of the Uncharted series, it was nothing short of FUN. With an engaging, original story, emotional points, and very enjoyable, smart dialog, Enslaved was one of my favorite titles of 2010. Characterization is great, with well sculpted protagonists such as these- Enslaved is an incredible title. An easy 100 . (I made a metacritic account with one intension- to rate this game so people will enjoy it- hopefully- as much as I did.) Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    I've signed up with metacritic as I owe a review to the developers, Ninja Theory, for this awesome game. I wish it had better publicity and hope it is a sleeper success that is enjoyed by more gamers. It's seldom I sit through a game and play it straight through in a short time and Enslaved was a first. It moved along solidly, was amazingly beautiful, a well written story and nicelyI've signed up with metacritic as I owe a review to the developers, Ninja Theory, for this awesome game. I wish it had better publicity and hope it is a sleeper success that is enjoyed by more gamers. It's seldom I sit through a game and play it straight through in a short time and Enslaved was a first. It moved along solidly, was amazingly beautiful, a well written story and nicely developed characters with incredible emotional interaction and some fine performances. The detail and depth of thought behind the world by the creative developers deserves a mention. If you find it easy, max out the difficulty. I highly recommend this game it was super fun. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    If you like heavenly sword you know what you're in for. But the gameplay isn't as fluid as heavenly sword. And this game is actually just a bit less then heavenly sword in every way.
  8. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    This game is one that definately picked a hard time to be released, as it bombed for the most part in sales. This is tragic, as this game can easily be called this generation's Ico. Not only for the escort based gameplay, but for its amazingly cinematic qualities, and wonderful environments. Andy Serkis does an amazing job as the main character, Monkey, and if the games had Emmies, heThis game is one that definately picked a hard time to be released, as it bombed for the most part in sales. This is tragic, as this game can easily be called this generation's Ico. Not only for the escort based gameplay, but for its amazingly cinematic qualities, and wonderful environments. Andy Serkis does an amazing job as the main character, Monkey, and if the games had Emmies, he would have won for best lead actor. If you want a great story driven game, this is it. If you still dont get what this game is like, picture Uncharted, only in a scifi future post apocalypse setting. Mind you, thats a very simple description, as its better described as an amazing achievement in story in games. The only reason its a 9 to me is due to some slightly loose controls, and some confusing puzzle segments with Trip. Expand
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    it´s not only a odyssey to the west, it´s one of the greatest adventures i ever went on!

    The relationship between monkey and trip is a huge part of the game...you really feel their emotions during the game, which i never experienced in a video game that strong! climbing and fighting might technically not be the best you ever experienced, i agree, but it´s not the main part of the
    it´s not only a odyssey to the west, it´s one of the greatest adventures i ever went on!

    The relationship between monkey and trip is a huge part of the game...you really feel their emotions during the game, which i never experienced in a video game that strong!

    climbing and fighting might technically not be the best you ever experienced, i agree, but it´s not the main part of the game....
    the world, the story and the bond between two lovely character, is what makes this game one of the best i played in 15 years of gaming!

