Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    100
    Ubisoft's balance of open world gameplay and FPS action really hits the mark, and overall the game does a fantastic job in providing players with an interesting, immersive gaming experience.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    100
    The story mode has one of the strongest starts I can remember in years.
  3. Far Cry 3 packs in an incredible amount of game. The excellently realized and incredibly deep single-player story will keep you occupied for a long time, with the co-op mode adding on to that considerably. If you're ever done with that, there's the endless tinkering possibilities of multiplayer and its map editor...Not only is it the total package as far as shooters are concerned, it's also an excellent template for all such games going forward.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Far Cry 3 manages more than a shift on your view of its wisecracking protagonist. It's the sort of game that makes the genre's best look absolutely ordinary-which, in a story this beset by twists, turns, and turmoil, may just be the biggest mindf*** of them all.
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    96
    So here we are again with another instalment from the Far Cry universe that definitely goes beyond the previous games. With a relatable protagonist, a story that truly draws you in from the very first moments of the game, Far Cry 3 also contains a very sturdy game engine that almost makes it the perfect game. It just flows so well from the first to the last level... and the vehicles are just awesome.
  6. 95
    Far Cry 3 is one of Ubisoft's best games ever and it nails the open world first-person shooter genre on the head. After playing through the crazy story, the addictive gameplay, and lush setting, you may wonder why more developers don't pay this much attention to the little details.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 is definitely one of the best shooters of the year, if not simply the best. Its environment is huge, the surprises and discoveries it offers plenty. The story is solid, the action superb and the RPG-elements well implemented. A must have for every shooter fan.
  8. Dec 23, 2012
    94
    Get through visual hitches and a strained finale to find a spirited open-world gem packed with extreme pursuits, stunning scenery and hoards of savage beasts. [Jan 2013, p.91]
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    91
    Co-op is always a blast, the campaign is lengthy and ceaselessly involving, and the promotion of freedom and player choice is amazing.
  10. Brilliant in concept, truly great in execution despite a few stumbles. A must own title. [January 2013, p68]
  11. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    Far Cry 3 is a terrific and is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Far Cry 3's main draw is the deep and engaging campaign, but the multiplayer modes are also serviceable enough to keep you playing for a long time.
  12. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 was a really late game for this year but maybe it's better that way as it has nothing to compete against and gives everyone the chance to see this great game for themselves. This is a nice way to wrap up a questionable year in gaming and Far Cry 3 actually stands out as one of the best games of this year.
  13. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    This is an ambitious and finely tuned adventure that gets better and better as you play.
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 is the best and most enthralling open world shooter in the last couple of years. It beautifully displays the contrast of an island like Rook Island: at beautiful and peaceful moments, at brutal and intense moments. Despite some technical mishaps, the game manages to entertain throughout.
  15. 90
    I dreaded the day that boat began to pull away from the island. I decided my friends could wait. I was still having too much fun.
  16. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    The impressive thing about Far Cry 3 it that it really sells the sensation of being on a tropical island. The huge, open world, gripping story and great sense of freedom will make you lose yourself in it. It's as complete as any game can get and can keep you occupied for hours on end without boredom setting in. The bad artificial intelligence is the only smudge on this otherwise sublime experience.
  17. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 delivers a delightfully compelling narrative in a beautiful open world environment. The single-player is captivating from start to finish, and while the multiplayer lacks inspiration, it offers a decent distraction if you're looking for some fun in the sun with friends.
  18. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    A beautiful, engaging open world, freedom in gameplay, love for stealth elements and more than enough to do; Far Cry 3 has it all. It's an open world shooter at its finest.
  19. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 doesn't need a strong multiplayer component because its single-player campaign will keep you invested for dozens of hours. You'll be eager to explore every bit of the tropical setting, to drive along the beach or hang glide over the ocean.
  20. Far Cry 3's real triumph is blending so many elements into a cohesive whole without any feeling extraneous or tacked-on. Every element works and has its place, and contributes to a narrative that may not be class-leading but certainly exceeds expectations. It also possesses the perfect balance between steadily empowering you, yet never allowing you to feel overwhelmed by the sheer magnitude of what's on offer – something even a game as great as Arkham City couldn't manage.
  21. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    For as large as Far Cry 3′s setting is, there's an elegant conciseness to the game's story mode. It'll still take tens of hours for completionists to get through, but the fast travel and dense map ensures you always have something meaningful to do within minutes.
  22. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    This kind of freedom is exhilarating; I only wish the AI posed more of a challenge. They too frequently pour into the same positions where their friends just died, and can't discern elevation changes. Rather than work their way up a cliff to attack after spotting me, for instance, they just stood at the base of the incline, making it extremely easy to take them all out with one well-placed grenade.
  23. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Should massacring hundreds be a great way to entertain ourselves? Maybe not. But it is.
  24. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    Yes, it isn't the genre-redefining Far Cry 2 follow-up it could (and perhaps in an idealised world, should) have been. It is, however, a beautiful, thrilling and supremely well-made open world shooter; a true epic. There's enough content to challenge open world RPGs, even, and unlike those games, the combat is as good as any FPS on PS3. If not better.
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    86
    It's a fun first person shooter. One with story issues and awful characters, but also with hunting and manta rays and hang gliding over beautiful scenery.
