Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. You want Bikes, ATVs, Muscle Cars, SUVs, Buggies, Trucks…they’re all in here, along with every conceivable type of race set across thousands of miles of populated ultra-realistic topography, complete with dynamic weather. And it all looks and plays spectacularly. Unless you’re looking for an authentic hard core sim, there’s no reason you shouldn’t leave right now, and even if you are, a little FUEL might just change your mind.
  2. A top-notch addition to the genre. [Aug 2009, p.67]
  3. Fuel is a game every racing fan should consider worth buying, despite little weaknesses like annoying trees and shadows which pop in and out of the screen frequently. If you like simulations as Gran Turismo, rent this game before paying the full price – you won't be disappointed in any case!
  4. Fuel is a good game, reveling in its goodness and its genre, without trying to be the exclamation point for every racing title ever developed.
  5. Even if some of the fundamental stuff has been sacrificed to the creation of this huge world, Fuel still makes it across the finish line on a far-from-empty tank. [July 2009, p.97]
  6. So you can keep your super serious racers with their parts, bins, gear ratios and manicured race tracks; I'll be playing Fuel with its tornadoes, hovercraft and XXL off-roading. [June 2009, p.92]
  7. 80
    Despite some flaws, FUEL is so much fun to play you'll keep coming back to it.
  8. 80
    As it stands, it's the third best next-gen off-road racing title I've played and while third place won't get you the checkered flag, it still gets you onto the winner's podium.
  9. Some gamers may appreciate the freedom Fuel gives you, but I feel like the lack of payoff and context blunts any adventurous feelings I have. [July 2009, p.84]
  10. This Asobo Studios game is a good entry in the racing genre, although some aspects, specially the audiovisual part, could have been better.
  11. If you were expecting lightning in a bottle, Fuel keeps the electricity in the environmental elements and out of the gameplay.
  12. It's not the size - it's what you do with it. Freedom to race at the expense of focus. [July 2009, p.76]
  13. A decent racer, though not in the same class as others such as Codemasters own Race Driver: Grid.
  14. Overall Technically audacious, but the huge map means FUEL loses focus.
  15. 71
    FUEL has a ton of potential, and moments of brilliance stashed under its rough exterior. The problems are hard to ignore though, and unless you have a ton of time to dedicate to it, the races will likely grow boring long before you uncover half of this massive world.
  16. FUEL didn’t meet its goal. Actually it went quite far from what Codemasters had promised. Although it is evident that the dev team has put a lot of effort in creating an innovative and fresh concept, and has produced a vast free-roamable terrain of proven technical quality, some unfortunate gameplay solutions and a improvable AI have mined the overall experience.
  17. FUEL is a very good addition to open world and off-road racing genres. But despite the overall enjoyment I got from the game, I can’t help but feel that it lacks the competitive elements that have enabled so many racing games to succeed.
  18. Those who have followed the development of Fuel will be disappointed with the final result, while those who know nothing about its scope will find an enjoyable but at the same time unremarkable game.
  19. Huge as it is, Fuel has many good things to offer. Fun gameplay, incredibly big environments, good visuals and a lot of challenges are on the plus side. But it lacks any depth, and the lack of a career mode makes all the trip a bit illogical. Good game with good ideas, ideal for arcade lovers, but not so much for those who look for a much deeper experience.
  20. FUEL is a huge project but never quite fulfills its potential. The game lacks polish and style, and the overwhelmingly enormous world is too lifeless to keep you entertained. Thus, FUEL never manages to impress, making it nothing more than an average off road-racer inferior to competitors like Pure and Motorstorm.
  21. Fuel is without a doubt a complete game, that thanks to the numerous unlockable areas, cars, challenges and so on, reaches an enviable longevity. Unfortunately the gameplay lacks all the functionality typical of the competition, and there are some techincal issues that ruin the overall score. Fuel is a game for all arcade-off-road racing games, but beware as you won't find the dynamism of Motorstorm nor the attention to detail of Pure, but a different game, with good free-roaming gameplay.
  22. At the end of the day, it seems that the developers were a little too ambitious with this game, although I must admit that we did enjoy the first half of this game, unfortunately after that it does become a little too repetitive.
  23. The structure (divided in free roaming phases and simple races) is unbalanced, the global style not so shiny, and the phisical engine has many issues. Just for Arcade lovers.
  24. 14000 square kilometers are not enough to make a good game. Fuel tries to overlap its competitors by taking a sand box approach to the genre, but it fails by offering races that are neither challenging nor thrilling set in enormous and boring open spaces.
  25. Fuel was a bit of a disappointment. Yes, the world is large and looks good. Yes, there is a lot to do in this Guinness Book of Records-game. And yes, I like the notion of a free world to do whatever I want in. But the physics and the feeling lack several important pieces for this to be a great game.