    MASTERPIECE!
    Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A story for the ages with new, vivid life breathed into it. The cooperative AI was actually helpful, and the combat, while not varied, is only a small part of the game. My favorite part of this game is riding Monkey's Cloud, a static hoverboard that lets him zip around the landscape like a mad man. Try if for yourself, I know I love it.
  11. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a game that has been on my radar for some time now. Not only is it one of the only non sequel or non remakes of Q4, but itâ
  12. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    Amazing. Beautiful looking, epic adventure, with an emotional character driven story that will suck you in. Imagine Beyond Good And Evil mixed with Uncharted 2. The strongest elements of Enslaved are the story, acting, and cinematics. The images are mostly gorgeous to look at. Each world has a unique, rich, stylized color palette. Some of the cinematic gameplay cameras showcase the worldAmazing. Beautiful looking, epic adventure, with an emotional character driven story that will suck you in. Imagine Beyond Good And Evil mixed with Uncharted 2. The strongest elements of Enslaved are the story, acting, and cinematics. The images are mostly gorgeous to look at. Each world has a unique, rich, stylized color palette. Some of the cinematic gameplay cameras showcase the world and the story with great compositions. The character lighting serves the story well, and mostly looks great. The combat system is simple but fun, and the weapon leveling system gives good incentive. The weaker points of the game are sometimes repetitive platforming scenarios, but I guess you need something to do in an action adventure combat platformer. User controlled cameras during combat can be very annoying in close quarters. There are some annoying visual anomalies as well, especially popping of baked player ambient lighting, inconsistent texture density, and visible lod popping. I encountered a a couple instances of bugs which required restarting from checkpoint in order to advance. Still, the strengths make this a special game. I look forward to more stories from this universe. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This game BY FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen!!! Honestly i would buy this game over an OVERRATED game like call of duty anyday.. Btw This game is a like a mix between uncharted+prince of persia.. I highly recommend it especially if you like action-adventure games
  14. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    This game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deepThis game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deep and well done with perfect voice and mition acting. Get this game, ignore the haters... its great! Expand
  15. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    Nowadays, there aren't very many games that capture the feel of Enslaved. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire game, doing acrobatic platforming moves and engaging in smooth combat all executed by the hyper-realistic graphics. The game itself is very linear, but that allows it to pull off some amazing levels. In the very first level, you'll find yourself running around the outsideNowadays, there aren't very many games that capture the feel of Enslaved. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire game, doing acrobatic platforming moves and engaging in smooth combat all executed by the hyper-realistic graphics. The game itself is very linear, but that allows it to pull off some amazing levels. In the very first level, you'll find yourself running around the outside of a crashing slave ship, something that had me grinning. But I have to say, the platforming seemed almost too easy. In fact, I found it almost impossible to die by falling during a platforming sequence, something that left me a little confused. Luckily, they didn't do the same for the combat, even though enemy encounters aren't as common as you might think. And then there are the boss battles, which challenge all your skills at the game. The story is quite good, you being a big, strong warrior named Monkey who is forced (By death-headband.) to escort the nimble, tech-smart Trip to her home village. I noticed that Trip didn't have much importance in the gameplay, as you had to protect her in only a few areas. And the ending will have you scratching your head, as it sets the game up for a sequel (Or does it?). If you enjoyed playing the Uncharted games, or if you like action-adventure games, this is for you. Expand
  16. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This game is probably the best game I have played this year. It looks amazing and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time you're playing. What really sets it apart from any other game is that the story is much better than the normal game story "Journey to the West" really is where cinema and games meet.

    The best gameplay is in the cloud sections where you fly around on
    This game is probably the best game I have played this year. It looks amazing and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time you're playing. What really sets it apart from any other game is that the story is much better than the normal game story "Journey to the West" really is where cinema and games meet.

    The best gameplay is in the cloud sections where you fly around on your hoverboard.

    Buy it now!
    Expand
  17. Jan 11, 2011
    8
    Having grown up on the camp 70's monkey on television, I was interested in how it Ninja Theory would translate a piece of old text about a monkey god that travels with a monk to India into a modern gaming piece. Well I must say I was very impressed by the effort, as normally I find these types of games [god of war series, castlevania, devil may cry,dante's inferno, bayonetta etc] to be ofHaving grown up on the camp 70's monkey on television, I was interested in how it Ninja Theory would translate a piece of old text about a monkey god that travels with a monk to India into a modern gaming piece. Well I must say I was very impressed by the effort, as normally I find these types of games [god of war series, castlevania, devil may cry,dante's inferno, bayonetta etc] to be of little interest to me as I am not bothered by combos, don't get me wrong they have their respective place and can be a lot of fun, but after you've completed them then they normally wind up as trade in's for new releases. Yes I did trade this in, simply because after I had finished the campaign there was little replay for me. But what I did notice was the incredible story enforced by the believable voice acting and the question we all asked "will monkey and trip....you know....make with the sex?" But that aside I actually cared for the characters; well maybe not pigsy, well not until the last scene that is. The setting was artistically rendered in it's presentation, with a green overgrown apocalyptic world overrun by machines who were in need of being "smashed right up" were enjoyable. What I will say is I needed something else to come back to this hence not a perfect score? no multiplayer fine I don't need it, but some DLC or an open world game? Am I asking too much? I just hope this is not the last odyssey game, but I would like a little more replay value. Great game go try it. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    Creative narrative, characters and world make Ensalved a pleasure to play through. The characters have great chemistry and the dialogue is fantastic. But with little to do in the replayability category its mark gets bumped down 1. The combat can also get a tad repetitive after awhile. The DLC while adding a few more hours still isn't nearly enough.
  19. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    This game was $8 where I bought it from, and I can say I've never gotten more out of $8 than I have with this game ! It's fun and unique and the ending blew me away !

    I really would have given this game higher numbers, but I felt like I was fighting the camera for 90% of the game. While it's not a deal breaker it really is a nuisance in areas where certain death is assured without perfect
    This game was $8 where I bought it from, and I can say I've never gotten more out of $8 than I have with this game ! It's fun and unique and the ending blew me away !

