Fight Night Champion Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A new installment in EA Sports' boxing series will enter the ring in early 2011.
Buy On
  • Developer: EA Canada
  • Genre(s): Sports, Traditional, Individual, Boxing, Boxing, Combat, Boxing / Martial Arts
  • # of players: 2 Online
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fight Night Champion Characters Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    100
    The game looks the part, sounds the part, and certainly plays the part. Topped off with a wealth of options that will keep you playing for hours on end, and an addictive online mode, Fight Night is just what the game's subtitle suggest...it's a Champion.
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    91
    EA has taken its time to make another Fight Night game, but it has given a new twist to the game, making it one of the best boxing games ever.
  3. 90
    If you want to feel the emotion and adrenaline of this sport without entering the ring, you will not find better than Fight Night Champion.
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    This fast-paced boxing game improves upon its predecessor in just about every way, and adds an entertaining story mode to boot.
  5. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Yet again a great boxing game in the series. Boring training routines and irritating load times keep it from the higher grades.
  6. 80
    Fight Night Champion offers an endless stream of entertainment for players that never get tired of 1-2 combos, the smell of used locker rooms and bruises.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    There's just not quite enough meat on Fight Night Champion's bones to recommend it to owners of previous games, however, and Champion mode itself is little more than a brief diversion you can bash through in an afternoon.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet.I have owned Fight Night Round 3, Round 4, and now Champion. In my opinion, I think Champion is the best fight night in the series as of yet. The Spectrum control is very nice. It allows you to be able to throw combos very quickly but yet, you have to fight smart because you don't want to drain your stamina. The way they changed the blocking is very nice. You don't have to push up or down to block head or body on your own, which is nice because people used to spam your body or head and this would be very stressful. Another words, this is more noob friendly, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Punches can still get through even though your trying to block all day. The online is silking smooth, never disconnected in my 40 online fights. Great buy, go for it! Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Online is excellent. Solo is great. I still play this today. The wealth of options ensures you can manipulate the flow of the game to howOnline is excellent. Solo is great. I still play this today. The wealth of options ensures you can manipulate the flow of the game to how you want it, which requires some trial and error, but stick with it, it's worth it. There are glitches, like the game remembers a button press in the menu screen from five seconds before and can sometimes leave you going into a fight ill prepared. Still, I gave a nine, so I must like it! Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Its not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevateIts not perfect, the gaming experience is still based on the previous Fight Night incarnations, but the revamped visuals are enough to elevate this title from mere computer game to breathtaking media product. There is certainly nothing wrong with the Fight Night formula but I get the feeling that they are still missing a key element when recreating the personality of boxing. However my criticisms are very harsh and the new Champion mode has been a long time coming for sure. 91/100 Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    There have been some improvements and some glaring step backs from the previous installment. Firstly the improvements: Visuals have beenThere have been some improvements and some glaring step backs from the previous installment. Firstly the improvements: Visuals have been greatly improved and the modern day boxers like Haye,Cotto and Mosley look just like the real life models.

    Gameplay: wider range of punches including hookercuts and step in jabs and straights as well as punches penetrating the guard. Much harder to body spam and use cheap side step counter punch tactics.

    Audio: A much better selection of music for the opening menu but this is not to be mistaken for the terrible sound effects which i will address later.
    The dissapointments: Boxer ratings: The ratings are all over the place and are very inaccurate especially with the heavyweight division. Sonny Listons jab is given a mere 13/20 when he had one of the best jabs in history. Joe Frazier is a mere 88 overall when he was one of the best heavyweights in history. Oscar De La Hoya is rated a overhyped 92 but has a chin rating of only 16/20 when he had a great chin, i could go on and on but to sum up, the ratings are terrible.

    Gameplay: The heavyweight division boxers have very wierd punch connection animation and this especially apparent with boxers who are not modern. The blocking system is now automatic which takes away a tactical element of the game. Audio: The punch connection sound is terrible and sounds like trash cannisters being dropped. very irritating.

    Overall: Taken one step forward and 1 1/2 steps back in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Fight Night Champion completely convincing, is a stunner graphically and technically very sophisticated. The battles run from dynamic, but notFight Night Champion completely convincing, is a stunner graphically and technically very sophisticated. The battles run from dynamic, but not too busy. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    6
    The graphics have been tuned and so has the fighting mechanism, but in my book, towards the bad, when it comes to the Fight Now mode, its aThe graphics have been tuned and so has the fighting mechanism, but in my book, towards the bad, when it comes to the Fight Now mode, its a blast, but when you start the Legacy Mode, the fun is gone, even when you encounter fighters that are way below your skills they will still beat you by one point, even when you have knocked his *ss on the ground! Online pretty much is a disaster, spammers, brawlers and belt holders that wont even dare to fight anything that comes near their level. I had the most fun in the Champion Mode, but when you come to the end, the game shows its ugly head again, the champion you have to fight is so overpowered, you would think he is either a android or a alien... Collapse
  7. ccc
    Nov 4, 2013
    0
    So I got this game on the PlayStation network for 5 bucks. Ice played round 3 and 4 and liked them. I figured I'd give the story mode a shot.So I got this game on the PlayStation network for 5 bucks. Ice played round 3 and 4 and liked them. I figured I'd give the story mode a shot. The fans itself looks good and plays well, but the story mode is awful! Why? Because I just want to box that's why. To often in fights conditions appear that prevent the player from actually enjoying the such as, an automatic broken right hand, can only punch with the left, an automatic bad cut over my eye, don't get hit there too many times or the fight gets stopped, a paid off ref that will call every body shot you deliver a hit to the opponents privates, right down to the last fight with frost, first two rounds, avoid him, don't matter what you do, he can't be beat, you have to avoid him, after that, it's a mandatory 3 rounds of body blows after that, who knows I gave up after about 20 tries and deleted the game. I want to play and win my way EA. This game sucks and I hope everyone involved in making the choices on how the story mode was going to work is fired and black listed from all gaming companies. What a streaming pile of garbage! Expand

See all 29 User Reviews