Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    55
    Yes, architecture and costumes are adequate. And yes, you can influence little things while both storylines offer interesting twists and turns. But the combat system in this superficial fantasy adventure is one of the worst in years, while the stealth and dialogue systems don't live up to their potential.
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    30
    Fans of the novels or the TV show will do best in staying away from this game. Winter is coming and the Game of Thrones video game will not survive.
  3. May 15, 2012
    60
    You must be a forgiving and devoted fan to enjoy the best that this game can offer. Otherwise, you're better off following the words of Genna Lannister: "Better to mock the game than to play and lose."
  4. May 18, 2012
    87
    Confined exploration and entertaining bouts of shallow combat are adequate enough, but are hardly a draw on their own. Thankfully, Game of Thrones pushes its story to the forefront, creating a flawed though memorable addition to the Song of Ice and Fire universe.
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    40
    A Song of Ice and Fire is a series begging for a good, in depth RPG. This just isn't it. The story may be of interest to some, but most will not want to have to slog through the game to see how it ends. Go watch the first two seasons of Game of Thrones, or read the books and forget Mors and Alester ever existed.
  6. There's no active dodging and opponents move like they're from a 90`s PC game. An absolute low point was when we were given control over an archer who slowly fired his arrows at his targets, his animation unhindered by the brutes who were slicing him to pieces with their giant axes. [July 2012, p.80]
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    39
    Lacking. [Issue#220, p.76]
  8. Combat is turn-based stuff that's a hasty facsimilie of Dragon Age: Origins. It's hard to get a kick out of any of these battles when your enemies are clones with all the guile of Hodor the village idiot. Expect no thrill from the grind, either, as the skill trees unlock stat 'boosts' more miniscule than Tyrion. Likewise, rare items are ridiculously so and the purchasable gear is so unattainably priced, not even a Lannister could pay their debts. [July 2012, p83]
  9. Give me the option of a night in with the first season's Blu-ray boxset or this mostly shabby spin-off and I'd go HD Sean Bean chivalry every time.
  10. 50
    Game of Thrones is a distinctly average affair plagued by poor visuals and monotonous combat.
  11. What makes this really disappointing, though, is that some aspects actually work well. But without good combat, it's all just academic. [July 2012, p.78]
  12. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    You can't blame a game for favouring fighting over politics, but you can blame it for making the fighting so boring. [Aug 2012, p.105]
  13. Jul 9, 2012
    55
    The story is worthy of the name, but unfortunately the rest of the game is nowhere near as good as the series it is based on. This could and should have been much better.
  14. Jun 13, 2012
    30
    This effort has a few interesting ideas and a reasonably accomplished plot, fairly well progressed but it stumbles mechanically over every good idea it has and douses it in some genuinely shocking presentation.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. May 18, 2012
    7
    This game is for fans of the books and HBO show. The story is what's amazing about this game. If you can look past the minor graphics/gameplay issues, you give yourself the opportunity to enjoy an intricate, twisting, well-written story.
    I haven't read the books, but I watch the show. As I'm now a third through the game, I can really see similarities between the writing/presentation/dialogue of the show and game. Every chapter has ended leaving you eager to get to the next.
    That being said, this game should not and doesn't feel like an open world RPG. Which is good for me, because I really don't enjoy RPGs. I never can put the time necessary into them. But if you're looking for Skyrim or Mass Effect, it ain't here. Any areas I've "explored" I just end up being directed to later as part of an objective. There's really no point exploring.
    I'm probably among the minority when I say I enjoy the combat system. Each enemy encounter is different. Sometimes they're easy or just easy enough you shouldn't have used any health potion because you'll need them for the hard encounters. Save often.
    But the AI can really take you out of the moment sometimes, like when your archer ally keeps shooting your soldier ally in the back.
    This game would have been a 10 if they added 2 more characters and copied Heavy Rain's gameplay.
    If your a Game of Thrones fan, you will enjoy this game!
    Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2012
    10
    Erf .......... another RPG. My gosh ....... it's ugly. But wait .... it's old school RPG ? Hard fights ? All based on skill ....... hey wait, you have to build your player ? Even the carac ? It's slow, tought, harsh ? It's so 90' ......... hey wait .... the scenario is for adults? for real adults ? Not juste boobs and easy murder ? But really about "real" trahison , about politics, about wondering for real adults ? My gosh !!!! these guys are crasy !!! they don't know that Mass Effect and Dragon Age 2 are the actual standards ? ...................... Ok , time to punish .... i'll give you a 9, you'll cry your mama

    troll mode off /

    Graphic : 4
    Gameplay 7
    Story 10
    Style 9
    Value 9 ( if you're older than 25, i mean )
    Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    8
    Well to be honest, if your going into this game and expect it to look and play like a AAA game that had a huge budget behind it you are going to be disappointed. The graphics look dated - but the art direction and designs are good. If you are a fan of the books and looking for a story based RPG you will NOT be disappointed. If you've read the books and enjoy them, the story of this game will suck you right in. In the same fashion as the books you will be experiencing a story that gives you different character perspectives chapter to chapter as the story progresses. The story splits between Mors Westward, a fierce and honorable Ranger of the Night's Watch who took the Black after fighting beside Jon Arryn during Robert's Rebellion against King Areys II Targaryen. You also play as Alester Sarwyck (also a veteran of Robert's Rebellion) who has returned to his failing lands a Red priest of R'hllor, after 15 long years of refuge in the free cities looking for a purpose while trying to come to terms with the acts he committed in the war. The pacing of the story is good. The way these two characters have been place into George R. R. Martin's world is very well done. If you're familiar with the books you already have a connection with world and the events that are taking place. This allows you to experience two new perspectives and still be shocked by the twist and turns the story takes. It's very well written and this is it's biggest strength for me. I am able to look past the dated graphics and average sound when the story is this gripping. Mature and dark with hard choices to make as anything set in a song of fire and ice saga should be. So, the story is great and the graphics aren't going to win any awards. But does it play well? When you start the game you are asked to set attributes and skills to Mors and Alester in typical RPG fashion. You can selected from 3 fighting styles and set special skills tied to your style that you level up as you play. One interesting part of this process I like and found a little unique was the option to set special traits if you wish, there is a catch though - for every special trait you set you also have to set a trait that hinders you. So if you pick something like talented (which gives you two extra skill points per level), you'll have to balance it out by giving your character something like asthma (which hinders his attack time) or make him afraid of fire (which greatly enhances the damage you take from fire). Interesting and not something I've seen in very many RPG's outside of a few on PC. The character controls well, never had any frustration with the game being unresponsive. The only thing that might bother some people is control is pressure sensitive, meaning if press forward all the way to move in a direction your character will always be running. The menus are very well organized and fonts are a visible colour and easy to read. Loading time are short and auto saving only makes the game lag for a second of two. The codex is very well organized and written when you find information, though I don't see you using it a lot other than for character specific information if you are familiar with the books. The Combat features a fair amount of options. Most of your battles will begin with hitting the L1 or R1 button to slow down the action. During this enemies slowly move keeping the danger of the moment alive and lets you plan your attack. You do this by switching between characters and setting them to use a certain set of attacks before exiting the slow-down mode and returning to normal speed while you wait for your energy to recharge. You can hit X to speed up the recovery time. Victories against a large group feel intense and make you feel satisfied that you planned it out. All in all I think this is a solid game that is clearly intended for and made by fans of the books. Would I recommend it if your a fan of the books and need a fix until the next book comes out? YES. Without a doubt you will not be disappointed, defiantly a purchase. Would I recommend it if your a fan of the TV show and haven't read the books? Maybe. You might be turned of by the graphics and lower budget compared to most console games, you also might not have enough of an invested interest in the world and lore. Rent it first to be on the safe side. As a fan of the books and show, I give this a solid 8. It's not perfect and it wont blow your mind with game-play innovations or graphics. But the story is great and the feeling of being in Westeros is there. Compared to alot of games published on consoles, this had a small budget. It's a Great effort and well worth supporting if your a fan of books, maybe if the fans support this enough the next game made will have a bigger budget and will be flashy enough to draw more people into a song of fire and ice. Full Review »