    I really would have given this game higher numbers, but I felt like I was fighting the camera for 90% of the game. While it's not a deal breaker it really is a nuisance in areas where certain death is assured without perfect movements.

    This game has great pacing, the opening 10 minutes are a heart pounding thrill ride that will have you wanting to delve deeper into the world you've suddenly been thrust into.

    The characters are really unique and voice acting is really superb with the likes of Andy Serkis (Lord of the rings/The Prestige) The world you play is a robot infested future wasteland, where robots and humans are on opposite sides of the field.

    This at it's heart is a hack and slash adventure, with an RPG like skill tree for abilities. Which you will want to explore to build your character growth up.

    This game took me by surprise and I can't stress enough that it's worth the low cost. The pacing is good, the story is good, and the characters will grow on you by the way it all unfolds.

    If you liked games like Darksiders, and Uncharted then you'll like this game to, it's an adventure that shouldn't be passed on. Especially because you can find it at such good pricing.
    Expand
  20. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Enslaved is a fantastic game, and it is sad that it did not see more retail success. Like Beyond Good and Evil before it, Enslaved attempts to tell an engrossing story with a number of gameplay styles. For the most part, it succeeds. The characters are well-acted and the action is often intense. The music is also good, though not particularly memorable. The visuals range from acceptable toEnslaved is a fantastic game, and it is sad that it did not see more retail success. Like Beyond Good and Evil before it, Enslaved attempts to tell an engrossing story with a number of gameplay styles. For the most part, it succeeds. The characters are well-acted and the action is often intense. The music is also good, though not particularly memorable. The visuals range from acceptable to good, with occasional moments of excellence.

    The game falters at a few points. There are some odd bugs, and occasionally the camera seems intent on obscuring what you need to see. The controls are mostly spot-on, but take some getting used to. In particular, The Cloud is unwieldy in tight spots. That is a shame, because it starts off exciting. It becomes less fun as levels require you to be more precise on it. Thankfully, at about the point you become frustrated with it, it goes away. The climbing could be compared to a more frantic Infamous, with the same style of "assisted platforming" such navigation tends to require. Enslaved isn't as open as Infamous, of course, and the climbing follows preset routes rather than an open city. True to its name, Enslaved is about a journey. Such things typically run in more or less a straight line, so linearity isn't a problem.

    I completed Enslaved over the course of a weekend, on Normal difficulty. I had a great time, but don't feel the need to return to it. I've skipped on the DLC as well. The game's main story seems more than sufficient. I'd recommend Enslaved to any fan of a good story. With a script by Alex Garland(28 Days Later, Sunshine), Enslaved features interesting characters with more depth than the majority of video games. Direction and performance from Andy Serkis(best known for playing Gollum in the Lord of the Rings films), means you'll also find of the best acting ever to grace interactive entertainment. Lindsey Shaw is captivating as Trip, and Richard Riding's Pigsy is appropriately funny and off-putting. I can't emphasize it enough: developer Ninja Theory set out to create a compelling story told through the medium of video games, and did an admirable job. Ninja Theory succeeds where so many developers before them have failed.

