User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 233
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    Hmmm..well , i used toi be a staunch pro evo fan but Fifa 10 made me sit up and notice, which i bought and Fifa World Cup. I thought that Fifa World cup nailed it with the game play so I was eager for Fifa 11, now its by no means a bad game , it has stacks of options the career mode is nice and deep which will keep you occupied for ages, but...what EA have done with the Ai is not good ,Hmmm..well , i used toi be a staunch pro evo fan but Fifa 10 made me sit up and notice, which i bought and Fifa World Cup. I thought that Fifa World cup nailed it with the game play so I was eager for Fifa 11, now its by no means a bad game , it has stacks of options the career mode is nice and deep which will keep you occupied for ages, but...what EA have done with the Ai is not good , now i understand what they were trying to do in listening to fan feedback re the ping pong passing etc, but i think they have left out the fun element. The game tends to decend into a midfield mash of tackles and lost balls, it doesnt flow anymore like Fifa 10 did. The Ai doesnt give you room to breath, the passing is awful as and the game is far too slow. Ive noticed as well the Ai doesnt do the off teh ball runs like it does in 10...again not a bad game but its not brilliant..bit of let down for me. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2010
    6
    Great game overall and of course still better than PES.

    Bad Points: This years pro-pass system has died a terrible burning death. It just takes a minute to realize EA really has no new ideas when it came to creating FIFA 11 and so tweaked with things that did not need to be touched (other than ping-pong passes of course). FIFA fan boys will defend this silly gimmick but they are to be
    Great game overall and of course still better than PES.

    Bad Points:

    This years pro-pass system has died a terrible burning death. It just takes a minute to realize EA really has no new ideas when it came to creating FIFA 11 and so tweaked with things that did not need to be touched (other than ping-pong passes of course). FIFA fan boys will defend this silly gimmick but they are to be ignored at all costs...they are wrong.

    The bugs....o dear god the bugs. This game is FULL of them! Just take a quick look on FIFA forums to see what I mean. Its outrageous this game was released the way it was. The main problem seems to be the 'freezing' problem that many PS3 (mainly slims) and Xbox360 owners have encountered. I myself witnessed the game freeze mid-play 13 times for around 2-3 seconds. It really does beg the question do EA employ QA testers and if so are they 5? AWAITING PATCH.

    Good Points:

    It's FIFA!

    Goal celebrations are much improved

    Can finally add your own music instead of listening to the AWFUL music we normally have to sit through whilst crying. Also the crowd chants are an excellent idea!
    Collapse
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    7
    Same old same old, stick with fifa 10 this is buggy as hell, player disappearing in arena at the start and before a match in game freezes for a few seconds during vital gameplay moments dated graphics same old title screens and menus 7/10 a rushed game be warned.
  4. Oct 5, 2010
    7
    waste of money yeah maybe FIFA has made improvements off the pitch (options etc.) and some on it ,i feel the fun factor has gone.Why change the quick and flowing game play its too slow now the passingI s a joke dribbling is no fun ,skill moves are harder and slower.I am well hacked off with this game online teamplay is so slow! Someone tell me when it aint broke why fix it?Yes changewaste of money yeah maybe FIFA has made improvements off the pitch (options etc.) and some on it ,i feel the fun factor has gone.Why change the quick and flowing game play its too slow now the passingI s a joke dribbling is no fun ,skill moves are harder and slower.I am well hacked off with this game online teamplay is so slow! Someone tell me when it aint broke why fix it?Yes change negatives from fifa 10 tweak it a bit but fifa think more realistic the better BOLLOCKS its not true,gonna throw away this crap and play fifa 10 again.CHEERS EA CANADA FOR RUINING MY YEAR YOUR ALL BILLIONAIRES WHY SHOULD YOU CARE WHAT THE CUSTOMER WANTS CRIMINALS THE LOT OF YOU Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    The problem i feel with the game is that even with the improvements the game still doesnt feel worth 60 bucks. For those who havent played fifa before will definitely like this game but for those who have it'll just get boring after a while. I still feel the pitch is small in size players stand too close to each other so the passing seems ice hockeyish, tackling is still too neat and easyThe problem i feel with the game is that even with the improvements the game still doesnt feel worth 60 bucks. For those who havent played fifa before will definitely like this game but for those who have it'll just get boring after a while. I still feel the pitch is small in size players stand too close to each other so the passing seems ice hockeyish, tackling is still too neat and easy , no loose balls no fighting for possession some of the lighting in stadiums are ridiculously dark , over all it just gets boring . I never thought i would say this so soon but i think its time to give PES a try. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    More views on this game thats it. :