  26. Minor details takes down the magnificence this game could have. Nevertheless, some good ideas made me want to see a possible sequel with this whole basis, but free of errors.
  27. While the racing experience in Fuel is far from perfect, the sheer size and beauty of the game world still makes it an off road racing game worth checking out.
  28. This expansive arcade racer may be ambitious, but it doesn't nail all of the basics.
  29. A cool-looking racing game that ultimately crumbles under the weight of its own slow pace.
  30. Despite its massive terrain, a barren game world, a poorly structured and limited scope prevents Fuel from being anything worth your time.
  31. 55
    Fuel feels like one giant exercise in proving a point, a huge technical achievement that manages to eschew the fundamental rules of a good racer and drive itself, tragically, into mediocrity.
  32. Fuel may set records and feature tons of things to do, but very little of it is actually worth doing. While the scale of its world may be impressive on paper, this is one case where bigger isn't necessarily better.
  33. 51
    After putting in numerous hours with Fuel, I've struggled to find anything that I especially like about it. The racing has issues, but in and of itself (outside of not being able to select a ride you might want), it works well enough. Not great, but well enough.
  34. There's no denying Asobo's achievement in building such a daring, beautiful landscape on such a vast scale, but the core of any good racing game is falling in love with its vehicles, the things you can do with them, and the places you can take them, and by that measure FUEL is distinctly average.
  35. Fuel is a race game with two faces. On one hand you've got a huge and open world in which the impressive weather effects and the sheer size alone are a new milestone in it's genre. But on the other hand the game feels a little lost and lacks decent gameplay mechanics. In the end the flaws take the upper hand and giving us the feeling that Fuel could have been so much more.
  36. The massive world and tons of secrets to be found in it are two of the few strengths in what is otherwise a really bad racing game. Poor AI, horrid driving mechanics, shoddy physics and tacky design. Put simply, avoid at all costs.
  37. It's always fun to race through FUEL's huge scenarios without a particular reason, if you're patient enough.
  38. Lot of content, little quality. A huge world to explore is not enough.
  39. We had high hopes for FUEL, which promised to offer an expansive game world teaming with insane weather and even crazier racing. Ultimately, however, Asobo Studio has served up a barren wasteland filled with nothing to do, bland race events, and weather effects that are far less dynamic than Codemasters might have you believe.
  40. Fuel definitely separates itself from the competition with its expansive open area. However, despite its technical achievements, it fails to nail the basic necessities that most of its competitors games give.
  41. 50
    Ultimately, this is a missed opportunity through and through. I would have expected better from a Codemasters published game.
  42. 49
    Fuel is just too ugly, unpolished and lacking in focus to have any impact on the genre, crossing the finish line on just the wrong side of average.
  43. A mess in need of a thorough overhaul. [July 2009, p.81]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    9
    Fuel is a fantastic racing game, unique at it's core and fun for hours on end. It boats a huge map area, many different collectibles and side activities, along with several areas that you will unlock piece by piece as you progress through your racing career. Sometimes, it's fun to just travel around and take a look at the world around you, and other times you may head to a race for a bit of a challenge. There's not much to say, so I'll sum it up as clearly as possible;

    Unique, interesting, large, fun, varied and beautiful.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    I like fuel. although It wasn't as good as I was expecting. Good, but could have been better. the good things first. obviously the massive world is one thing. It's great to be able to explore a world. The weather plus the day/night cycle is cool. I was expecting tornadoes in free roam, but that was when I was younger, before understanding that doing that would be almost impossible. The races are fun too. I don't know what anyone means about easy Ai! I play until I unlock the four areas before dust bowl city, and I have not got past since! I love the cars. You can choose from a massive array of cars, and when in free roam, it couldn't be easier to change to a different car. See a hill your truck can't handle? pop into pause and get a dirt bike! I'll be honest I was expecting more tornadoes. As far as I know, only TWO races have them in. I thought you'd get all the areas from the beginning for some odd reason. There is little damage on your cars. smoke comes out. that's it. sometimes, I don;t feel rewarded for winning or exploring. I'll drive for half an hour and find one set of oil barrels. all those problems, I can live with. The only REAL problem I have, is how bland and repetitive the area is. although, to be fair, I wasn't expecting sprawling cities in the apocalypse... To conclude, This game is great! I was just expecting more when I saw the trailer... I give it... 8/10! Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I loved it. One of the few games in which you are not in a prepared gameworld, but it felt like a real world in which you happened to drive. I couldn't finish it, at the end it was to hard for me. I never understood the hard critisism Full Review »