    If you want to experience a thrilling, well-produced story, Enslaved will take leave you satisfied. People looking for exploration, multiplayer, or a longer game should probably look elsewhere.
    Expand
  21. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    What a great game! Loved the story, the characters and the level design was great as well. Playing the game felt like I was on an adventure. A sense of discovery. The gameplay was very enjoyable, the enemies were a blast to defeat. I would of rated this game a perfect 10 if, it wasnt for the technical issues. 1. being the out dated graphics. The close up animations were amazing, but theWhat a great game! Loved the story, the characters and the level design was great as well. Playing the game felt like I was on an adventure. A sense of discovery. The gameplay was very enjoyable, the enemies were a blast to defeat. I would of rated this game a perfect 10 if, it wasnt for the technical issues. 1. being the out dated graphics. The close up animations were amazing, but the gameplay graphics seemed to be not as sharp. Expand
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    I just dont get how can people dislike this game.. It AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  23. Jan 12, 2016
    8
    Enslaved Odyssey to the west
    A grind that pays off
    Enslaved tells the story of trip and monkey. The game starts out with the 2 of them escaping a slave ship, when they land, monkey finds that trip has put a device on his head to enslave or control him. If she dies, he dies, she wants help getting back to her home and feels this is the only way she can guarantee monkey will help her.
    Enslaved Odyssey to the west
    A grind that pays off
    Enslaved tells the story of trip and monkey.
    The game starts out with the 2 of them escaping a slave ship, when they land, monkey finds that trip has put a device on his head to enslave or control him.
    If she dies, he dies, she wants help getting back to her home and feels this is the only way she can guarantee monkey will help her.
    So they set off on a post apocalyptical adventure to take trip home
    This game is a platform adventure game,
    A very prince of Persia feel to it,
    You spend most of the game traversing walls, and hopping across bars
    with the occasional combat with mechs
    The combat system is fairly simple with block, heavy attacks, light attacks, and blasters.
    You can stun and shoot enemies, or just go hand to hand,
    But again, combat is very few and far between,
    This is mostly climbing and solving puzzles by communicating back and forth with Trip
    The gameplay is pretty fun and addictive most of the way through the game,
    I love the adventure as much as I loved the fluent and responsive platforming that never got too complex…
    But it slowly becomes repetitive and the final 3rd of the game just becomes a flat out drag
    The world goes from colorful and mysterious to gray, brown, and boring..
    The only thing that kept me going was the story of Trip and Monkey, and I was so happy I followed through.
    Its just a shame I felt like I had to force myself through the final hours.
    If you love story you’ll love Enslaved, if you’re here for the gameplay, look elsewhere.
    I give Enslaved Odyssey to The West
    a
    7.5/10
    Expand
  24. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    Отличный представитель своего жанра,интересные персонажи и вселенная сделали свое дело.
    Минусы конечно имеются (не самая разнообразная боевая система),но обращать на них внимания желания не появляется.
  25. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    Gameplay wise there is nothing groundbreaking here, if anything it's a little bit repetetive although some really fun boss battles and other variations in the gameplay break the monotony. What makes this game brilliant are the characters and their relationships which rival any other game and cinematic experience I've ever had. Would be a ten if it had gameplay to match but a thoroughlyGameplay wise there is nothing groundbreaking here, if anything it's a little bit repetetive although some really fun boss battles and other variations in the gameplay break the monotony. What makes this game brilliant are the characters and their relationships which rival any other game and cinematic experience I've ever had. Would be a ten if it had gameplay to match but a thoroughly rewarding game nonetheless. Expand
  26. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    Hugely underrated game and that's such a shame because it is a lavish and interesting world with delightfully endearing characters. It's another of those that I was bought a long time ago that I've only just played - out of guilt over my neglect and I've thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end, so much so I've now bought the Perfect dlc. There are two small flaws, sometimes the cameraHugely underrated game and that's such a shame because it is a lavish and interesting world with delightfully endearing characters. It's another of those that I was bought a long time ago that I've only just played - out of guilt over my neglect and I've thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end, so much so I've now bought the Perfect dlc. There are two small flaws, sometimes the camera angles are annoyingly ropey making fights harder than they should be and conversely during other sections it holds your hand just a bit too happily making these parts too easy. Otherwise I loved it, a fun and interesting take on a classic myth, a beautiful steampunk-esque world I wish I could have explored a lot more and some of the best characters in video games ever. Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2010
    9
    One of the best games of the year, period. I will gladly hurt anyone that gives this game a bad review. The choice of Andy Serkis' voice was perfectly fitted!
  28. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    This is such an under-looked game.Most people skipped this one but should definitely go back and check it out. It's a very good game that has a lot of emotions put into it.
  29. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    What a great game! I wouldn't have even known about this game had it not been for the RebelFM podcast. Great action, story and graphics. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is because of some glitch animation during cut scenes.
  30. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    A brilliant start for a new IP with the major flaw being released when AAA titles were rolling out week after week. This game was a bit slow going at the start without the real components kicking in after a couple chapters into the game. The wrecked city of New York is beautifully carved out with colours not much seen in modern video games, the 3 major characters in the game are wellA brilliant start for a new IP with the major flaw being released when AAA titles were rolling out week after week. This game was a bit slow going at the start without the real components kicking in after a couple chapters into the game. The wrecked city of New York is beautifully carved out with colours not much seen in modern video games, the 3 major characters in the game are well thought over and have their individual personalities and the story, despite some plot holes that you'll have to fill in yourself, is very well driven, exactly what this game was made for. The more you go on into the story the more you want to find out. The game was made with sequels in mind and now it is a waiting game, as initial sales were poor due to being released at the time of GT5, Black Ops, Hot Pursuit, New Vegas etc, to see if we will be seeing those sequels and if we don't, it would be a real shame as this game has made a great start. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    Enslaved is scoring with its motivating story, the good graphics and the enjoyable, but not challenging climbing passages. Sadly, the fights are unvaried and there is no multiplayer.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    If you're looking for a game that offers all the amazing things I've spent the last handful of paragraphs gushing over as well as one of the most interesting and original stories in a game this year, Enslaved won't disappoint.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    95
    Enslaved: Journey to the West is definitely a contender for game of the year.