• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 110
  2. Negative: 22 out of 110

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    I was honestly suprised how much they packed into this not-quite-full-game. The blueline, new ai, and more difficult physics options are all very welcome, and a much larger leap forward than any of the previous games. I bought the Driving Force GT wheel to go with it, and decided to learn to play with a manual gearshift, and have been faced with a much much deeper and more engagingI was honestly suprised how much they packed into this not-quite-full-game. The blueline, new ai, and more difficult physics options are all very welcome, and a much larger leap forward than any of the previous games. I bought the Driving Force GT wheel to go with it, and decided to learn to play with a manual gearshift, and have been faced with a much much deeper and more engaging experience. Unfortunatly I have yet to try out the online racing portion. Expand
  2. ZiggyP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Although lacking what some other racers can offer, the amount of content and sheer quality for a game less than £20 cannot be ignored. If this is just a small glimpse of things to come then we shouldn't be worried if GT5 will delivery, we should be worried about our eyes popping out of our heads.
  3. Antti
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Awesome racing simulation. GT5 will so be out of this world when it comes next year.
  4. JohnT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Simply breathtaking, especially considering it is only £18.
  5. Ben
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, more than a prologue and no, thanks to the new update is complete. Great graphics and sound, elegant menus.. well there's no doubt that Sony made a great game!
  6. NickS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that wreckless stuff. Its about respect and honor; You lose, too bad. You win, congrats. The detail of the cars are nicely rendered and seeing the glare of the sun from every car as they whiz by just makes it more immersive. No one can do it like Polyphony Digital. Can't wait for the full game! Considering its only 40 bux for the prologue it deserves a 9. Collapse
  7. ChrisW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Gorgeous. Anyone who has ever had any interest in cars or driving should try this, it is sublime, The attention to detail is astounding, one of the prettiest interfaces I've ever seen. Awesome
  8. MOQ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! I haven't stopped playing since I opened it. Its as much fun as you can have with a serious racer. Graphics are ace. Sell your car and buy this game!
  9. kilik21YouTube
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Brilliant glimpse of what is to come. It gets better and better and the online play with up to 16 players will keep you playing for ages, probably until the full GT5 comes out. I would have given this game a 10 if there were more cars and a lot more tracks.
  10. Drac;)
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Great game, especially for the price.
  11. LeeW.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Excellent, Beautiful. Fun.
  12. [anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Not one driving game can get close to how real this game is, visually and gameplay wise.
  13. ColossiS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    Very exhilarating during the later/faster races, and online. oh man you don't know competition till you race 15 other people in GT style racing.
  14. RavenS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    The best racing game yet in the GT series!
  15. MarkW.
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Tires chattering under heavy braking, weight transfer that is shockingly realistic, real world acceleration and momentum and so, so much more. To top it off, the presentation stands alone in it's maturity and sophistication. No adult would be embarrassed to have this game running on their television. GT5 Prologue is an uncompromising, adult sim with more than enough content to keep you busy until the full game comes out. An absolute must have. Expand
  16. LenH.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    What can I say, I love this game.....buy it now!
  17. Cenobia
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered by a less than friendly tap by an opponent). It is intense, and although human players can sometimes send you into walls and ruin your ranking at the last second, it is a welcome addition to the GT series. You even win money in online matches, which removes the monotony of re-playing challenges to get extra cash. All in all I think this is definitley worth the purchase. It isn't as big an evolution as I would have liked, but damage is coming in a future update which should add even more depth. This will definitely keep me satisfied until GT5 comes out. Expand
  18. ShamusM.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Easily the best and most realistic racing game out there today it makes you feel as if you were in the game driving this is a must have for all the ps3 owners and racing fans.
  19. JordanM
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Fast fun realistic sweet is how this game can be described.
  20. AlanB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay value.. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  21. chico
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    This is the sexual game wit naked men with huge penises who are willing too play.
  22. GeorgeM
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    This game was made for the fans and if you're one of those then plunking down $40 for this is NOT a problem. The game offers a good handful of cars, a handful of tracks, online play for the first time in a GT game, and the excellent "inside the car" view that made PGR3 so much fun to play. There are racing games out there that cost $60 that don't offer as much as this This game was made for the fans and if you're one of those then plunking down $40 for this is NOT a problem. The game offers a good handful of cars, a handful of tracks, online play for the first time in a GT game, and the excellent "inside the car" view that made PGR3 so much fun to play. There are racing games out there that cost $60 that don't offer as much as this game.....so $40 really isn't that much when you take THAT into account. The graphics are AMAZING and once again push the envelope for "photo-realism" to new heights, easily one of the most visually stunning console games to date. The music is sub-par but certainly not horrible and the sound-effects are more than adequate with the sounds of the cars rumbling through the speakers. The cars handle beautifully but you can't really tweak them in Prologue so we'll probably have to wait until GT5 drops before we can really test the handling of the cars when tuning is involved. Like i said.....if your a fan of the Gran Turismo games then GO GET THIS......no reason for fans to be disappointed with this, especially with the online play which is a monumental addition to the series. Expand
  23. Youcef
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I drive with my Logitech Driving Force GT steering wheel and it's quite realistic providing hours of fun but if I did not have the the steering wheel I would rate it 5, using it without the steering wheel is just plain boring.
  24. AndyC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks stupendous on a decent TV. The sound of the engines is great but I want to create my own driving soundtracks from MP3s stored on the PS3. The feel of the cars is incredible. The handling is just right and combined with a decent quality racing wheel, this is First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks stupendous on a decent TV. The sound of the engines is great but I want to create my own driving soundtracks from MP3s stored on the PS3. The feel of the cars is incredible. The handling is just right and combined with a decent quality racing wheel, this is the best racing game I've ever played. The GT series' hallmark balance between simulation and fun gaming is maintained once again. You can touch the accelerator / brakes / steering in a fast corner a little more than is realistic - I know from experience that if you tried some of the stuff in a road car you end up heading through a wall backwards! But most people aren't after 100% accurate simulation. There's an incredible depth to the game, and even once you can win all the races, there's a real sense of achievement shaving hundredths off your own best lap times. My only criticism is the difficulty. I found classes A, B and C pretty easy, but S jumped to borderline impossible. If this was a full and final game I'd be taking a point off for that reason. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. The game's relentlessly narrow focus frustrates as much as the repetitious grind of the racing. [May 2008, p.98]
  2. The attention to detail is staggering and it handles like a dream. A true technical showcase. [May 2008, p.74]
  3. Needs to make serious progress if 'Gran' isn't to become an indication of age. [June 2008, p.87]