    - Ai is terrible. AI on your team barely make any movements, bad positioning and just overall bad. Opposition Ai are terrible. Lack of attack, lack of shots, lack of challenges. - Become a Goalkeeper flawed. Computer Ai terrible on this and ratings are flawed, - Player faces still unrealistic in some cases. Rooney looks nothing like he does in real
    More views on this game thats it. :

    - Ai is terrible. AI on your team barely make any movements, bad positioning and just overall bad. Opposition Ai are terrible. Lack of attack, lack of shots, lack of challenges.
    - Become a Goalkeeper flawed. Computer Ai terrible on this and ratings are flawed,
    - Player faces still unrealistic in some cases. Rooney looks nothing like he does in real life.
    - Commentary is terrible. I scored a goal and this is what i got "the flag is up and the ball has gone out of play off the defender"
    Difficulty weird and not challenging. Basically more of a challenge and test on semi-pro then on difficulties professional, world class and legendary. On the last 3 difficulties scorelines will be 0-0 or 1-0 to you. Opposition parks the bus. Dont attack and dont even try to score ie, one game for me. United vs Spurs. I had 92% passing, 72% possesion, 20 shots on target. Spurs had 0 shots, 75% passing and 28% possesion. That was on profesional, replay the game on semi pro and i won 3-2. I had something like 12 shots on target, spurs had 8 shots on target etc
    - Terrible scripting on strikers. Ie a weak defender from a league 2 side can out muscle, out sprint and outdo players like Nani, Rooney, Higuain etc
    - Music is VERY weak compared to 2010.
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I was dissapointed by fifa 11 im my opnion its the worst fifa theres been not a bad game some big flaws the mains one for my is the shocking passing that does not work everypass is either underhit orcut out other things is there is no flow to the game it just ends upin a midfield scramble and if u play on proffesnial or higher the opposition are impossible to tackle the players just bounceI was dissapointed by fifa 11 im my opnion its the worst fifa theres been not a bad game some big flaws the mains one for my is the shocking passing that does not work everypass is either underhit orcut out other things is there is no flow to the game it just ends upin a midfield scramble and if u play on proffesnial or higher the opposition are impossible to tackle the players just bounce off you although i do think carrer mode is good Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    I am a HUGE fan of FIFA and have bought it every year on the day of launch since FIFA 99 and to be honest with you i have been been hugely let down this year... it seems like a backwards step from FIFA 10. it constantly freezes during matches, i cant play my friend online even though he lives a few streets away from me. the new passing system does work but has taken out all the fun ofI am a HUGE fan of FIFA and have bought it every year on the day of launch since FIFA 99 and to be honest with you i have been been hugely let down this year... it seems like a backwards step from FIFA 10. it constantly freezes during matches, i cant play my friend online even though he lives a few streets away from me. the new passing system does work but has taken out all the fun of matches. career mode is still average. i would not say its a bad game but i think it seems to have been rushed. i think EA should make a new game every 2 years an for the year in between they should just release a dlc with all new kits , transfers and players. hopefully that way we may get the most amazing game of football we all lust over... Expand
  9. Dec 8, 2010
    7
    FIFA10 was great and FIFA11 is technically a little bit better than FIFA10 and overall enjoyable. There are few flaws, my only problems were with the online multiplayer.
  10. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    Good game. Though... Offsides in this game are called when it was clearly legal. The game seems often passes to the opposite of where you aimed. The players also love to stand and wait for the ball when its passed to them which leads to it being intercepted lots. Its a good game, if you're looking for a soccer game id recommend the "Winning Eleven" series.
  11. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    FIFA has become a brilliant game. The main advantages over ProEvo are the defensive controls and own teams AI, which will make you play with real flowing plays and amazing real life situations. Menus are a little small and fonts are not clear at all, while lots of the stadiums you'll end up playing in are not the original ones, which are only available to the most famous teams. The careerFIFA has become a brilliant game. The main advantages over ProEvo are the defensive controls and own teams AI, which will make you play with real flowing plays and amazing real life situations. Menus are a little small and fonts are not clear at all, while lots of the stadiums you'll end up playing in are not the original ones, which are only available to the most famous teams. The career mode, where you control a single player, possess awful AI, representing the main reason why this game is still far away from a good simulation. Obviously, if you need a soccer game, there is nothing better than this, and ProEvo is really miles behind now, but the overall feeling is that this series is not moving anywhere, and the leap made with the 09 and 10 versions will remain a once in a while happening. Multiplayer and network modes are fun and deep, giving you almost infinite replayability. Expand
  12. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    I`ve made a comparison through fifa soccer 11 and pro evolution soccer 2011. This is the result.

