Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 is far from a revolutionary release, and it's arguably inferior to the much improved PES 2014 in terms of pure footballing gameplay. That said, FIFA 14 is the most complete virtual footballing experience available today. Whether in single or multiplayer, there's enough to keep fans busy well into the new football season and beyond.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    92
    This is the best version so far, but also the less innovative. It feels like EA Sports is absolutely focused on next gen consoles, so there are few additions here. However, it is as fun as always, and the best football simulator this year for current consoles.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Some minor visual issues aside, EA came, saw and emerged victorious: FIFA 14 improves on a number of key features and establishes itself again as the best soccer game out there.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    86
    While gamers anxiously await the arrival of next generation games in November, EA Sports reminds us that there are still great games on this generation. While not completely perfect, FIFA 14 delivers on its promise of an improved and lasting gameplay experience.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 has a lot of new elements, but unfortunately the most prominent new elements aren't executed flawlessly. This makes FIFA 14 a very enjoyable soccer experience, but with bizarre situations arising from time to time that mess things up quite a bit. The new additions to FIFA Ultimate Team are successful though.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    82
    I’m not sure if it’s the best game in the series, but it kept me playing for hours on end, and that’s enough for me. The visual and audio competence supported by the rock-solid gameplay is a winning combination, and just goes to show how much EA has perfected the major-league game formula.
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    78
    FIFA 14 is a fun game and will appeal to football fans as the classic style of gameplay, aside from the frenetic tempo of the matches, largely remain and snatching victory from the jaws of defeat still tastes as sweet as ever; it’s just a shame that it all feels so familiar.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 163
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    FIFA 14 rocks!!!!! Its the best football game till date. Much more realistic features, improved gameplay than FIFA 13.Awesome game play much slower, which makes it more realistic. Some genuine improvements, particularly in terms of animation, physics, artificial intelligence, and Ultimate Team. Top notch presentation and the usual full suite of licences. Go for it guys.. Worth Buying the game. Collapse
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Year on year FIFA has continued to innovate in order to deliver the most authentic football experience available and this year they have yet again.. And in doing so, have become the subject of much debate. Personally, I like what the guys at EA Sports are doing. Rather than standing still and making minor tweaks they are always expanding and looking to move forward. For sure, this year it can be frustrating, that goes without saying but after a while playing FIFA 14 you begin to appreciate what they're trying to achieve. 13 was another improvement and as an avid football fan I loved it. After playing the demo I wasn't overly impressed but the real thing is different. Most noticeably a players first touch can prove to be brutal or beautifu, it depends on the calibre and quality of player. The passing within FIFA is so crisp and smooth that it plays a treat. You can actually attempt to play like Barcelona. But at the same time, for example if you are playing as a lower league team, you can now play the direct, long ball football by launching the ball to your target man something that you weren't able to do in previous outings. And it shows just how much it depends on your team, the quality and the players you have at your disposal. A major improvement has also been made in the crossing department. It was always a challenge to score from open play when crossing but now it's more frequent! Defending as ever is also key. With a variety options to prevent your opponent from scoring. Arguably the most important area this year round is in midfield. That's were the battle is. There's not just a change in the gameplay but in the Career mode it's an overhaul. The introduction of the Global Transfer Network has seen the players rating system abolished! No longer can you simply search for a player based on their overall and sign them up, now it's a much more in-depth requirement before you decide upon snapping up a player. The jury is still out with regards. In terms of bringing through the youth in the career it's very helpful and it will aid you in the transfer market but at times it just seems drawn out and can be a time waster. Regardless of that, you can change it to your own choice but it doesn't stop you from enjoying FIFA at it;s free flowing best. The fun game modes are also back, this year with more added to the line up. It's always a decent alternative. Ofcourse, FIFA online is where the real action is at. Whether it's the casual one v one or a team match it's always good to test yourself against the best around the world. FIFA Ultimate Team once more delivers the goods and EA Sports are fully committed in making this as great as it possibly can. Picking and swapping players to ensure you have the best team at your disposal!