  26. Dec 17, 2012
    85
    Despite some lackluster story elements, technical issues, and a ho-hum multiplayer mode, the excellent world design, weapons, and gun battles are enough to draw you in and keep your interest throughout the campaign. The co-op mode is an added bonus, well worth playing through with friends, and a great alternative to the lackluster versus side of the multiplayer.
  27. Even simple objectives in Far Cry 3, like clearing out a watch post filled with pirates, still offer a plethora of choices, possibilities and tactics. Sure it's tempting to charge in with your AK-47, but scouting out the place first is crucial to surviving.[December 2012, p.52]
  28. Nov 26, 2012
    85
    Far Cry 3 makes some impressive changes to reinvent the franchise and create an experience that is not afraid to address thematic issues many other games shy away from. Watching Jason both grow as an individual and succumb to the madness that infects the Rook islands adds significant weight to the actions Far Cry 3 asks players to undertake. Ubisoft asks us to consider whether we're just as mad as the rest of the Rook Island natives. There's still room for other games to execute more deftly on these same themes, but for now, Far Cry 3's journey is easily compelling and even easier to recommend.
  29. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    Playing Far Cry 3 in short bursts or actively distracting yourself with a mini-game will take your mind off its underdeveloped and restrictive story, but the tedium of its objectives still wears thin after a while. It's not a problem of "all style, no substance," but "all style, partial substance." That said, it's hard to deny its prowess for gunplay, exploration, and graphics, with the exception of minor pop-up issues and framerate drops. As long as you don't take the game as seriously as the game does, you'll be entertained.
  30. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    Despite a surprising amount of repetition within the single-player campaign, Far Cry 3 is a wonderful shooter with lots of secrets to discover and a huge game world to explore. Taking place in a stunning environment and featuring a compelling narrative, as well as an excellent cast of characters, Far Cry 3 offers hours of enjoyment, something which is greatly extended thanks to its competitive and co-operative multiplayer modes.
  31. 80
    There's a giant world to explore here, loaded with details and fantastically pretty. Whether you're stealthing your way through a ramshackle outpost or climbing a radio tower on top of a mountain, it's always engaging, pulling you effortlessly from one scenario to the next and hitting all the right notes along the way.
  32. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Despite being hampered by a well meaning, but ultimately interfering, plot, Far Cry 3 has evolved into a decadent, playful and exciting title. Be it quality programming, dumb luck or a mixture of them both, the game plunges you into a thick, gloopy world of sugary gameplay, shimmering visuals, intoxicating audio as well as a great deal more. It's long, stupid and buckets of fun - just what you need to burn away the winter blues.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 795 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 186
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, featuring stunning visuals and gameplay.. The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be like rambo or hitman, or a combination of both himbon! and many other play styles.. The story could be strong, but its easily over looked when there is so much to do and explore.. This has quickly become one of my top 5 favorite games of all time, I would rank it up there with the GTA Series, Elderscrolls, dark souls and halflife.. The co-op adds many more ours of fun and a social immersion into the tropical island paradise/hell.. Get this game you won't regret it, definitely worth the $70 Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far cry 3 is game of the year IMO. The whole game feels polished to perfection. There are so many ways to complete you objective I feel like a kid in a candy shop! Even just getting around the island give you choices. Jet ski, boat, jeep, walking, truck...or maybe hand gliding, there all great fun! The best story driven FPS I have every played, and I have played lots. Do yourself a favor and buy this game, you will not regret it! Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    So I read every single review on this site before I got this game, and I wanted to put in at least 10 hours of gameplay before I wrote my review. Well I just passed the 10 hour mark so here we go...

    Anyone who gives this game less than an 8/9 is completely and utterly insane!!! This is hands-down my 2012 Game of the Year, and quite possibly my Game of this Generation, tied right up there at the top of the list with Red Dead Redemption. It is so fun playing this game that I could just get lost for hours and hours playing, and it feels like only a half hour has gone by. There is so much to do and the map is absolutely massive, but you never get overwhelmed. When I first started it I was like, oh crap, this map is huge and there is going to be too much to do. But you soon get your bearings and realize that yes, there is tons to do, but it's all laid out very nicely for you and the pacing is so good that you never get that overwhelming feeling. I find myself oftentimes doing side mission after side mission just because they are so damn fun, and the hunting/crafting dynamic is incredibly addicting. Hunting yields you animal skins, which you can then in turn use to craft larger weapons holsters, loot rucksacks, wallets for cash, etc. Sometimes I will just go on 'hunting expeditions' and collect skins for an entire play session. It's that addicting because the more you hunt, the more and better stuff you can craft. Difficulty level is perfect in my opinion... it's challenging, but not too hard or cheap at all. The scope of the world is massive and even with it being a huge open world, the graphics are amazing. Jumping off a cliff to hangglide over the islands and beaches below is just breathtaking, and it's all done seamelessly without pop-in at all. I am SO GLAD that I got this game and I am looking forward to putting 30 hours into it. Do not listen to anyone that gives this game a mixed or negative review, they are nuts!

    In closing, and I will quote myself: "Far Cry 3 is one of the greatest video games that I have ever played in my 30+ year gaming career!"
    Full Review »