Fallout: New Vegas PlayStation 3

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    95
    There are a few glitches but even so, these do not hamper the gaming experience and if you're looking for value for money, than you have come to the right place my apocalyptic brothers and sister.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    The way New Vegas' story plays out is incredibly immersive, providing a real sense that you're playing a key part in shaping the future of the world. It's not a million miles away from Fallout 3 but it's big, crazy and very entertaining and that's all that really matters.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    More of the same in the best possible way.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    Fallout: New Vegas is difficult to classify. It is not really an add-on, because it tells a completly new story. If you love Fallout 3, you may as well cheat on it with New Vegas, no harm done.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's rather clear: Fallout New Vegas is everything Fallout 3 should have been. Well, in terms of freedom and storyline that is, since from a technical side, it's as disappointing as ever. All we can do is pray and hope for their colleagues id Software to lend Bethesda a decent engine - Obsidian couldn't do miracles with what Bethesda's coders gave them, and sometimes it even ruins some nice gameplay ideas like their crafting system. But in the same manner everyone overlooked the flaws of Fallout 1 & 2 because their creators were storytelling geniuses, Obsidian's work on New Vegas is good enough to make us forget about all the lesser details - except maybe the overall lack of challenge.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 143
  2. Negative: 17 out of 143
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    I'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is moreI'm still not sure why this game is receiving such low scores. I see Fallout New Vegas as a vastly improved Fallout 3. The gameplay is more fun with the new iron sights, the story is more intricate and well told, the sounds have been improved and it's LESS glitchy than Fallout 3. Now... I really hate having my PS3 crash because of a game, and Fallout New Vegas has crashed my system twice now, but it isn't nearly as bad as Fallout 3 as far as stability. If it weren't for the occasional crashes and glitches, i'd give this game a 10... but all things considered, I think a 9 would be reasonable. Again, this game is better in every way than Fallout 3. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    For me, this game is brilliant. I have not played the Fallout 3, but in my opinion this is one of the games that I have enjoyed the most in myFor me, this game is brilliant. I have not played the Fallout 3, but in my opinion this is one of the games that I have enjoyed the most in my PS3, even more so than Skyrim, made by the same people of Bethesda. Expand
  3. May 31, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. New Vegas is, in some ways, the "new Fallout" that a lot of fans wanted. I remain more attached personally to Fallout 3, although I must admit that New Vegas was a masterpiece.

    New Vegas' storyline is interesting. The setting in the western United States, a return to origins, is certainly fascinating. I must say that the beginning and first hours of the game are a bit strange and dispersive. But the story of the Courier and the Platinum Chip gave a reason to go on: it's very nice, retrace the events backwards, searching for clues, to find out the facts and the responsables who have tried to kill him and the reason why. This narrative device, among other things, is a concept almost identical to that used for the Van Buren project, or "Fallout 3 that has never been"; and it is right that it has been reproposed here. Regarding the thematics of the plot, New Vegas, definitely doesn't shine, even if they are very good. An eternal political and social struggle: NCR's liberal-conservative democratic but corrupt government, opposed to the strict, but efficient, military dictatorship of Caesar's Legion. Then there is authoritarian and economic pseudo-capitalistic power of Mr. House. And obviously there is the current that rejects the others: anarchy and self-management, to leave the city of New Vegas literally with "no gods, no masters". The whole plot is a political and social battle based on whole 20th century's history, as said. A plot and thematics certainly well structured.

    New Vegas' gameplay is certainly not new to those who have already experienced Fallout 3. There are in fact all the components that made the third chapter excellent, but with additions. Here some elements were reprocessed: the way to walk of the character is very much improved, weapons now allow to "aim down sight" with most of them. Firearm modifications are not many, but a good thing. Objects such as Workbench or Reloading bench are very useful. The karma system also has been rewritten: I can't tell if it actually is better or not but, in New Vegas, character's reputation, the karma in fact, varies according to different factions and the relationship the character has with them. No doubt it is a much more structured and complex system. The advancing of skill is the same, but some additions like the "Wild Wasteland" perk, are really original and give the game something more. New Vegas' map is quite extensive and there are many interesting places to explore. "Hard Core" mode is a great addition, and a good challenge for those who want more. The different endings and choices have been well studied, and every game path you choose has its own pros and cons that inevitably, and rightly, sooner or later come into conflict. It's a rather improved gameplay, that's pretty obvious.

    The graphics component of New Vegas, is good. Sure, compared to Fallout 3, it has aged, but still knows how doing its job. New Vegas' typical "western" art style is great, although a little excessive in some cases. The soundtrack is full of new songs, and once again it is good to listen and rediscover the classics of old music.

    Fallout: New Vegas is undoubtedly a masterpiece. It is fun to play, has a nice plot, and it's nice to be seen and listened. So why it's not better than Fallout 3, despite many improvements? Simple: because Fallout 3...is Fallout 3. Those who want to understand, will understand it.
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Fallout: New Vegas is cram packed with discovery, expanding (though some cringe at the word "expansion") on the free-roaming aspect of FalloutFallout: New Vegas is cram packed with discovery, expanding (though some cringe at the word "expansion") on the free-roaming aspect of Fallout 3 and providing an even bigger overworld, densely populated with locations and mini-events that seamlessly guide you along the central quest if that's what you want, or in fact help you wander off with the same gentle hand. Though it isn't "easier" than Fallout 3, it is most certainly more interested in letting you find places and enjoy the story than it is with endangering your life - after 12 hours I have completed a single mission and discovered 50 locations along the various highways, which is still less than 25% of the world map. For run-and-gun fans the balance here far is far superior to Fallout 3, and for maximum difficulty RPG enthusiasts it's also quite brilliantly laid out. FO:NV has two problems only, and they are both technical and in fact the same complaints about Fallout 3: 1) a dated-looking graphics engine and 2) frequently freezes and load crashes. If you are willing to save through the menu option frequently, and can appreciate games like Minecraft which are compelling without being visually stunning, these technical issues are very forgivable. The act of discovery is incredibly satisfying. I am also, against all expectations, a huge fan of the new Hardcore mode: it is optional, and completely separate from difficulty, and should really be called "life mode" or "adventure mode" as it allows you to micro-manage your items and their usage in ways that make everything valuable as though your character is really you, moving from place to place. It makes every item interesting and worth its weight, which further helps you (me) appreciate what Obsidian has done with each adjacent location. Plus, with many more voice actors and a more contextual, area-restricted karma system, you can freely move from town to town and really enjoy the differences, no stress about your behavior. New Vegas is about discovery. It's excellent. Expand
  5. May 2, 2012
    8
    I liked it more than Fallout 3. However, it doesn't feel nearly as groundbreaking as it's predecessor. It's more of an evolution than a revolution.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Say what you will on the evolution of graphics on NV. It has gained what it does best, complete a story that is recycled and made better. ItSay what you will on the evolution of graphics on NV. It has gained what it does best, complete a story that is recycled and made better. It is the survival game of the desert, nothing more, nothing less. While not as engaging as fallout 3, it still continues to push you to boundaries that many games don't necessarily go by. If you like Fallout 3, you'll enjoy this. But if you loved Fallout 3, you'll be sorrily disappointed . Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game until you come to find that the game doesn't end as Fallout 3 with the DLCs, where you could continue playing the same player after you finish the main game. I really don't get this from the developers, it's just lazy and ridiculous. If you want to play any DLC you have to load a previous save file as if you have never finished the game. Freaking stupid. Expand

See all 143 User Reviews