Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 547 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have betterPure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 is far from a revolutionary release, and it's arguably inferior to the much improved PES 2014 in terms of pure footballing gameplay. That said, FIFA 14 is the most complete virtual footballing experience available today. Whether in single or multiplayer, there's enough to keep fans busy well into the new football season and beyond.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    92
    This is the best version so far, but also the less innovative. It feels like EA Sports is absolutely focused on next gen consoles, so there are few additions here. However, it is as fun as always, and the best football simulator this year for current consoles.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Some minor visual issues aside, EA came, saw and emerged victorious: FIFA 14 improves on a number of key features and establishes itself again as the best soccer game out there.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    86
    While gamers anxiously await the arrival of next generation games in November, EA Sports reminds us that there are still great games on this generation. While not completely perfect, FIFA 14 delivers on its promise of an improved and lasting gameplay experience.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has a lot of new elements, but unfortunately the most prominent new elements aren't executed flawlessly. This makes FIFA 14 a very enjoyable soccer experience, but with bizarre situations arising from time to time that mess things up quite a bit. The new additions to FIFA Ultimate Team are successful though.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    82
    I’m not sure if it’s the best game in the series, but it kept me playing for hours on end, and that’s enough for me. The visual and audio competence supported by the rock-solid gameplay is a winning combination, and just goes to show how much EA has perfected the major-league game formula.
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    78
    FIFA 14 is a fun game and will appeal to football fans as the classic style of gameplay, aside from the frenetic tempo of the matches, largely remain and snatching victory from the jaws of defeat still tastes as sweet as ever; it’s just a shame that it all feels so familiar.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 175
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    FIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play muchFIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play much slower, which makes it more realistic. Some genuine improvements, particularly in terms of animation, physics, artificial intelligence, and Ultimate Team. Top notch presentation and the usual full suite of licences. Go for it guys.. Worth Buying the game. Collapse
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    FIFA 14 is the most realistic FIFA yet. The commentary is incredible. It even mentions previous results. At first defending is a hard taskFIFA 14 is the most realistic FIFA yet. The commentary is incredible. It even mentions previous results. At first defending is a hard task with multiple skill moves unleashed against you, but with practice you can keep clean sheets but I would say FIFA 14 is attack biased. The attack is slick and precise. A brilliant game Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    5
    Graphically it is a good game, and when compared with the first FIFA generation, change is evident. The game modes uneventful, and quiteGraphically it is a good game, and when compared with the first FIFA generation, change is evident. The game modes uneventful, and quite complete in this sense, as the whole saga. Its gameplay is painful, destroys the whole game, the games are too slow, the players seem orthopedic when they have to control the ball, the pass system is complicated, the AI defense is too rocky, do a good shot on goal is difficult, and if you succeed, the goalkeeper makes a good stop you, they all look international. The defense tactic, without comment, the biggest step back from the FIFA series. In a video game, the most important is the gameplay, and is a very big step back in the FIFA series, which debunks other work. In summary, good graphics, good and fun game modes, but a very bad gameplay. FIFA Best of all, it's FIFA 11, as of this saga to fallen sharply.

    Now in Spanish, my native language.

    Gráficamente es un buen juego, y si lo comparamos con el primer FIFA, de la generación, el cambio es evidente. Los modos de juego sin novedades, y bastante completo en este sentido, como toda la saga. Su jugabilidad es penosa, destroza todo el juego, los partidos son demasiado lentos, los jugadores parecen ortopédicos cuando tienen que controlar el balón, el sistema de pases se ha complicado, la IA de la defensa es demasiado rocosa, hacer un buen remate a portería es difícil, y si lo consigues, el portero te hace una buena parada, que parecen todos internacionales. La defensa táctica, sin comentarios, el mayor paso atrás de la saga FIFA. En un videojuego, lo mas importante es su jugabilidad, y es un paso atrás muy grande en la saga FIFA, que echa por tierra el resto del trabajo. En resumen, buenos gráficos, buenos y divertidos modos de juego, pero, una muy mala jugabilidad. El mejor FIFA de todos, es el FIFA 11, a partir de este la saga a caído en picado.
    Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    1
    FIFA seems to get worse every year, I should just stop buying it. EA aren't even trying with this game any more. Me and my son preferred FifaFIFA seems to get worse every year, I should just stop buying it. EA aren't even trying with this game any more. Me and my son preferred Fifa 12 to 13, and 14 is worse than 13, they seem to have broken the core game this time round. My copy is going to get traded in and we'll just go back to 12 with the old player rosters and kits I'm done EA! Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Fifa is a joke, EA sports aren't even trying anymore. It is just fifa ultimate team with something on the side. I used to love career mode inFifa is a joke, EA sports aren't even trying anymore. It is just fifa ultimate team with something on the side. I used to love career mode in fifa, but now it is just there so that they can say it is there, nothing you do has any influence outside the pitch. the team sheets (rosters) does not fit the real world. özil was in madrid fellaini was in everton (there are more), hell not even all of the kits are there, they just made some up in some of the same colors (chile's national team's kits)
    the gameplay is terrible, no realism at all, no tactical influence, dribble and shoot that is it, you can change the tactics, but all you really control is the player with the ball.
    (the menu is extremely slow)
    the game needs realism, tactics, and effort, but right now it has nothing, and to be honest the only reason to buy this game is FUT (Fifa Ultimate Team) which also is lazy.
    Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    Not good enough, simple as that. So many flaws in the game and they take your money so you can use the coins to buy a good team, and EANot good enough, simple as that. So many flaws in the game and they take your money so you can use the coins to buy a good team, and EA handicap you when you play a worse team. Just a scam if you ask me. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Despite my better judgement I decided to buy Fifa 14 this year after skipping the last game because it was so buggy. Now after having the gameDespite my better judgement I decided to buy Fifa 14 this year after skipping the last game because it was so buggy. Now after having the game for only 1 day the FUT market is already down, all the items are stuck at completing. Nothing ever changes with Fifa, they take your money and then worry about the problems that come after that. Same old Fifa, same old problems! Expand

See all 175 User Reviews