    FIFA Soccer 11 Prides - all the licenses (cups except uefa competitions, libertadores and santander and teams) - goalkeeper mode - very serious - pro passing system - good commentary Lacks - music not very good - graphic not so good - it hasn`t uefa competitions - not
    I`ve made a comparison through fifa soccer 11 and pro evolution soccer 2011. This is the result.

    FIFA Soccer 11

    Prides

    - all the licenses (cups except uefa competitions, libertadores and santander and teams)
    - goalkeeper mode
    - very serious - pro passing system
    - good commentary

    Lacks

    - music not very good
    - graphic not so good
    - it hasn`t uefa competitions
    - not as quick as pes 2011
    - it doesn`t show the rise of the cup

    PES 2011

    Prides

    - UEFA Competitions
    - Graphic very good
    - very quick and fluid game
    - 360 passing system
    - awesome soundtrack
    - it shows the rise of the cup

    Lacks

    - It hasn`t all the licences
    - not very good commentary
    - too simple?
    - not very serious
    - not very good accuracy
    - sometimes the refereeing is not correct

    I prefer pes 2011 but you can choose also fifa. You have the decision.

    Thanks for reading.
    Expand
  13. Sep 14, 2011
    7
    es un juego bastante bueno, pero es tal vez demasiado realista y deja colgada a la versión de pc. Me estoy descargando la demo del FIFA 2012, pero está perfecto en las licencias.
  14. Oct 3, 2010
    0
    Great game overall and of course still better than PES.

    Bad Points: This years pro-pass system has died a terrible burning death. It just takes a minute to realize EA really has no new ideas when it came to creating FIFA 11 and so tweaked with things that did not need to be touched (other than ping-pong passes of course). FIFA fan boys will defend this silly gimmick but they are to be
    Great game overall and of course still better than PES.

    Bad Points:

    This years pro-pass system has died a terrible burning death. It just takes a minute to realize EA really has no new ideas when it came to creating FIFA 11 and so tweaked with things that did not need to be touched (other than ping-pong passes of course). FIFA fan boys will defend this silly gimmick but they are to be ignored at all costs...they are wrong.

    The bugs....o dear god the bugs. This game is FULL of them! Just take a quick look on FIFA forums to see what I mean. Its outrageous this game was released the way it was. The main problem seems to be the 'freezing' problem that many PS3 (mainly slims) and Xbox360 owners have encountered. I myself witnessed the game freeze mid-play 13 times for around 2-3 seconds. It really does beg the question do EA employ QA testers and if so are they 5? AWAITING PATCH.

    Good Points:

    It's FIFA!

    Goal celebrations are much improved

    Can finally add your own music instead of listening to the AWFUL music we normally have to sit through whilst crying. Also the crowd chants are an excellent idea!
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    89
    FIFA 11 really is the ultimate soccer experience and any fan would do well to give this game a play. New improvements to the gameplay mechanics make this years iteration even more appealing than the last.
  2. games(TM)
    Jan 20, 2011
    90
    The best simulation of the series. [Issue#102, p.105]
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    Year after year FIFA 11 is getting a little better. EA has made probably the perfect football game with FIFA 11.