    Ultimately, FIFA 14 is another step forward. Some will be frustrated but if you adjust and adapt then you will thoroughly enjoy this years outing! THankfully with next gen around the corner FIFA seems to be in really safe hands and it's exciting moving forward! Still firmly in the Champions League spots, FIFA is the best footballing experience to date.
    Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    Having not played this game, I am awaiting the FIFA 14 release on PS4, EA made it clear there would be nothing major overhauled on this version as their focus is on the Next Gen of console and the new intuitive Ignite Engine, so it seems a waste of time and money if you are planning on buying the new console.
    Having read many negative reviews and seen alot of gameplay videos.
    I can come to the assumption that while still having alot of elements from previous installments it just doesnt come up to par. AI has been dumbed down and by the looks of it the overall game has become tedious and sluggish. It is clear from animations its just a quick cash grab by EA before (hopefully) blowing us away on PS4 and Xbox One.
    Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    What used to be a fun experience with fluid attacking and execution of real-time strategy has now turned into a slowed down, irritating experience..

    This has been the most disappointing FIFA version ever. I honestly don't understand how the critics posted an 8.5/10 as they must of been paid or have never been a true fifa player.

    Anyone whos been following the series since fifa 10 knows that this game is a step back. In a number of swift moves, EA have taken the "fun" out of FIFA. Let me explain:

    I understand that fifa 13 attackers may have been too pacey, but fifa 14 attackers all feel like slow grannys. Wheres acceleration off the mark gone? The only thing you need to do is compare the speed of messi with the ball and jageika (everton defender) in a foot race across the pitch and you'll see that jageika wins every single time. Seriously? test it again with robben, ronaldo, neymar, bale and the same thing happens. Realism according to EA?

    Okay, perhaps reining in speed isnt that bad.. According to EA, they are trying to make the game more "possession based vs pace" which is fair enough. If EA just stopped there, it would have been fine...
    BUT the list goes on...
    the terrible player glitches....ball control, heading is overpowered, defender being completely oblivious to an open balls. goalies have never been more stupid... There's not even goal line technology... Scored a long shot with ronaldo, and the ball bounced out (no goal).

    The biggest point: Ball control is the ever. The amount of times I watched a player lose the ball and say "are you serious... I can control the ball better than that" ....and to be honest I'm a pretty poor football player.
    How the hell can you play possession football if no-one can control the ball properly without it bouncing 10 yards away? Has anyone at EA ever seen a good footballer? Do they just assume noone knows how to stop a ball and keep it between their feet?

    And atleast once a game a regular pass of the ball to another teammate results in the ball just bouncing off the back of his foot. Or it rolls through his legs. And the receiver just looks at the ball.... Doesn't even try to recover it... Are you serious EA.

    In my opinion I feel that my review is in no way harsh. I honestly feel cheated by EA by this pile of trash they created this year. Its pretty obvious they didn't even complete testing or development for this version of FIFA. They just... threw it out there and knew we would buy it... f'ing cheated. For this reason I will strongly consider the next version of PES.

    FIX THIS GAME. Everyone I know hates it.
    Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    0
    This is the downfall of FIFA history! Thanks FIFA for trying to make it more realistic; YOU **** RUINED OUR FUN! I'm switching to PES! NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF **** You will regret it. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Still the same thing. FOOTBALL.... Same thing as any other Fifa game, oh yes graphics look about 0.1% better. I still cannot belive people like these type of games Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Despite my better judgement I decided to buy Fifa 14 this year after skipping the last game because it was so buggy. Now after having the game for only 1 day the FUT market is already down, all the items are stuck at completing. Nothing ever changes with Fifa, they take your money and then worry about the problems that come after that. Same old Fifa, same old problems! Expand

See all 163 User Reviews