Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a spin-off that contains around eight hours of original content and features a single open-world island to explore, with many of Far Cry 3's gameplay systems and mechanics making a return.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. In a world full of shooters tackling real-world problems, it’s a refreshing palate cleanser when a game decides to give dinosaurs lasers for eyes, just because it can. Can ya dig it? [June 2013, p75]
  2. May 3, 2013
    90
    Based on the hilariously over-the-top action movies from the eighties, Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon knocks it out of the park. It's a great futuristic shooter resembling Far Cry 3 in gameplay and adding a huge amount of cheesy oneliners, dumb action and cheap entertainment. Blood Dragon is a lot of fun and an experience you won't forget anytime soon.
  3. May 10, 2013
    85
    Colt is a great lead character. He's funny, angry, and an absurdly remorseless killer. The perfect lead for Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon has everything you would expect from a perfect DLC. It's different from the main game for atmosphere, settings and game world, it is durable, the price is fully justified and gameplay doesn't betray the original Far Cry 3 model.
  5. May 16, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is loud, hilarious and injected with tons of thirty year-old testosterone. Such a cocktail demands criticism for it trying to be an easy game that thinks it can score based on popular nostalgia. Against all expectations this game turns its possible faults into strengths, that come into their own when it turns out that there's a very entertaining shooter behind all of the Last Action Hero-violence.
  6. May 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon does everything wrong, but not in a bad way. All of the clichés and bad lines actually make it a very funny experience. You can almost call it art.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    This parodic game takes the player back to the 80's in style. The game itself has some issues, but the hilarious story, the excellent voice acting and the extreme level of detail makes this an excellent source of entertainment for an evening or two.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    I'm really suprised that Ubisoft did this game. They're usually not very clever or creative lately, just putting out generic and predictable games... well not all of their titles, but many of them. Like sequels to the Tom Clancy games, for example. But this is just out of this world creative. I've never seen a gaming company do anything so satirical and ironic and hilarious. The game is actually GOOD too, especially for an arcade game. Really amazing stuff. Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    This is an Amazing Game. Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is not only a love song to anyone who enjoyed movies such as Aliens, Terminator, Robocop & The Running Man AND Total Recall--it's legitimately a wonderful game! I still go around saying lines as Hicks from Aliens. The fact that they got Michael Biehn to be the hero shows they are paying attention! Awesome graphics, a funny and strong plot and tons of reply value. You're going to love the soundtrack to, crank it up! This review is a little scatter brain but when you've been killing cyborgs in a neon world it can be hard to stay focused! Ha! Go out and buy this game and have an amazing weekend!!! Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I'm a jaded gamer, especially for fps, but man do I love this game. I actually like it more than the normal FC3. Feels like running around an eighties sci-fi flick complete with your character cracking one liners. The humour and quirkiness and lack of giving a single (all games need these load screen messages) really makes it for me. Weapons are supremely satisfying, both in how they fire and how blue cyber blood sprays all over the place. Side quests feel more necessary now because you need them for weapon upgrades. In normal FC3 I did like jack for side quests other than unique animal hunts cause they weren't necessary; money wasn't needed cause radio towers meant free guns. Honestly some of the most fun I've had in a game for a long time, because it doesn't take itself too seriously and has awesome core mechanics. And the music and cinematics are great, and the writing and story despite not being of the most serious tone (which: who cares) entertained me more than those in many full price AAA titles. I also liked not having to worry about an upgrade path. Expand
  4. May 5, 2013
    9
    in the begining i was like wtf is this and lader on i thing this could it ol but wenn i buy this i finisht the game in one day and i was so happy i buyt this it inst better than farcry 3 but for 15 buks its awsome this is how duke nukem hat to be this is sci fiction its not the best story line but its the action the fun cutscene and the jokes the make al the time in the tutorial the loadscreen its realy fun the sex scene in the last mission makes this game wort triging Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Why do we play Video Games Because playing Video Games are fun. When all is said and done, Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is the most fun iv'e had playing a Video Game in recent years. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    I really like this game! If he doesn't make any sense with Far Cry 3, but is good. The graphics are good and shiny. I like the ideea to do a futuristic enviroment. What I like so much is the originality (like an '80's game :D He's remember me the old movies that I watched when I was a kid. For his price is cheep (15 so I don't critic too much. The gameplay was changed a little bit and that's sadly. I wanted an Far Cry much evolved at gameplay mecanics. Collapse
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    1
    Gameplay is not that great. Repetitive. It's not really that funny. Load times are ridiculous, like comically ridiculous. I'm surprised more people haven't taken this game to task for that. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews